Our people

Our people

Mike Steel

Head of Department

Professor Michael Steel

Professor Michael Steel is the Head of Physics and Astronomy. Mike joined the Department in 2007 after a career in photonic design software. His research interests include integrated approaches to quantum optics, sound-light interactions in waveguides, non-reciprocal optics and optical properties of nano-engineered periodic systems.



Academic staff

Name Contact details

Berry, Dominic
Senior Lecturer

T: +61 (2) 9850 6370
E: dominic.berry@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.408

Brennen, Gavin
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS
Director, MQRC Quantum Science Technology

T: +61 (2) 9850 4445
E: gavin.brennen@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.611

Coutts, David
Associate Dean, Research
Director MQ Photonics Research Centre

T: +61 (2) 9850 8970
E: david.coutts@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.714

Dawes, Judith
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8903
E: judith.dawes@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.708

De Marco, Orsola
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 4241
E: orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.706

Downes, James
Associate Dean, Learning and Teaching

T: +61 (2) 9850 8900
E: james.downes@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.710

Fuerbach, Alex
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 6145
E: alex.fuerbach@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.608

Gilchrist, Alexei
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS

T: +61 (2) 9850 4443
E: alexei.gilchrist@mq.edu.au
E6A-9 Wally's Walk 2.610

Kane, Deb
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8907
E: deb.kane@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.701

Kamath, Devika
Lecturer in Astronomy and Astrophysics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8978
E: devika.kamath@mq.edu.au

Little, Douglas
Lecturer,
Research Associate

E: douglas.little@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue

Mildren, Rich
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8965
E: rich.mildren@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.606

Pask, Helen
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8932
E: helen.pask@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.607

Purcell, Cormac
Lecturer in Radio Astronomy

E: cormac.purcell@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk  2.204

Spence, David
Professor,
Deputy Head of Department

T: +61 (2) 9850 8973
E: david.spence@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 2.709

Spitler, Lee
Senior Lecturer in Astronomy and Astrophysics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4161
E: lee.spitler@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.605

Steel, Michael
Professor
Head of Department

T: +61 (2) 9850 8916
E: michael.steel@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.713

Terno, Daniel
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 4162
E: daniel.terno@mq.edu.au
C5C-17 Wally's Walk 349

Twamley, Jason
Professor; Chair, Quantum Information Science,
CoE EQUS, MQRC QSciTech

T: +61 (2) 9850 8908
E: jason.twamley@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.612

Volz, Thomas
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8261
E: thomas.volz@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609

Wardle, Mark
Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8909
E: mark.wardle@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.702

Williams, Robert
Research Lecturer

T: +61 (2) 9850 8975
E: robert.williams@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 165

Withford, Michael
Distinguished Professor
Node Director CUDOS

T: +61 (2) 9850 7056
E: michael.withford@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4 512

Zucker, Daniel
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 4442
E: daniel.zucker@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.705

Zvyagin, Andrei
Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 7760
E: andrei.zvyagin@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.707

Research Staff

Name Contact details

Allen, Roy
Honorary Fellow

E: roy.allen@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub 4.514

Ams, Martin
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 5044
E: martin.ams@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue (S2.6) 4.514

Anguiano Jimenez, Borja
Honorary Research Fellow

E: borja.anguiano@mq.edu.au

Arriola, Alexander
Research Associate

T: +61 (2) 9850 5043
E: alex.arriola@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue (S2.6)4.514

Artlett, Christopher
Honorary Postdoctoral Fellow

E: christopher.artlett@mq.edu.au
C5A 417

Ayeni, Moses
Visiting Fellow

E: babatunde.ayeni@mq.edu.au

Baccetti, Valentina
Research Fellow

E: valentina.baccetti@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.407

Berhane, Amanuel
Research Fellow in Novel Diamond Surface Phenomena

T:+61 (2) 9850 4165
E: amanuel.berhane@mq.edu.au

Bradac, Carlo
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E: carlo.bradac@mq.edu.au

