Our people

Our people

Assoc. Prof. Ulrike Garde

Associate Professor Ulrike Garde

Head of Department

Ulrike Garde’s background in German and Cultural Studies has led her to research the creation and representation of cultural identity in literature, theatre, the performing arts and critical reviews. She has explored Australian-German cultural relationships focusing on the Australian reception of drama written by German speaking playwrights. Her latest publications offer fresh perspectives on our current fascination with ‘Real People’ narrating their lives on stage.

Professor Martina Möllering

Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts

Professor Martina Möllering is an expert of international standing in Language Studies and Linguistics, her research outputs have covered different areas of second language acquisition, pragmatics and intercultural learning as well as computer-assisted language learning. She has extensive experience in HDR supervision including Cotutelle and joint PhD candidates.

Academic staff (A-K)

Name and contact details Research Interests

Dr Rodrigo Acuña
Title: Associate Lecturer, Spanish and Latin American Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8874
Email: rodrigo.acuna@mq.edu.au

  • Inter-American relations
  • Cold War and Post-Cold War Latin America, 
  • Venezuelan history and politics
  • Human rights and development policies from a multidisciplinary perspective

Gianluca Alimeni
Title: Associate Lecturer, Italian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7027
Email: gianluca.alimeni@mq.edu.au

Italian Renaissance and the 13th-15th century Novellistica (short stories)

Dr Bénédicte André
Title: Associate Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7029
Email: benedicte.andre@mq.edu.au 

  • Island Literary Studies
  • French and Francophone literature and culture
  • Literary Geography
  • Identity construction processes
  • Postcolonial Studies
  • Liminality

Dr Thomas Baudinette
Title: Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Email: tom.baudinette@mq.edu.au

Gender and Sexuality in the Japanese Context, with a focus on media consumption; queer Japanese art, including manga; queer anthropology; transnational migration between China and Japan, with a focus on queer migration; globalization of Japanese popular culture.

Dr Susanne Binder
Title: Lecturer, German Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6881
Email: susanne.binder@mq.edu.au

  • German culture and society 
  • Literature and literary theory 
  • History and manuscripts (19th century)

Dr Mio Bryce
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7064
Email: mio.bryce@mq.edu.au 

Interdisciplinary research into youth cultures, with particular focus on manga and anime, in conjunction with the English Department.

Luka Budak
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Croatian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7040
Email: luka.budak@mq.edu.au

  • Sociolinguistic aspect of the Croatian language both in Croatia and in the Croatian diaspora
  • History of Croatian standard idiom
  • Croatian migrations
  • Croatian culture and literature
  • History of Croatian settlement in Australia

Dr Kevin Carrico
Title: Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: +61 2 9850 7692
Office: W6A 227
Email: kevin.carrico@mq.edu.au

  • Political anthropology
  • Ethnic relations in China
  • Critical Han Studies
  • Chinese nationalism and popular culture
  • China-Tibet relations
  • Localism in Hong Kong
  • Social systems theory

Associate Professor Shirley Chan
Title: Head, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7021
Email: shirley.chan@mq.edu.au

  • Traditional Chinese culture
  • Chinese philosophy
  • Chinese textual studies and intellectual history
  • The excavated Chu bamboo manuscripts dated to the fourth century BCE

Dr Danijel Dzino
Title: Associate Lecturer, Croatian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7049
Email: danijel.dzino@mq.edu.au

  • History of the southeastern Europe (Balkans), from prehistory to modern times; 
  • Perceptions of the past in the southeastern Europe
  • Construction of identities in the southeastern Europe

Angeline (Sijia) Guo
Title: Associate Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: sijia.guo@mq.edu.au

  • Task-based Language Teaching, 
  • Online Chinese teaching via web-conferencing systems
  • Second language acquisition

Dr Jane Hanley
Title: Lecturer, Head, Spanish and Latin American Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6885
Email: jane.hanley@mq.edu.au

