Our people

Our people

Dr Jane Hanley

Dr Jane Hanley

Interim Head of Department

Dr Jane Hanley investigates topics related to travel and tourism, migration, past and present popular culture in Spain, and contemporary Mexico within broad research areas including travel writing, transnational cultural production, and gender in Spanish-language popular culture. Her current research project is on the influence of transnational mobility and networks in different genres. She serves on the Editorial Committee of the Journal of Iberian and Latin American Research. Jane is also interested in curriculum design and implementation, student assessment and student experiences of learning, and lectures in Spanish and Latin American Studies in the Department of International Studies: Languages and Cultures.

Professor Martina Möllering

Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts

Professor Martina Möllering is an expert of international standing in Language Studies and Linguistics, her research outputs have covered different areas of second language acquisition, pragmatics and intercultural learning as well as computer-assisted language learning. She has extensive experience in HDR supervision including Cotutelle and joint PhD candidates.

Academic staff (A-K)

Name and Contact Details Research Interests

Mr Gianluca Alimeni
Title: Associate Lecturer, Italian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7027
Email: gianluca.alimeni@mq.edu.au

Italian Renaissance and the 13th-15th century Novellistica (short stories)

Dr Bénédicte André
Title: Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7029
Email: benedicte.andre@mq.edu.au

  • Island Literary Studies
  • French and Francophone literature and culture
  • Literary Geography
  • Identity construction processes
  • Postcolonial Studies
  • Liminality

Dr Thomas Baudinette
Title: Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8813
Email: tom.baudinette@mq.edu.au

Gender and Sexuality in the Japanese Context, with a focus on media consumption; queer Japanese art, including manga; queer anthropology; transnational migration between China and Japan, with a focus on queer migration; globalization of Japanese popular culture.

Dr Susanne Binder
Title: Lecturer, German Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6881
Email: susanne.binder@mq.edu.au

  • German culture and society
  • Literature and literary theory
  • History and manuscripts (19th century)

Dr Mio Bryce
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7064
Email: mio.bryce@mq.edu.au 

Interdisciplinary research into youth cultures, with particular focus on manga and anime, in conjunction with the English Department.

Mr Luka Budak
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Croatian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7040
Email: luka.budak@mq.edu.au

  • Sociolinguistic aspect of the Croatian language both in Croatia and in the Croatian diaspora
  • History of Croatian standard idiom
  • Croatian migrations
  • Croatian culture and literature
  • History of Croatian settlement in Australia

Associate Professor Shirley Chan
Title: Head, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7021
Email: shirley.chan@mq.edu.au

  • Traditional Chinese culture
  • Chinese philosophy
  • Chinese textual studies and intellectual history
  • The excavated Chu bamboo manuscripts dated to the fourth century BCE

Professor Naren Chitty
Director: Soft Power Analysis and Resource Centre - Macquarie University (SPARC)
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 2160
Email: naren.chitty@mq.edu.au

Artificial Intelligence; Alternative media; International communication theory; International Public Relations; Media and foreign policy; Media and terrorism; New media of international communication; Public Diplomacy; Social media; Soft Power.

Dr Danijel Dzino
Title: Associate Lecturer, Croatian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 South Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7049
Email: danijel.dzino@mq.edu.au

  • History of the southeastern Europe (Balkans), from prehistory to modern times;
  • Perceptions of the past in the southeastern Europe
  • Construction of identities in the southeastern Europe

Associate Professor Ulrike Garde
Title: Associate Professor, German Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7051
Email: ulrike.garde@mq.edu.au

  • German and Cultural Studies
  • Creation and representation of cultural identity in literature, theatre, the performing arts and critical reviews.
  • Australian-German cultural relationships focusing on the Australian reception of drama written by German speaking playwrights.

Ms Angeline (Sijia) Guo
Title: Associate Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7023
Email: sijia.guo@mq.edu.au

  • Task-based Language Teaching,
  • Online Chinese teaching via web-conferencing systems
  • Second language acquisition

Dr Jane Hanley
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Spanish and Latin American Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6885
Email: jane.hanley@mq.edu.au

  • Travel writing
  • Transnational cultural production
  • Gender in Spanish-language popular culture

Dr Marika Kalyuga
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Russian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7016
Email: marika.kalyuga@mq.edu.au 

  • Cognitive linguistics
  • Cognitive pragmatics
  • Cognitive psychology
  • Foreign language pedagogy
  • Foreign language teacher education
  • Second language acquisition

Dr Elizabeth Kefallinos
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Modern Greek Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7031
Email: elizabeth.kefallinos@mq.edu.au

  • Greek linguistics and language acquisition
  • Medical terminology / etymologies
  • Intercultural identities
  • Oral narratives including Greek-Australian intergenerational identities and Greek-Jewish traumatic and memory explorations.

