Our people

Our people

Key department contacts

Head of Department
Professor Jim Denier

T: +61 (2) 9850 8956
E: jim.denier@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 603

Deputy Head of Department
Dr Maurizio Manuguerra

T: +61 (2) 9850 7838
E: maurizio.manuguerra@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 621

Director of Research
Dr Georgy Sofronov

T: +61 (2) 9850 8544
E: georgy.sofronov@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 535

Director of Teaching
Dr Rod Yager

T: +61 (2) 9850 8934
E: rod.yager@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 535

Department Manager
Ms Christine Hale

T: +61 (2) 9850 8947
E:christine.hale@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 605

People in the Department

Academic Staff

Associate Professor Michael Batanin
Associate Professor in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8926
E: michael.batanin@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 706

Dr Ken Beath
Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8516
E: ken.beath@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 634

Associate Professor Ayse Bilgin
Associate Professor of Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8509
E: ayse.bilgin@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 635

Dr Paul Bryan
Lecturer in Pure Mathematics
ARC DECRA Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8939
E: paul.bryan@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 617

Dr (The) Anh Bui
Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8722
E: the.bui@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 606

Dr David Bulger
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8546
E: david.bulger@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 530

Dr KJ Byun
Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 7473
E: kj.byun@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 614

Dr Sophie Calabretto
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8950
E: sophie.calabretto@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 705

Ms Suzanne Curtis
Associate Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8584
E: suzanne.curtis@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 622

Professor Jim Denier
Professor of Applied Mathematics
Head of Department

T: +61 (2) 9850 8956
E: jim.denier@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 603

Dr Hassan Doosti
Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4884
E: hassan.doosti@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 534

Professor Xuan Duong
Professor of Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8948
E: xuan.duong@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 729

Dr Thomas Fung
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4769
E: thomas.fung@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 626

Professor Vladimir Gaitsgory
Professor of Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8944
E: vladimir.gaitsgory@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 738

Dr Richard Garner
Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics
ARC Future Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8923
E: richard.garner@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 718

Mr Chris Gordon
Scholarly Teaching Fellow in Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8918
E: chris.gordon@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 618

Dr Petra Graham
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 6138
E: petra.graham@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 638

Mr Andrew Grant
Associate Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4175
E: andrew.grant@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 538

Dr Chris Green
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics
ARC DECRA Fellow

T: +61 (2) 9850 8922
E: christopher.c.green@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 725

Dr Stuart Hawkins
Senior Lecturer in Computational Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4177
E: stuart.hawkins@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 722

Professor Gillian Heller
Professor of Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8541
E: gillian.heller@mq.edu.au
W: WorkPersonal
12 Wally's Walk 619

Ms Dilshara Hill
Associate Lecturer, Numeracy Centre

T: +61 (2) 9850 8924
E: dilshara.hill@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 711

Ms Anne Karpin
Associate Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 9617
E: anne.karpin@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 630

Ms Carolyn Kennett
Director, Numeracy Centre

T: +61 (2) 9850 8924
E: carolyn.kennett@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 711

Dr Lyndon Koens
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 xxx
E: lyndon.koens@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 739

Dr Nino Kordzakhia
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8549
E: nino.kordzakhia@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 610

Associate Professor Steve Lack
Associate Professor in Pure Mathematics
Director, CoACT

T: +61 (2) 9850 8928
E: steve.lack@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 730

Dr Ji Li 
Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 6146
E: ji.li@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 710

Dr Kehui Luo
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8563
E: kehui.luo@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 529

Dr Chris Lustri
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8915
E: christopher.lustri@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 714

Associate Professor Jun Ma
Associate Professor in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8548
E: jun.ma@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 526

Dr Maurizio Manuguerra
Senior Lecturer in Statistics
Deputy Head of Department

T: +61 (2) 9850 7838
E: maurizio.manuguerra@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 621

Professor Ian Marschner
Professor of Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8557
E: ian.marschner@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 619

Dr Nicole Mealing
Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 9174
E: nicole.mealing@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 609

Dr Ross Moore
Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8955
E: ross.moore@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 734

Dr Catherine Penington
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8942
E: catherine.penington@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 717

Dr Tania Prvan
Senior Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8561
E: tania.prvan@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 629

Professor Barry Quinn
Professor of Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 6475
E: barry.quinn@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 625

Dr Georgy Sofronov
Senior Lecturer in Statistics
Director of Research

T: +61 (2) 9850 8544
E: georg.sofronov@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 535

Dr Adam Sikora
Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8919
E: adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk721

Professor Paul Smith
Professor of Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8944
E: paul.smith@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 726

Dr Justin Tzou
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8925
E: justin.tzou@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 713

Dr Frank Valckenborgh
Lecturer in Pure Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8945
E: frank.valckenborgh@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 613

Dr Elena Vynogradova
Lecturer in Applied Mathematics

T: +61 (2) 9850 8920
E: elena.vynogradova@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 709

