Our people

Our people

placeholder

Head of Department

Professor Nicole Anderson

Nicole Anderson has a strong interest in cultural events and practices, ethical practice, and animal studies. She is a world expert on the work of French philosopher Jacques Derrida and his theory of deconstruction. She has authored a book on Derrida, and co-edited two books: one on cultural practice, and one on animal politics (forthcoming). She is currently authoring a book on Culture (forthcoming 2017). She is the co-founding editor of the Derrida Today Journal, and the Director of the international Derrida Today Conferences.



Academic staff A - L

Name and contact details Research Interests

Dr Andrew Alter
Senior Lecturer in Contemporary Music Studies

HDR Director, MMCCS
Location: Building Y3A, Room 253
Phone: (02) 9850 2118
Email: andrew.alter@mq.edu.au

South Asian music cultures, contemporary Australian transcultural musical expression, and Southeast Asian music cultures

Dr Jeannine Baker
Macquarie University Research Fellow, Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165G
Phone: (02) 9850 2194
Email: jeannine.baker@mq.edu.au 

Media history (press and radio), twentieth-century Australian history, and Australian women's history

Dr Iqbal Barkat
Lecturer in Screen Production

Location: Building Y3A, Room 154
Phone: (02) 9850 2101
Email: iqbal.barkat@mq.edu.au

Independent Cinema; Early Soviet Cinema; Dance; Community Filmmaking; The Cinematic Practice of Dziga Vertov; The Philosophy of Alain Badiou

Dr Margie Borschke
Senior Lecturer in Journalism and Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 159
Phone: (02) 9850 2159
Email: margie.borschke@mq.edu.au

Media use, with an emphasis on copies and copying practices, and material culture; Cultural politics of intellectual property and the role of unauthorised use and reproduction in cultural history; Aesthetic dimensions of networked distribution and the persistence of analog media formats in digital culture

Dr Jon Burtt
Lecturer

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193C
Phone: (02) 9850 2195
Email: jon.burtt@mq.edu.au

Intermedia performance, and combining dance, physical theatre, circus, interactive technology, video and text

Professor Naren Chitty
Professor

Location: Building Y3A, Room 160
Phone: (02) 9850 2160
Email: naren.chitty@mq.edu.au

Analyzing the concept of soft power as it might be applied in externally oriented public diplomacy or internally oriented governance; International communication and media theory and new media of international communication

Dr Steve Collins
Senior Lecturer in Multimedia

Location: Building Y3A, Room 191D
Phone: (02) 9850 2165
Email: stephen.collins@mq.edu.au

Technology, disruption, music industry, creativity and copyright law

Dr Ian Collinson
Lecturer in Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 191G
Phone: (02) 9850 2110
Email: ian.collinson@mq.edu.au

Psychogeographic media, space/place, music, politics and identity (especially national identity), and media audiences. These are all areas of potential areas of supervision

Dr Denis Crowdy
Senior Lecturer

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193G
Phone: (02) 9850 2193
Email: denis.crowdy@mq.edu.au

Melanesian music, ethnomusicology, music production, audio engineering

Associate Professor Peter Doyle
Associate Professor in Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 151
Phone: (02) 9850 2150
Email: peter.doyle@mq.edu.au

Sound studies and musicology, forensic photography, histories of Australian popular music, Australian popular cultures and 'true crime' writing

Dr Lauren Gorfinkel
Lecturer in International Communication

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165B
Phone: (02) 9850 2138
Email: lauren.gorfinkel@mq.edu.au

Chinese media, with a focus on the politics of national and ethnic identity in music-entertainment television in mainland China

Professor Bridget Griffen-Foley
Professor in Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 148
Phone: (02) 9850 8828
Email: b.foley@mq.edu.au

Media history (press, radio and television); twentieth-century Australian history and biography; and how history is presented in the media

Dr Rachael Gunn
Associate Lecturer, Teaching Fellow

Location: Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 2191
Email: rachael.gunn@mq.edu.au

Studies of 'street' dance, gender performance, and the constructions of the dancing body both in local communities and online

Dr Qin Guo
Senior Lecturer in International Communication

Location: Building Y3A, Room 158
Phone: (02) 9850 2158
Email: qin.guo@mq.edu.au

Development communication (including educational communication), intercultural communication and public diplomacy

Dr Usha Harris
Lecturer in International Communications

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165I
Phone: (02) 9850 2166
Email: usha.harris@mq.edu.au

Climate change communication, Media and communication in the Asia Pacific, communication for social change including campaigns and communication strategies, participatory media focusing on the methodological approaches in participatory media research, transnational media flows

Dr Ilona Hongisto
Lecturer in Media Studies

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193F
Phone: (02) 9850 2117
Email: ilona.hongisto@mq.edu.au

Documentary cinema, expanded cinema, transnationalism and minor cinemas, ethics of storytelling, philosophies of fabulation, media and cultural theory, new materialism and the more-than-human, media production and political economies

Associate Professor Diane Hughes
Associate Professor

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193H
Phone: (02) 9850 2175
Email: diane.hughes@mq.edu.au

Vocal artistry, vocal pedagogy, contemporary singing, recording and producing, and popular music culture

Dr Sarah Keith
Lecturer, Music and Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193B
Phone: (02) 9850 2179
Email: sarah.keith@mq.edu.au

Popular music studies, Korean and Japanese popular music, the Australian music industries, music and cultural policy, music and screen media (including documentary, film, and games), music and performance technologies, and computer-mediated composition

Dr Jillian Kramer
Scholarly Teaching Fellow

Location: Building Y3A, Room 152
Phone: (02) 9850 2252
Email: jillian.kramer@mq.edu.au

Whiteness, race, politics, cultural legal studies, Australian media and social justice, learning and teaching and education.

