And the winners are…


Exemplary: Some of the 24 winners in the 2019 Academic Staff Awards.

“A culture of transformative learning in a research-enriched environment.”

It’s the first strategic priority in Macquarie University’s strategic framework Our University: A Framing of Futures, and this fundamental connection between teaching and research at Macquarie was at the heart of the Academic Staff Awards ceremony, held yesterday Monday 18 November.

Over 300 staff came together to celebrate their colleagues as the University recognised 24 winners that have made exemplary contributions to research and teaching at Macquarie.


Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Kevin Jameson says is was a great privilege to be part of the ceremony and see so many deserving individuals recognised.

“The Academic Staff Awards offer us a unique opportunity to acknowledge and thank our academic community, across both research and learning and teaching, for their innovation, talent and commitment towards excellence,” he says.

“We were inundated with more than 2000 nominations from our Macquarie students for the new Vice-Chancellor’s Student-Nominated Award, and it’s very clear to me that Macquarie teachers make a real difference in the lives of our students and are genuinely committed to empowering them towards success.”

Speaking at the ceremony, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Sakkie Pretorius said it was a day for celebration.

“We have so many reasons to celebrate our world-leading researchers and their achievements – including our ongoing success with external research funding and our demonstrated reputation for delivering research with real-world impact,” he said. “Our trajectory continues to move upward and I thank all our researchers and all the hardworking research support staff who make certain our parachutes are safely packed to enable research excellence across our University.”

alexandra-and-family_webDouble award winner Alexandra Bhatti was joined by her proud family at the ceremony.

Congratulations to all the winners. You can learn more about all of these staff in our recent finalist profiles.

Research Awards

The Jim Piper Award for Excellence in Research Leadership

Professor Roger Chung
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Excellence in Research: Five Future-shaping Research Priorities

Prosperous Economies
Professor Deborah Schofield
Macquarie Business School

Resilient Societies
Associate Professor Kate Lloyd
Associate Professor Sandie Suchet-Pearson
Bawaka Collective
Faculty of Arts

Innovative Technologies
Professor Karu Esselle
Dr David Bulger
Dr Maria Kovaleva
Faculty of Science and Engineering

Healthy People
Dr Celia Harris
Faculty of Human Sciences

Secure Planet
Professor Phillip Taylor
Faculty of Science and Engineering

Excellence in Higher Degree Research Supervisor of the Year Award

Professor Jennie Hudson
Faculty of Human Sciences 

Macquarie University Early Career Researcher of the Year – HASS

Dr Katrina Hutchison
Faculty of Arts

Macquarie University Early Career Researcher of the Year – STEMM

Dr Bingyang Shi
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Excellence in Higher Degree Research – HASS

Nicholas Everett
Faculty of Human Sciences

Excellence in Higher Degree Research – STEMM

Stephanie Rayner
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Learning and Teaching Awards

lt-winners_webDeputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Kevin Jameson (far left) and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching) Associate Professor Dominique Parrish (far right) with Learning and Teaching Award winners.

Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Student Nominated Award 

Associate Professor Tiffany Mary Jones
Faculty of Human Sciences
Ms Alexandra Bhatti
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences
Dr Bruno Alves Buzatto

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Sessional Staff Award

Miss Lauren Florentia Ehrenfeld
Faculty of Human Sciences

Vice-Chancellor’s Learning and Teaching Early Career Award

Ms Alexandra Bhatti
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Associate Professor Matt Bower
Faculty of Human Sciences

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Learning Innovation (Team Award)

Associate Professor Kira Westaway
Faculty of Science and Engineering
Mr Michael Rampe
Faculty of Arts
Mr Matthew Cabanag

Vice-Chancellor’s Educational Leader Award

Professor Catherine Dean
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Distinguished Professors

Six new Distinguished Professors were also announced at the Awards.





Back to homepage


Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

We encourage active and constructive debate through our comments section, but please remain respectful. Your first and last name will be published alongside your comment.

Comments will not be pre-moderated but any comments deemed to be offensive, obscene, intimidating, discriminatory or defamatory will be removed and further action may be taken where such conduct breaches University policy or standards. Please keep in mind that This Week is a public site and comments should not contain information that is confidential or commercial in confidence.

Got a story to share?

Visit our contribute page >>