Macquarie’s Professor Lesley Hughes wins Eureka Prize
Macquarie’s Professor Lesley Hughes wins Eureka Prize


Macquarie’s Professor Lesley Hughes wins Eureka Prize

/ September 10, 2014

Professor Lesley Hughes. Photo by Chris Stacey

Macquarie University climate change scientist Professor Lesley Hughes has won the 2014 Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Australian Science Research.

Professor Hughes has been researching and communicating the science of climate change for more than 20 years. She was appointed commissioner of the independent government advisory Climate Commission in 2011 and became a pro-bono founding councillor of the Climate Council of Australia in 2013. She was a lead author for the UN’s IPCC Fourth and Fifth Assessment Reports.

From a research background—predicting and then observing the effects of a changing climate on biodiversity— Professor Hughes moved to communicating beyond her scientific peers. Her goal is to translate the science of climate change in all its breadth and complexity to the wider public.

Professor Hughes’ free, online course via Open University Australia explains the science of climate change in straightforward terms for non-scientists. The course even received praise from climate sceptics—for them, what had been lacking was a clear explanation of the science.

“With issues like climate change, the science may be settled, but the debate rages on. For many scientists, this gap between science and public understanding is unfathomable. Lesley Hughes is bridging that gap,” Australian Museum Director and CEO Kim McKay said.

Professor Hughes has also been appointed to the newly established position of Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) Integrity and Development, where she will help sustain and grow Macquarie’s research profile through the development of research capability and the promotion of research integrity.

Comment (1)

  1. bronwen Wade-Leeuwen

    Updated information
    ‘Professor Lesley Hughes won the NSW Sustainable Schools Education Award.
    Are you able to publish this news to please?

    The following winners and highly commended nominees were announced at the event:
    Tertiary Educator of the Year Award and Overall 2020 NSW Environmental Educator of the Year Award
    Winner – Professor Lesley Hughes, Macquarie University

    Dr Wade


Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>