Our people

Our people

Mike Steel

Head of Department

Professor Michael Steel

Professor Michael Steel is the Head of Physics and Astronomy. Mike joined the Department in 2007 after a career in photonic design software. His research interests include integrated approaches to quantum optics, sound-light interactions in waveguides, non-reciprocal optics and optical properties of nano-engineered periodic systems.



Academic staff

Name Contact details

Berry, Dominic
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 6370
E: dominic.berry@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.408

Brennen, Gavin
Professor, ARC CoE EQuS
Director, MQRC Quantum Science Technology

T: +61 (2) 9850 4445
E: gavin.brennen@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.407

Burgarth, Daniel
Senior Lecturer in Theoretical Quantum Information Science

T: +61 0491 110 603
E: daniel.burgarth@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.611

Coutts, David
Professor
Associate Dean, Research

T: +61 (2) 9850 8970
E: david.coutts@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.714

Dawes, Judith
Professor
Director MQ Photonics Research Centre

T: +61 (2) 9850 8903
E: judith.dawes@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.708
Dawson, Joanne

Lecturer, ARC Discovery Early Research Career Award (DECRA)

T: +61 (2) 9850 8901
E: joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.603

de Grijs, Richard
Professor
Associate Dean, Global Engagement

T: +61 (2) 9850 8317
E: richard.de-grijs@mq.edu.au
E6B - 7 Wally's Walk, 2.610

De Marco, Orsola
Professor
Director MQAAAstro Research Centre

T: +61 (2) 9850 4241
E: orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.706

Downes, James
Associate Professor
Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching

T: +61 (2) 9850 8900
E: james.downes@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.710

Fuerbach, Alex
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 6145
E: alex.fuerbach@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.608

Gilchrist, Alexei
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS

T: +61 (2) 9850 4443
E: alexei.gilchrist@mq.edu.au
E6A-9 Wally's Walk 2.610

Kane, Deb
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8907
E: deb.kane@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.701

Kamath, Devika
Lecturer in Astronomy and Astrophysics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8978
E: devika.kamath@mq.edu.au

Mildren, Rich
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8965
E: rich.mildren@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.606

Pask, Helen
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8932
E: helen.pask@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.607

Purcell, Cormac
Lecturer in Radio Astronomy

E: cormac.purcell@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk  2.204

Spence, David
Professor
Deputy Head of Department

T: +61 (2) 9850 8973
E: david.spence@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 2.709

Spitler, Lee
Senior Lecturer in Astronomy and Astrophysics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4161
E: lee.spitler@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.605

Steel, Michael
Professor
Head of Department

T: +61 (2) 9850 8916
E: michael.steel@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.713

Terno, Daniel
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 4162
E: daniel.terno@mq.edu.au
C5C-17 Wally's Walk 349

Twamley, Jason
Professor; Chair, Quantum Information Science,
CoE EQUS, MQRC QSciTech

T: +61 (2) 9850 8908
E: jason.twamley@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.612

Volz, Thomas
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8261
E: thomas.volz@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609

Wardle, Mark
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8909
E: mark.wardle@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.702

Withford, Michael
Distinguished Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 7056
E: michael.withford@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4 512

Zucker, Daniel
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 4442
E: daniel.zucker@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.705

Zvyagin, Andrei
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 7760
E: andrei.zvyagin@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.707

Research Staff

Name Contact details

Allen, Roy
Honorary Fellow

E: roy.allen@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub 4.514

Ams, Martin
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 5044
E: martin.ams@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue (S2.6) 4.514

Arriola, Alexander
Research Associate

T: +61 (2) 9850 5043
E: alex.arriola@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue (S2.6)4.514

Artlett, Christopher
Honorary Postdoctoral Fellow

E: christopher.artlett@mq.edu.au
C5A 417

Bradac, Carlo
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E: carlo.bradac@mq.edu.au

Browne, Peter
Honorary Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8901
E: peter.browne@mq.edu.au
E7A 203

Butcher, Scott
Honorary Associate

T: +61 (2) 9850 8916
E: scott.butcher@mq.edu.au
E7A 207

Butler, James
Adjunct Fellow

E:james.butler@mq.edu.au

Carman, Robert
Senior Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 7058
E: robert.carman@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.701

Clement, Sandhya
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E:sandhya.clement@mq.edu.au

