HDR academic advice

HDR academic advice

Please note: the below is for HDR academic advisors only

For undergraduate and postgraduate academic advice, visit our Academic and program advisers page.

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Dr Noah Bassil
MRes Director Dr Linda Evans linda.evans@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Maryanne Hozijan maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries - PhD Faculty HDR Office arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries - MRes  Faculty HDR Office arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Ancient History
Head of Department Dr Ian Plant
HDR Director Dr Caillan Davenport +61-2-9850-8754
HDR Director Associate Professor Boyo Ockinga +61-2-9850-8852
MRes Director

Dr Gunner Mikkelsen


MRes Director

Dr Peter Edwell

Head of Department Associate Professor Lisa Wynn +61-2-9850-8095
HDR Director Dr Eve Vincent
MRes Director
Associate Professor Chris Houston
MRes Director
Dr Jaap Timmer
Head of Department
Professor Antonina Harbus
HDR Director
Associate Professor Marcelle Freiman
MRes Director Dr Stephanie Russo stephanie.russo@mq.edu.au
MRes Director
Dr Alys Moody
Geography and Planning
Head of Department Professor Claudio Minca
HDR DirectorAssociate Professor Sandra Suchet-Pearson +61-2-9850-8393
MRes Director Associate Professor Andrew McGregor andrew.mcgregor@mq.edu.au
Indigenous Studies
Head of Department Professor Bronwyn Carlson +61-2-9850-8891
HDR Director Professor Bronwyn Carlson bronwyn.carlson@mq.edu.au
MRes Director Professor Bronwyn Carlson bronwyn.carlson@mq.edu.au
International Studies
Head of Department Associate Professor Ulrike Garde +61-2-9850-7051
HDR Director Dr Kevin Carrico +61-2-9850-7692
MRes Director (Acting) Dr Thomas Baudinette tom.baudinette@mq.edu.au
Macquarie Law School
School Dean (Acting) Professor Ben Schreer +61-2-9850-1423
HDR Director Professor Rafiqul Islam  rafiqul.islam@mq.edu.au
MRes Director
Associate Professor Malcolm Voyce
Media, Music, Communication & Cultural Studies (MMCCS)
Head of Department
Professor Nicole Anderson
HDR Director
Dr Anthony Lambert
MRes Director Professor John Potts john.potts@mq.edu.au
Modern History, Politics and International Relations 
Head of Department Professor Chris Dixon +61-2-9850-6808
HDR Director Dr Alison Holland +61-2-9850-8829
MRes Director (Modern History) Dr Tanya Evans tanya.evans@mq.edu.au 
MRes Director (Politics & IR) Dr Lloyd Cox lloyd.cox@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Associate Professor Richard Menary

HDR Director Professor Wendy Rogers +61-2-9850-8858
MRes Director

Professor Jeanette Kennett


Security Studies and Criminology 
Head of Department Professor Ben Schreer +61-2-9850-1423
HDR Director Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
MRes Director Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
Head of Department
Professor Gabrielle Meagher
HDR Director Associate Professor Amanda Wise +61-2-9850-8835
HDR Director
Dr Kumiko Kawashima (on leave)
MRes Director Dr Justine Lloyd justine.lloyd@mq.edu.au
MRes Director Dr Raj Velayutham selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Business and Economics

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchProfessor Lorne Cummings+61-2-9850-8531
MRes DirectorProfessor Lorne Cummings
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Lin Bai lin.bai@mq.edu.au
General EnquiriesFaculty HDR Office+61-2-9850-4818
Accounting and Corporate Governance
Head of Department
Associate Professor Rahat Munir
HDR Director
Associate Professor Elaine Evans
MRES AdvisorDr Michael Quiltermichael.quilter@mq.edu.au
Applied Finance and Actuarial Studies
Head of Department
Professor David Pitt
+61-2-9850 8455
HDR Director

Dr Jiwook Jang

MRES Advisor (Actuarial Studies & MRES Yr 2) Ms Shauna Ferris shauna.ferris@mq.edu.au
MRES Advisor (Applied Finance) Dr James Cummings james.cummings@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Lisa Magnani

HDR Director

Associate Professor Pundarik Mukhopadhaya

MRES AdvisorAssociate Professor Tony Bryant tony.bryant@mq.edu.au
Marketing and Management
Head of Department

Professor Grant Michelson

HDR Director

Associate Professor Edward Wray-Bliss

MRES AdvisorDr Jana Bowden-Eversonjana.bowden-everson@mq.edu.au
Macquarie Graduate School of Management (MGSM)

