Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Associate Professor Peter Davies

Peter Davies is an Associate Professor in Environmental Planning at Macquarie University. His research draws on on more than 20 years’ experience in state and local government and consultancy. Dr Davies has held senior management positions in a number of state agencies and councils, including Senior Manager Sustainability at the Sydney Catchment Authority and Manager Corporate Planning and Sustainability at Ku-ring-gai Council.

Dr Davies has led and contributed to many multi-disciplinary research projects in the areas of environmental planning and sustainability, corporate planning and decision making and community participation and engagement. He completed his doctorate in 2011 while working in the local government sector. His doctoral research on urban water management in Sydney took a specific focus on the role of local government. He has previously represented local and state government on a number of advisory groups culminating in new policy direction and more sustainable industry practice. His current scholarship and teaching focuses on urban environmental policy and planning to adopt a multi-disciplinary approach linking theory to practice.

Academic Staff

Name Contact

Paul Beggs
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 413
Email: paul.beggs@mq.edu.au

Stuart Browning
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 410
Email: stuart.browning@mq.edu.au

Michael Chang
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 406
Email:  michael.chang@mq.edu.au

Kevin Cheung
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 417
Email: kevin.cheung@mq.edu.au

Katherine Dafforn
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW 
Email: katherine.dafforn@mq.edu.au

Peter Davies
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 435
Email: peter.davies@mq.edu.au

Emilie Ens
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 521
Email: emilie.ens@mq.edu.au

Trish Fanning
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 518
Email: patricia.fanning@mq.edu.au

Kirstie Fryirs
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 426
Email: kirstie.fryirs@mq.edu.au

Shari Gallop
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 409
Email: shari.gallop@mq.edu.au

Wendy Goldstein
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 505
Email: wendy.goldstein@mq.edu.au

Ian Goodwin
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 414
Email: ian.goodwin@mq.edu.au

Damian Gore
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 514
Email: damian.gore@mq.edu.au

Paul Hesse
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 430
Email: paul.hesse@mq.edu.au

Christina Magill
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 425
Email: christina.magill@mq.edu.au

Maina Joseph Mbui
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 405
Email: joseph.mbui@mq.edu.au

Peter Nelson
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 513
Email: peter.nelson@mq.edu.au

Tim Ralph
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 439
Email: tim.ralph@mq.edu.au

Ram Ranjan
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 517
Email: ram.ranjan@mq.edu.au

Neil Saintilan
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 403
Email: neil.saintilan@mq.edu.au

Andrew Skidmore
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW
Email: andrew.skidmore@mq.edu.au

Vladimir Strezov
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 510
Email: vladimir.strezov@mq.edu.au

Mark Taylor
Title: Professor

Location: 12WW - 433
Email: mark.taylor@mq.edu.au

Kerrie Tomkins
Title: Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 434
Email: kerrie.tomkins@mq.edu.au

Kira Westaway
Title: Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 429
Email: kira.westaway@mq.edu.au

Scott Wilson
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: 12WW - 438
Email: scott.p.wilson@mq.edu.au

Professional Staff

NameContact
Imogen da Silva
Department Manager
Location: 12WW - 309
Email: imogen.dasilva@mq.edu.au
Phil Dartnell
Academic Administrator
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: philip.dartnell@mq.edu.au
Jenny Fang
Administration and Outreach Coordinator
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: jenny.fang@mq.edu.au
Aida Pujol Conejero
Administrator Assistant
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: aida.pujol@mq.edu.au
Amit Shrestha
Finance Officer
Location: 12WW - 318
Email: amit.shrestha@mq.edu.au

Postdoctoral Fellows

NameContact

Stephanie D'agata
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 415
Email: stephanie.dagata@mq.edu.au

Jeffrey Kelleway
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 506
Email: jeffrey.kelleway@mq.edu.au

Shuaifei Zhao
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 507
Email: shuaifei.zhao@mq.edu.au

Tao Kan
Title: Research Fellow

Location: 12WW-508
Email: tao.kan@mq.edu.au

Tony Morrison
Title: Research Fellow

Location: EMC
Email: tony.morrison@mq.edu.au

Research Officers

Name Contact

Will Farebrother
Title: Research Assistant

Location: 12 WW - 425
Email: will.farebrother@mq.edu.au

Rory Williams
Title: Technical Officer

Location: 12WW-425
Email: rory.williams@mq.edu.au

Technical Officers

Name Contact

Penny McCracken
Title: Senior Scientific Officer

Location: 12 WW - 325
Email: penny.mccracken@mq.edu.au

Russell Field
Title: Senior Technical Officer

Location: E5A 333
Email: russell.field@mq.edu.au

Kaushal Tewari
Title: Technical Officer

Location: EMC G654
Email: kaushal.tewari@mq.edu.au

Sarah Collison (On Leave)
Title: Senior Scientific Officer

Location: 12 WW - 325
Email: sarah.collison@mq.edu.au

Honorary and Visiting Academic Staff

NameContact

Russell Blong
Title:  Emeritus Professor

Email: russell.blong@mq.edu.au

Gary Brierley
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: gary.brierley@mq.edu.au