Browne, Peter
Honorary Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8901
E: peter.browne@mq.edu.au
E7A 203

Butcher, Scott
Honorary Associate

T: +61 (2) 9850 8916
E: scott.butcher@mq.edu.au
E7A 207

Butler, James
Adjunct Fellow

E:james.butler@mq.edu.au

Carman, Robert
Senior Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 7058
E: robert.carman@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.701

Clement, Sandhya
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E:sandhya.clement@mq.edu.au

Collins, Matthew
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 5027
E: matthew.collins@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub S2.6 4.513

Connally, Russell
Honorary Associate

T: +61 (2) 9850 8111
E: russell.connally@mq.edu.au
E7B 235

Cresser, James
Honorary Senior Lecturer

E: james.cresser@mq.edu.au

Daryanoosh, Shakib
Research Fellow

E: shakib.daryanoosh@mq.edu.au

Dawson, Joanne
Lecturer, Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8901
E: joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.603

Dekker, Peter
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8927
E: peter.dekker@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Deng, Wei
Honorary Senior Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 4479
E: wei.deng@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christoper Ondaatje Avenue

Denkova, Denitza
Research Fellow, CNBP

E: denitza.denkova@mq.edu.au
E6F G.13

Farrow, Tony
Honorary Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8900
E: tony.farrow@mq.edu.au
E7A 202

Feger, Tobias
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E: tobias.feger@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.205

Forbes, Greg
Adjunct Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8940
E: greg.forbes@mq.edu.au
E7A-12 Wally's Walk 211

Frew, David
Honorary Research Fellow

E: david.frew@mq.edu.au

Gee, Alex
Visiting Professor

E: alex.gee@mq.edu.au

Giri, Paritosh
Research Associate - Photonics

 E: paritosh.giri@mq.edu.au

Goldys, Ewa
Honorary Professor

E: ewa.goldys@mq.edu.au

Green, Jimi
Adjunct Fellow

E: jimi.green@mq.edu.au

Gross, Simon
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 5021
E: simon.gross@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Gu, Xuefan
Visiting Associate Professor

E: xuefan.gu@mq.edu.au

Gurevich, Yulia
Honorary Associate

E: yulia.gurevich@mq.edu.au

He, Yabai
Honorary Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8311
E: yabai.he@mq.edu.au
4 Wally's Walk, Room 011

Howard, Eric
Honorary Postdoctoral Fellow

E: eric.howard@mq.edu.au

Hudson, Darren
Senior Research Fellow

E: darren.hudson@mq.edu.au

Ireland, Michael
Honorary Lecturer

E: michael.ireland@mq.edu.au

Jiang, Lianmei
Research Fellow

E: lianmei.jiang@mq.edu.au
E6F G.13

Johnsson, Mattias
Honorary Associate

E: mattias.johnsson@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.406

Jones, Heath
Honorary Associate

E: heath.jones@mq.edu.au

Kitzler, Ondrej
Research Fellow

E: ondrej.kitzler@mq.edu.au
C5A 419

Koefoed, Jacob
Visiting Scholar

E: jacob.koefoed@mq.edu.au

Kumaraswamy Annayya Chetty Sreenivasan, Varun
Honorary Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 9547
E: varun.sreenivasan@mq.edu.au
E6F-7E Wally's Walk G13

Laplane, Cyril
Postdoctoral Research Fellow Nanodiamond Sorting

E: cyril.laplane@mq.edu.au

Lawrence, Jon
Honorary Fellow

E: jon.lawrence@mq.edu.au

Lee, Andrew
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 6203
E: andrew.lee@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 157

Lei, Xinyue
Visiting Scholar

E: xinyue.lei@mq.edu.au

Li, Chengyuan
Macquarie University Research Fellow (MQRF)

T: +61 (2) 9850 8905
E: chengyuan.li@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.206

