Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Professor Neil Saintilan

Climate change is altering the distribution of organisms and the structure of ecosystems across the globe, and one of the most dramatically effected biomes are wetlands. My research has explored the impact of climate change across different types of wetlands- from coastal wetlands impacted by sea-level rise, to freshwater wetlands subject to the dual stressors of altered climatic conditions and water extraction. Our team has identified new approaches to wetland management, drawing attention to the benefits of carbon sequestration (“blue carbon”) in coastal wetlands, and pioneering tools helping river managers better accommodate the needs of wetlands when planning water allocations. This work has proceeded in partnership with the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage, ANSTO, the University of Wollongong, the US Geological Survey, and Beijing Forestry University.

Academic Staff

Name Contact

Paul Beggs
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 413
Email: paul.beggs@mq.edu.au

Stuart Browning
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 410
Email: stuart.browning@mq.edu.au

Michael Chang
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 406
Email:  michael.chang@mq.edu.au

Kevin Cheung
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 417
Email: kevin.cheung@mq.edu.au

Katherine Dafforn
Title: Senior Lecturer 
Location: 12WW
Email: katherine.dafforn@mq.edu.au 

Peter Davies
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 435
Email: peter.davies@mq.edu.au

Grant Edwards
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 418
Email: grant.edwards@mq.edu.au

Emilie Ens
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 521
Email: emilie.ens@mq.edu.au

Trish Fanning
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 518
Email: patricia.fanning@mq.edu.au

Kirstie Fryirs
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 426
Email: kirstie.fryirs@mq.edu.au

Shari Gallop
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 409
Email: shari.gallop@mq.edu.au

Wendy Goldstein
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 505
Email: wendy.goldstein@mq.edu.au

Ian Goodwin
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 414
Email: ian.goodwin@mq.edu.au

Damian Gore
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 514
Email: damian.gore@mq.edu.au

Paul Hesse
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 430
Email: paul.hesse@mq.edu.au

Christina Magill
Title: Senior Risk Scientist
Location: 12WW - 425
Email: christina.magill@mq.edu.au

Maina Joseph Mbui
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 405
Email: joseph.mbui@mq.edu.au

Peter Nelson
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 513
Email: peter.nelson@mq.edu.au

Tim Ralph
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 439
Email: tim.ralph@mq.edu.au

Ram Ranjan
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 517
Email: ram.ranjan@mq.edu.au

Marta Ribo
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 409
Email: marta.ribogene@mq.edu.au

Neil Saintilan
Title: Head of Department, Professor

Location: 12WW - 403
Email: neil.saintilan@mq.edu.au

Andrew Skidmore
Title: Professor
Location: 12WW
Email: andrew.skidmore@mq.edu.au

Vladimir Strezov
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 510
Email: vladimir.strezov@mq.edu.au

Mark Taylor
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 433
Email: mark.taylor@mq.edu.au

Kerrie Tomkins
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 434
Email: kerrie.tomkins@mq.edu.au

Kira Westaway
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 429
Email: kira.westaway@mq.edu.au

Scott Wilson
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 438
Email: scott.p.wilson@mq.edu.au

Professional Staff

NameContact
Imogen da Silva
Department Manager
Location: 12WW - 309
Email: imogen.dasilva@mq.edu.au
Phil Dartnell
Academic Administrator
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: philip.dartnell@mq.edu.au
Jenny Fang
Administration and Outreach Coordinator
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: jenny.fang@mq.edu.au
Aida Pujol Conejero
Administrator Assistant
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: aida.pujol@mq.edu.au
Amit Shrestha
Finance Officer
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: amit.shrestha@mq.edu.au

Postdoctoral Fellows

NameContact
Stephanie D'agata
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Location: 12WW - 415
Email: stephanie.dagata@mq.edu.au
Paul Harvey
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Location: 12WW - 415
Email: paul.harvey@mq.edu,au

Jeffrey Kelleway
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 506
Email: jeffrey.kelleway@mq.edu.au

Dr Shuaifei Zhao
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 507
Email: shuaifei.zhao@mq.edu.au

Research Officers

Name Contact

Tao Kan
Title: Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 508

Email: tao.kan@mq.edu.au

Tony Morrison
Title: Research Fellow

Location: EMC

Email: tony.morrison@mq.edu.au

Technical Officers

Name Contact
Sarah Collison
Title: Senior Technical Officer
Location: 12 WW - 325
Email: sarah.collison@mq.edu.au