Connally, Russell
Honorary Associate

T: +61 (2) 9850 8111
E: russell.connally@mq.edu.au
E7B 235

Cresser, James
Honorary Senior Lecturer

E: james.cresser@mq.edu.au

Daryanoosh, Shakib
Research Fellow

E: shakib.daryanoosh@mq.edu.au

Dekker, Peter
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8927
E: peter.dekker@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Deng, Wei
Honorary Senior Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 4479
E: wei.deng@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christoper Ondaatje Avenue

Farrow, Tony
Honorary Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8900
E: tony.farrow@mq.edu.au
E7A 202

Feger, Tobias
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E: tobias.feger@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.205

Forbes, Greg
Adjunct Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8940
E: greg.forbes@mq.edu.au
E7A-12 Wally's Walk 211

Frew, David
Honorary Research Fellow

E: david.frew@mq.edu.au

Giri, Paritosh
Research Associate - Photonics

 E: paritosh.giri@mq.edu.au

Goldys, Ewa
Honorary Professor

E: ewa.goldys@mq.edu.au

Green, Jimi
Adjunct Fellow

E: jimi.green@mq.edu.au

Gross, Simon
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 5021
E: simon.gross@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Gurevich, Yulia
Honorary Associate

E: yulia.gurevich@mq.edu.au

He, Yabai
Honorary Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8311
E: yabai.he@mq.edu.au
4 Wally's Walk, Room 011

Howard, Eric
Honorary Postdoctoral Fellow

E: eric.howard@mq.edu.au

Ireland, Michael
Honorary Lecturer

E: michael.ireland@mq.edu.au

Johnsson, Mattias
Honorary Associate

E: mattias.johnsson@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.406

Kitzler, Ondrej
Research Fellow

E: ondrej.kitzler@mq.edu.au

Kumaraswamy Annayya Chetty Sreenivasan, Varun
Honorary Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 9547
E: varun.sreenivasan@mq.edu.au
E6F-7E Wally's Walk G13

Laplane, Cyril
Postdoctoral Research Fellow Nanodiamond Sorting

E: cyril.laplane@mq.edu.au

Lee, Andrew
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 6203
E: andrew.lee@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 157

Liang, Olivia
Research Associate

E: liuen.liang@mq.edu.au

Lopez Sanchez, Angel Rafael
Honorary Research Fellow 
Senior Lecturer (AAO)

T: +61 (2) 9372 4898
E: angel.lopez-sanchez@mq.edu.au
Level 1, 105 Delhi RD, North Ryde 2113

Lu, Yiqing
ARC Discovery Early Research Career Award (DECRA)

T: +61 (2) 9850 8190
E: yiqing.lu@mq.edu.au
7E Wally's Walk Room G08 2.206

Mahbub, Saabah
Research Fellow

E: saabah.mahbub@mq.edu.au

McDermid, Richard
ARC Future Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 4476
E: richard.mcdermid@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.603

McMahon, Christopher
Honorary Research Fellow

E: christopher.mcmahon@mq.edu.au

Munoz Matutano, Guillermo
Research Fellow

E: guillermo.munozmatutano@mq.edu.au

Nadort, Annemarie
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Early Career Fellowship

E: annemarie.Nadort@mq.edu.au
7E Wally's Walk G13

Naidoo, Nishen
Honorary Research Fellow

E: n.naidoo@mq.edu.au

Orr, Brian
Emeritus Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8289
E: brian.orr@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.208

Owers, Matt
ARC Future Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8910
E: matt.owers@mq.edu.au
E6B -7 Wally's Walk 2.703

Pandey, Birendra
Honorary Associate

E: birendra.pandey@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.206

Piper, Jim
Emeritus Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 6369
E: jim.piper@mq.edu.au
E6F -7E Wally's Walk G07

Rabeau, James
Honorary Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 4741
E: james.rabeau@mq.edu.au
C5C 381

Radziunas, Mindaugas
Visiting Associate Professor

E: mindaugas.radziunas@mq.edu.au

Reid, Warren
Honorary Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 9158
E: warren.reid@mq.edu.au
E7A 322

Rogers, Lachlan
ARC Discovery Early Research Career Award (DECRA)

E: lachlan.rogers@mq.edu.au

Ryder, Stuart
Adjunct Fellow

E: stuart.ryder@mq.edu.au

Sanders, Yuval
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E: yuval.sanders@mq.edu.au