  • Travel writing
  • Transnational cultural production
  • Gender in Spanish-language popular culture

Dr Marika Kalyuga
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Russian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7016
Email: marika.kalyuga@mq.edu.au 

  • Cognitive linguistics
  • Cognitive pragmatics
  • Cognitive psychology
  • Foreign language pedagogy
  • Foreign language teacher education
  • Second language acquisition

Dr Elizabeth Kefallinos
Title: Lecturer, Head, Modern Greek Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7031
Email: elizabeth.kefallinos@mq.edu.au

  • Greek linguistics and language acquisition
  • Medical terminology / etymologies
  • Intercultural identities
  • Oral narratives including Greek-Australian intergenerational identities and Greek-Jewish traumatic and memory explorations.

Dr Maryam Khalid
Title: Lecturer and Director, Bachelor of International Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: +61 2 9850 7915
Office: W6A 327
Email: maryam.khalid@mq.edu.au

  • Poststructural international studies
  • Postcolonial studies
  • Gender and sexuality
  • Global governance
  • Identity construction processes
  • Middle East studies

Dr Alexandra Kurmann
Title: Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8809
Email: alex.kurmann@mq.edu.au

  • Comparative and World Literature in French, German, and English
  • French and Francophone Literature
  • Vietnamese Diasporia Writing
  • Exile Literature
  • Postcolonial Studies

Academic staff (L-Z)

Name and contact details Research Interests

Dr Sung-Ae Lee
Title: Lecturer, Asian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8787
Email: sung-ae.lee@mq.edu.au

  • Fiction, film and television drama of East Asia, with particular attention to:
    Cognitive studies
  • Cultural blending
  • Imagology
  • Adaptation theory
  • Diaspora studies
  • Asian popular culture
  • Asian cinema
  • Korean literature and film

Emilio Lomonaco
Title: Associate Lecturer, Italian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7025
Email: emilio.lomonaco@mq.edu.au  

  • Contemporary Italian literature with a focus on narratology
  • Orality and pseudo-orality in contemporary Italian literature
  • Sicilian authors such as Andrea Camilleri, Giovanni Verga and Luigi Pirandello
  • Traditional popular culture in Sicily, including poet Ignazio Buttitta and folk singer Rosa Balistreri

Dr Florence Ma
Title: Lecturer, English as a Foreign Language
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7285
Email: florence.lai.ma@mq.edu.au

  • Non-native English Speaking Teachers (NNESTs) issues
  • Use of L1
  • Language Teacher Education
  • Bilingualism
  • Academic Literacy

Ms Kayo Nakazawa
Title: Associate Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7028
Email: kayo.nakazawa@mq.edu.au

  • Second Language Acquisition
  • CALL

Dr Brangwen Stone
Title: Associate Lecturer, German Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8863
Email: brangwen.stone@mq.edu.au

  • GDR literature
  • Eastern Europe in German literature and film
  • Post-reunification literature
  • Contemporary German drama

Dr Chavalin Svetanant
Title: Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7044
Email: chavalin.svetanant@mq.edu.au

  • Japanese Linguistics / Thai Linguistics, 
  • Japanese Language Education, 
  • Cross-cultural Communication with particular interests on: 
    • language, 
    • thought, and
    • social behaviours in comparative cultural and historical contexts
  • Critical Discourse Analysis (CDA), 
  • Pop Culture
  • Media Studies

Ms Lyse Thomas
Title: Associate Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: lyse.thomas@mq.edu.au

 

Dr Kamila Walker
Title: Lecturer, Polish Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7014
Email:  kamila.walker@mq.edu.au

Polish literature, nineteenth-century English literature, Metaphor Theory, Narrative Realism, cross-linguistic and cross-cultural explorations of metaphors of emotion in prose fiction, cognitive/linguistic analyses of literary texts.