Russell Field
Title: Senior Technical Officer

Location: E5A 333
Email: russell.field@mq.edu.au

Kaushal Tewari
Title: Technical Officer

Location: EMC G654
Email: kaushal.tewari@mq.edu.au

Honorary and Visiting Academic Staff

Name Contact

Russell Blong
Title:  Emeritus Professor

Email: russell.blong@mq.edu.au

Gary Brierley
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: gary.brierley@mq.edu.au

Lucinda Coates
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Location: AHH L2
Email: lucinda.coates@mq.edu.au

Vi De Staercke
Title: Visiting Fellow
Location: 12 WW

Sheila Devasahayam
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer


Email: sheila.devasahayam@mq.edu.au

Filipe Dimer de Oliveira
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: felipe.dimer-de-oliveira@mq.edu.au

Timothy Evans
Title: Adjunct Professor

Location: C5C 344
Email: tim.evans@mq.edu.au

Colin Field
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: colin.field@mq.edu.au

Jenny George
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: jenny.george@mq.edu.au

Alistair Gilmour
Title: Emeritus Professor

Email: alistair.gilmour@mq.edu.au

Andrew Gissing
Title:  Honorary Associate

Email: andrew.gissing@mq.edu.au

Brian Gulson
Title: Emeritus Professor

Location: 12WW - 420
Email: brian.gulson@mq.edu.au

Katharine Haynes
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: katharine.haynes@mq.edu.au

Simon Holdaway
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: simon.holdaway@mq.edu.au

Richard Horsfield
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: richard.horsfield@mq.edu.au

Robyn Inglis
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Fellow
Email: robyn.inglis@mq.edu.au

Carol Jacobson
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: carol.jacobson@mq.edu.au

Tsuyoshi Kobayashi
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: tsuyoshi.kobayashi@mq.edu.au

Sarka Konasova
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer
Email: sarka.konasova@mq.edu.au
Jiansheng Li
Title: Visiting Professor
Email: jiansheng.li@mq.edu.au
Peyton Lisenby
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate
Email: peyton.lisenby@mq.edu.au

Xiuming Liu
Title: Honorary Professor


Email: xiuming.liu@mq.edu.au

Debas Mazumder
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: debas.mazumder@mq.edu.au

John McAneney
Title: Honorary Research Fellow

Location: AHH2-323
Email: john.mcaneney@mq.edu.au

Lynne McLoughlin
Title: Honorary Associate Lecturer

Location: E8B 310
Email: lynne.mcloughlin@mq.edu.au

John Merrick
Title: Honorary Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 520
Email: john.merrick@mq.edu.au

Louise Metcalf
Title: Visiting Fellow

Email: louise.metcalf@mq.edu.au

Thomas Mortlock
Title: Adjunct Fellow
Email: thomas.mortlock@mq.edu.au

Philip O’Brien
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: philip.obrien@mq.edu.au

Suraj Opatukun
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate

Email: suraj.opatukun@mq.edu.au

John Pickard
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email: john.pickard@mq.edu.au

Michael Poulsen
Title: Honorary Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: mike.poulsen@mq.edu.au

Ali Akbar Rasuly Pirouzian
Title: Professor
Honorary Research Fellow

Email: aliakbar.rasulypirouzian@mq.edu.au

Martin Rice
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: martin.rice@mq.edu.au

Frank Siciliano
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: frank.siciliano@mq.edu.au

J. Thampapillai
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: j.thampapillai@mq.edu.au

Wang Mingzhu
Title: Adjunct Fellow
Email: wang.mingzhu@mq.edu.au
Wen Li
Title: Honorary fellow
Email: wen.li@mq.edu.au

Richard Whitaker
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: richard.whitaker@mq.edu.au

