Our people

Our people

Executive

Research Program Director

Prof. Alberto Avolio

Professor Alberto Avolio, BE, PhD (UNSW), FIAMBE, is Professor of Biomedical Engineering in The Australian School of Advanced Medicine at Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia. He has acquired international recognition in the field of cardiovascular haemodynamics. He has taught in the fields of cardiovascular dynamics and in the broad area of engineering in medicine and biology and has extensive experience in PhD supervision and in examination of local and international higher degree theses.

Industry Engagement Director

Prof. Michael Heimlich

Michael Heimlich began in electronics and software in 1985 with Watkins-Johnson working in space-qualified RF and microwave mixers and then with Pacific Monolithics designing GaAs MMIC LNAs, up- and down-converters. After graduate studies at Stanford and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in microwave photonic contactless measurements for semiconductor defect recognition, he returned to Pacific Monolithics and then M/A-COM to focus on GaAs device and MMIC modelling, IC statistical design techniques, and microwave design flows.

Ethics Director

Prof. Wendy Rogers

Wendy came to Macquarie in 2009 as a CORE joint appointment between the Philosophy Department and the Australian School of Advanced Medicine. She initially trained as a general practitioner before undertaking philosophy honours and a PhD in medical ethics at Flinders University, after which she spent two years at the University of Edinburgh on an NHMRC post-doctoral fellowship. Prior to coming to Macquarie she spent five years leading the ethics, law and professionalism teaching in the School of Medicine at Flinders.

Research Lead – Cardiovascular Applications

Prof. Itsu Sen

Prof. Sen (Qian) has 30 years continuous experience in computational fluid dynamics (CFD) research and application in bioengineering. He has worked in the field of circulatory assist and was instrumental in the development of the artificial heart program in Japan and in Australia. (Left Ventricular Assist Device, LVAD). He used computational haemodynamic techniques to improve the problems related to haemolysis of the VentrAssit artificial heart which has been implanted in over 450 patients around world.

Research Lead – Medical Imaging and Radiotherapy Technologies

Prof. Yves De Deene

Yves De Deene is a professor of Biomedical Engineering at Macquarie University who started his academic career at the Ghent University in Belgium where he worked as a medical physics researcher at the University Hospital in the field of radiotherapy and medical imaging. He is passionate about research and teaching in the area of medical imaging and medical physics. His primary research interest is in safeguarding modern radiotherapy and improving quantitative magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) for the guidance of radiation treatment.

Research Lead – Implant Wireless Platforms

Prof. Karu Esselle

Professor Karu Esselle has been elevated to IEEE Fellow grade for his extensive contributions to resonance-based antennas, both high-gain and low-gain. IEEE is the world's largest professional association for technology with about half a million members worldwide and only less than 0.1% of voting members are selected for this member grade elevation. In about a quarter century long history of Macquarie University Engineering and Electronics, Professor Esselle is only the second employee to be selected as an IEEE Fellow.

Research Lead – Implant Materials and Sensors

Prof. Candace Lang

Candace Lang is Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Macquarie University.  Her research focus is the development of novel materials for novel engineering applications.  Current interests include nanoparticle catalysts for hydrogen fuel cell. Candace completed a Bachelor's degree in Science (Physics and Mathematics) and then transferred to Engineering for postgraduate research leading to a PhD at the University of Cape Town (UCT).  She has been active in the development of metallic materials for applications as diverse as jewellery, fuel cell catalysts, and medical electrodes.

Research Lead – Implants for Neurological Applications

Dr David Inglis

David Inglis, PhD in Electrical Engineering, Princeton University 2007, B.Sc. in Engineering Physics, University of Alberta, Canada 2001, is a professor of Electrical Engineering in Macquarie University. His current research include microfluidics for cell separation, microfluidic fundamentals, nanofluidics, and fluorescene in biology.



Members

Name Contact details

A/Prof. Richard Appleyard
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9812 3535
E: richard.appleyard
@mq.edu.au

Prof. Alberto Avolio
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9812 3545
E: alberto.avolio@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Desmond Bokor
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9812 3555
E: desbok@iinet.net.au

Prof. Roger Chung
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9850 2724
E: roger.chung@mq.edu.au

Prof. Yves De Deene
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9152
E: yves.dedeene@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Anand Deva
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9812 3890
E: anand.deva@mq.edu.au

Dr. Sammy Diasinos
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9146
E: sammy.diasinos@mq.edu.au

Prof. Karu Esselle
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9141
E: karu.esselle@mq.edu.au

Prof. Ann Goodchild
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9850 2711
E: ann.goodchild@mq.edu.au

Prof. Stuart L Graham
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9812 3933
E: stuart.graham@mq.edu.au

Dr Raheel Hashmi
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9130
E: raheel.hashmi@mq.edu.au

Prof. Michael Heimlich
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 1095
E: michael.heimlich@mq.edu.au

Dr. David Inglis
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9144
E: david.inglis@mq.edu.au

Prof. Candace Lang
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9149
E: candace.lang@mq.edu.au

Prof. Subhas Mukhopadhyay
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 6510
E: subhas.mukhopadhyay
@mq.edu.au

Prof. Anthony Parker
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9131
E: tony.parker@mq.edu.au

Prof. Barry Quinn
Department of Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 6475
E: barry.quinn@mq.edu.au

Prof. Wendy Rogers
Department of Philosophy / Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9850 8858
E: wendy.rogers@mq.edu.au

Prof. Itsu Sen
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9812 3551
E: itsu.sen@mq.edu.au

Dr. Rajan Shankaran
Department of Computing

T: +61 (2) 9850 9537
E: rajan.shankaran@mq.edu.au

Prof. Paul Smith
Department of Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8944
E: paul.smith@mq.edu.au

Dr. Oya Sevimli
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9076
E: oya.sevimli@mq.edu.au

Dr. Martin Turner
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9812 3606
E: martin.turner@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Rein Vesilo
Department of Engineering

T: +61 (2) 9850 9133
E: rein.vesilo@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Karen Vickery
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

T: +61 (2) 9850 2706
E: karen.vickery@mq.edu.au

Dr. Philip Whiting
Department of Engineering

T:  +61 (2) 9850 9143
E: philip.whiting@mq.edu.au

External Advisory Board

David Bull (BCS Innovation, Australia) Chair
Jan Jansen (Cochlear, Australia)
Dr. Bob Frater (Resmed, Australia)
Stephen Swift (Mircosemi, USA)
Dr. Simon Mahon (M/A-COM Australia/USA)
Prof. Koichi Ito (Chiba University, Japan)
Prof. Matti Hämäläinen (Oulu University, Finland)
Prof. Barbara Messerle, Executive Dean, Faculty of Science & Engineering (Macquarie University)
Prof. Roger Chung, Associate Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences (Macquarie University)

Back to the top of this page