Dr Hui Ling Xu
Title: Senior Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 1005
Email: huiling.xu@mq.edu.au

  • Linguistic typology
  • Dialectology
  • The application of new technology in the teaching of foreign languages
  • Teaching Chinese as a foreign and heritage language
  • Intercultural language teaching and learning

Dr Lan Zhang
Title: Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Email: lan.zhang@mq.edu.au

  • Chinese literature and culture and 
  • Translation studies

Casual academic staff

Chinese Studies
Mr Franz Cheung Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: franz.cheung@mq.edu.au
Nicole Huang

Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: nicole.huang@mq.edu.au

Dr Daniel Lee Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: daniel.lee@mq.edu.au
Kathleen Poling

Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: kathleen.poling@mq.edu.au

Lingyun Yan Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: lingyun.yan@mq.edu.au
Xiaowei Zhang Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: xiaowei.zhang@mq.edu.au
Croatian Studies
Dr Jasna Novak Milic Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7049
Email: jasna.novakmilic@mq.edu.au
French and Francophone Studies
Mr Irwin Compiègne Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: irwin.compiegne@mq.edu.au
Ms Marion Kermann Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: marion.kermann@mq.edu.au
Dr Emily Watt Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Email:
German Studies
Mrs Susana Catalina Prat Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8684
Email: susana.catalina@mq.edu.au
Ms Rahel Cramer Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8684
Email:
Ms Franziska Fleischhauer Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8684
Email:
Mr Hannes Schulz Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8684
Email:
International Studies
Dr Gil Tabucanon Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: gil.tabucanon@mq.edu.au
Ms Cathy Wang Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email:cathy.wang@mq.edu.au
----- Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone:
Email:
Italian Studies
------- Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone:
Email:
Japanese Studies
Dr Nobu Akagi Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8813
Email: nobu.akagi@mq.edu.au
Mrs Alison Luke Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7927
Email: alison.jones@mq.edu.au
Mr Tetsuya Okada Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7927
Email: tetsuya.okada@mq.edu.au
Mr Masaki Shibata Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7927
Email: masaki.shibata@mq.edu.au
Mr Hideki Sumiyoshi Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7927
Email: hideki.sumiyoshi@mq.edu.au
Modern Greek Studies
Mr Ioannis Kalaitzidis Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6805
Email: ioannis.kalaitzidis@mq.edu.au
Mrs Patricia Koromvokis Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6805
Email: patricia.koromvokis@mq.edu.au
Russian Studies
Mrs Tatiana Oitzinger Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7050
Email: tatiana.oitzinger@mq.edu.au
Spanish and Latin American Studies
Mrs Pilar Alejandro Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: pilar.alejandro@mq.edu.au
Mrs Susana Catalina Prat Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8684
Email: susana.catalina@mq.edu.au
Ms Nidia Castrillon Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: nidia.castrillon@mq.edu.au
Mr Louis di Paolo Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: louis.di-paolo@mq.edu.au
Ms Diana Sanz Grossón Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: diana.sanzgrosson@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

Name Contact
Mr Vincent Bruin
Title: Overseas Study Advisor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 1011
Email: vincent.bruin@mq.edu.au
Ms Jennifer Heward
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7005
Email: jennifer.heward@mq.edu.au
Ms Tina Kong
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7008
Email: tina.kong@mq.edu.au
Ms Cathy Mewes
Title: Online Development Coordinator
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7033
Email: cathy.mewes@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact
Professor Daniel Kane
Title: Professor of Chinese
Email: daniel.kane@mq.edu.au
Dr Halyna Koscharsky
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: halyna.koscharsky@mq.edu.au
Dr Christie Barber
Title: Honorary Associate Lecturer, Japanese Studies

Email: christie.barber@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Estela Valverde
Title: Honorary Associate Professor 
Email: estela.valverde@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows

Name Contact
Dr John Severn
Title: Research Fellow, International Studies: Languages and Cultures

Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6882
Email: john.severn@mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page