Our people

Our people

Key department contacts

Interim Head of Department
Professor Michael Steel

T: +61 (2) 9850 6475
E: fse.headmaths@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 603

Deputy Head of Department
Dr Maurizio Manuguerra

T: +61 (2) 9850 7838
E: maurizio.manuguerra@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 619

Director of Research
Dr Georgy Sofronov

T: +61 (2) 9850 8544
E: georgy.sofronov@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 703

Director of Teaching
Dr Maurizio Manuguerra

T: +61 (2) 9850 7838
E: maurizio.manuguerra@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 619

Department Manager
Ms Christine Hale

T: +61 (2) 9850 8947
E:christine.hale@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 605

People in the Department

Academic Staff

Dr David Arnold
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 9617
E: david.arnold@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 630

Dr Ken Beath
Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8516
E: ken.beath@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 634

Associate Professor Ayse Bilgin
Associate Professor of Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8509
E: ayse.bilgin@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 635

Dr Paul Bryan
Lecturer in Pure Mathematics
ARC DECRA Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8939
E: paul.bryan@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 535

Dr The Anh Bui
Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8722
E: the.bui@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 606

Dr David Bulger
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8546
E: david.bulger@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 530

Dr Sophie Calabretto
Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8950
E: sophie.calabretto@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 625

Professor Jim Denier
Professor of Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8956
E: jim.denier@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 525

Dr Hassan Doosti
Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4884
E: hassan.doosti@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 534

Professor Xuan Duong
Professor of Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8948
E: xuan.duong@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 729

Dr Thomas Fung
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4769
E: thomas.fung@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 626

Professor Vladimir Gaitsgory
Professor of Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8946
E: vladimir.gaitsgory@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 738

Dr Richard Garner
Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics
ARC Future Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8923
E: richard.garner@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 718

Mr Chris Gordon
Scholarly Teaching Fellow in Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8918
E: chris.gordon@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 618

Dr Christopher Green
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics
ARC DECRA Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8922
E: christopher.c.green@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 538

Dr Stuart Hawkins
Senior Lecturer in Computational Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4177
E: stuart.hawkins@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 722

Professor Gillian Heller
Professor of Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8541
E: gillian.heller@mq.edu.au
W: WorkPersonal
12 Wally's Walk

Dr Lyndon Koens
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8952
E: lyndon.koens@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 739

Dr Nino Kordzakhia
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8549
E: nino.kordzakhia@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 610

Associate Professor Steve Lack
Associate Professor in Pure Mathematics
Director, CoACT

T: +61 (2) 9850 8928
E: steve.lack@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 730

Dr Ji Li 
Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 6146
E: ji.li@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 710

Dr Christopher Lustri
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8915
E: christopher.lustri@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 714

Associate Professor Jun Ma
Associate Professor in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8548
E: jun.ma@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 526

Dr Maurizio Manuguerra
Senior Lecturer in Statistics
Deputy Head of Department

T: +61 (2) 9850 7838
E: maurizio.manuguerra@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 619

Dr Ross Moore
Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8955
E: ross.moore@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 734

Dr Catherine Penington
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8942
E: catherine.penington@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 717

Dr Tania Prvan
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8561
E: tania.prvan@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 629

Dr Georgy Sofronov
Senior Lecturer in Statistics
Director of Research

T: +61 (2) 9850 8544
E: georg.sofronov@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 703

Associate Professor Adam Sikora
Associate Professor in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8919
E: adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 721

Dr Christian Thomas
Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 6138
E: christian.thomas@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 638

Dr Justin Tzou
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8925
E: justin.tzou@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 713

Dr Frank Valckenborgh
Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8945
E: frank.valckenborgh@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 613

Dr Elena Vynogradova
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8920
E: elena.vynogradova@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 709

Dr Houying Zhu
Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 
E: houying.zhu@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 705

Professional Staff

Ms Christine Hale
Department Manager

T: +61 (2) 9850 8947
E: christine.hale@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 605

Ms Donna Hua
Finance & Staff Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 4770
E: donna.hua@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 615

Mr Frank Schoenig
Academic Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 8555
E: frank.schoenig@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 607

Ms Melora Pallesen (on Mat. Leave until 20/05/20)
PA, Head of Department
Outreach Coordinator

Ms Hayley Prescott
PA, Head of Department
Outreach Coordinator

T: +61 (2) 9850 6473
E: mel.pallesen@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 621

T: +61 (2) 9850 6473
E: hayley.prescott@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 621

Ms Lesley Mooney
Outreach Coordinator (P/T)

T: +61 (2) 9850 8550
E: lesley.mooney@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 615

Ms Angel Guo
Administration Assistant

T: +61 (2) 9850 8257
E: angel.guo@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 607

