Our people

Our people

Professor Alison Rodger

Head of Department

Alison Rodger moved to Macquarie in 2017 after over 20 years at the University of Warwick. Her research focuses on understanding the structure and function of biomacromolecules and their assemblies. At Macquarie she is establishing an open access biophysical spectroscopy laboratory for collaborators and commercial users. She is committed to supporting the career development of early career researchers and involved with Athena SWAN and the Science in Australia Gender Equity Initiative.

Academic staff

Name Email

Dr Louise Brown

Senior Lecturer

Structural and Synthetic Biology

E: louise.brown@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8294

6WW(E8C) 305

Dr Alfonso Garcia-Benett

ARC Future Fellow

Functional Materials

E: alf.garcia@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8285

4WW(F7B) 337

Professor Paul Haynes

Professor

Molecular Omics

E: paul.haynes@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 6258

6WW(E8C) 309

Dr Ian Jamie

Senior Lecturer

Analytical Molecular Science

E: ian.jamie@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8293

4WW(F7B) 236

Associate Professor Joanne Jamie

Associate Professor

Analytical Molecular Science

E: joanne.jamie@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8283

4WW(F7B) 231

Dr Paul Jaschke

Lecturer

Structural and Synthetic Biology

E: paul.jaschke@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8295

14EaR(E8A) 357

Professor Peter Karuso

Professor of Chemistry

Analytical Molecular Science

E: peter.karuso@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8290

4WW(F7B) 232

Dr Fei Liu

Senior Lecturer

Analytical Molecular Science

E: fei.liu@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8312

4WW(F7B) 330

Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt

MRes Director, Associate Professor

Structural and Synthetic Biology

E: bridget.mabbutt@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8282

6WW(E8C) 306

Professor Barbara Messerle

Executive Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Functional Materials

E: barbara.messerle@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 9101

9WW(E6A) 242

Dr Abidali Mohamedali

Associate Lecturer, Faculty of Science and Engineering

Molecular Omics

E: abidali.mohamedali@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8292

4WW(F7B) 119
Dr Damian Moran

Scholarly Teaching Fellow

Analytical Molecular Science
E: damian.moran@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8299

4WW(F7B) 329

Professor Helena Nevalainen

Professor

Structural and Synthetic Biology

E: helena.nevalainen@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8135

6WW(E8C) 302

Professor Nicki Packer

Professor

Molecular Omics

E: nicki.packer@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8176

6WW(E8C) 307

Professor Ian Paulsen

Professor

Structural and Synthetic Biology

E: ian.paulsen@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8152

14EaR(E8A) 207

Dr Andrew Piggott

Senior Lecturer

Analytical Molecular Science

E: andrew.piggott@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8251

4WW(F7B) 334

Professor Shoba Ranganathan

Professor

Molecular Omics

E: shoba.ranganathan@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 6262

4WW(F7B) 121

Professor Alison Rodger

Professor, Head of Molecular Sciences

Analytical Molecular Science

E: alison.rodger@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8264

6WW(E8C) 310

Associate Professor Anwar Sunna

Associate Professor

Structural and Synthetic Biology

E: anwar.sunna@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 4220

6WW(E8C) 207

Dr Sasha Tetu

Lecturer

Molecular Omics

E: sasha.tetu@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8155

14EaR(E8A) 201

Dr Morten Thaysen-Andersen

CINSW ECR

Molecular Omics

E: morten.andersen@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 7487

4WW(F7B) 333

Associate Professor Koushik Venkatesan

Associate Professor

Functional Materials

E: koushik.venkatesan@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8296

4WW(F7B) 123

Dr Yuling Wang

Senior Lecturer

Functional Materials

E: yuling.wang@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 6914

4WW(F7B) 229

Professor Robert Willows

Professor

Analytical Molecular Science

E: robert.willows@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8146

14EaR(E8A) 203

Dr Danny K. Y. Wong

Senior Lecturer

Analytical Molecular Science

E: danny.wong@mq.edu.au

T: +61 (2) 9850 8300

4WW(F7B) 235

Research fellows

Name Position Email
Emma Barnes Research Fellow emma.barnes@mq.edu.au
Amy Cain Research Fellow amy.cain@mq.edu.au
Andrew Care Research Fellow andrew.care@mq.edu.au
Liam Elbourne Research Fellow liam.elbourne@mq.edu.au
Sophie GoodchildResearch Fellowsophie.goodchild@mq.edu.au
Hasinika Hewawasam GamageResearch Fellowhasinika.hewawasam@mq.edu.au
John KalaitzisResearch Fellowjohn.kalaitzis@mq.edu.au
Liisa Kautto Research Fellow liisa.kautto@mq.edu.au
Sinead KeaveneyResearch Fellowsinead.keaveney@mq.edu.au
Heinrich Kroukamp Research Fellow heinrich.kroukamp@mq.edu.au
Liping Li Research Fellow liping.li@mq.edu.au
Briardo LlorenteResearch Fellowbriardo.llorente@mq.edu.au
Paul Malek MirzayansResearch Fellowpaul.malekmirzayans@mq.edu.au
Mehdi Mirzaei Research Fellow mehdi.mirzaei@mq.edu.au
Lisa MooreResearch Fellowlisa.moore@mq.edu.au
Martin Ostrowski Research Fellow martin.ostrowski@mq.edu.au
Soo Jean Park Research Fellow soojean.park@mq.edu.au
Lindsay Parker Research Fellow lindsay.parker@mq.edu.au
Anahit Penesyan Research Fellow anahit.penesyan@mq.edu.au
Indrek PernikResearch Fellowindrek.pernik@mq.edu.au
Phani Rekha PotluriResearch Fellowphani-rekha.potluri@mq.edu.au
Max RoemerResearch Fellowmax.roemer@mq.edu.au
Nima Sayyadi Research Fellow nima.sayyadi@mq.edu.au
Bhumika Shah   Research Fellow bhumika.shah@mq.edu.au
Angela Sun Research Fellow angela.sun@mq.edu.au
Deepa VarkeyResearch Fellowdeepa.varkey@mq.edu.au
Roy WalkerResearch Fellowroy.walker@mq.edu.au
Thomas Williams Research Fellow thomas.williams@mq.edu.au
Niel Van WykResearch Fellowniel.vanwyk@mq.edu.au