Professor Julian Knowles
Professor

Location: Building Y3A
Phone: (02) 9850 2196
Email: julian.knowles@mq.edu.au

Technologically-mediated music and sound practices and the relationships between audio-visual media

Dr Sabine Krajewski
Senior Lecturer in International Communications

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165H  
Phone: (02) 9850 2167
Email: sabine.krajewski@mq.edu.au

Intercultural communication and intercultural competence

Dr Anthony Lambert
Senior Lecturer

Location: Building Y3A, Room 149
Phone: (02) 9850 2148
Email: anthony.lambert@mq.edu.au 

Australian film and culture; identity and space; visual culture, representations of gender and sexuality in national contexts, and critical methodologies

Dr Julie-Anne Long
Lecturer in Dance and Performance

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193J
Phone: (02) 9850 2143
Email: julie-anne.long@mq.edu.au

Identity and the performing female body, art and the everyday, collaborative art practices, participatory performance practices, the experience of place and the animation of space, site-specificity and performance, the potential of dance to engage in/lead interdisciplinary collaborations, writing for performance, embodied learning

Professor Catharine Lumby
Professor of Media

Email: catharine.lumby@mq.edu.au

Young people, media consumption and relationships; Media content regulation in a convergent media environment; Social media and ethics; The future of journalism in the online and social media era; The role of education in preventing violence against women

Academic staff M - Z

Name and contact details Research Interests

Dr Virginia Madsen
Senior Lecturer in Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 191
Phone: (02) 9850 2180
Email: virginia.madsen@mq.edu.au

Sound and radio production, theory and history, auditory culture studies, new audio media and audio arts, and the history of public broadcasting with a particular emphasis on 'cultural radio' forms such as documentaries and features and their specific development in Europe, North America and Australia

Dr Nicole Matthews
Lecturer in Media and Cultural Studies

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165C
Phone: (02) 9850 2152
Email: nicole.matthews@mq.edu.au

Auto/biography, Deaf and disability studies, popular genres of broadcast and electronic media, and education, media in processes of social and political change

Dr Willa McDonald
Senior Lecturer in Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 150
Phone: (02) 9850 2151
Email: willa.mcdonald@mq.edu.au

Creative non-fiction writing and literary journalism

Dr Mary Mainsbridge
Associate Lecturer in Music

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165E
Phone: (02) 9850 2175
Email: mary.mainsbridge@mq.edu.au

Gestural interaction, audio-visual performance, embodiment and new musical instruments

Mr Alex Mesker
Associate Lecturer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 193K

Phone: (02) 9850 2197
Email: alex.mesker@mq.edu.au

Computer music composition, synthesis, generative music and visuals, gestural and human computer interaction, screen soundtrack studies

Professor Kathryn Millard
Professor of Film and Creative Arts

Location: Building Y3A, Room 252
Phone: (02) 9850 2253
Email: kathryn.millard@mq.edu.au

Creativity and collaboration, psychology and film, screenwriting, digital writing, screen performance, independent cinema, screen history, non-fiction, colour theory, visual culture, creative practices

Dr Tom Murray

Location: Building Y3A, Room 191H
Phone: (02) 9850 2182
Email: tom.murray@mq.edu.au

Screen directing, production, and writing

Dr Intan Paramaditha
Lecturer in Media and Film Studies

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193B
Phone: (02) 9850 2186
E-mail: intan.paramaditha@mq.edu.au

Media and cultural activism, gender and sexuality, religion and secularism, contemporary Asian film and media, particularly Southeast Asian and Indonesian cinema, media, citizenship, public and counterpublic, nation, transnationalism, and globalization

Dr Karen Pearlman
Lecturer in Screen Production

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193H
Phone: (02) 9850 2176
Email: karen.pearlman@mq.edu.au

Screen production processes and practices; Editing and rhythm; Movement and kinaesthetic empathy; Screen dramaturgy, performance dramaturgy; Cognitive studies of the moving image; Embodied expertise and extended mind in creative practices; Dancefilm/screendance; Elizaveta Svilova and Dziga Vertov

Professor John Potts
Professor in Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165J
Phone: (02) 9850 2163
Email: john.potts@mq.edu.au

Culture and technology, digital media, media history, contemporary arts, and intellectual history

Professor Joseph Pugliese
Research Director, MMCCS

Location: Building Y3A, Room 252
Phone: (02) 9850 2162
Email: joseph.pugliese@mq.edu.au

Race, ethnicity, whiteness; bodies, technologies; cultural studies of law; migration, diaspora, refugees; and state violence