Ms Manoela Kunrath
Administration Assistant

T: +61 (2) 9850 8936
E: manoela.kunrath@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 607

Research staff

Dr Lixin Yan
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Mathematics

E: lixin.yan@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 707

Dr Manjula Schou
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Statistics

E: manjula.schou@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 719

Dr Sophie Raynor
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Mathematics
E: sophie.raynor@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 707

Dr Guo Deng
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Mathematics

E: guo.deng@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 719
Dr Paul Lessard
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Mathematics

E: paul.lessard@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 719

Higher Degree Research Students

Ms Aya Alwan
PhD in Statistics

E: aya.alwan@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 638

Ms Farzaneh Boroumand
PhD

E: farzaneh.boroumand@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 643

Mr Jason Brown
PhD (Part-Time)

E:
12 Wally's Walk desk 737

Mr John Burke
MRes

E:
12 Wally's Walk desk 653

Mr Rhuaidi Burke
MRes 

E: rhuaidi.burke@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 751

Ms Silvia Ceccacci
PhD in Applied Mathematics

E: silvia.ceccacci@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 640

Mr Joel Couchman
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: joel.couchman@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Florian De Leger
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: florian.de-leger@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 735

Mr Joseph Descallar
PhD (Part-time) in Statistics

E: joseph.descallar@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Chuong Hong Doan
PhD

E: hong-chuong.doan@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 639

Mr Geoffrey Edington-Cheater
MRes in Pure Mathematics

E: geoffrey.cheater@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Hugh Entwistle
MRes in Mathematics

E: hugh.entwistle@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 750

Mr Lucas Garmertsfelder
PhD

E: lucas.gamertsfelder@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 604

Mr Charles Hadeed
MRes in Applied Mathematics

E: charles.hadeed@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 752

Ms Eli Hazel
MRes in Mathematics

E: eli.hazel@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Peilun He
MRes

E: peilun.he@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 652

Mr Chuong Hong Doan
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: chuong-doan@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 639

Mr Aydin Hibbert
MRes in Statistics

E: aydin.hibbert@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Hardy Hulley
PhD (Part-time) in Pure Mathematics

E: hardy.hulley@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Hyeon Tai Jung
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: hyeon-tai.jung@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 637

Mr Andrew Locke
PhD in Statistics

E: andrew.locke@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 642

Mr Ding Ma
PhD in Statistics

E: ding.ma1@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 741

Ms Lijing Ma
PhD in Statistics

E: lijing.ma@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 742

Mr Yuki Maehara
PhD in Mathematics

E: yuki.maehara@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 736

Mr Adrian Miranda
PhD

E: adrian.miranda@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 739

Mr Aaron Mosto-Duggan
MRes in applied Mathematics

E: aaron.mostonduggan@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 748

Mr Georges Nader
MRes in Mathematics

E: georges.nader@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Muhammad Nasir
PhD

E: muhammad.nisar@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 603

Mr Alex Parkinson
PhD (Part-time) in Applied Mathematics

E: alex.parkinson@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Ms Nishanthi Raveendran
PhD In Statistics

E: nishanthi.raveendran@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 740

Mr Martin Sagradian
PhD in Applied Mathematics

E: martin.sagradian@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 605

Ms Sophia Shen
MRes (Part-time) in Statistics

E: sophia.shen@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 650

Mr Ali Shariati
PhD in Statistics

E: ali.shariati@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 738

Ms Anne Sorensen
PhD

E:
12 Wally's Walk desk 644

Mr Stanislaus Stadlmann
PhD

E: stanislaus.stadlmann@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 645

Mr Giacomo Tendas
PhD 

E: giacomo.tendas@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 606

Mr Turker Topal
PhD (Part-time) in Applied Mathematics

E: turker.topal@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Mark Thackham
PhD (Part-time) in Statistics

E: mark.thackham@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Ms Annabel Webb
MRes

E: annabel.webb@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 655

Mr Haiyun Zhang
MRes

E: haiyun.zhang@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk desk 654

Honorary staff

Professor William Chen
Emeritus Professor of Pure Mathematics

E: william.chen@mq.edu.au

Professor Malcolm Hudson
Emeritus Professor of Statistics

E: malcolm.hudson@mq.edu.

Professor Don McNeil
Emeritus Professor of Statistics

E: don.mcneil@mq.edu.au

Professor Barry Quinn
Honorary Professor in Statistics

E: barry.quinn@mq.edu.au

Professor Ross Street
Emeritus Professor in Pure Mathematics

E: ross.street@mq.edu.au

Dr Rod Yager
Honorary Fellow Mathematics

E: rod.yager@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page