Our people

Our people

placeholder

Associate Professor Ulrike Garde

Head of Department

Ulrike Garde’s background in German and Cultural Studies has led her to research the creation and representation of cultural identity in literature, theatre, the performing arts and critical reviews. She has explored Australian-German cultural relationships focusing on the Australian reception of drama written by German speaking playwrights. Her latest publications offer fresh perspectives on our current fascination with ‘Real People’ narrating their lives on stage.

Professor Martina Möllering

Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts

Professor Martina Möllering is an expert of international standing in Language Studies and Linguistics, her research outputs have covered different areas of second language acquisition, pragmatics and intercultural learning as well as computer-assisted language learning. She has extensive experience in HDR supervision including Cotutelle and joint PhD candidates.

Academic staff (A-K)

Name and contact details Research Interests

Dr Rodrigo Acuña
Title: Associate Lecturer, Spanish and Latin American Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 328
Phone: (02) 9850 8874
Email: rodrigo.acuna@mq.edu.au

  • Inter-American relations, 
  • Cold War and Post-Cold War Latin America, 
  • Venezuelan history and politics, 
  • human rights and development policies from a multidisciplinary perspective

Gianluca Alimeni
Title: Associate Lecturer, Italian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 205
Phone: (02) 9850 7027
Email: gianluca.alimeni@mq.edu.au

Italian Renaissance and the 13th-15th century Novellistica (short stories)

Dr Bénédicte André
Title: Associate Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 202
Phone: (02) 9850 7029
Email: benedicte.andre@mq.edu.au 

  • Island Literary Studies; 
  • French and Francophone literature and culture; 
  • Literary Geography; 
  • Identity construction processes; 
  • Postcolonial Studies; 
  • Liminality

Dr Thomas Baudinette
Title: Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 337
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Email: tom.baudinette@mq.edu.au

Gender and Sexuality in the Japanese Context, with a focus on media consumption; queer Japanese art, including manga; queer anthropology; transnational migration between China and Japan, with a focus on queer migration; globalization of Japanese popular culture.

Dr Susanne Binder
Title: Lecturer, German Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 537
Phone: (02) 9850 6881
Email: susanne.binder@mq.edu.au

  • German culture and society 
  • literature and literary theory 
  • history and manuscripts (19th century)

Dr Mio Bryce
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 339
Phone: (02) 9850 7064
Email: mio.bryce@mq.edu.au 

Interdisciplinary research into youth cultures, with particular focus on manga and anime, in conjunction with the English Department.

Luka Budak
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Croatian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 114
Phone: (02) 9850 7040
Email: luka.budak@mq.edu.au

  • Sociolinguistic aspect of Croatian language, both in Croatia and Croatian diaspora, 
  • history of Croatian standard idiom, 
  • Croatian migrations, 
  • Croatian culture and literature, and 
  • history of Croatian settlement in Australia

Dr Kevin Carrico
Title: Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Phone: +61 2 9850 7692
Office: W6A 227
Email: kevin.carrico@mq.edu.au

  • Political anthropology; 
  • Ethnic relations in China; 
  • Critical Han Studies; 
  • Chinese nationalism and popular culture; 
  • China-Tibet relations; 
  • Localism in Hong Kong; 
  • Social systems theory

Associate Professor Shirley Chan
Title: Head, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 226
Phone: (02) 9850 7021
Email: shirley.chan@mq.edu.au

  • Traditional Chinese culture, 
  • Chinese philosophy, 
  • Chinese textual studies and intellectual history, and 
  • the excavated Chu bamboo manuscripts dated to the fourth century BCE

Dr Danijel Dzino
Title: Associate Lecturer, Croatian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 113
Phone: (02) 9850 7049
Email: danijel.dzino@mq.edu.au

  • History of the southeastern Europe (Balkans), from prehistory to modern times; 
  • Perceptions of the past in the southeastern Europe; 
  • Construction of identities in the southeastern Europe

Angeline (Sijia) Guo
Title: Associate Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 228
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: sijia.guo@mq.edu.au

  • Task-based Language Teaching, 
  • Online Chinese teaching via web-conferencing systems and 
  • second language acquisition

Dr Jane Hanley
Title: Lecturer, Head, Spanish and Latin American Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 203
Phone: (02) 9850 6885
Email: jane.hanley@mq.edu.au

  • Travel writing, 
  • transnational cultural production, and 
  • gender in Spanish-language popular culture

Dr Marika Kalyuga
Title: Senior Lecturer, Head, Russian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 203
Phone: (02) 9850 7016
Email: marika.kalyuga@mq.edu.au 

  • Cognitive linguistics, 
  • cognitive pragmatics, 
  • cognitive psychology, 
  • foreign language pedagogy, 
  • foreign language teacher education, and 
  • second language acquisition

Dr Elizabeth Kefallinos
Title: Lecturer, Head, Modern Greek Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 216
Phone: (02) 9850 7031
Email: elizabeth.kefallinos@mq.edu.au

  • Greek linguistics and language acquisition
  • Medical terminology / etymologies
  • Intercultural identities
  • Oral narratives including Greek-Australian intergenerational identities and Greek-Jewish traumatic and memory explorations.