Liang, Olivia
Research Associate

E: liuen.liang@mq.edu.au

Lopez Sanchez, Angel Rafael
Honorary Research Fellow 
Senior Lecturer (AAO)

T: +61 (2) 9372 4898
E: angel.lopez-sanchez@mq.edu.au
Level 1, 105 Delhi RD, North Ryde 2113

Lu, Yiqing
ARC Discovery Early Research Career Award (DECRA)

T: +61 (2) 9850 8190
E: yiqing.lu@mq.edu.au
7E Wally's Walk Room G08 2.206

Mahbub, Saabah
Research Fellow

E: saabah.mahbub@mq.edu.au

McDermid, Richard
ARC Future Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 4476
E: richard.mcdermid@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.603

McKay, Aaron
Honorary Associate

T: +61 (2) 9850 8975
E: aaron.mckay@mq.edu.au
C5A-12 Second Way 418

McMahon, Christopher
Honorary Research Fellow

E: christopher.mcmahon@mq.edu.au

Munoz Matutano, Guillermo
Research Fellow

E: guillermo.munozmatutano@mq.edu.au

Nadort, Annemarie
National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Early Career Fellowship

E: annemarie.Nadort@mq.edu.au
7E Wally's Walk G13

Naidoo, Nishen
Honorary Research Fellow

E: n.naidoo@mq.edu.au

Orr, Brian
Emeritus Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 8289
E: brian.orr@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.208

Owers, Matt
ARC Future Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8910
E: matt.owers@mq.edu.au
E6B -7 Wally's Walk 2.703

Pandey, Birendra
Honorary Associate

E: birendra.pandey@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.206

Piper, Jim
Emeritus Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 6369
E: jim.piper@mq.edu.au
E6F -7E Wally's Walk G07

Ploschner, Martin
Research Fellow

E: martin.ploschner@mq.edu.au
E6F G.13

Qadri,Muhammad Uzair
Visiting Scholar

E: muhammaduzair.qadri@mq.edu.au

Rabeau, James
Honorary Associate Professor

T: +61 (2) 9850 4741
E: james.rabeau@mq.edu.au
C5C 381

Radziunas, Mindaugas
Visiting Associate Professor

E: mindaugas.radziunas@mq.edu.au

Reid, Warren
Honorary Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 9158
E: warren.reid@mq.edu.au
E7A 322

Rogers, Lachlan
ARC Discovery Early Research Career Award (DECRA)

E: lachlan.rogers@mq.edu.au

Rogozin, Dmytro
Visiting Scholar

E: dmytro.rogozin@mq.edu.au

Ryder, Stuart
Adjunct Fellow

E: stuart.ryder@mq.edu.au

Sanders, Yuval
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E: yuval.sanders@mq.edu.au

Scherer, Arthur
Postdoctoral Research Fellow

E: artur.scherer@mq.edu.au

Schmidt, Mikolaj
Research Associate

E: mikolaj.schmidt@mq.edu.au
E6B 2.407

Schwab, Christian
Discovery Early Career Research Awardee (DECRA)

T: +61 (2) 9850 6288
E: christian.schwab@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk

Sitpathom, Nonthanan
Visiting Scholar

E: nonthanan.sitpathom@mq.edu.au

Skalsky, Mike
Adjunct Fellow

E: mike.skalsky@mq.edu.au

Smith, Ian
Honorary Associate

E: ian.smith@mq.edu.au

Teddy Fernandez, Toney
Research Associate in Glass Micro-Photonics

E: toney.teddyfernandez@mq.edu.au

Toomey, Joshua
Honorary Associate Lecturer

T: +61 (2) 9850 9078
E: josh.toomey@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 157

Vaughan, Alan
Honorary Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8904
E: alan.vaughan@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk

Vidal Asensio, Xavier
Research Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 4164
E: xavier.vidal@mq.edu.au
E6B-2.407