Professor Peter Wolnizer

HDR DirectorDr Vito Mollica
MRes AdvisorProfessor Andrew Leponeandrew.lepone@mgsm.edu.au

Faculty of Human Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Jennifer Cornishjennifer.cornish@mq.edu.au
MRes DirectorAssociate Professor Simon Boagsimon.boag@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Robyn Bishop+61-2-9850-8749
General EnquiriesFaculty HDR Officefohs.hdr@mq.edu.au 
+61-2 9850 8063
Cognitive Science
Head of Department

Professor Genevieve McArthur

Department Administrator

Ms Lesley McKnight

HDR Director

Professor Amanda Barnier

BPhil/MRes AdvisorProfessor Amanda Barnieramanda.barnier@mq.edu.au
Educational Studies
Head of Department

Professor Mary Ryan

HDR Director

Dr Neil Harrison

BPhil/MRes AdvisorDr Anne McMaughanne.mcmaugh@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Associate Professor Jan-Louis Kruger

HDR Director

Associate Professor Mridula Sharma

MRes Year 2 Advisor

Associate Professor Mridula Sharma

BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor (EP1, 2017)Dr Scott Barnesscott.barnes@mq.edu.au
BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor (EP2, 2017)

Dr Cassi Liardet

Head of Department

Professor Julie Fitness

HDR Director (Co Director)

Associate Professor Cathy McMahon

HDR Director (Co Director)

Associate Professor Kevin Brooks

PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology

Associate Professor Maria Kangas

PhD/Master of Clinical   Neuropsychology

Dr Jennifer Batchelor

PhD/Master Organisational Psychology

Associate Professor Barbara Griffin

BPhil/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Simon Boag simon.boag@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research  Associate Professor Tracy Rushmer +61-2-9850-8366
Deputy Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research 

Associate Professor Subramanyam Vemulpad

MRes Director Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt bridget.mabbutt@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Jane Yang jane.yang@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries Faculty HDR Office sci.hdradm@mq.edu.au 
Biological Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Michelle Leishman

HDR Director

Associate Professor Culum Brown

MRes Advisor

Associate Professor Grant Hose

Department of Molecular Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Alison Rodger

HDR Director

Professor Paul Haynes

MRes Advisor Dr Louise Brown louise.brown@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

DC Rosemary Giuriato

HDR Director

Associate Professor Subramanyam Vemulpad

MRes Advisor Dr Ben Brown benjamin.brown@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Michael Sheng

HDR Director

Associate Professor Yan Wang

MRes Advisor Associate Professor Mark Dras mark.dras@mq.edu.au
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Martin Kennedy

HDR Director

Professor Dorrit Jacob

MRes Advisor Associate Professor Simon Clark simon.clark@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Iain Collings

HDR Director

Associate Professor Stuart Jackson

MRes Advisor

Dr Sammy Diasinos

MRes Advisor Associate Professor Sam Reisenfeld
Environmental Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Neil Saintilan

HDR Director

Professor Vladimir Strezov

MRes Advisor (Year 1) Dr Tim Ralph tim.ralph@mq.edu.au
MRes Advisor (Year 2) Dr Maina Mbui joseph.mbui@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Jim Denier

HDR Director

Professor Xuan Duong

MRes Advisor Dr Adam Sikora adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
Physics and Astronomy
Head of Department

Professor Michael Steel

HDR Director

Professor Jason Twamley

MRes Advisor (Year 1) Professor Gavin Brennen gavin.brennen@mq.edu.au
MRes Advisor (Year 2) Dr Joanne Dawson joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Gillian Heller

HDR Director Associate Professor Jun Ma +61-2-9850-8548
MRes Advisor Dr Thomas Fung thomas.fung@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Professor Mark Connormark.connor@mq.edu.au
MRes DirectorDr Jennifer Rowlandjen.rowland@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Tania Kinanetania.kinane@mq.edu.au
General EnquiriesMs Viviana Bong, HDR Officerfmhs.hdr@mq.edu.au
Australian Institute of Health Innovation
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Andrew Georgiouandrew.georgiou@mq.edu.au
Biomedical Sciences
HDR DirectorDr Dane Turner+61-2-9850-2754
MRes Advisor/Faculty 1st year MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Ann Goodchildann.goodchild@mq.edu.au
Clinical Medicine
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Professor Stuart Grahamstuart.graham@mq.edu.au
Health Professions
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Mark Hancock mark.hancock@mq.edu.au
Health Systems and Populations
Head of Department (interim)Professor Janaki Amin+61-2-9850-2404
Back to the top of this page