Lucinda Coates
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Location: AHH L2
Email: lucinda.coates@mq.edu.au

Vi De Staercke
Title: Visiting Fellow

Location: 12 WW

Sheila Devasahayam
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer


Email: sheila.devasahayam@mq.edu.au

Filipe Dimer de Oliveira
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: felipe.dimer-de-oliveira@mq.edu.au

Timothy Evans
Title: Adjunct Professor

Location: C5C 344
Email: tim.evans@mq.edu.au

Colin Field
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: colin.field@mq.edu.au

Jenny George
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: jenny.george@mq.edu.au

Alistair Gilmour
Title: Emeritus Professor

Email: alistair.gilmour@mq.edu.au

Andrew Gissing
Title:  Honorary Associate

Email: andrew.gissing@mq.edu.au

Brian Gulson
Title: Emeritus Professor

Location: 12WW - 420
Email: brian.gulson@mq.edu.au

Katharine Haynes
Title: Honorary Associate

Email: katharine.haynes@mq.edu.au

Simon Holdaway
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: simon.holdaway@mq.edu.au

Richard Horsfield
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: richard.horsfield@mq.edu.au

Robyn Inglis
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: robyn.inglis@mq.edu.au

Carol Jacobson
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: carol.jacobson@mq.edu.au

Tsuyoshi Kobayashi
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: tsuyoshi.kobayashi@mq.edu.au

Sarka Konasova
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email: sarka.konasova@mq.edu.au

Jiansheng Li
Title: Visiting Professor

Email: jiansheng.li@mq.edu.au

Peyton Lisenby
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate

Email: peyton.lisenby@mq.edu.au

Xiuming Liu
Title: Honorary Professor


Email: xiuming.liu@mq.edu.au

Debas Mazumder
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: debas.mazumder@mq.edu.au

John McAneney
Title: Honorary Research Fellow

Location: AHH2-323
Email: john.mcaneney@mq.edu.au

Lynne McLoughlin
Title: Honorary Associate Lecturer

Location: E8B 310
Email: lynne.mcloughlin@mq.edu.au

John Merrick
Title: Honorary Research Fellow

Location: 12WW - 520
Email: john.merrick@mq.edu.au

Louise Metcalf
Title: Visiting Fellow

Email: louise.metcalf@mq.edu.au

Thomas Mortlock
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: thomas.mortlock@mq.edu.au

Philip O’Brien
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: philip.obrien@mq.edu.au

Suraj Opatukun
Title: Honorary Postdoctoral Associate

Email: suraj.opatukun@mq.edu.au

John Pickard
Title: Honorary Senior Lecturer

Email: john.pickard@mq.edu.au

Michael Poulsen
Title: Honorary Associate Professor

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: mike.poulsen@mq.edu.au

Ali Akbar Rasuly Pirouzian
Title: Professor
Honorary Research Fellow

Email: aliakbar.rasulypirouzian@mq.edu.au

Martin Rice
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: martin.rice@mq.edu.au

Frank Siciliano
Title: Honorary Associate

Location: 12WW - 519
Email: frank.siciliano@mq.edu.au

J. Thampapillai
Title: Adjunct Professor

Email: j.thampapillai@mq.edu.au

Wang Mingzhu
Title: Adjunct Fellow

Email: wang.mingzhu@mq.edu.au

Wen Li
Title: Honorary fellow

Email: wen.li@mq.edu.au

Richard Whitaker
Title: Honorary Fellow

Email: richard.whitaker@mq.edu.au

Higher Degree Research Students

NameContact

Michael Ackah

Location: 12WW - Desk 538
Email: michael.ackah@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Dynamics of soil and sediment contamination by metals and metalloids in leachates generated from e-waste recycling sites and municipal solid waste landfill sites

Bethany Alexander

Thesis: Factors contributing to scientific impact in environmental decision making

Aal-e Ali

Location: 12WW - Desk 309
Email: aal-e.ali@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Impact Of Coal And Coal Seam Gas Industries On Aquatic Environment

Avianto Amri

Location: 12WW - Desk 503A
Thesis: A cross cultural investigation of child-centred disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation in Indonesia and Australia

Ernest Frimpong Asamoah

Location: 12WW - Desk 415
Email: ernest-frimpong.asamoah@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Integrating WTP into a spatially explicit policy model and land use change analysis
Samuel
Asumadu-Sarkodie
Location: 12WW - Desk 541
Email: samuel.asumadu-sarkodie@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Reducing the Carbon-Footprint of Agricultural Commodities

