Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Associate Professor Peter Davies

Peter Davies is an Associate Professor in Environmental Planning at Macquarie University. His research draws on on more than 20 years’ experience in state and local government and consultancy. Dr Davies has held senior management positions in a number of state agencies and councils, including Senior Manager Sustainability at the Sydney Catchment Authority and Manager Corporate Planning and Sustainability at Ku-ring-gai Council.

Dr Davies has led and contributed to many multi-disciplinary research projects in the areas of environmental planning and sustainability, corporate planning and decision making and community participation and engagement. He completed his doctorate in 2011 while working in the local government sector. His doctoral research on urban water management in Sydney took a specific focus on the role of local government. He has previously represented local and state government on a number of advisory groups culminating in new policy direction and more sustainable industry practice. His current scholarship and teaching focuses on urban environmental policy and planning to adopt a multi-disciplinary approach linking theory to practice.

Academic Staff

Name Contact

Paul Beggs
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 413
Email: paul.beggs@mq.edu.au

Stuart Browning
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 410
Email: stuart.browning@mq.edu.au

Michael Chang
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 406
Email:  michael.chang@mq.edu.au

Kevin Cheung
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 417
Email: kevin.cheung@mq.edu.au

Katherine Dafforn
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW 
Email: katherine.dafforn@mq.edu.au

Peter Davies
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 435
Email: peter.davies@mq.edu.au

Emilie Ens
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 521
Email: emilie.ens@mq.edu.au

Kirstie Fryirs
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 426
Email: kirstie.fryirs@mq.edu.au

Wendy Goldstein
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 505
Email: wendy.goldstein@mq.edu.au

Ian Goodwin
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 414
Email: ian.goodwin@mq.edu.au

Damian Gore
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 514
Email: damian.gore@mq.edu.au

Paul Hesse
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 430
Email: paul.hesse@mq.edu.au

Christina Magill
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 425
Email: christina.magill@mq.edu.au

Maina Joseph Mbui
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 405
Email: joseph.mbui@mq.edu.au

Peter Nelson
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 513
Email: peter.nelson@mq.edu.au

Tim Ralph
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 439
Email: tim.ralph@mq.edu.au

Ram Ranjan
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 517
Email: ram.ranjan@mq.edu.au

Neil Saintilan
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 403
Email: neil.saintilan@mq.edu.au

Andrew Skidmore
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW
Email: andrew.skidmore@mq.edu.au

Vladimir Strezov
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 510
Email: vladimir.strezov@mq.edu.au

Mark Taylor
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 433
Email: mark.taylor@mq.edu.au

Kerrie Tomkins
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 434
Email: kerrie.tomkins@mq.edu.au

Kira Westaway
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 429
Email: kira.westaway@mq.edu.au

Scott Wilson
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 438
Email: scott.p.wilson@mq.edu.au

Professional Staff

NameContact
Martina Stiemer
Department Manager
Location: 12WW - 317
Email: martina.stiemer@mq.edu.au
Sarah Henry
Administration and Outreach Coordinator
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: sarah.henry@mq.edu.au
Fiona Yang
Academic Administrator
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: fiona.yang@mq.edu.au
Aida Pujol Conejero
Administrator Assistant
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: aida.pujol@mq.edu.au
Amit Shrestha
Finance Officer
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: amit.shrestha@mq.edu.au

Postdoctoral Fellows

NameContact

Stephanie D'agata
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 415
Email: stephanie.dagata@mq.edu.au

Jeffrey Kelleway
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 506
Email: jeffrey.kelleway@mq.edu.au

Shuaifei Zhao
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 507
Email: shuaifei.zhao@mq.edu.au

Tao Kan
Title: Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 508
Email: tao.kan@mq.edu.au