Schmidt, Mikolaj
Research Associate

E: mikolaj.schmidt@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.407

Schwab, Christian
Discovery Early Career Research Awardee (DECRA)

T: +61 (2) 9850 6288
E: christian.schwab@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk

Skalsky, Mike
Adjunct Fellow

E: mike.skalsky@mq.edu.au

Smith, Ian
Honorary Associate

E: ian.smith@mq.edu.au

Teddy Fernandez, Toney
Research Associate in Glass Micro-Photonics

E: toney.teddyfernandez@mq.edu.au

Toomey, Joshua
Honorary Associate Lecturer

T: +61 (2) 9850 9078
E: josh.toomey@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 157

Vaughan, Alan
Honorary Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8904
E: alan.vaughan@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk

Vidal Asensio, Xavier
Honorary Research Fellow


E: xavier.vidal@mq.edu.au

Walsh, Andrew
Visiting Fellow

E: andrew.j.walsh@mq.edu.au

Watson, Fred
Honorary Research Fellow

E: fred.watson@mq.edu.au

Xu, Xiaoxue
Honorary Lecturer

E: xiaoxue.xu@mq.edu.au

Yang, Xiaohong
Honorary Research Fellow

E: xiaohong.yang@mq.edu.au

Zheng, Xianlin
Research Fellow

E: xianlin.zheng@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

Name Contact details

Cochran, Danny
Senior Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 8972
E: danny.cochran@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 122

Connor, Paul
Scientific Officer

Tel: +61 (2) 9850 9504
E: paul.connor@mq.edu.au
E7B- 14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 122

Dartnell, Phil
Academic Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 4166
E: philip.dartnell@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.601

Dekker, Peter
Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 8927
E: peter.dekker@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Dunford, Gina
Senior Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 8971
E: regina.dunford@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 255

Hastings, Emma
Department Manager

T: +61 (2) 9850 8911
E: emma.hastings@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.711

Johnston, Benjamin
Manager OptoFab Node

T: +61 (2) 9850 8960
E: benjamin.johnston@mq.edu.au
205A Culloden Road 04.511

Joyce, Adam
Senior Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 1061
E: adam.joyce@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 214

Lawson, Tom
Lab Manager (CNBP)

T: +61 (2) 9850 4168
E: thomas.lawson@mq.edu.au
E7B 335

Lumley, Sue
Administrator and Outreach Coordinator

T: +61 (2) 9850 8959
E: sue.lumley@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.712

Morcom, Jenny
Finance and Administration Coordinator (CNBP)

T: +61 (2) 9850 9550
E: jenny.morcom@mq.edu.au
E6F G.02

Norton, Ben
Technical Team Manager

T: +61 (2) 9850 9106
E:  ben.norton@mq.edu.au
E7B 154

Park, Victoria
Academic Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 4244
E: victoria.park@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.601

Patel, Megha
Administration Assistant

T: +61 (2) 9850 9503
E: megha.patel@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.602

Pesavento, Lisa
Finance and Staff Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 9132
E: lisa.pesavento@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.602

Sawyer, Bianca
Senior Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 9237
E: bianca.sawyer@mq.edu.au

Sharpless, Kelly
Administrator and Outreach Coordinator

T: +61 (2) 9850 8959
E: kelly.sharpless@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.712

Stokes, Alex
Laser Process Technician

T: +61 (2) 9850 5042
E: alex.stokes@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Verinder, Anita
Administrator (ANFF Node)

T: +61 (2) 9850 8931
E: anita.verinder@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Wallis, Belinda
ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems

T: +61 (2) 9850 8902
E: belinda.wallis@mq.edu.au 
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.712

Wong, Vivienne
Academic Administrator (on Leave till May 2020)

T: +61 (2) 9850 4166
E: vivienne.wong@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.601

Wood, James
Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 9140
E: james.b.wood@mq.edu.au
E7B 122