Adijat Awoniran

Location: 12WW - Desk 537
Email: adijat.awoniran@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Sequenced permeable reactive barrier "treatment trains" to remediate mine waters contaminated with mixed inorganic and organic components
Mary Bonich
Thesis: An exploratory study of community-driven 'emergent' sustainability in the Murray Darling Basin

Annette Burke

Thesis: Australia- Wide ebb-tidal delta evolution

Ivana
Cavlina TomaĊĦevic

Location: 12WW - Desk 417
Email: ivana.cavlina-tomasevic@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Weather patterns for wildfires in Croatia and Australia: comparison study and development of short-range forecast model
Xin Cheng
Thesis: Modelling environment and poverty for sustainable development

Grace Cheung

Thesis: Energy economics and investment decision-making: An analysis of energy systems transformation

Kellie Cook

Location: 12WW - Desk 418
Email: kellie.cook@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Understanding the role of Australia in the global cycling of mercury

Patrick Cooke

Thesis: Socio-cultural investigations of prehistoric Aboriginal dispersal of large-seeded rainforest trees on the Australian east coast

Nicole Cormier

Thesis: Restoration of soil development processes in mangrove forests: a comparison of networks and policies

Lucky De Silva

Thesis: Medium resolution hyperspectral remote sensing & geographic information systems in the management of native vegetation and invasive weed species

Israel Doyi

Location: 12WW - Desk 449
Email: israel.doyi1@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Air Quality and its Impact on Health: Focus on Particulate Matter

Alaa El-Gendawy

Thesis: A GIS-based Model for Cost-Benefit Analysis of Urban Heat Islands Mitigation and Adaptation: towards Climate Change Resilient Cities

Bret Ericson

Thesis: Lead (Pb) Contamination in Low and Middle-Income Countries: Exposures, Outcomes and Mitigation

Wendy Evans

Location: 12WW - Desk 420
Email: wendy.evans@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Value of Green Infrastructure in Sydney's North: Community and Policy Perspectives
Thomas Fellowes
Thesis: Influence of Geological Setting on Embayed Beach Geomorphology, Storm Erosion and Recovery
Luisa Fontoura
Location: 12WW - Desk 416
Email: luisa.fontoura@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: The macroecology of reef fish interactions: a global comparison over biogeographic regions
Victoria GrahamEmail: victoria.graham@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Identify cost-effective strategies for reducing forest-based carbon emissions in Southeast Asia
Bradley Graves
Location: 12WW - Desk 440
Email: bradley.graves@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Assessing environmental conditions in wetlands of arid and semi-arid Australia

Aliya Gul

Location: 12WW - Desk 551
Email: aliya.gul@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Role of emerging marketing channels on farmer's welfare in Pakistan
Eva GyamfiLocation: 12WW - Desk 542
Email: eva.gyamfi@mq.edu.au
Thesis: Leachates from landfills in Accra, Ghana: Characterisation, threat to the environment and management

Jing He

Location: 12WW - Desk 503
Email: jing.he3@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Utilization and recycling of Heavy-metal-contaminated plant biomass

Behnam Hosseini Dastjerdi

Location: 12WW - Desk 313
Email: behnam.hosseini-dastjerdi@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Environmental and economic lifecycle assessment of different MSW management scenarios in Australia: an ISWM approach

Sayka Jahan

Location: 12WW - 308
Email: sayka.jahan@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Modeling Energy Use and Emissions from Australian Shipping: Application of the Ship Traffic, Energy, and Environment Model
Long Ji
Thesis: Co2 Sequestation by direct mineralisation in aqueus system using fly ash from Chinese and Australian coal

Kanchan Joshi

Location: 12WW - Desk 552
Email: kanchan.joshi@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: An experimental analysis of higher order risk preferences and collective choices of farmers from water-stressed regions of West Bengal and Maharashtra, India

Armin Kavehei

Thesis: Specifying the impacted area near abandoned mines
Sana Khan
Location: 12WW - Desk 438
Email: sana.khan@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Analysis of river sensitivity for setting expectations of geomorphic adjustment for river management- forecasting future scenarios

Ravinder Kumar

Location: 12WW - Desk 311
Email: ravinder.kumar@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Development of microporous cobalt oxide nanorods as a cathode catalyst in air-cathode microbial fuel cells

Zacchary Larkin

Location: 12WW - Desk 303B
Email: zacchary.larkin@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Floodplain wetland geomorphology and avulsion in drylands

Marcelle Lock

Location: 12WW - Desk 509
Email: marcelle.lock@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: The essentiality of Essential Biodiversity Variables: Implementation in national nature policies

Julien Lubeek

Location: 12WW - Desk 443
Email: julien.lubeek@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Determining the cause of Gigantopithecus blackis demise using dental microwear, micromorphology and luminescence dating