Dr Maya Ranganathan
Lecturer in Media and International Communication

Location: Building Y3A, Room 156
Phone: (02) 9850 2251
Email: maya.ranganathan@mq.edu.au

Media and political identities, with particular focus on South Asia

Dr Adrian Renzo
Lecturer in Contemporary Music

Location: Building Y3A, Room 155
Phone: (02) 9850 2155
Email: adrian.renzo@mq.edu.au

Popular music aesthetics; Medley records, mash-ups, megamixes, and remixes; Sampling and appropriation in popular music; Popular music 'mainstreams' and Top 40 music; Gender and sexuality in popular music; Critical musicology

Dr Kate Rossmanith
Senior Lecturer in Media and Cultural Studies

Location: Building Y3A, Room 191F
Phone: (02) 9850 2183
Email: kate.rossmanith@mq.edu.au

Performance studies, criminology, and creative nonfiction writing

Dr Undine Sellbach
Lecturer

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193F
Phone: (02) 9850 2118
Email: undine.sellbach@mq.edu.au

Feminist theory, the environmental humanities and the posthumanities, with a special focus on feminist philosophy of science, performance philosophy, ethology and psychoanalysis

Dr Jane Simon
Lecturer in Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165K
Phone: (02) 9850 2102 
Email: jane.simon@mq.edu.au

Art photography, amateurism & photography, artists' books, autobiographical film, feminist film theory and feminist cultural theory

Dr Yuji Sone
Lecturer in Theatre and Performance Studies

Location: Building Y3A, Room 193D
Phone: (02) 9850 2186
Email: yuji.sone@mq.edu.au

The performing body and technology, Japanese technoculture, cross-cultural performance, nonhuman performance, and the relationship between performance persona and the performer's self

Dr Rowan Tulloch
Lecturer in Media

Location: Building Y3A, Room 191C
Phone: (02) 9850 2254
Email: rowan.tulloch@mq.edu.au

Video gaming and digital culture: question of how we theorise new technological forms and practices, and how our engagements with these new forms are shaped by our understanding of older technological forms

Dr Deb Waterhouse-Watson

Location: Building Y3A, Room 165F
Phone: (02) 9850 2126
Email: deb.watson@mq.edu.au

Gender, media (particularly news and social media), law and language, and discourse and narrative analysis

Professional staff

NameContact
Ms Michelle Lin
Department Administrator
Location: Building Y3A, Room 261
Phone: (02) 9850 2257
Email: michelle.lin@mq.edu.au
Ms Justine Martin
Department Administrator
Location: Building Y3A, Room 250
Phone: (02) 9850 2250
Email: justine.martin@mq.edu.au
Ms Stephany Yeap
Admin Assistant
Location: Building Y3A, Room 259
Phone: (02) 9850 2256
Email: stephany.yeap@mq.edu.au

Technical staff

NameContact
Mr David Mitchell
Technical Manager
Location: Building Y3A, Room 172
Phone: (02) 9850 2173
Email: david.mitchell@mq.edu.au
Mr Mike Baber
Technical Officer - Digital News Facilities 
Location: Building Y3A, Room 290
Phone: (02) 9850 2290
Email: michael.baber@mq.edu.au
Mr John Cook
Technical Officer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 174
Phone: (02) 9850 2170
Email: john.cook@mq.edu.au
Mr Marcus Eckermann
Media Technical Officer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 172
Phone: (02) 9850 2172
Email: marcus.eckermann@mq.edu.au
Mr Ben Nash
Technical Officer
Location: Building Y3A, Room 170
Phone: (02) 9850 2147
Email: ben.nash@mq.edu.au
Mr Peter Ring
Radio Facilities Manager
Location: Building Y3A, Room 170
Phone: (02) 9850 2171
Email: peter.ring@mq.edu.au
Ms Holly Robinson
Technical Assistant - Performance & Screen Production 
Location: Building Y3A, Room 174
Phone: (02) 9850 2174
Email: holly.robinson@mq.edu.au
Ms Tegan Sadler
Technical Assistant - Music and Radio Facilities
Location: Building Y3A, Room 170
Phone: (02) 9850 2200
Email: holly.robinson@mq.edu.au

Honorary Associates

Name Contact
Professor David Armstrong
Adjunct Professor
Email: david.armstrong@mq.edu.au
Professor Bruce Johnson
Adjunct Professor
Email: bruce.johnson@mq.edu.au
Dr Ruth Harley
Honorary Associate
Email: ruth.harley@mq.edu.au
Dr Howard Gelman
Honorary Associate
Email: howard.gelman@mq.edu.au
Dr Tony McHugh
Honorary Associate
Email: tony.mchugh@mq.edu.au
Dr Nigel Helyer
Honorary Associate
Email: nigel.helyer@mq.edu.au
Professor Nikki Sullivan
Honorary Associate
Email: nikki.sullivan@mq.edu.au
Dr Justine Toh
Honorary Associate
Email: justinetoh@gmail.com
Dr Craig Munro
Honorary Fellow
Email: stetit@hotmail.com
Back to the top of this page