Tony Morrison
Title: Research Fellow

Location: EMC
Email: tony.morrison@mq.edu.au

Xiaoteng Zhou
Title: Research Associate

Location: 12 WW - 508
Email: xiaoteng.zhou@mq.edu.au

Research Officers

Name Contact

Will Farebrother
Title: Research Assistant

Location: 12 WW - 425
Email: will.farebrother@mq.edu.au

Rory Williams
Title: Technical Officer

Location: 12WW-425
Email: rory.williams@mq.edu.au

Technical Officers

Name Contact

Russell Field
Title: Senior Technical Officer

Location: E5A 333
Email: russell.field@mq.edu.au

Kaushal Tewari
Title: Technical Officer

Location: EMC G654
Email: kaushal.tewari@mq.edu.au

Sarah Collison (On Leave)
Title: Senior Scientific Officer

Location: 12 WW - 325
Email: sarah.collison@mq.edu.au

Honorary and Visiting Academic Staff

NameContact

Russell Blong
Title:  Emeritus Professor

Email: russell.blong@mq.edu.au

Gary Brierley
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: gary.brierley@mq.edu.au

Lucinda Coates
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Location: AHH L2
Email: lucinda.coates@mq.edu.au

Vi De Staercke
Title: Visiting Fellow

Location: 12 WW

Sheila Devasahayam
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer


Email: sheila.devasahayam@mq.edu.au

Filipe Dimer de Oliveira
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: felipe.dimer-de-oliveira@mq.edu.au

Timothy Evans
Title: Adjunct Professor

Location: C5C 344
Email: tim.evans@mq.edu.au

Trish Fanning
Title: Honorary Associate Professor

Email: patricia.fanning@mq.edu.au

Colin Field
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: colin.field@mq.edu.au

Shari Gallop
Title: Honorary Lecturer

Email: shari.gallop@mq.edu.au

Jenny George
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: jenny.george@mq.edu.au

Alistair Gilmour
Title: Emeritus Professor

Email: alistair.gilmour@mq.edu.au

Andrew Gissing
Title:  Honorary Associate

Email: andrew.gissing@mq.edu.au

Brian Gulson
Title: Emeritus Professor

Location: 12WW - 420
Email: brian.gulson@mq.edu.au

Katharine Haynes
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: katharine.haynes@mq.edu.au

Simon Holdaway
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: simon.holdaway@mq.edu.au

Richard Horsfield
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: richard.horsfield@mq.edu.au

Robyn Inglis
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: robyn.inglis@mq.edu.au

Carol Jacobson
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: carol.jacobson@mq.edu.au

Tsuyoshi Kobayashi
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: tsuyoshi.kobayashi@mq.edu.au

Sarka Konasova
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email: sarka.konasova@mq.edu.au

Jiansheng Li
Title: Visiting Professor

Email: jiansheng.li@mq.edu.au

Peyton Lisenby
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate

Email: peyton.lisenby@mq.edu.au

Xiuming Liu
Title: Honorary Professor


Email: xiuming.liu@mq.edu.au

Debas Mazumder
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: debas.mazumder@mq.edu.au

John McAneney
Title: Honorary Research Fellow

Location: AHH2-323
Email: john.mcaneney@mq.edu.au

Lynne McLoughlin
Title: Honorary Associate Lecturer

Location: E8B 310
Email: lynne.mcloughlin@mq.edu.au

John Merrick
Title: Honorary Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 520
Email: john.merrick@mq.edu.au

Louise Metcalf
Title: Visiting Fellow

Email: louise.metcalf@mq.edu.au

Thomas Mortlock
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: thomas.mortlock@mq.edu.au

Philip O’Brien
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: philip.obrien@mq.edu.au

Suraj Opatukun
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate

Email: suraj.opatukun@mq.edu.au

John Pickard
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email: john.pickard@mq.edu.au

Michael Poulsen
Title: Honorary Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: mike.poulsen@mq.edu.au

Ali Akbar Rasuly Pirouzian
Title: Professor
Honorary Research Fellow

Email: aliakbar.rasulypirouzian@mq.edu.au

Martin Rice
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: martin.rice@mq.edu.au

Frank Siciliano
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: frank.siciliano@mq.edu.au

J. Thampapillai
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: j.thampapillai@mq.edu.au

Wang Mingzhu
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: wang.mingzhu@mq.edu.au

Wen Li
Title: Honorary fellow

Email: wen.li@mq.edu.au

Richard Whitaker
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: richard.whitaker@mq.edu.au

Higher Degree Research Students

NameContact

Michael Ackah

Thesis: Metals in Agbogbloshie E-waste recycling site, Accra, Ghana: distribution, bioaccessibility and health risk assessment