Katrina MacSween

Location: 12WW - Desk 503C
Email: katrina.macsween@hdr.mq.edu.au
Topic: Event based Interstitial Release of Mercury from Natural Substrates

Damien McCarthy

Location: 12WW - Desk 419
Email: damien.mccarthy@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Remediation of Mercury Polluted Soils

Chuanping Meng

Thesis: Source assessment of fine carbonaceous aerosols in urban Sydney

Matthieu Miller

Location: 12WW - Desk 503D
Email: matthieu.miller@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Concentrations of atmospheric reactive mercury in Australia and emissions of reactive mercury from contaminated mine materials using cation exchange membranes

Simon Mould

Location: 12WW - Desk 303C
Email: simon.mould@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Investigating Approaches to Communicating Geomorphology for Improved Environmental Management and Public Engagement

Quoc Cuong Nguyen

Location: 12WW - Desk 303A
Email: quoc-cuong.nguyen@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Management of Coastal Erosion for Vietnam Centre Coast

Stacy Oon

Thesis: Holocene Sea-Level Change in Northeastern Australia: A High-Resolution Record from Albatross Bay, Cape York Peninsula

Asuramuni Perera

Location: 12WW - Desk 510
Email: chathurika.perera@mq.edu.au
Thesis: "Green remediation"- finding phytoremediation plants in derelict base metal mines
Megan PowellLocation: 12WW - Desk 544
Email: megan.powell@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Local and global drivers: understanding change in the wetland ecosystems of NSW

Shahriar Rahman

Location: 12WW - Desk 414
Email: shahriar.rahman1@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Design and Development of BCI based Assistant Robot using Deep Belief Networks and Fuzzy Classification Techniques

Sikdar Rasel

Thesis: High-Resolution Multispectral Image and Machine Learning Algorithms for Saltmarsh Classification and Biomass Modelling

Shaina Russell

Location: 12WW - Desk 549
Email: shaina.russell@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Gender in conservation: strengthening the role of Indigenous women in conservation and community leadership using a case study from Ngukurr, South-east Arnhem Land, Australia

Khushbu Salian

Location: 12WW - Desk 550
Email: khushbu.salian@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Environmental assessment of iron and steel making industries
Md Abdus SattarEmail: md-abdus.sattar@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Climate Variability of Tropical Cyclone Impacts in the North Indian Ocean and Exploration of Risk Reduction Strategies for Bangladesh
Sarah Shaeri KarimiLocation: 12WW - Desk 543
Email: sara.shaeri-karimi@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Environmental flows in rivers with the emphasis on ecological aspects

Neda Sharifi Soltani

Location: 12WW - Desk 451
Email: neda.sharifi-soltani@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Measuring and evaluating the risk of harm from contaminants of concern in household dust
Samuel ShumackLocation: 12WW - Desk 441
Email: samuel.shumack@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Climate, Land Use, Vegetation Cover and Aeolian Geomorphology in Australia's Drylands
Emma SinghEmail: emma.phillips@students.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Modelling the impact of lifeline infrastructure failure during natural hazard events
Daniel SloaneLocation: 12WW - Desk 512
Email: daniel.sloane@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: A Two-Way Investigation of Melaleuca Dieback
Heather StevensEmail: heather.stevens@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Are We Hot And Bothered? The Relationship Between Crime And Temperature In A Warming Climate

Carl Tippler

Thesis: Examination of urbanisation and impervious surfaces and its influence on stream ecology and water chemistry in the Georges River catchment
Yibin WeiLocation: 12WW - Desk 504
Email: yibin.wei@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Graphene oxide membranes for water treatment

Haftom Weldekidan

Location: 12WW - Desk 506
Email: haftom.weldekidan@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Design, construction and experimental investigation of a solar-powered stove with an energy storage system

Rebecca Wilson

Location: 12WW - Desk 511
Email: rebecca.wilson8@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: What Drives Isoprene in Tropical Australia?

Huan Xiao

Location: 12WW - Desk 444
Thesis: Nanofiltration for heavy metal removal in wastewater treatment

Prabhakar Yadav

Thesis: Implementing Sustainability with Off-Grid Solar Power in India: Policies and Governance for Rural Energy Transformation

Sara Yasipourtehrani

Location: 12WW - Desk 505
Email: sara.yasipourtehrani@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Investigation of Thermal Properties of Blast Furnace Slag to Improve Process Energy Efficiency

Neda Yousefi

Location: 12WW - Desk 439
Email: neda.yousefi@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Assessing and Modeling Impacts of Erosion and Sedimentation in Unstable Alluvial Channels

Xiaoteng Zhou

Location: 12WW - Desk 450
Email: xiaoteng.zhou@hdr.mq.edu.au
Thesis: Soil-plant transfer characteristics of heavy metals in Traditional Chinese medicine
Back to the top of this page