HDR Students

NameContact details
Abedi, Seyedseyed.abedi@students.mq.edu.au
Anagnos, Theodorostheodoros.anagnos@students.mq.edu.au
Awasthi, Saurabhsaurabh.awasthi@students.mq.edu.au
Bai, Zhenxuzhenxu.bai@students.mq.edu.au
Baldwin, Christinachristina.baldwin@students.mq.edu.au
Barsanti, Stefaniastefania.barsanti@students.mq.edu.au
Beard, Taylahtaylah.beard@students.mq.edu.au
Bharathan, Gayathrigayathri.bharathan@students.mq.edu.au
Bhardwaj, Saurabhsaurabh.bhardwaj@students.mq.edu.au
Blay, Danieldaniel.birtles-crute@students.mq.edu.au
Bollen, Dylandylan.bollen@students.mq.edu.au
Caddy, Sarahsarah.caddy@students.mq.edu.au
Chowdhury, Md Iftekher Selimmd-iftekher.chowdhury@students.mq.edu.au
Day, Tiffanytiffany.day@students.mq.edu.au
Derkenne, Carocaro.derkenne@students.mq.edu.au
Ebadati Bazkiaei, Amiramir.ebadati-bazkiaei@students.mq.edu.au
Fashola, Saheed Oladipuposaheed-oladipupo.fashola@students.mq.edu.au
Gee, Wilfredwilfred.gee@students.mq.edu.au
Geordy, Jemyjemy.geordy@students.mq.edu.au
Goldstein, Gregorygregory.goldstein@students.mq.edu.au
Gretzinger, Thomasthomas.gretzinger@students.mq.edu.au
He, Mengmeng.he@students.mq.edu.au
Jia, Jianguojianguo.jia@students.mq.edu.au
Jose, Layalaya.jose@students.mq.edu.au
Kapse, Shalmaleeshalmalee.kapse@students.mq.edu.au
Karim, Khadijakhadija.karim@students.mq.edu.au
Khabir, Zahrazahra.khabir@students.mq.edu.au
Kieferová, Máriamaria.kieferova@students.mq.edu.au
Kuo Tiong, Blaise Anthonyblaise-anthony.kuo-tiong@students.mq.edu.au
Li, Muyemuye.li@students.mq.edu.au
Liu, Hangruihangrui.liu@students.mq.edu.au
Longbottom, Fergusfergus.longbottom@students.mq.edu.au
Malica, Tushartushar.malica@students.mq.edu.au
Marnoch, Lachlanlachlan.marnoch@students.mq.edu.au
Marshall, Natashanatasha.mcfadden@students.mq.edu.au
Marshman, Tommytommy.marshman@students.mq.edu.au
McAndrew, Stephenstephen.mcandrew@students.mq.edu.au
Moshkani, Mojtabamojtaba.moshkani@students.mq.edu.au
Muhieddine, Omaromar.muhieddine@students.mq.edu.au
Mukty, Nabomita Roynabomita-roy.mukty@students.mq.edu.au
Murk, Sebastiansebastian.murk@students.mq.edu.au
Nagle, Ianian.nagle@students.mq.edu.au
Ogbodo, Chikaeduchikaedu.ogbodo@students.mq.edu.au
Petzler, Anitaanita.petzler@students.mq.edu.au
Poci, Adrianoadriano.poci@students.mq.edu.au
Porokh, Mariamaria.samokhina@students.mq.edu.au
Raman Nair, Sarathsarath.raman-nair@students.mq.edu.au
Rehman, Sobiasobia.rehman@students.mq.edu.au
Reichardt, Thomasthomas.reichardt@students.mq.edu.au
Ren, Pengpeng.ren@students.mq.edu.au
Roberts, Reecereece.roberts@students.mq.edu.au
Rogozin, Dmytrodmytro.rogozin@students.mq.edu.au
Rozova, Vladavlada.rozova@students.mq.edu.au
Rzhevskiy, Alexeyalexey.rzhevskiy@students.mq.edu.au
Sharp, Adamadam.sharp@students.mq.edu.au
Staples, Blakeblake.staples@students.mq.edu.au
Tessler, Louislouis.tessler@students.mq.edu.au
Tocknell, Jamesjames.tocknell@students.mq.edu.au
Tranfa, Lukeluke.tranfa@students.mq.edu.au
tuz Zahra, Fatimafatima-tuz-zahra.fatima-tuz@students.mq.edu.au
Vaez Zadeh, Mahsamahsa.vaezzadeh@students.mq.edu.au
van Breugel, Matthewmatthew.van-breugel@students.mq.edu.au
Wagner, Elisabethelisabeth.wagner@students.mq.edu.au
Whitford, Michellemichelle.whitford@students.mq.edu.au
Wood, Andrewandrew.wood@students.mq.edu.au
Yang, Xuezongxuezong.yang@students.mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page