Engage with Walanga Muru

Engage with Walanga Muru

banner

Walanga Muru, Macquarie University's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander student engagement and strategy office

Walanga Muru provides opportunities for Aboriginal students and staff at Macquarie through a holistic, strategic approach. Walanga Muru aims to assist the Aboriginal leaders of the future in their tertiary education journey. The language name of our office - Walanga Muru 'follow your path' - reminds us of the pathways we each take in life, and the role of strategy to support our Communities to follow their pathways and realise their potential.

Walanga Muru has developed a comprehensive framework for the support and progression of Aboriginal students at Macquarie. Walanga Muru believe that the future leaders of tomorrow should be supported in a holistic and culturally safe environment that promotes Aboriginal success through tertiary education.

Meet the team

Dr Leanne Holt
Pro Vice-Chancellor  
321 W3A, (02) 9850 8671 
leanne.holt@mq.edu.au

Jennifer Gili
Project Officer and support to the Pro Vice-Chancellor  
324 W3A, (02) 9850 8671
jennifer.gili@mq.edu.au

Rebecca Stone
Administrative Assistant
306 W3A, (02) 9850 4239 
rebecca.stone@mq.edu.au

Cultural Advisor

Aunty Sue Pinckham
Cultural Advisor
308 W3A, (02) 9850 8653  
sue.pinckham@mq.edu.au

Student Engagement and Outreach Team

Emily Sutton
Team Leader, Student Engagement and Outreach
307 W3A, (02) 9850 4209  
emily.sutton@mq.edu.au

Eliza Kitchener 

Academic Engagement Coordinator  
305 W3A, (02) 9850 4498 
eliza.kitchener@mq.edu.au  

Tamika Worrell
Academic Engagement Coordinator 
303 W3A, (02) 9850 9973
tamika.worrell@mq.edu.au

Emma Hardcastle 
Academic Engagement Coordinator  
303 W3A, (02) 9850 8624
emma.hardcastle@mq.edu.au

Taylah Pearce
Recruitment and Outreach Coordinator  
318 W3A, (02) 9850 8631
taylah.pearce@mq.edu.au

Chris Combridge 
Recruitment and Outreach Officer  
323 W3A, (02) 9850 8631
christopher.combridge@mq.edu.au

Tayla King
Outreach Support Assistant
tayla.king@mq.edu.au

Strategy and Policy Team

Alex Swain
Team Leader, Indigenous Strategy and Policy 
317 W3A, (02) 9850 6794
alex.swain@mq.edu.au 

Cheryl Newton 
Team Leader, Indigenous Strategy and Policy 
317 W3A, (02) 9850 6794
cheryl.newton@mq.edu.au

Todd Phillips
Aboriginal Workforce Development Coordinator
317 W3A, (02) 9850 7797  
todd.phillips@mq.edu.au

Phil Duncan
Aboriginal Cultural Training Coordinator  
306 W3A, (02) 9850 6884  
phil.duncan@mq.edu.au

Raelee Lancaster
Research Assistant  
raelee.lancaster@mq.edu.au 

Dr Liza-Mare Syron
Indigenous Research Lead
lizamare.syron@mq.edu.au

Find us

6 First Walk, Level 3
Macquarie University
North Ryde NSW 2109
(02) 9850 4209
walangamuruadmin@mq.edu.au

Social Media

Interested in learning more about Walanga Muru? Like us on Facebook!
Are you an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander Student currently studying at Macquarie University? Join the Walanga Muru Mob!

Back to the top of this page