Our people

Our people

Professor Alison Rodger

Head of Department

Alison Rodger moved to Macquarie in 2017 after over 20 years at the University of Warwick. Her research focuses on understanding the structure and function of biomacromolecules and their assemblies. At Macquarie she is establishing an open access biophysical spectroscopy laboratory for collaborators and commercial users. She is committed to supporting the career development of early career researchers and involved with Athena SWAN and the Science in Australia Gender Equity Initiative.

Academic staff

Name Email

Dr Louise Brown

Senior Lecturer

Synthetic and Structural Biology

E: louise.brown@mq.edu.au  

T: +61 (2) 9850 8294

E8C 305

Dr Alfonso Garcia-Benett

ARC Future Fellow

Biomolecular and Synthetic Chemistry

E: alf.garcia@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8285

F7B 338

Professor Paul Haynes

Professor

’Omics and System Biology

E: paul.haynes@mq.edu.au  

T: +61 (2) 9850 6258

F7B 331

Dr Ian Jamie

Senior Lecturer

Analytical Molecular Sciences

E: ian.jamie@mq.edu.au  

T: +61 (2) 9850 8293

F7B 236

Associate Professor Joanne Jamie

Associate Professor

Biomolecular and Synthetic Chemistry

E: joanne.jamie@mq.edu.au  

T: +61 (2) 9850 8283

F7B 231

Dr Paul Jaschke

Lecturer

Synthetic and Structural Biology

E: paul.jaschke@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8295

E8A 357

Professor Peter Karuso

Professor of Chemistry

Analytical Molecular Sciences

E: peter.karuso@mq.edu.au  

T: +61 (2) 9850 8290

F7B 232

Dr Fei Liu

Senior Lecturer

Biomolecular and Synthetic Chemistry

E: fei.liu@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8312

F7B 330

Associate Professor Guozhen Liu

ARC Future Fellow

Analytical Molecular Sciences

E: guozhen.liu@mq.edu.au  

T: +61 (2) 9850 8302

F7B 229

Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt

MRes Director, Associate Professor

Synthetic and Structural Biology

E: bridget.mabbutt@mq.edu.au  

T: +61 (2) 9850 8282

E8C 306

Professor Barbara Messerle

Executive Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Biomolecular and Synthetic Chemistry