Dr Maryam Khalid
Title: Senior Lecturer and Director, Bachelor of International Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: +61 2 9850 7915
Office: W6A 327
Email: maryam.khalid@mq.edu.au

  • Poststructural international studies
  • Postcolonial studies
  • Gender and sexuality
  • Global governance
  • Identity construction processes
  • Middle East studies

Dr Alexandra Kurmann
Title: Lecturer, Head, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8809
Email: alex.kurmann@mq.edu.au

  • Comparative and World Literature in French, German, and English
  • French and Francophone Literature
  • Vietnamese Diasporic Writing
  • Exile Literature
  • Postcolonial Studies

Academic Staff (L-Z)

Name and Contact details Research Interests

Dr Sung-Ae Lee
Title: Lecturer, Asian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 8787
Email: sung-ae.lee@mq.edu.au

  • Fiction, film and television drama of East Asia, with particular attention to:
    Cognitive studies
  • Cultural blending
  • Imagology
  • Adaptation theory
  • Diaspora studies
  • Asian popular culture
  • Asian cinema
  • Korean literature and film

Mr Emilio Lomonaco
Title: Scholarly Teaching Fellow, Italian Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7025
Email: emilio.lomonaco@mq.edu.au  

  • Contemporary Italian literature with a focus on narratology
  • Orality and pseudo-orality in contemporary Italian literature
  • Sicilian authors such as Andrea Camilleri, Giovanni Verga and Luigi Pirandello
  • Traditional popular culture in Sicily, including poet Ignazio Buttitta and folk singer Rosa Balistreri

Dr Consuelo Martínez Reyes
Title: Lecturer, Spanish and Latin American Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7080
Email: consuelo.martinezreyes@mq.edu.au

  • Contemporary Spanish Caribbean literature and film
  • Gender and Sexuality
  • Translation Studies
  • Creative Writing

Ms Kayo Nakazawa
Title: Associate Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7028
Email: kayo.nakazawa@mq.edu.au

  • Second Language Acquisition
  • CALL

Dr Wes Robertson
Title: Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7910
Email: wes.robertson@mq.edu.au

  • Japanese Sociolinguistics
  • Language Ideologies & Indexicality
  • Language Planning & Policy
  • Writing Systems Research
  • The History of Written Japanese
  • Language Play & Humor Translation
  • Nonstandard Language Use

Dr Chavalin Svetanant
Title: Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7044
Email: chavalin.svetanant@mq.edu.au

  • Japanese Linguistics / Thai Linguistics,
  • Japanese Language Education,
  • Cross-cultural Communication with particular interests on:
    • language,
    • thought, and
    • social behaviours in comparative cultural and historical contexts
  • Critical Discourse Analysis (CDA),
  • Pop Culture
  • Media Studies

Ms Lyse Thomas
Title: Associate Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: lyse.thomas@mq.edu.au

 

Dr Kamila Walker
Title: Lecturer, Polish Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7014
Email:   kamila.walker@mq.edu.au

Polish literature, nineteenth-century English literature, Metaphor Theory, Narrative Realism, cross-linguistic and cross-cultural explorations of metaphors of emotion in prose fiction, cognitive/linguistic analyses of literary texts.