Bethany Alexander

Thesis: Factors contributing to scientific impact in environmental decision making

Aal-e Ali

Thesis: Impact Of Coal And Coal Seam Gas Industries On Aquatic Environment

Avianto Amri

Thesis: A cross-cultural investigation of child-centred disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation in Indonesia and Australia

 

Ruby Ardren

Thesis: Governance factors influencing the Performance of Stormwater Quality Improvement Devices

Supervisor: Associate Professor Peter Davies
Email:  ruby.ardren@hdr.mq.edu.au

Ernest Frimpong Asamoah

Thesis: Integrating WTP into a spatially explicit policy model and land use change analysis

Samuel Asumadu-Sarkodie

Thesis: Reducing the Carbon-Footprint of Agricultural Commodities

Adijat Awoniran

Thesis: Sequenced permeable reactive barrier "treatment trains" to remediate mine waters contaminated with mixed inorganic and organic components

Mary Bonich

Thesis: An exploratory study of community-driven 'emergent' sustainability in the Murray Darling Basin

Annette Burke

Thesis: Australia- Wide ebb-tidal delta evolution

Supervisor: Dr Michael Chang

Ivana Cavlina TomaĊĦevic

Thesis: Weather patterns for wildfires in Croatia and Australia: comparison study and development of short-range forecast model

Supervisor: Dr Kevin Cheung

Xin Cheng

Thesis: Modelling environment and poverty for sustainable development

Grace Cheung

Thesis: Energy economics and investment decision-making: An analysis of energy systems transformation

Kellie Cook

Thesis: Analysis of hailstorm climatology for the prediction of future storm environments and potential impacts

Supervisor: Dr Kevin Cheung

Patrick Cooke

Thesis: Socio-cultural investigations of prehistoric Aboriginal dispersal of large-seeded rainforest trees on the Australian east coast

Supervisor: Dr Emilie Ens

Nicole Cormier

Thesis: Restoration of soil development processes in mangrove forests: a comparison of networks and policies

Lucky De Silva

Thesis: Medium resolution hyperspectral remote sensing & geographic information systems in the management of native vegetation and invasive weed species

Supervisor: Dr Michael Chang

Israel Doyi

Thesis: Air Quality and its Impact on Health: Focus on Particulate Matter

Alaa El-Gendawy

Thesis: A GIS-based Model for Cost-Benefit Analysis of Urban Heat Islands Mitigation and Adaptation: towards Climate Change Resilient Cities

Bret Ericson

Thesis: Lead (Pb) Contamination in Low and Middle-Income Countries: Exposures, Outcomes and Mitigation

Wendy Evans

Thesis: Value of Green Infrastructure in Sydney's North: Community and Policy Perspectives

Thomas Fellowes

Thesis: Influence of Geological Setting on Embayed Beach Geomorphology, Storm Erosion and Recovery

Supervisor: Dr Paul Hesse

Luisa Fontoura

Thesis: The macroecology of reef fish interactions: a global comparison over biogeographic regions

Supervisor: Dr Maina Mbui

Victoria Graham

Thesis: Evaluating the effectiveness of protected areas for conserving nature now and in the future

Supervisor: Dr Michael Chang

Bradley Graves

Thesis: Assessing environmental conditions in wetlands of arid and semi-arid Australia

Supervisor: Dr Tim Ralph

Aliya Gul

Thesis: Role of emerging marketing channels on farmer's welfare in Pakistan

Supervisor: Dr Ram Ranjan

Eva Gyamfi

Thesis: Leachates from landfills in Accra, Ghana: Characterisation, threat to the environment and management

Jing He

Thesis: Utilization and recycling of Heavy-metal-contaminated plant biomass

Behnam Hosseini Dastjerdi

Thesis: Environmental and economic lifecycle assessment of different MSW management scenarios in Australia: an ISWM approach

Sayka Jahan

Thesis: Modeling Energy Use and Emissions from Australian Shipping: Application of the Ship Traffic, Energy, and Environment Model

Long Ji

Thesis: Co2 Sequestation by direct mineralisation in aqueus system using fly ash from Chinese and Australian coal