Dr Maryam Khalid
Title: Lecturer and Director, Bachelor of International Studies
Phone: +61 2 9850 7915
Office: W6A 327
Email: maryam.khalid@mq.edu.au

  • Poststructural international studies; 
  • Postcolonial studies; 
  • Gender and sexuality; 
  • Global governance; 
  • Identity construction processes; 
  • Middle East studies

Dr Alexandra Kurmann
Title: Lecturer, French and Francophone Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 323
Phone: (02) 9850 8809
Email: alex.kurmann@mq.edu.au

  • Comparative and World Literature in French, German, and English; 
  • French and Francophone Literature; 
  • Vietnamese Diasporia Writing; 
  • Exile Literature; 
  • Postcolonial Studies.

Academic staff (L-Z)

Name and contact details Research Interests

Dr Sung-Ae Lee
Title: Lecturer, Asian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 324
Phone: (02) 9850 8787
Email: sung-ae.lee@mq.edu.au

  • Fiction, film and television drama of East Asia, with particular attention to:
    Cognitive studies, 
  • Cultural blending, 
  • Imagology, 
  • Adaptation theory, 
  • Diaspora studies, 
  • Asian popular culture, 
  • Asian cinema, and 
  • Korean literature and film.

Emilio Lomonaco
Title: Associate Lecturer, Italian Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 204
Phone: (02) 9850 7025
Email: emilio.lomonaco@mq.edu.au  

  • Contemporary Italian literature with a focus on narratology; 
  • orality and pseudo-orality in contemporary Italian literature; 
  • Sicilian authors such as Andrea Camilleri, Giovanni Verga and Luigi Pirandello; 
  • traditional popular culture in Sicily, including poet Ignazio Buttitta and folk singer Rosa Balistreri.

Dr Florence Ma
Title: Lecturer, English as a Foreign Language
Location: Building W6A, Room 341
Phone: (02) 9850 7285
Email: florence.lai.ma@mq.edu.au

  • Non-native English Speaking Teachers (NNESTs) issues, 
  • Use of L1, 
  • Language Teacher Education, 
  • Bilingualism and 
  • Academic Literacy

Ms Kayo Nakazawa
Title: Associate Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 334
Phone: (02) 9850 7028
Email: kayo.nakazawa@mq.edu.au

  • Second Language Acquisition, 
  • CALL

Ms Li Ni
Title: Associate Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 228
Phone: (02) 9850 7023
Email: lini.li@mq.edu.au

 

Dr Brangwen Stone
Title: Associate Lecturer, German Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 329
Phone: (02) 9850 8863
Email: brangwen.stone@mq.edu.au

  • GDR literature, 
  • Eastern Europe in German literature and film, 
  • post-reunification literature and 
  • contemporary German drama

Dr Chavalin Svetanant
Title: Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 335
Phone: (02) 9850 7044
Email: chavalin.svetanant@mq.edu.au

  • Japanese Linguistics / Thai Linguistics, 
  • Japanese Language Education, 
  • Cross-cultural Communication with particular interests on: 
    • language, 
    • thought, and 
    • social behaviours in comparative cultural and historical contexts, 
  • Critical Discourse Analysis (CDA), 
  • Pop Culture and 
  • Media Studies

Dr Kimiko Tsukada
Title: Senior Lecturer, Japanese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 303
Phone: (02) 9850 7922
Email: kimiko.tsukada@mq.edu.au

  • Experimental/acoustic phonetics, 
  • cross-language speech production/perception and 
  • Japanese phonetics

Dr Kamila Walker
Title: Lecturer, Polish Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7014
Email:  kamila.walker@mq.edu.au

Polish literature, nineteenth-century English literature, Metaphor Theory, Narrative Realism, cross-linguistic and cross-cultural explorations of metaphors of emotion in prose fiction, cognitive/linguistic analyses of literary texts.

Dr Hui Ling Xu
Title: Senior Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 229
Phone: (02) 9850 1005
Email: huiling.xu@mq.edu.au

  • Linguistic typology,
  • dialectology, 
  • the application of new technology in the teaching of foreign languages, 
  • teaching Chinese as a foreign and heritage language, and 
  • intercultural language teaching and learning

Dr Lan Zhang
Title: Lecturer, Chinese Studies
Location: Building W6A, Room 232
Phone: (02) 9850 7020
Email: lan.zhang@mq.edu.au

  • Chinese literature and culture and 
  • translation studies

Casual academic staff

CHINESE STUDIES
Mr Franz Cheung Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: franz.cheung@mq.edu.au
Nicole Huang

Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: nicole.huang@mq.edu.au

Dr Daniel Lee Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: daniel.lee@mq.edu.au
Angela Lu Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: angela.lu@mq.edu.au
Kathleen Poling

Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: kathleen.poling@mq.edu.au

Lingyun Yan Location: Building W6A, Room 230
Phone: (02) 9850 7001
Email: lingyun.yan@mq.edu.au
FRENCH AND FRANCOPHONE STUDIES
Irwin Compiègne Location: Building W6B, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: irwin.compiegne@mq.edu.au
Marion Kermann

Location: Building W6B, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: marion.kermann@mq.edu.au

Dr Jenny Lane Location: Building W6B, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7011 
Email: jennifer.lane@mq.edu.au
Lyse Thomas Location: Building W6B, Room 332
Phone: (02) 9850 7011
Email: lyse.thomas@mq.edu.au
GERMAN STUDIES
Susana Catalina Prat Location: Building W6A, Room 331
Phone: (02) 9850 8864
Email: susana.catalina@mq.edu.au
Rahel Cramer

Location: Building W6A, Room 331
Phone: (02) 9850
Email: rahel.cramer@mq.edu.au

ITALIAN STUDIES
Rosalba Paris Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: rosalba.paris@mq.edu.au
JAPANESE STUDIES
Nobuaki Akagi Location: Building W6A, Room 304
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: nobuaki.akagi@mq.edu.au
Alison Jones Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: alison.jones@mq.edu.au
Tetsuya Okada

Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: tetsuya.okada@mq.edu.au

Setsuko Oshima

Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: setsuko.oshima@mq.edu.au

Masaki Shibata

Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 6890
Email: masaki.shibata@mq.edu.au

Hideki Sumiyoshi Location: Building W6A, Room 301
Phone: (02) 9850 7927
Email: hideki.sumiyoshi@mq.edu.au
MODERN GREEK STUDIES
Ioannis Kalaitzidis Location: Building W6A, Room 330
Phone: (02) 9850 6805
Email: ioannis.kalaitzidis@mq.edu.au
Patricia Koromvokis Location: Building W6A, Room 330
Phone: (02) 9850 6805
Email: patricia.koromvokis@mq.edu.au
RUSSIAN STUDIES
Tatiana Oitzinger Location: Building W6A, Room 333
Phone: (02) 9850 7050
Email: tatiana.oitzinger@mq.edu.au
Tatyana Ryvchin Location: Building W6A, Room 333
Phone: (02) 9850 7050
Email: tanya.ryvchin@mq.edu.au
SPANISH STUDIES
Pilar Alejandro Location: Building W6A, Room 323
Phone: (02) 9850 6885
Email: pilar.alejandro@mq.edu.au
Nidia Castrillon Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: nidia.castrillon@mq.edu.au
Diana Sanz Grossón

Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: TBA

Dr Pablo Leighton

Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: pablo.leighton@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

Name Contact
Mr Vincent Bruin
Title: Overseas Study Advisor 
Location: Building W6A, Room 212
Phone: (02) 9850 1011
Email: vincent.bruin@mq.edu.au
Ms Jennifer Heward
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W6A, Room 217
Phone: (02) 9850 7005
Email: jennifer.heward@mq.edu.au
Ms Tina Kong
Title: Department Administrator
Location: Building W6A, Room 201
Phone: (02) 9850 7008
Email: tina.kong@mq.edu.au
Ms Cathy Mewes
Title: Online Development Coordinator
Location: Building W6A, Room 212
Phone: (02) 9850 7033
Email: cathy.mewes@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates

Name Contact
Professor Daniel Kane
Title: Professor of Chinese
Location: Building W6A, Room 227
Phone: (02) 9850 7692
Email: daniel.kane@mq.edu.au
Dr Halyna Koscharsky
Title: Honorary Associate
Location: Building W6A, Room 106
Email: halyna.koscharsky@mq.edu.au
Dr Christie Barber
Title: Honorary Associate Lecturer, Japanese Studies

Location: Building W6A, Room 304
Phone: (02) 9850 8813
Email: christie.barber@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Estela Valverde
Title: Honorary Associate Professor 
Location: Building W6A, Room 203
Phone: (02) 9850 6882
Email: estela.valverde@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows

Name Contact
Dr John Severn
Title: Research Fellow, International Studies: Languages and Cultures

Location: Building W6A, Room 211
Phone: (02) 9850 6882
Email: john.severn@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Professors

Name

International Studies

Casual staff

Name Contact

Cintia Agosti

Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: cintia.agosti@mq.edu.au

Franziska Fleischhauer

Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: franziska.fleischhauer@mq.edu.au

Louis di Paolo

Location: Building W6A, Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: louis.di-paolo@mq.edu.au

Dr Gil Tabucanon

Location: Building W6A Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email: gil.tabucanon@mq.edu.au

Cathy Wang

Location: Building W6A Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 7024
Email:cathy.wang@mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page