Walsh, Andrew
Visiting Fellow

E: andrew.j.walsh@mq.edu.au

Watson, Fred
Honorary Associate

E: fred.watson@mq.edu.aXu,

Xu, Xiaoxue
Honorary Lecturer

E: xiaoxue.xu@mq.edu.au

Yang, Xiaohong
Honorary Research Fellow

E: xiaohong.yang@mq.edu.au

Zheng, Xianlin
Research Fellow

E: xianlin.zheng@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

Name Contact details

Anwer, Ayad
Lab Manager

E: ayad.anwer@mq.edu.au
E6F G.12

Cochran, Danny
Senior Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 8972
E: danny.cochran@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 122

Crawshaw, Tony
Outreach & Communications Coordinator (CNBP)

E: tony.crawshaw@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 363

Dekker, Peter
Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 8927
E: peter.dekker@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Dunford, Gina
Senior Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 8971
E: regina.dunford@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 255

Ha, Peter
ANFF Diamond Facility Manager

T: +61 (2) 9850 4167
E: peter.ha@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 156

Hastings, Emma
Department Manager

T: +61 (2) 9850 8911
E: emma.hastings@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.711

Hennebry, Liz
Administrator and Outreach Coordinator

T: +61 (2) 9850 8959
E: liz.hennebry@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.712

Johnston, Benjamin
Manager OptoFab Node

T: +61 (2) 9850 8960
E: benjamin.johnston@mq.edu.au
205A Culloden Road 04.511

Joyce, Adam
Senior Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 1061
E: adam.joyce@mq.edu.au
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 214

Lawson, Tom
Lab Manager (CNBP)

T: +61 (2) 9850 4168
E: thomas.lawson@mq.edu.au
E7B 335

Morcom, Jenny
Finance and Administration Coordinator (CNBP)

T: +61 (2) 9850 9550
E: jenny.morcom@mq.edu.au
E6F G.02

Norton, Ben
Technical Team Manager

T: +61 (2) 9850 9106
E:  ben.norton@mq.edu.au
E7B 154

Park, Victoria
Academic Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 4244
E: victoria.park@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.601

Patel, Megha
Administration Assistant

T: +61 (2) 9850 9503
E: megha.patel@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.602

Pesavento, Lisa
Finance and Staff Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 9132
E: lisa.pesavento@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.602

Sawyer, Bianca
Senior Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 9237
E: bianca.sawyer@mq.edu.au

Sharpless, Kelly
Administrator and Outreach Coordinator

T: +61 (2) 9850 8959
E: kelly.sharpless@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.712

Stokes, Alex
Laser Process Technician

T: +61 (2) 9850 5042
E: alex.stokes@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Verinder, Anita
Administrator (ANFF Node)

T: +61 (2) 9850 8931
E: anita.verinder@mq.edu.au
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514

Wong, Vivienne
Academic Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 4166
E: vivienne.wong@mq.edu.au
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.601

