Implementation science

Implementation science

Much is made of the patient experience, but what does it mean to be the recipient of a long-term care plan, and what do we know of patients’ experiences of consultations where important, often life-changing conversations take place? How do patients respond to an unexpected diagnosis or a prognosis of long-term ill health, and how would patients wish to be better supported during clinical interactions? Professor Frances Rapport’s work, driving the Implementation Science stream, employs qualitative and multi-methods approaches to address health services research questions through trials, exploratory and complex study designs. The research of the stream aims to clarify the social, emotional, and physical determinants of ill-health.

Current studies are being undertaken in the negotiation of risk in cancer and the impact of chronic conditions such as epilepsy on patients’ quality of life. The Implementation Science stream aims to include patients, carers and clinicians in decision-making and negotiated care, and to combine data sources such as interviews, focus groups and large-scale surveys, to ensure rich data translates into practice. The stream has developed a range of projects for collaborations across Macquarie University and external healthcare providers in oncology, epilepsy and hearing health.

Publications of interest

Qualitative Research in Healthcare - modern methods, clear translation: a White Paper

Determinants of health and wellbeing in refractory epilepsy and surgery:The Patient Reported ImpleMentation sciEnce (PRIME) model Epilepsy & Behaviour Vol 92 March 2019

CHRIS Working paper #104 Fit for purpose: OrganisationaL PrOdUctivity and woRkforce wellbeIng in workSpaces in Hospital (FLOURISH): A multimethod qualitative study protocol. Frances Rapport, Emilie Auton, John Cartmill, Jeffrey Braithwaite, Patti Shih, Anne Hogden, Robyn Clay-Williams

CHRIS Working paper #105 Promoting faster pathways to surgery: a clinical audit of patients with refractory epilepsy. Virginia Mumford, Frances Rapport, Patti Shih, Rebecca Mitchell, Andrew Bleasel, Armin Nikpour, Geoffrey Herkes, Amy MacRae, Melissa Bartley, Sanjyot Vagholkar, Jeffrey Braithwaite

Stream Team Members

Frances Rapport - Professor E: frances.rapport@mq.edu.au

Patti Shih - Postdoctoral Research Fellow E: patti.shih@mq.edu.au

Jim Smith Research Fellow E: jim.smith@mq.edu.au

Mia Bierbaum - Research Officer E: mia.bierbaum@mq.edu.au

Anne Hogden - Honorary Senior Lecturer E: anne.hogden@mq.edu.au

Rebecca Seah - Research Assistant E: rebecca.seah@mq.edu.au

Mona Faris - Research Assistant E: mona.faris@mq.edu.au

Selected Stream Projects

Implementation of genomics medicine into clinical practice

NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Implementation Science in Oncology

Better evidence for earlier identification and surgical intervention for refractory epilepsy

Content owner: Australian Institute of Health Innovation Last updated: 17 Jan 2019 2:31pm

Back to the top of this page