Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Professor Neil Saintilan

Prior to his appointment as Professor and Head of the Department of Environmental Sciences at Macquarie University, Saintilan was Senior Principal Research Scientist in the NSW Office of Environment and Heritage (the lead environment agency in NSW) where he served as Theme Leader of the Water and Wetlands Knowledge Strategy and Senior Team Leader for Water and Wetlands.

Academic Staff

Name Contact

Associate Professor Paul Beggs
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 413
Email: paul.beggs@mq.edu.au

Stuart Browning
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 410
Email: stuart.browning@mq.edu.au.au

Michael Chang
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 406
Email:  michael.chang@mq.edu.au

Kevin Cheung
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 417
Email: kevin.cheung@mq.edu.au

Peter Davies
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 435
Email: peter.davies@mq.edu.au

Grant Edwards
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 418
Email: grant.edwards@mq.edu.au

Emilie Ens
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 521
Email: emilie.ens@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Trish Fanning
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 518
Email: patricia.fanning@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Kirstie Fryirs
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 426
Email: kirstie.fryirs@mq.edu.au

Shari Gallop
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 409
Email: shari.gallop@mq.edu.au

Wendy Goldstein
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 505
Email: wendy.goldstein@mq.edu.au

Associate Professor Ian Goodwin
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 414
Email: ian.goodwin@mq.edu.au

Professor Damian Gore
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 514
Email: damian.gore@mq.edu.au

Paul Hesse
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 430
Email: paul.hesse@mq.edu.au

Christina Magill
Title: Senior Risk Scientist
Location: 12WW - 425
Email: christina.magill@mq.edu.au

Maina Joseph Mbui
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 405
Email: joseph.mbui@mq.edu.au

Professor Peter Nelson
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 513
Email: peter.nelson@mq.edu.au

Tim Ralph
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 439
Email: tim.ralph@mq.edu.au

Professor Neil Saintilan
Title: Head of Department, Professor

Location: 12WW - 403
Email: neil.saintilan@mq.edu.au

Ram Ranjan
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 517
Email: ram.ranjan@mq.edu.au

Marta Ribo
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12WW - 409
Email: marta.ribo@mq.edu.au

Professor Vladimir Strezov
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 510
Email: vladimir.strezov@mq.edu.au

Professor Mark Taylor
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 433
Email: mark.taylor@mq.edu.au

Kerrie Tomkins
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 434
Email: kerrie.tomkins@mq.edu.au

Kira Westaway
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 429
Email: kira.westaway@mq.edu.au

Scott Wilson
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 438
Email: scott.p.wilson@mq.edu.au

Professional Staff

NameContact
Imogen da Silva
Department Manager
Location: 12WW - 421
Email: imogen.dasilva@mq.edu.au
Rebecca (Bec) Dodd
Administration and Outreach Coordinator
Location: 12WW - 421
Email: bec.dodd@mq.edu.au
Aida Pujol Conejero
Administrator Assistant
Location: 12WW - 222
Email: aida.pujol@mq.edu.au
Amit Shrestha
Finance Officer
Location: 12WW - 222
Email: amit.shrestha@mq.edu.au
Phil Dartnell
Academic Administrator
Location: 12WW - 222
Email: philip.dartnell@mq.edu.au

Postdoctoral Fellows

Name Contact

Jeffrey Kelleway
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 506
Email: jeffery.kelleway@mq.edu.au

Dr Shuaifei Zhao
Title: Research Fellow  

Location: 12WW - 507
Email: shuaifei.zhao@mq.edu.au

Research Fellows and Officers

Name Contact

Tao Kan
Title: Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 508

Email: tao.kan@mq.edu.au

Tony Morrison
Title: Research Fellow 


Email: tony.morrison@mq.edu.au

Scientific Officers

Name Contact

Bethany Alexander
Title: Communications Officer

Location: 12WW - 420

Email: Bethany.alexander@mq.edu.au

Russell Field
Title: Scientific Officer

Location: E5A 333
Email: russell.field@mq.edu.au

Kaushal Tewari
Title: Scientific Officer 

Location: EMC G654
Email: kaushal.tewari@mq.edu.au

Honorary and Visiting Academic Staff

Name Contact

Rini Astuti
Title: Visiting Scholar

Email: rini.astuti@mq.edu.au

Deanne Bird
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 
Email: deanne.bird@mq.edu.au

S. Bliznyukov
Title: Visiting Fellow

 

Russell Blong  
Title:  Emeritus Professor

Email: russell.blong@mq.edu.au

Tanya Bradley
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: tanya.bradley@mq.edu.au

Gary Brierley
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: gary.brierley@mq.edu.au

Keping Chen
Title: Honorary Associate


Email: keping.chen@mq.edu.au

Lucinda Coates
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: AHH L2
Email: lucinda.coates@mq.edu.au

John Court
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: john.court@mq.edu.au

