Student Experience committee

Student Experience committee

The Standing Committee on Student Experience is responsible for reporting and making recommendations to University Council on the overall experience of all Macquarie University students.

Terms of Reference

Approved by Macquarie University Council 26 October 2017

1. Purpose of Committee

1.1 To report and make recommendations to Council on overall student experience.

2. Authority and scope

2.1 The Committee has no delegated authorities.

3. Membership and term of office


Ex-officio Membership

  • Deputy Chancellor*
  • A minimum of one member of Council
  • Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) and Registrar
  • Director Campus Life
  • Director Student Wellbeing
  • Dean Higher Degree Research
  • Pro Vice Chancellor (Learning and Teaching)
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students)
  • University Librarian
  • University Council student representative

Non Ex-officio Membership

  • 3 student representatives, being office bearers, elected by the current Student Representative Committee membership
  • 2 external members by invitation

Where a position is not specified, Committee Members will be appointed by Council.

3.2 Chair of Committee

3.2.1 The Committee Chair is the Deputy Chancellor.

3.3 Term of Office

3.3.1 Non ex-officio members are appointed for a two-year term.

4. Responsibilities

4.1 Review key internal/external metrics and benchmarking that inform planning and resource allocation for the student experience;

4.2 Receive and respond to issues relating to student experience referred by Council and relevant student bodies; and

4.3 Provide reports to Council on outcomes of interventions and strategies to enhance student graduate outcomes and the overall student experience.

5. Administrative arrangements

5.1 Meetings

5.1.1 The Committee shall meet at least three times per year, and as required.

5.1.2 Meetings may be held using any form of technology that is approved by Council for Council meetings.

5.1.3 The majority of the members represents a quorum.

5.2 Secretarial support, Agendas and Minutes

5.2.1 The University will provide a secretary for the Committee.

5.2.2 Agendas will be approved by the Chair and circulated to Committee members at least one week prior to the meeting.

5.2.3 A request for consideration of an Agenda item by circular resolution requires the approval of the Chair.

5.2.4 Approval of an Agenda item by circular resolution requires majority approval of members. In the event of a split decision the Chair will have the casting vote.

5.2.5 Draft Minutes of Committee meetings will be circulated to Committee members for comment and review within ten working days of the date of the meeting of which they are a record.

5.3 Committee powers

5.3.1 In exercising its responsibilities under section 5, the Committee may require the production and submission of reports, documents, advice and other additional material as is deemed necessary.

5.3.2 The Committee shall have such resources as are necessary to ensure it can undertake its responsibilities in a timely, independent and efficient manner.

5.4 Conflicts of interest

5.4.1 Committee members must declare any conflicts of interest at the start of each meeting in relation to any item for discussion.

5.5 Reporting requirements

5.5.1 Minutes of the Committee meetings will be reported to Council at the next meeting.

6. Review

6.1 At least once a year the Committee will review its Terms of Reference.

7. Version history

7.1 Approval authority

7.1.1 Council (approved 10 April 2014)

7.2 Version 1 date

7.2.1 9 April 2015

7.3 Subsequent versions

7.3.1  8 October 2015

7.3.2  27 October 2016

7.3.3  29 June 2017

7.3.4  26 October 2017


(as at June 2017)

  • Elizabeth Crouch (Chair and Deputy Chancellor) - ex officio *
  • Greg Jones
  • The Hon Sandra Nori
  • Professor Kevin Jameson
  • Kim Guerin
  • Darren Peters
  • Professor Nick Mansfield
  • Professor Sherman Young
  • Professor Leigh Wood
  • JoAnne Sparks
  • Cissy Shen
  • James Cummins
  • Danica (Dee) Zegarac
  • Alexander Hablutzel

* The Chancellor and Deputy Chancellor are members of the committee by virtue of their office, in accordance with the provisions of Section 21 of the Macquarie University By-Law 2005.

Back to the top of this page