Honorary appointments

NamePositionEmail
Kaisarun AkterHonorary Postdoctoral Fellowkaisarun.akter@mq.edu.au
Malcolm BallVisiting Fellowmalcolm.ball@mq.edu.au
Barry BattsAdjunct Professorbarry.batts@mq.edu.au
Peter BergquistEmeritus Professorpeter.bergquist@mq.edu.au 
Daniel BouzoVisiting Scholardaniel.bouzo@mq.edu.au
Amy CainHonorary Research Fellowamy.cain@mq.edu.au
Elsa ChackoVisiting Scholarelsa.chacko@mq.edu.au
Alec CharlsonHonorary Senior Lectureralec.charlson@mq.edu.au
Nittaya GaleVisiting Fellownittaya.gale@mq.edu.au
Hugh GooldHonorary Fellowhugh.goold@mq.edu.au
Brian GrayEmeritus Professorbrian.gray@mq.edu.au
Anna GryshynaHonorary Postdoctoral Associateanna.gryshyna@mq.edu.au
Karl HassanHonorary Senior Lecturerkarl.hassan@mq.edu.au
Hannes HinneburgVisiting Fellowhannes.hinneburg@mq.edu.au
Paul HostetlerEmeritus Professorblair.hostetler@mq.edu.au
Rebeca Kawahara SakumaVisiting Fellowrebeca.kawaharasakuma@mq.edu.au
Richard KitneyHonorary Professordick.kitney@mq.edu.au
Christoph KrispHonorary Research Fellowchristoph.krisp@mq.edu.au
Ernest LaceyAdjunct Fellowern.lacey@mq.edu.au
Guozhen LiuHonorary Senior Research Fellowguozhen.liu@mq.edu.au
Mark MolloyHonorary Professormark.molloy@mq.edu.au
David NewmanHonorary Professordavid.newman@mq.edu.au
Wayne O'ConnorVisiting Fellowwayne.oconnor@mq.edu.au
Brian OrrEmeritus Professorbrian.orr@mq.edu.au
Matthew PetersonVisiting Scholarmatthew.peterson@mq.edu.au
Ghassem SalekdehHonorary Professorhosseini.salekdeh@mq.edu.au
Artur SawickiVisiting Fellowartur.sawicki@mq.edu.au
Peter StilesHonorary Associate Professorpeter.stiles@mq.edu.au
Dominik SuterVisiting Scholardominik.suter@mq.edu.au
Valentino Te'oAdjunct Fellowjunior.teo@mq.edu.au
Robert VaggEmeritus Professorrobert.vagg@mq.edu.au
Karoline Vieira NogueiraVisiting Scholarkarol.vieiranogueira@mq.edu.au
Tobias von ArxVisiting Scholartobias.vonarx@mq.edu.au
Bradley WalshAdjunct Fellowbrad.walsh@mq.edu.au
Paul WormellVisiting Professorpaul.wormer@mq.edu.au

Administration staff

Name Position Email LocationPhone
Cheryl Farago Department Manager cheryl.farago@mq.edu.au4WW 220 9850 8178
Sarah HenryAdministrative Assistantsarah.henry@mq.edu.au4WW 2219850 8221
Michelle Kang Administrator Academicmichelle.kang@mq.edu.au4WW 2239850 8291
Nancy LiAdministrative Assistantnancy.y.li@mq.edu.au4WW 2239850 5503
Shin Yoong LimAdministrative Assistantshinyoong.lim@mq.edu.au4WW 2239850 8277
Koko NumataAdministration and Outreach Coordinator koko.numata@mq.edu.au4WW 2219850 8275
Mark RegoAdministrator Financemark.rego@mq.edu.au4WW 2239850 8244

Technical staff

Name Position Email LocationPhone
Nicole CordinaSenior Analytical Techniciannicole.cordina@mq.edu.au4WW 2219850 6916
Christie FosterResearch Officerchristie.foster@mq.edu.au14EaR 301 
Iniga GeorgeSenior Research Officeriniga.george@mq.edu.au14EaR 3589850 8140
Anthony Gurlica Laboratory Manager anthony.gurlica@mq.edu.au 4WW 2269850 6374
Thi Huynh Scientific Officer thi.huynh@mq.edu.au14EaR 1729850 8262
Thulasy Jeyendra Scientific Officer thulasy.jeyendra@mq.edu.au14SCO 314 9850 8262
Gurpreet Kaur Scientific Officer gurpreet.kaur@mq.edu.au14EaR 1749850 8249
Monika KingTechnical Team managermonika.king@mq.edu.au14EaR 1049850 8208
Elsa Mardones Senior Scientific Officer elsa.mardones@mq.edu.au14EaR 172 9850 8233
Angela Moncrieff Scientific Officer angela.moncrieff@mq.edu.au14EaR 173 9850 8262
Hong Nguyen Scientific Officer hong.nguyen@mq.edu.au14SCO 331 9850 8262
Remi RouquetteSenior Analytical Technicianremi.rouquette@mq.edu.au4WW 2219850 4219
Mark Tran Technical Team Manager mark.tran@mq.edu.au14SCO 333 9850 4077
Tony Wang Scientific Officer tony.wang@mq.edu.au4WW 227 9850 8263
Back to the top of this page