Macquarie alumnus named Australian of the Year
Macquarie alumnus named Australian of the Year


Macquarie alumnus named Australian of the Year

Macquarie University alumnus and biomedical scientist Professor Alan Mackay-Sim, was named Australian of the Year.

Professor Mackay-Sim began his foray into the world of science with an undergraduate degree at Macquarie in 1974, and completed his PhD in behavioural biology in 1980, in what was then known as the Division of Environmental and Life Sciences.

Professor Mackay-Sim is renowned for his groundbreaking work in stem cell research, and is currently an Emeritus Professor at Griffith University.

It was during his time at Macquarie that he became fascinated with the science of the nose, after he realised that, “in Australia nobody else has been particularly interested in smell, I mean in the physiology of the sense of smell”.

The Australian of the Year Awards profile leading citizens who are role models for all Australians and inspire us through their achievements. The Awards honour an exceptional group of highly-respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.

Professor Mackay-Sim’s research has given hope to thousands of Australians with spinal cord injuries and biological bases of brain disorders and diseases.

Professor Mackay-Sim used his acceptance speech to push for greater investment in young scientists and highlight the importance for researchers to have a longer view beyond “the political horizon”.

A number of other Macquarie University alumni and staff were also recognised, including Professor of Breast Oncology and Director of ALERT (Australian Lymphoedema Education Research and Treatment) John Boyages, who received the Order of Australia.

Other alumni recognised in the Australia Day Honours include:

  • Robert Bowen AO (MBA 1977) – for distinguished service to community health in Queensland, particularly through not-for-profit research organisations, to medical biotechnology manufacturing and export, and to fostering innovation.
  • Bernard Brookes AM (BA/DipEd 1982) – for significant service to the retailing sector through leadership roles, to national and international business associations, and to the community.
  • Emeritus Professor Christine Deer AM (PhD 1978) – for significant service to education as an academic and author, to professional learning associations, and to the community.
  • John Dickenson AM (BA 1991) – for significant service to sports aviation as a pioneer of innovative design and development of hang-gliding and para-gliding equipment.
  • Peter Enderby OAM (PD Tech Mgmt 1996) – for service to the community, particularly to Justices of the Peace.
  • Maureen Fegan OAM (BA 1974, MA 1985) – for service to children and their families.
  • Dr Allan Fife OAM (BA 1977) – for service to aged welfare, to business, and to the property sector.
  • Dr Christopher Roberts AO (MBA 1980, DSc (Honoris Causa 2010) – for distinguished service to science and the development and commercialisation of medical biotechnology, particularly through the cochlear implant program, and the management of respiratory conditions.
  • Jeremy Smith AFSM (GCertPublicSector Mgmt 1991) – Australian Fire Service Medal
  • Timothy Smith OAM (BSc 1991)- for service to public administration, and to maritime history preservation.
  • Philip Twyman AM (MBA 1984) – for significant service to the insurance industry, as a mentor and role model in business, and to international relations.

Macquarie University congratulates each recipient for their achievements and contributions to our local and global communities.

Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>