E: barbara.messerle@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 9101

E6A 242

Dr Abidali Mohamedali

Associate Lecturer, Faculty of Science and Engineering

’Omics and System Biology

E: abidali.mohamedali@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8292

F7B 119

Associate Professor Mark Molloy

Associate Professor, Director APAF

’Omics and System Biology

E: mark.malloy@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 6916

E8C 311

Professor Helena Nevalainen

Professor

Synthetic and Structural Biology

E: helena.nevalainen@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8135

E8C 302

Professor Nicki Packer

Professor                                                     

’Omics and System Biology

E: nicki.packer@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8176

E8C 307

Professor Ian Paulsen

Professor

’Omics and System Biology

E: ian.paulsen@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8152

E8A 207

Dr Andrew Piggott

ARC Future Fellow

Biomolecular and Synthetic Chemistry

E: andrew.piggott@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8251

F7B 334

Professor Shoba Ranganathan

Professor

’Omics and System Biology

E: shoba.ranganathan@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 6262

F7B 121

Professor Alison Rodger

Professor, Head of Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences

Analytical Molecular Sciences

E: alison.rodger@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8264

F7B 220

Associate Professor Anwar Sunna

Associate Professor

Synthetic and Structural Biology

E: anwar.sunna@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 4220

E8C 207

Dr Sasha Tetu

Lecturer

’Omics and System Biology

E: sasha.tetu@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8155

E8A 201

Dr Morten Thaysen-Andersen

CINSW ECR

’Omics and System Biology

E: morten.andersen@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 7487

F7B 333

Associate Professor Koushik Venkatesan

Associate Professor

Biomolecular and Synthetic Chemistry 

E: koushik.venkatesan@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8296

F7B 123

Dr Yuling Wang

Senior Lecturer

Analytical Molecular Sciences

E: yuling.wang@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 6914

F7B 337

Professor Robert Willows

Professor

Biomolecular and Synthetic Chemistry

E: robert.willows@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8146

F7B 235

Dr Danny K. Y. Wong

Senior Lecturer

Analytical Molecular Sciences

E: danny.wong@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8300

F7B 235

Research fellows

Name Position Email
Amy Asher Research Fellow amy.asher@mq.edu.au
Emma Barnes Research Fellow emma.barnes@mq.edu.au
Samantha Binding Research Fellow samantha.binding@mq.edu.au
Amy Cain Research Fellow amy.cain@mq.edu.au
Andrew Care Research Fellow andrew.care@mq.edu.au
Nicole Cordina Research Fellow nicole.cordina@mq.edu.au
Natalie Curach Dev Advisor natalie.curach@mq.edu.au
Liam Elbourne Research Fellow liam.elbourne@mq.edu.au
Sophie GoodchildResearch Fellowsophie.goodchild@mq.edu.au
Karl Hassan Research Fellow karl.hassan@mq.edu.au
Taotao Huang Research Fellow taotao.huang@mq.edu.au
Liisa Kautto Research Fellow liisa.kautto@mq.edu.au
Heinrich Kroukamp Research Fellow heinrich.kroukamp@mq.edu.au
Liping Li Research Fellow liping.li@mq.edu.au
Ian Loke Research Fellow ian.loke@mq.edu.au
Roy McBurney Research Fellow roy.mcburney@mq.edu.au
Mehdi Mirzaei Research Fellow mehdi.mirzaei@mq.edu.au
Martin Ostrowski Research Fellow martin.ostrowski@mq.edu.au
Soo Jean Park Research Fellow soojean.park@mq.edu.au
Lindsay Parker Research Fellow lindsay.parker@mq.edu.au
Anahit Penesyan Research Fellow anahit.penesyan@mq.edu.au
Nima Sayyadi Research Fellow nima.sayyadi@mq.edu.au
Bhumika Shah   Research Fellow bhumika.shah@mq.edu.au
Angela Sun Research Fellow angela.sun@mq.edu.au
Fan Wang Research Fellow fan.wang@mq.edu.au
Thomas Williams Research Fellow thomas.williams@mq.edu.au
Niel Van WykResearch Fellowniel.vanwyk@mq.edu.au
Xiaoxue Xu Research Fellow xiaoxue.xu@mq.edu.au

Honorary appointments

Name           Position        Email
Kaisarun AkterHonorary Postdoctoral Fellowkaisarun.akter@mq.edu.au
Malcolm BallVisiting Fellowmalcolm.ball@mq.edu.au
Barry BattsAdjunct Professorbarry.batts@mq.edu.au
Peter BergquistEmeritus Professorpeter.bergquist@mq.edu.au 
Hugh GooldHonorary Fellowhugh.goold@mq.edu.au
Brian GrayEmeritus Professorbrian.gray@mq.edu.au
Graham HobbaVisiting Fellowgraham.hobba@mq.edu.au
Paul HostetlerEmeritus Professorblair.hostetler@mq.edu.au
Xiong JiaoVisiting Associate Professorxiong.jiao@mq.edu.au
Dayong JinAdjunct Fellowdayong.jin@mq.edu.au 
Masahiro KounoVisiting Scholarmasahiro.kouno@mq.edu.au
Maria LateganHonorary Lecturermaria.lategan@mq.edu.au
Federico LauroAdjunct Professorfrederico.lauro@mq.edu.au
Dan LiVisiting Fellowd.li@mq.edu.au
Sophie MazardHonorary Associatesophie.mazard@mq.edu.au
Wayne O'ConnorVisiting Fellowwayne.oconnor@mq.edu.au
Brian OrrEmeritus Professorbrian.orr@mq.edu.au
Matthew PetersonVisiting Scholarmatthew.peterson@mq.edu.au
Kenneth QuailVisiting Fellowkenneth.quail@mq.edu.au
Bibiana RojasVisiting Fellowbibiana.rojas@mq.edu.au
Peter StilesHonorary Associate Professorpeter.stiles@mq.edu.au
Valentino Te'oAdjunct Fellowjunior.teo@mq.edu.au
Robert VaggEmeritus Professorrobert.vagg@mq.edu.au
Bradley WalshAdjunct Fellowbrad.walsh@mq.edu.au

Administration staff       

  Name      Position Email Location Phone
Cheryl Farago Department Manager cheryl.farago@mq.edu.au F7B 220 9850 8178
Michelle Kang Administrator Academicmichelle.kang@mq.edu.au F7B 2239850 8291
Nancy LiAdministrative Assistantnancy.y.li@mq.edu.auF7B 2239850 5503
Koko NumataAdministration and Outreach Coordinator koko.numata@mq.edu.auF7B 2269850 8275
Mark RegoAdministrator Financemark.rego@mq.edu.auF7B 2239850 8244
Melanie TanAdministrative Assistantmelanie.tan@mq.edu.auF7B 2239850 8277

Technical staff

Name Position Email Location Phone
Erika Davies Senior Scientific Officer (NMR) erika.davies@mq.edu.au F7B 227 9850 8260
Anthony Gurlica Laboratory Manager anthony.gurlica@mq.edu.au F7B 229 9850 6374
Thi Huynh Scientific Officer thi.huynh@mq.edu.au E8A 1729850 8262
Thulasy Jeyendra Scientific Officer thulasy.jeyendra@mq.edu.au E7B 314 9850 8262
Gurpreet Kaur Scientific Officer gurpreet.kaur@mq.edu.au E8A 1749850 8249
Monika KingTechnical Team managermonika.king@mq.edu.auE8A 1049850 8208
Elsa Mardones Senior Scientific Officer elsa.mardones@mq.edu.au E8A 172 9850 8233
Angela Moncrieff Scientific Officer angela.moncrieff@mq.edu.au E8A 173 9850 8262
Hong Nguyen Scientific Officer hong.nguyen@mq.edu.au E7B 331 9850 8262
Mark Tran Technical Team Manager mark.tran@mq.edu.au E7B 333 9850 4077
Tony Wang Scientific Officer tony.wang@mq.edu.au F7B 227 9850 8263
Back to the top of this page