Faculty Board Terms of Reference

Faculty Board Terms of Reference

Approved by Vice-Chancellor 2 May 2015


The Faculty Board is established under the Faculty Rules.

The Faculty Board Terms of Reference were approved by the Vice-Chancellor on 2 February 2015 with effect from 5 February 2015.

Purpose and Function

General Functions of the Faculty Board

The Faculty Board will advise the Executive Dean and Academic Senate on:

  • academic matters, research and HDR activities of the Faculty;
  • the schedule of Degrees offered by the Faculty;
  • academic standards and quality, and teaching effectiveness in the Faculty;
  • academic priorities of the Faculty; and
  • other issues referred to the Faculty by the Vice-Chancellor, Executive Dean or Academic Senate.

The Faculty Board will contribute to the good governance of the Faculty.

Specific Functions of the Faculty Board

The Faculty Board shall report to the Academic Senate and Executive Dean on all matters relating to the development and implementation of academic policy, including research and Higher Degree Research and academic and research quality.

The Faculty Board shall consider and recommend to Academic Senate proposals to introduce, amend, renew and disestablish courses and programs of study.

The Faculty Board shall consider the recommendations arising from quality reviews of courses and research centres, and consider the advice of its sub-committees in relation to implementation.

The Faculty Board shall ensure that all coursework programs offered within the Faculty comply with the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) and that departments are compliant with University policies pertaining to learning, teaching and higher degree research and the external accreditation of courses.

The Faculty Board shall determine the Faculty's unit offerings, including the approval of new units and the amendment, renewal or disestablishment of existing units.

The Faculty Board shall have authority to ratify the student results in units in accordance with the academic Rules and quality assurance frameworks prescribed by Academic Senate.

The Faculty Board shall advise Academic Senate on plans of the departments to modify the structure, content, method of delivery, and completion requirements of programs and will ensure they align with University and national standards and priorities.


The Faculty Board comprises:

  • the Executive Dean of the Faculty (Chair);
  • the Associate Deans of the Faculty;
  • the Head of each Department of the Faculty;
  • at least one member elected from and by the continuing academic staff from each Department of the Faculty;
  • the Faculty General Manager;
  • at least two student members;
  • one member elected from and by the continuing non-academic staff of the Faculty; and
  • one member from the academic staff outside the Faculty.

The Faculty Board may elect to co-opt additional members from the continuing academic and professional staff to assist the Faculty Board to discharge its functions effectively.

The Chair may elect observers to attend Faculty Board meetings.


The Executive Dean will take the Chair of Faculty Board meetings.

The number of members who constitute a quorum must be half the membership, excluding members on approved leave and student members, plus one.

The Chair of the Faculty Board will nominate a Deputy Chair from the Associate Deans of the Faculty who will take the Chair at Board meetings in the absence of the Executive Dean.

The Faculty Board may establish appropriately constituted committees to report to the Board on academic matters including programs of study for undergraduate and postgraduate studies, research; and learning and teaching. Those Committees shall report to Faculty Board on conclusions and actions.

The Faculty Board shall meet:

  • at least three times in each year;
  • whenever summoned by the Executive Dean of the Faculty; and
  • whenever summoned upon the written request of the Vice-Chancellor, Academic Senate or of one-third of its members.

The Faculty Board will be supported by Governance Services in accordance with the University's standard committee servicing protocols.

Back to the top of this page