Mariella Herberstein



Professor Mariella Herberstein



Deputy Chair

Professor Jacqueline Phillips

Ex-Officio Members

Academic Senate Rules 7(1)(a)-(d) - the Vice-Chancellor, the Deputy Vice-Chancellors and the Pro-Vice Chancellors.

Bruce Dowton


Professor S Bruce Dowton


Professor Kevin Jameson

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)


Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Vice-Chancellor



Professor David Wilkinson

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Corporate Engagement and Advancement)



Professor Sakkie Pretorius

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
N BRIGG - 2016v1   

Nicole Brigg

Pro Vice-Chancellor (International)


Pro Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching)
Professor Sean Brawley   

Professor Sean Brawley

Interim Pro Vice-Chancellor (Programs and Pathways)
Leanne Holt  

Dr Leanne Holt

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy)

Professor Lesley Hughes


Professor Lesley Hughes

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) Integrity and Development



Professor Peter Nelson

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) Performance and Innovation

Academic Senate Rule 7(1)(e) - the Executive Deans of Faculties.



Professor Martina Möllering

Executive Dean of Faculty of Arts

Professor Stephen Brammer

Executive Dean of Faculty of Business and Economics
Professor Simon Handley   

Professor Simon Handley

Executive Dean of Faculty of Human Sciences

Professor Patrick Neil


Professor Patrick McNeil

Executive Dean of Medicine and Health Sciences

Professor Barbara Messerle


Professor Barbara Messerle

Executive Dean of Faculty of Science and Engineering

Academic Senate Rule 7(1)(f)-(j) - the Dean of Higher Degree Research, the Dean of the MGSM, the Director of the Learning and Teaching Centre, the Head of Department of Indigenous Studies and the University Librarian.



Professor Nick Mansfield

Dean of Higher Degree Research
Professor Bronwyn Carlson   

Professor Bronwyn Carlson

Head of Department of Indigenous Studies



JoAnne Sparks

University Librarian

Elected Members

Academic Senate Rule 7(1)(k) - four members from each of the Faculties of Arts, Business and Economics, Human Sciences, and Science and Engineering. (1 January 2017 - 31 December 2018)

Academic Senate Rule 7(1)(l) - two members from the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences. (1 January 2017 - 31 December 2018)


Faculty of Arts


Dr Frank Carrigan

Macquarie Law School

Dr Paul Formosa

Department of Philosophy

Professor Antonina Harbus

Department of English



Professor Kathryn Millard

Department of Media, Music, Communications and Cultural Studies

Faculty of Business and Economics

Professor Norma Harrison   

Professor Norma Harrison

Macquarie Graduate School of Management

Dr Timothy Kyng

Department of Applied Finance & Actuarial Studies

Professor Lisa Magnani

Department of Economics

Professor Lucy Taksa


Professor Lucy Taksa

Business and Economics Administration

Faculty of Human Sciences

Professor Amanda Barnier


Professor Amanda Barnier

Department of Cognitive Science

Professor Barbara Griffin

Department of Psychology

Dr Kerry-Ann O'Sullivan

Department of Educational Studies

Dr Peter Roger

Department of Linguistics

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences


Professor Enrico Coiera

Centre for Health Informatics

Professor Catherine Dean

Department of Health Professions

Faculty of Science and Engineering


Associate Professor Ayse Bilgin

Department of Statistics

Professor Judith Dawes

Department of Physics and Astronomy

Professor Jim Denier

Department of Mathematics

Professor Neil Saintilan

Department of Environmental Sciences

Academic Senate Rule 7(1)(n) - one member of the non-Faculty academic staff (1 January 2017 - 31 December 2018)


Dr Florence Chiew


Academic Senate Rule 7(1)(o) - student members, term of office two years (until 31 May 2020)


Emily Ward

Undergraduate - Faculty of Arts

Ariel Serravalle

Undergraduate - Faculty of Business and Economics

Alexei Feofiloff

Undergraduate - Faculty of Human Sciences

Alexander Hablutzel

Undergraduate - Faculty of Science and Engineering

Lilly Andolfatto

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Smarika Mahat

Postgraduate - Coursework
Heather Lockwood   

Heather Lockwood

Postgraduate - Coursework

Sayantani Chatterjee

Postgraduate - Higher Degree Research (HDR)

Appointed Members

Academic Senate Rule 7(1)(p) - up to four additional members appointed by resolution of Academic Senate


Associate Professor Catriona Lavermicocca

Chair of Academic Standards and Quality Committee

Dr Mitch Parsell

Chair of Academic Senate Learning and Teaching Committee

Return To Top

Back to the top of this page