Outstanding: Congratulations to our new Distinguished Professors


Vice-Chancellor Professor S Bruce Dowton (far right) and Vice-President People and Services Nicole Gower (far left) congratulate our new Distinguished Professors, from left to right: Deborah Schofield, Ian Wright, Stephen Foley, Phillip Taylor, Catriona Mackenzie and Ingrid Piller.

They are the Professors at the very top of their game – regarded as among the very best in their field, with a stellar record of academic achievement, an international reputation for exceptional research, outstanding learning and teaching achievements and outstanding contributions to Macquarie University and the broader community.

The title of Distinguished Professor – the highest academic honour the University can bestow on a member of the academic community – was awarded to six outstanding Macquarie Professors at the Academic Staff Awards ceremony on Monday 18 November.

  • Catriona Mackenzie
    Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts
  • Deborah Schofield
    Centre for Economic Impacts of Genomic Medicine, Macquarie Business School
  • Ian Wright
    Department of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Ingrid Piller
    Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Human Sciences
  • Phillip Taylor
    Department of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Stephen Foley
    Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Learn more about our new Distinguished Professors on the Distinguished Professors webpage >>

Five existing Distinguished Professors were also renominated for a new term:

  • Anne Castles
    Department of Cognitive Science, Faculty of Human Sciences
  • David Christian
    Department of Modern History, Politics and International Relations, Faculty of Arts
  • Ian Paulsen
    Department of Molecular Sciences, Faculty of Science and Engineering
  • Katherine Demuth
    Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Human Sciences
  • Lesley Hughes
    Department of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science and Engineering, and Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Integrity and Development)

This brings the total number of Distinguished Professors at Macquarie to 23, reflecting the growing reputation of Macquarie as a university generating world-leading research with world-changing impact.

The title of Distinguished Professor is awarded for six years, and may be awarded for consecutive periods. Appointments are made following a rigorous selection process, with applications assessed by the Distinguished Professor Committee, convened by the Vice-Chancellor.

The next round of nominations for Distinguished Professor will be announced in 2021. Information on nomination criteria and process can be found on the Distinguished Professors webpage.





Back to homepage


Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

We encourage active and constructive debate through our comments section, but please remain respectful. Your first and last name will be published alongside your comment.

Comments will not be pre-moderated but any comments deemed to be offensive, obscene, intimidating, discriminatory or defamatory will be removed and further action may be taken where such conduct breaches University policy or standards. Please keep in mind that This Week is a public site and comments should not contain information that is confidential or commercial in confidence.

Got a story to share?

Visit our contribute page >>