Martin Cox
Title: Visiting Fellow

Email: martin.cox@mq.edu.au

Ryan Crompton
Title: Honorary Associate


Email: ryan.crompton@mq.edu.au

Filipe Dimer de Oliveira
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: felipe.dimer-de-oliveira@mq.edu.au

Timothy Evans
Title: Adjunct Professor 

Location: C5C 344
Email: tim.evans@mq.edu.au

Iain Field
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: iain.field@mq.edu.au

Jenny George
Title: Honorary Associate 

Email: jenny.george@mq.edu.au

Alistair Gilmour
Title: Emeritus Professor

Email: alistair.gilmour@mq.edu.au

Andrew Gissing
Title:  Honorary Associate

Email: andrew.gissing@mq.edu.au

Brian Gulson
Title: Emeritus Professor

Location: 12WW - 420
Email: brian.gulson@mq.edu.au

Katharine Haynes
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: katharine.haynes@mq.edu.au

Simon Holdaway
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: simon.holdaway@mq.edu.au

Richard Horsfield
Title: Visiting Fellow

Email: richard.horsfield@mq.edu.au

Mustafa Hossain
Title: Visiting Associates

 

Carol Jacobson
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: carol.jacobson@mq.edu.au

Liu Jiajun
Title: Visiting Fellow

Email: liu.jiajun@mq.edu.au

Jacqueline Katona
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: jacqueline.katona@mq.edu.au

Tsuyoshi Kobayashi 
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: tsuyoshi.kobayashi@mq.edu.au

Valentina Koschatzky
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: valentina.koschatzky@mq.edu.au

Foster Langbein
Title: Honorary Associate


Email: foster.langbein@mq.edu.au

Xiuming Liu
Title: Senior Research Fellow


Email: xiuming.liu@mq.edu.au

Roy Macleod
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: roy.macleod@mq.edu.au

Christina Magill 
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: AHH L2
Email: christina.magill@mq.edu.au

Matthew Mason
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: matthew.mason@mq.edu.au

Delphine McAneney
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: delphine.mcaneney@mq.edu.au

John McAneney
Title: Honorary Fellow

Location: AHH2-323
Email: john.mcaneney@mq.edu.au

Lynne McLoughlin
Title: Visiting Fellow

Location: E8B 310
Email: lynne.mcloughlin@mq.edu.au

John Merrick
Title: Visiting Fellow

Location: 12WW - 520
Email: john.merrick@mq.edu.au

Jacobus Muller
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: jacobus.muller@mq.edu.au

Philip O’Brien
Title: Visiting Fellow

Email: philip.obrien@mq.edu.au

A. Pellegrini
Title: Honorary Associate

 

John Pickard
Title: Visiting Fellow

Email: john.pickard@mq.edu.au

Michael Poulsen
Title: Honorary Fellow

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: mike.poulsen@mq.edu.au

O. Puthiyaveetil
Title: Honorary Associate

 

D. Radford
Title: Honorary Associate

 

Ali Rasuly
Title: Visiting Professor

Email: aliakbar.rasulypirouzian@mq.edu.au

Martin Rice
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: martin.rice@mq.edu.au

Kevin Roche
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: AHH L2
Email: kevin.roche@mq.edu.au

Frank Siciliano
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: frank.siciliano@mq.edu.au

David Slip
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: david.slip@mq.edu.au

Ian Snape
Title: Adjunct Professor

 

Paul Somerville
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: paul.somerville@mq.edu.au

Robert Staib
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: robert.staib@mq.edu.au

Rob Van den Honert
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: rob.vandenhonert@mq.edu.au

Richard Whitaker
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: richard.whitaker@mq.edu.au

Duanne White
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: duanne.white@mq.edu.au

John Whitehouse
Title: Visiting Fellow 

Email: john.whitehouse@mq.edu.au

Stephen Yeo
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: stephen.yeo@mq.edu.au