Wood, James
Scientific Officer

T: +61 (2) 9850 9140
E: james.b.wood@mq.edu.au
E7B 122

HDR Students

NameContact details
Alvarado Montes, Jaime Andrésjaime-andres.alvarado-montes@students.mq.edu.au
Anagnos, Theodorostheodoros.anagnos@students.mq.edu.au
Awasthi, Saurabhsaurabh.awasthi@students.mq.edu.au
Bai, Zhenxuzhenxu.bai@students.mq.edu.au
Baldwin, Christinachristina.baldwin@students.mq.edu.au
Baldwin, Christopherchristopher.baldwin@students.mq.edu.au
Barsanti, Stefaniastefania.barsanti@students.mq.edu.au
Bharathan, Gayathrigayathri.bharathan@students.mq.edu.au
Bhardwaj, Saurabhsaurabh.bhardwaj@students.mq.edu.au
Blay, Danieldaniel.birtles-crute@students.mq.edu.au
Bollen, Dylandylan.bollen@students.mq.edu.au
Chowdhury, Md Iftekher Selimmd-iftekher.chowdhury@students.mq.edu.au
Day, Tiffanytiffany.day@students.mq.edu.au
De Lima Ribeiro, Andreaandrea.ribeiro@students.mq.edu.au
Douglass, Glenglen.douglass@students.mq.edu.au
Ebadati Bazkiaei, Amiramir.ebadati-bazkiaei@students.mq.edu.au
Entwisle, Blakeblake.entwisle@students.mq.edu.au
Evans, Jacobjacob.evans@students.mq.edu.au
Fashola, Saheed Oladipuposaheed-oladipupo.fashola@students.mq.edu.au
Gee, Wilfredwilfred.gee@students.mq.edu.au
Geordy, Jemyjemy.geordy@students.mq.edu.au
Ghimire, Bhuwanbhuwan.ghimire@students.mq.edu.au
Goldstein, Gregorygregory.goldstein@students.mq.edu.au
Gretzinger, Thomasthomas.gretzinger@students.mq.edu.au
Guff, Thomasthomas.guff@students.mq.edu.au
Gurvarinder, gurvarinder.parmar@students.mq.edu.au
He, Mengmeng.he@students.mq.edu.au
Islam, Kashifkashif.islam@students.mq.edu.au
Joliffe, Matthewmatthew.joliffe@students.mq.edu.au
Khabir, Zahrazahra.khabir@students.mq.edu.au
Kieferová, Máriamaria.kieferova@students.mq.edu.au
Kool, Erikerik.kool@students.mq.edu.au
Kuo Tiong, Blaise Anthonyblaise-anthony.kuo-tiong@students.mq.edu.au
Li, Muyemuye.li@students.mq.edu.au
Liu, Hangruihangrui.liu@students.mq.edu.au
Longbottom, Fergusfergus.longbottom@students.mq.edu.au
Malica, Tushartushar.malica@students.mq.edu.au
Marshall, Natashanatasha.mcfadden@students.mq.edu.au
McAndrew, Stephenstephen.mcandrew@students.mq.edu.au
Moshkani, Mojtabamojtaba.moshkani@students.mq.edu.au
Mukty, Nabomita Roynabomita-roy.mukty@students.mq.edu.au
Murk, Sebastiansebastian.murk@students.mq.edu.au
Nagle, Ianian.nagle@students.mq.edu.au
Nguyen, Van Hiepvan-hiep.nguyen@students.mq.edu.au
Ogbodo, Chikaeduchikaedu.ogbodo@students.mq.edu.au
Petzler, Anitaanita.petzler@students.mq.edu.au
Poci, Adrianoadriano.poci@students.mq.edu.au
Raman Nair, Sarathsarath.raman-nair@students.mq.edu.au
Rehman, Sobiasobia.rehman@students.mq.edu.au
Reichardt, Thomasthomas.reichardt@students.mq.edu.au
Reichardt Chu, Bronwynbronwyn.reichardt@students.mq.edu.au
Roberts, Reecereece.roberts@students.mq.edu.au
Ross-Adams, Andrewandrew.ross-adams@students.mq.edu.au
Rozova, Vladavlada.rozova@students.mq.edu.au
Rzhevskiy, Alexeyalexey.rzhevskiy@students.mq.edu.au
Sharp, Adamadam.sharp@students.mq.edu.au
Tocknell, Jamesjames.tocknell@students.mq.edu.au
tuz Zahra, Fatimafatima-tuz-zahra.fatima-tuz@students.mq.edu.au
van Breugel, Matthewmatthew.van-breugel@students.mq.edu.au
Vickers, Shaneshane.vickers@students.mq.edu.au
Wang, Yanyan.wang24@students.mq.edu.au
Wargocki, Piotrpiotr.wargocki@students.mq.edu.au
Whitford, Michellemichelle.whitford@students.mq.edu.au
Wood, Andrewandrew.wood@students.mq.edu.au
Yang, Xuezongxuezong.yang@students.mq.edu.au
Zhang, Kaixinkaixin.zhang@students.mq.edu.au
Zheng, Yamengyameng.zheng@students.mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page