Dr Justin Wishart
Lecturer in Statistics

T: +61 (2) 9850 4749
E: justin.wishart@mq.edu.au
W: Work Personal
12 Wally's Walk 639

Dr Rod Yager
Senior Lecturer in Pure Mathematics
Director of Teaching

T: +61 (2) 9850 8934
E: rod.yager@mq.edu.au
W: Work
12 Wally's Walk 535

Professional Staff

Ms Christine Hale
Department Manager

T: +61 (2) 9850 8947
E: christine.hale@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 605

Ms Donna Hua
Finance Manager

T: +61 (2) 9850 4770
E: donna.hua@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 615

Mr Frank Schöenig
Academic Administrator

T: +61 (2) 9850 8555
E: frank.schoenig@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 607

Ms Melora Pallesen
PA, Head of Department
Outreach Coordinator

T: +61 (2) 9850 6473
E: mel.pallesen@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 615

Ms Lesley Mooney
Outreach Coordinator (P/T)

T: +61 (2) 9850 8550
E: lesley.mooney@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 615

Ms Hayley Prescott
Administration Assistant

T: +61 (2) 9850 8257
E: hayley.prescott@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 607

Ms Manoela Kunrath
Administration Assistant

T: +61 (2) 9850 8936
E: manoela.kunrath@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 607

Research staff

Dr Alexander Campbell
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Mathematics

E: alexander.campbell@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 707

Dr Manjula Schou
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Statistics

E: manjula.schou@mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 539

Higher Degree Research Students

Ms Aya Alwan
PhD in Statistics

E: aya.alwan@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 638

Ms Rinat Akter
PhD in Statistics

E: rinat.akter@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Leon Beale
PhD in Applied Mathematics

E: leon.beale@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Joel Couchman
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: joel.couchman@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 626

Mr Florian De Leger
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: florian.de-leger@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 728

Mr Joseph Descallar
PhD in Statistics

E: joseph.descallar@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 742

Mr Chuong Hong Doan
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: chuong-doan@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 626

Mr Aydin Hibbert
MRes in Statistics

E: aydin.hibbert@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Hardy Hulley
PhD (Part-time) in Pure Mathematics

E: hardy.hulley@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Hyeon Tai Jung
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: hyeon-tai.jung@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 632

Mr Edoardo Lanari
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: edoardo.lanari@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 736

Mr Daniel Lin
PhD in Pure Mathematics

E: daniel.lin@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 611

Mr Yixuan Liu
MRes in Statistics

E: yixuan.li@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 749

Mr Andrew Locke
PhD in Statistics

E: andrew.locke@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 642

Mr Ding Ma
MRes in Statistics

E: ding.ma1@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 748

Ms Lijing Ma
MRes in Statistics

E: lijing.ma@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 747

Ms Audrey Markowski
PhD in Applied Mathematics

E: audrey.markowski@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 728

Mr Adrian Miranda
MRes in Mathematics

E: adrian.miranda@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 732

Mr Alex Parkinson
PhD in Applied Mathematics

E: alex.parkinson@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 636

Ms Busayasachee (Gigi) Puang-Ngern
PhD in Statistics

E: busayasachee.puang-ngern@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 643

Kasun Rathnayake
PhD in Statistics

E: kasun.rathnayake@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 606

Ms Nishanthi Raveendran
PhD In Statistics

E: nishanthi.raveendran@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 654

Mr Guilherme Saffi Franco
MRes in Statistics

E: guilherme.saffifranco@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 748

Mr Martin Sagradian
PhD in Applied Mathematics

E: martin.sagradian@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 611

Ms Nayeema Sultana
MRes in Statistics

E: nayeema.sultana@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 655

Mr Ali Shariati
MRes in Statistics

E: ali.shariarti@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk

Mr Turker Topal
PhD in Applied Mathematics

E: turker.topal@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 728

Mr Mark Thackham
PhD in Statistics

E: mark.thackham@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 

Mr Gustavo Thomas
PhD in Statistics

E: gustavo.thomas@students.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 645

Mr Charles Walker
PhD In Pure Mathematics

E: charles.walker@hdr.mq.edu.au
12 Wally's Walk 611

Honorary staff

Professor William Chen
Emeritus Professor of Pure Mathematics

E: william.chen@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor John Corbett
Honorary Fellow of Pure Mathematics

E: john.corbett@mq.edu.au

Professor Malcolm Hudson
Emeritus Professor of Statistics

E: malcolm.hudson@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Andrzej Kozek
Honorary Associate Professor of Statistics

E: andrzej.kozek@mq.edu.au

Professor Don McNeil
Emeritus Professor of Statistics

E: don.mcneil@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Peter Petocz
Honorary Associate Professor of Statistics

E: peter.petocz@mq.edu.au

Professor Ross Street
Emeritus Professor in Pure Mathematics

E: ross.street@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Robin van den Honert
Honorary Associate Professor in Statistics

E: rob.vandenhonert@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page