Kanchan Joshi

Thesis: An experimental analysis of higher order risk preferences and collective choices of farmers from water-stressed regions of West Bengal and Maharashtra, India

Supervisor: Dr Ram Ranjan

Armin Kavehei

Thesis: Specifying the impacted area near abandoned mines

Sana Khan

Thesis: Analysis of river sensitivity for setting expectations of geomorphic adjustment for river management- forecasting future scenarios

Ravinder Kumar

Thesis: Development of microporous cobalt oxide nanorods as a cathode catalyst in air-cathode microbial fuel cells

Zacchary Larkin

Thesis: Floodplain wetland geomorphology and avulsion in drylands

Marcelle Lock

Thesis: The essentiality of Essential Biodiversity Variables: Implementation in national nature policies

Julien Lubeek

Thesis: Determining the cause of Gigantopithecus blackis demise using dental microwear, micromorphology and luminescence dating

Katrina MacSween

Thesis: Event-based Interstitial Release of Mercury from Natural Substrates

Damien McCarthy

Thesis: Remediation of Mercury Polluted Soils

Chuanping Meng

Thesis: Source assessment of fine carbonaceous aerosols in urban Sydney

Simon Mould

Thesis: Investigating Approaches to Communicating Geomorphology for Improved Environmental Management and Public Engagement

Quoc Cuong Nguyen

Thesis: Management of Coastal Erosion for Vietnam Centre Coast

Asuramuni Perera

Thesis: "Green remediation"- finding phytoremediation plants in derelict base metal mines

Megan Powell

Thesis: Local and global drivers: understanding change in the wetland ecosystems of NSW

Shahriar Rahman

Thesis: Design and Development of BCI based Assistant Robot using Deep Belief Networks and Fuzzy Classification Techniques

Supervisor: Dr Michael Chang

Shaina Russell

Thesis: Gender in conservation: strengthening the role of Indigenous women in conservation and community leadership using a case study from Ngukurr, South-east Arnhem Land, Australia

Supervisor: Dr Emilie Ens

Khushbu Salian

Thesis: Environmental assessment of iron and steel making industries

Sara Shaeri Karimi

Thesis: Environmental flows in rivers with the emphasis on ecological aspects

Neda Sharifi Soltani

Thesis: Measuring and evaluating the risk of harm from contaminants of concern in household dust

Samuel Shumack

Thesis: Climate, Land Use, Vegetation Cover and Aeolian Geomorphology in Australia's Drylands

Supervisor: Dr Paul Hesse

Daniel Sloane

Thesis: A Two-Way Investigation of Melaleuca Dieback

Supervisor: Dr Emilie Ens

Heather Stevens

Thesis: Are We Hot And Bothered? The Relationship Between Crime And Temperature In A Warming Climate

Rukshana Sultana

Thesis: Indigenous Eco-Cultural Knowledge of Freshwater Turtles in South-East Arnhem Land, Australia

Supervisor: Dr Emilie Ens
Email: rukshana.sultana@hdr.mq.edu.au

Carl Tippler

Thesis: Examination of urbanisation and impervious surfaces and its influence on stream ecology and water chemistry in the Georges River catchment

Haftom Weldekidan

Thesis: Production of fuels and chemicals from a solar driven pyrolysis of agricultural wastes

Huan Xiao

Thesis: Nanofiltration for heavy metal removal in wastewater treatment

Prabhakar Yadav

Thesis: Implementing Sustainability with Off-Grid Solar Power in India: Policies and Governance for Rural Energy Transformation

Sara Yasipourtehrani

Thesis: Investigation of Thermal Properties of Blast Furnace Slag to Improve Process Energy Efficiency

 

Sara Yazdanparast

Thesis: Accumulation of Lead (Pb) in backyard chickens from contaminated soils and associated potential health risk in Sydney, Australia

Supervisor: Professor Mark Taylor
Email:  sara.yazdanparast@hdr.mq.edu.au

Neda Yousefi

Thesis: Assessing and Modeling Impacts of Erosion and Sedimentation in Unstable Alluvial Channels

Supervisor: Dr Tim Ralph
Back to the top of this page