Dr Hui Ling Xu
Title: Senior Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 1005
Email: huiling.xu@mq.edu.au

  • Linguistic typology
  • Dialectology
  • The application of new technology in the teaching of foreign languages
  • Teaching Chinese as a foreign and heritage language
  • Intercultural language teaching and learning

Dr Lan Zhang
Title: Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Email: lan.zhang@mq.edu.au

  • Chinese literature and culture and
  • Translation studies

Casual / Fixed Term Academic Staff

Chinese Studies
Mr Franz Cheung
Casual Tutor
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: franz.cheung@mq.edu.au
Dr Daniel Lee
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: daniel.lee@mq.edu.au
Ms Ni Li
Assoc. Lecturer 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7023
Email: lini.li@mq.edu.au
Dr Kathleen Poling
Assoc. Lecturer

Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7692
Email: kathleen.poling@mq.edu.au

Ms Peijia Sun
Casual Tutor 

Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: peijia.sun@mq.edu.au

Ms Lingyun Yan
Casual Tutor
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: lingyun.yan@mq.edu.au
Dr Chongsheng (John) Yang
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: chongsheng.yang@mq.edu.au
Ms Peiying Yuan
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: peiying.yuan@mq.edu.au
Ms Lei Yuan
Casual Tutor
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: lei.yuan@mq.edu.au
Croatian Studies
Dr Jasna Novak Milic
Assoc. Lecturer 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6805
Email: jasna.novakmilic@mq.edu.au
French and Francophone Studies
Ms Marion Kermann
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: marion.kermann@mq.edu.au
Ms Lyse Thomas
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 1011
Email: lyse.thomas@mq.edu.au
Dr Emy Watt
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Email: emy.watt@mq.edu.au
German Studies
Mrs Katharina McGrath
Assoc. Lecturer 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7046
Email: katharina.mcgrath@mq.edu.au
Mrs Susana Catalina Prat
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: susana.catalina@mq.edu.au
Mr Nicolai Pudimat Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: 
Email: nicolai.pudimat@mq.edu.au
Mr Hannes Schulz
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: hannes.schulz@mq.edu.au
International Studies
Ms Dragana Stosic
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone:
Email: dragana.stosic@mq.edu.au
Mr Louis Di Paolo
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: louis.di-paolo@mq.edu.au
Italian Studies
------- Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone:
Email:
Japanese Studies
Dr Nobu Akagi
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: nobu.akagi@mq.edu.au
Ms Mami Emery
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: 
Email: mami.emery@mq.edu.au
Ms Kimiyo Matsui
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: 
Email: kimiyo.matsui@mq.edu.au
Ms Keiko Okabe
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: 
Email: keiko.okabe@mq.edu.au
Mr Takuya Okada
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: 
Email: takuya.kojima@mq.edu.au
Ms Setsuko Oshima
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: 
Email: setsuko.oshima@mq.edu.au
Modern Greek Studies
Dr Patricia Koromvokis
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6805
Email: patricia.koromvokis@mq.edu.au
Russian Studies
Mrs Tatiana Oitzinger
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7050
Email: tatiana.oitzinger@mq.edu.au
Spanish and Latin American Studies
Mrs Pilar Alejandro
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: pilar.alejandro@mq.edu.au
Mrs Susana Catalina Prat
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: susana.catalina@mq.edu.au
Ms Nidia Castrillon
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: nidia.castrillon@mq.edu.au
Mr Louis di Paolo  
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: louis.di-paolo@mq.edu.au
Ms Ana Delgado Prieto
Casual Tutor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: diana.sanzgrosson@mq.edu.au

Professional Staff

NameContact
Ms Eva Gabrielson
Title: Department Administrator 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7005
Email: eva.gabrielson@mq.edu.au
Ms Sheyana La Brooy
Title: Department Administrator 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7008
Email: sheyana.labrooy@mq.edu.au
Ms Cathy Mewes
Title: Online Development Coordinator
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 7033
Email: cathy.mewes@mq.edu.au
Ms Lyse Thomas
Title: Overseas Study Advisor 
Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 1011
Email: lyse.thomas@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact
Professor Daniel Kane
Title: Professor of Chinese
Email: daniel.kane@mq.edu.au
Dr Halyna Koscharsky
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: halyna.koscharsky@mq.edu.au
Dr Christie Barber
Title: Honorary Associate Lecturer, Japanese Studies

Email: christie.barber@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Estela Valverde
Title: Honorary Associate Professor 
Email: estela.valverde@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows

NameContact
Dr John Severn
Title: Research Fellow, International Studies: Languages and Cultures

Location: Australian Hearing Hub, Level 2 North Wing
Phone: (02) 9850 6882
Email: john.severn@mq.edu.au

Content owner: Department of International Studies: Languages and Cultures Last updated: 10 Sep 2019 11:30am

Back to the top of this page