Higher Degree Research Students

Name Contact

Michael Ackah

Location: 12WW - 527
Email: michael.ackah@students.mq.edu.au

Beth Alexander

Location: 12WW - 420
Email: bethany.alexander@students.mq.edu.au

Aal-e Ali

Location: 12WW - 314
Email: aal-e.ali@students.mq.edu.au

Avianto Amri

Email: avianto.amri@students.mq.edu.au

Adijat Awoniran

Location: 12WW - 527
Email: adijat.awoniran@students.mq.edu.au

Annette Burke

Location: 12WW - 318
Email: annette.burke@students.mq.edu.au

Grace Cheung

Location: 12WW - 320
Email: grace.cheung@students.mq.edu.au

Lucky De Silva

Email: lakdeepal.de-silva@students.mq.edu.au

Chenyin Dong

Location: 12WW - 432
Email: chenyin.dong@students.mq.edu.au

Israel Doyi

Location: 12WW - 428
Email: israel.doyi1@students.mq.edu.au

Alaa El-Gendawy

Location: 12WW - 407
Email: alaa.el-gendawy@students.mq.edu.au

Bret Ericson

Location: 12WW - 431
Email: bret.ericson@students.mq.edu.au

Wendy Evans

Location: 12WW - 419
Email: wendy.evans@students.mq.edu.au

Aliya Gul

Location: 12WW - 319
Email: aliya.gul@students.mq.edu.au

Eva GyamfiLocation: 12WW - 537
Email eva.gyamfi@mq.edu.au

Dean Howard

Location: 12WW 316
Email: dean.howard@students.mq.edu.au

Cynthia Isley

Location: 12WW - 516
Email: cynthia-faye.isley@students.mq.edu.au

Sayka Jahan

Location: 12WW - 314
Email: sayka.jahan@students.mq.edu.au

Kanchan Joshi

Location: 12WW - 319
Email: kanchan.joshi@students.mq.edu.au

Tae Hee Jung

Email: taehee.jung@students.mq.edu.au

Sara Shaeri KarimiLocation: 12WW - 537
Email: sara.shaeri-karimi@students.mq.edu.au

Zacc Larkin

Location: 12WW - 428
Email: zacchary.larkin@students.mq.edu.au

Katrina MacSween

Location: 12WW - 315
Email: katrina.macsween@students.mq.edu.au

Damien McCarthy

Location: 12WW - 316
Email: damien.mccarthy@students.mq.edu.au

Chuanping Meng

Location: 12WW - 515
Email: chuanping.meng@students.mq.edu.au

Matthieu Miller

Location: 12WW - 315
Email: matthieu.miller@students.mq.edu.au

Simon Mould

Location: 12WW - 436
Email: simon.mould@students.mq.edu.au

Quoc Cuong Nguyen

Location: 12WW - 318
Email: quoc-cuong.nguyen@students.mq.edu.au

Benjamin Okwuofu-Thomas


Email: benjamin.okwuofu-thomas@students.mq.edu.au

Stacy Oon

Location: 12WW - 528
Email: stacy.oon@students.mq.edu.au

Chathurika Perera

Location: 12WW - 525
Email: chathurika.perera@students.mq.edu.au

Emma PhilipsLocation: 12WW
Email: emma.philips@students.mq.edu.au

Shahriar Rahman

Location: 12WW - 408
Email: shahriar.rahman1@students.mq.edu.au

Sikdar Rasel

Location: 12WW - 407
Email: sikdar.rasel@students.mq.edu.au

Shaina Russell

Location: 12WW - 304
Email: shaina.russell@students.mq.edu.au

Md Abdus Sattar

Location: 12WW - 415
Email: md-abdus.sattar@students.mq.edu.au

Neda Sharifi SoltaniLocation: 12WW -451
Email:

Carl Tippler


Email: carl.tippler@students.mq.edu.au

Haftom Weldekidan

Location: 12WW - 511
Email: haftom.weldekidan@students.mq.edu.au

Rory Williams

Location: 12WW - 437
Email: rory.williams@students.mq.edu.au

Rebecca Wilson

Location: 12WW - 516
Email: rebecca.wilson@students.mq.edu.au

Liqin Wu


Email: liqin.wu@students.mq.edu.au

Ye Wu

Location: 12WW - 515
Email: ye.wu@students.mq.edu.au

Prabhakar Yadav

Location: 12WW - 419
Email: prabhakar.yadav@students.mq.edu.au

Sara Yasipourtehrani

Location: 12WW - 511
Email: sara.yasipourtehrani@students.mq.edu.au

Neda Yousefi

Location: 12WW - 427
Email: neda.yousefi@students.mq.edu.au

Xiaoteng Zhou

Location: 12WW - 431
Email: xiaoteng.zhou@students.mq.edu.au

Xin Cheng

Location: 12WW - 321
Email: xin.cheng2@students.mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page