Higher Degree Research Students

Name Contact

Michael Ackah

Location: 12WW - 527
Email: michael.ackah@students.mq.edu.au

Beth Alexander

Location: 12WW - 420
Email: bethany.alexander@students.mq.edu.au

Aal-e Ali

Location: 12WW - 314
Email: aal-e.ali@students.mq.edu.au

Avianto Amri

Email: avianto.amri@students.mq.edu.au

Adijat Awoniran

Location: 12WW - 527
Email: adijat.awoniran@students.mq.edu.au

Mary Bonich

Email: mary.bonich@students.mq.edu.au

Annette Burke

Location: 12WW - 318
Email: annette.burke@students.mq.edu.au

Xin Cheng

Location: 12WW - 321
Email: xin.cheng2@students.mq.edu.au

Grace Cheung

Location: 12WW - 320
Email: grace.cheung@students.mq.edu.au 

Kirsten Cowley

Location: 12WW - 436
Email: kirsten.cowley@students.mq.edu.au

Lucky De Silva

Email: lakdeepal.de-silva@students.mq.edu.au

Chenyin Dong

Location: 12WW - 432
Email: chenyin.dong@students.mq.edu.au

Israel Doyi

Location: 12WW - 428
Email: israel.doyi1@students.mq.edu.au

Alaa El-Gendawy

Location: 12WW - 407
Email: alaa.el-gendawy@students.mq.edu.au

Bret Ericson

Location: 12WW - 431
Email: bret.ericson@students.mq.edu.au

Wendy Evans

Location: 12WW - 419
Email: wendy.evans@students.mq.edu.au

Aliya Gul

Location: 12WW - 319
Email: aliya.gul@students.mq.edu.au

Eva GyamfiLocation: 12WW - 537
Email eva.gyamfi@mq.edu.au

Dean Howard

Location: 12WW 316
Email: dean.howard@students.mq.edu.au

Cynthia Isley

Location: 12WW - 516
Email: cynthia-faye.isley@students.mq.edu.au

Sayka Jahan

Location: 12WW - 314
Email: sayka.jahan@students.mq.edu.au

Shaghayegh Jafari

Email: shaghayegh.jafari@students.mq.edu.au

Peter Johnston

Location: 12WW - 427
Email: peter.johnston@students.mq.edu.au

Kanchan Joshi

Location: 12WW - 319
Email: kanchan.joshi@students.mq.edu.au

Tae Hee Jung

Email: taehee.jung@students.mq.edu.au

Sara Shaeri KarimiLocation: 12WW - 537
Email: sara.shaeri-karimi@students.mq.edu.au

Zacc Larkin

Location: 12WW - 428
Email: zacchary.larkin@students.mq.edu.au

Peyton Lisenby

Location: 12WW - 415
Email: peyton.lisenby@students.mq.edu.au

Katrina MacSween

Location: 12WW - 315
Email: katrina.macsween@students.mq.edu.au

Damien McCarthy

Location: 12WW - 316
Email: damien.mccarthy@students.mq.edu.au

Stuart Mead

Email: stuart.mead@students.mq.edu.au

Chuanping Meng

Location: 12WW - 515
Email: chuanping.meng@students.mq.edu.au

Matthieu Miller

Location: 12WW - 315
Email: matthieu.miller@students.mq.edu.au

Thomas Mortlock

Location: AHH L2
Email: thomas.mortlock@students.mq.edu.au

Simon Mould

Location: 12WW - 436
Email: simon.mould@students.mq.edu.au

Quoc Cuong Nguyen

Location: 12WW - 318
Email: quoc-cuong.nguyen@students.mq.edu.au

Tetsuya Okada

Location: AHH L2
Email: tetsuya.okada@students.mq.edu.au

Benjamin Okwuofu-Thomas


Email: benjamin.okwuofu-thomas@students.mq.edu.au

Stacy Oon

Location: 12WW - 528
Email: stacy.oon@students.mq.edu.au

Suraj Opatokun


Email: suraj.opatokun@students.mq.edu.au

Emma Phillips

Location: AHH L2
Email: emma.phillips@students.mq.edu.au

Chathurika Perera

Location: 12WW - 525
Email: chathurika.perera@students.mq.edu.au

Shahriar Rahman

Location: 12WW - 408
Email: shahriar.rahman1@students.mq.edu.au

Sikdar Rasel

Location: 12WW - 407
Email: sikdar.rasel@students.mq.edu.au

Marek Rouillon

Location: 12WW - 432
Email: marek.rouillon@students.mq.edu.au

Shaina Russell

Location: 12WW - 304
Email: shaina.russell@students.mq.edu.au

Md Abdus Sattar

Location: 12WW - 415
Email: md-abdus.sattar@students.mq.edu.au

Carl Tippler


Email: carl.tippler@students.mq.edu.au

Haftom Weldekidan

Location: 12WW - 511
Email: haftom.weldekidan@students.mq.edu.au

Rory Williams

Location: 12WW - 437
Email: rory.williams@students.mq.edu.au

Rebecca Wilson

Location: 12WW - 516
Email: rebecca.wilson@students.mq.edu.au

Liqin Wu


Email: liqin.wu@students.mq.edu.au

Ye Wu

Location: 12WW - 515
Email: ye.wu@students.mq.edu.au

Prabhakar Yadav

Location: 12WW - 419
Email: prabhakar.yadav@students.mq.edu.au

Sara Yasipourtehrani

Location: 12WW - 511
Email: sara.yasipourtehrani@students.mq.edu.au

Neda Yousefi

Location: 12WW - 427
Email: neda.yousefi@students.mq.edu.au

Guoping Zhang


Email: guoping.zhang@students.mq.edu.au

Xiaoteng Zhou

Location: 12WW - 431
Email: xiaoteng.zhou@students.mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page