Our people

Our people

Jeannette Kennett

Jeanette Kennett

Head of Department

Kennett joined Macquarie in 2009 as a CoRE joint appointment between the Philosophy Department and the Macquarie Centre for Cognitive Science. After completing her PhD in 1994 she spent a further ten years in the Philosophy Department at Monash as Lecturer/Senior Lecturer.




Academic staff


Name and contact detailsResearch Interests

Albert Atkin
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 727
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6880
Email: albert.atkin@mq.edu.au
Philosophy of language; American pragmatism; epistemology; argumentation; race

Andy Clark
Title: Professor
Email: a.clark@mq.edu.au


Jean-Philippe Deranty
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 738
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6773
Email: jp.deranty@mq.edu.au 
French and German philosophy; social and political philosophy; recognition, work

Jennifer Duke-Yonge
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 722
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8826
Email: jennifer.duke-yonge@mq.edu.au
Philosophy of logic and language; development of reasoning skills

Paul Formosa
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 728
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8817
Email: paul.formosa@mq.edu.au
Moral and political philosophy; Kant; Evil

Richard Heersmink
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 729
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8758
Email: jan.heersmink@mq.edu.au
Philosophy of cognitive science; philosophy of technology; philosophy of science

Jane Johnson
Title: Scholarly Teaching Fellow
Location: Building W6A Room 733
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6772
Email: jane.johnson@mq.edu.au
Applied ethics (especially animal ethics, the ethics of surgical innovation, bioethics and the ethical implications of One Health)

Neil Levy
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 731
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6800
Email: neil.levy@mq.edu.au 
Free will and moral responsibility; philosophy of mind and psychology; neuroethics

Mianna Lotz
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 734
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8804
Email: Mianna.Lotz@mq.edu.au 
Applied ethics; ethical theory; procreation, parenthood and childhood; ethics in biotechnology

Catriona Mackenzie
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 239
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8865
Email: catriona.mackenzie@mq.edu.au 
Moral psychology; moral philosophy; feminist philosophy; applied ethics

Michael Olson
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W6A Room 723
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6895
Email: michael.olson@mq.edu.au
Early modern philosophy (especially Kant); modern European philosophy; transcendental philosophy; history of materialism

Duncan Pritchard
Title: Professor
Email: duncan.pritchard@mq.edu.au


Nicholas Smith
Title: Professor
Location: Building W6A Room 735
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8881
Email: nicholas.smith@mq.edu.au
Modern European Philosophy; social and political philosophy

Karola Stotz
Title: Senior Lecturer; Templeton Foundation Fellow
Location: Building W6A Room 702
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6774
Email: karola.stotz@mq.edu.au

Philosophy of biology; philosophy of cognitive science; philosophy of psychology; philosophy of science


Adam Hochman
Title: Lecturer, Macquarie University Research Fellow
Location: Building W6A Room 733
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8859
Email: adam.hochman@mq.edu.au
Philosophy of race

Colin Klein
Title: Senior Lecturer, ARC Future Fellow
Location: Building W6A Room 725
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8876
Email: colin.klein@mq.edu.au
Philosophy of mind; Philosophy of science

Richard Menary
Title: Associate Professor, ARC Future Fellow
Location: Building W6A Room 732
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6896
Email: richard.menary@mq.edu.au
Philosophy of mind; Philosophy of cognitive science; Philosophy of biology; 

Wendy Rogers
Title: Professor, ARC Future Fellow
Location: Building W6A Room 740
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8858
Email: wendy.rogers@mq.edu.au
Ethics of surgical research and practice; Vulnerability in bioethics

Robert Sinnerbrink
Title: Senior Lecturer, ARC Future Fellow
Location: Building W6A Room 724
Phone: (61 2) 9850 9935
Philosophy of film

Professional staff


Name Contact

Clara Wong
Title: Departmental Administrator
Location: Building W6A Room 739
Phone: (61 2) 9850 8837
Email: clara.wong@mq.edu.au

Adjunct Professors, Visiting Fellows, Honorary Associates


Name Contact

John Sutton
Title: Professor, Department of Cognitive Science
Email: john.sutton@mq.edu.au

Timothy Bayne
Title: Honorary Fellow


Max Deutscher
Title: Emeritus Professor
Email: maxwell.deutscher@mq.edu.au

Genevieve Lloyd
Title: Senior Research Fellow


Cynthia Townley
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: cynthia.townley@mq.edu.au

Andrés Vaccari
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: andres.vaccari@mq.edu.au

Nicole Vincent
Title: Honorary Fellow
Email: nicole.vincent@mq.edu.au

Mary Walker
Title: Honorary Associate
Email: mary.walker@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows


Name Contact

Katrina Hutchison
Title: Macquarie University Research Fellow
Location: Building W6A Room 726
Phone: (61 2) 9850 6803
Email: katrina.hutchison@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page