Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Professor Dorrit Jacob

Professor Dorrit Jacob joined the Department as an ARC Future Fellow in 2013 and was promoted to Full Professor in 2016. She studied Mineralogy and Geology at Johannes-Gutenberg University in Mainz, Germany and obtained a Dr. rer. nat. from the Georg-August University in Göttingen (Germany). Both Diploma and PhD Thesis were undertaken and supervised at the Max-Planck Insitute for Chemistry in Mainz. Dorrit worked at the Ernst Moritz-Arndt University in Greifswald (Germany) before returning to the University in Mainz for her Habilitation. She held a position as DFG Heisenberg Professor at the Johannes Gutenberg-University before coming to Macquarie University. Dorrit is also a fully trained chemical lab technician (CTA).

Dorrit applies geochemical and mineralogical tools to two research fields in low- and high-temperature geochemistry. Her main interest lies in deciphering the code of carbonate biominerals (mussel shells, foraminifera, etc.) which are used for paleoclimate reconstructions, but can act very stubbornly when asked to release consistent information. Her second research field for now more than 20 years is the geochemistry and petrology of mantle xenoliths and diamonds brought up from the subcratonic lithosphere by kimberlites. She is an expert in radiogenic isotope and trace element chemistry and more recently added spectroscopic methods to her portfolio.

Deputy Head of Department

Professor Simon George

Professor Simon George is an organic geochemist and marine geoscientist. He works especially on research areas to do with the geochemical record of the early evolution of life, petroleum geochemistry, marine geoscience, and remediation of oil and fuel spills. He is currently leading a project that is building a new laser micropyrolysis gas chromatograph-mass spectrometer that will bridge the analytical gap between organic petrography and organic geochemistry. He teaches across all years, including the popular astrobiology unit “Life, The Universe and Everything”. He is also the director of the Macquarie University Marine Research Centre.



Academic Staff

Name and Contact Details

Prof. Juan Carlos Afonso
Title: Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 124
E: juan.afonso@mq.edu.au

Prof. Simon Clark
Title: Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 131
E: simon.clark@mq.edu.au

Prof. Simon George
Title: Deputy Head of Department and Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 329
E: simon.george@mq.edu.au

Dr April Abbott
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 324
E: april.abbott@mq.edu.au

Dr Olivier Alard
Title: ARC Future Fellow
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 233
E: olivier.alard@mq.edu.au

Dr. Elena Belousova
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk  Lvl 2 Rm 224
E: elena.belousova@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Nathan Daczko
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk  Lvl 2 Rm 220
E: nathan.daczko@mq.edu.au

Dr. Christopher Firth
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 241
E: christopher.firth@mq.edu.au

Dr. Richard Flood
Title: Senior Lecturer - on leave
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 208
E: richard.flood@mq.edu.au

Prof. Stephen Foley
Title: Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 128
E: stephen.foley@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Heather Handley
Title: ARC Future Fellow
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 232
E: heather.handley@mq.edu.au

Dr. Steven Hansen
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 107
E: steven.hansen@mq.edu.au 

Prof. Dorrit Jacob
Title: Head of Department, Professor and Director MQGA
Location: BD Building Lvl 3
E: dorrit.jacob@mq.edu.au

Prof. Martin Kennedy
Title: Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 330
E: martin.j.kennedy@mq.edu.au

Dr. Mark Lackie
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 108
E: mark.lackie@mq.edu.au

Dr. Stefan Loehr
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 334
E: stefan.loehr@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Craig O’Neill
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 107
E: craig.oneill@mq.edu.au

Prof. Sue O’Reilly
Title: Distinguished Professor and Director of CCFS
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 232
E: sue.oreilly@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Tracy Rushmer
Title: Associate Professor and Associate Dean, HDR
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 229
E: tracy.rushmer@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Bruce Schaefer
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 233
E: bruce.schaefer@mq.edu.au

Dr. Kate Selway
Title: ARC Future Fellow
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 120
E: kate.selway@mq.edu.au

Prof. Simon Turner
Title: Distinguished Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 228
E: simon.turner@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Yingjie Yang
Title: Associate Professor/ ARC Future Fellow
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 121
E: yingjie.yang@mq.edu.au

Professional Staff

Name and Contact Details

Ms. Martina Stiemer
Position: Department Manager
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 317
E: martina.stiemer@mq.edu.au

Ms. Sarah Henry
Position: Administration and Outreach Coordinator
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: sarah.henry@mq.edu.au

Mr. Amit Shrestha
Position: Administrator, Finance and Staff
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: amit.shrestha@mq.edu.au

Ms. Fiona Yang
Position: Administrator, Academic
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: fiona.yang@mq.edu.au

Ms. Emma Bromleu
Position: Administrator, Academic
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: emma.bromley@mq.edu.au

Ms. Aida Pujol
Position: Administration Assistant
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: aida.pujol@mq.edu.au

Ms. Sarah Collison (on leave)
Position: Senior Scientific Officer/ Fieldwork Manager
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 325 
E: sarah.collison@mq.edu.au

Scientific Staff

Name and Contact Details

Mrs Manal Bebbington
Position: Lapidary Officer
Location: E5A030
E: manal.bebbington@mq.edu.au

Dr Sean Murray
Position: Research Associate
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 230
E: sean.murray@mq.edu.au

Dr Yi-Jen Lai
Position: Geochemist
Location: E5A 204
E: yi-jen.lai@mq.edu.au

Dr. Timothy Murphy
Position: Geochemist
Location: E5A 204
E: timothy.d.murphy@mq.edu.au

Mr Peter Wieland
Position: Geochemist
Location: E5B206
E: peter.wieland@mq.edu.au

Mr Nigel Wilson
Position: Technical Officer
Location: E5A215
E: nigel.wilson@mq.edu.au

Research Staff

Name and Contact Details

Dr. John Adam
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 140
E: john.adam@mq.edu.au

Dr. Sophia Aharonovic
Location: 14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Rm 340
E: sophia.aharonovich@mq.edu.au

Dr. Oliver Gaul
Location: BD Building Lvl 3
E: oliver.gaul@mq.edu.au

Dr. Yoann Greau
Location: BD Building Lvl3
E: yoann.greau@mq.edu.au

Dr. Jin-Xiang Huang
Location: BD Building, Level 3, Room 313
E: jinxiang.huang@mq.edu.au

Dr. Hadrien Henry
Location: BD Building, Level 3
E: hadrien.henry@mq.edu.au

Dr. Robyn Gardner
Location: 12 Wallys Walk, Lvl 2, PhD Room
E: robyn.gardner@mq.edu.au

Dr. Paritosh Giri
Location: 12 Wallys Walk Lvl 2 Rm 129
E: paritosh.giri@mq.edu.au

Dr. Walid Ben Mansour
Location: 12 Wallys Walk, Lvl 1 Rm 122
E: walid.benmansour@mq.edu.au

Dr. Chunfei Chen
Location: 12 Wallys Walk Lvl 1 Rm 129
E: chunfei.chen@mq.edu.au

Dr. Montgarri Castillo-Oliver
Location: BD Building Level 3, CCFS office
E: montgarri.castillo-oliver@mq.edu.au

Farshad Salajegheh
Location: 12 Wallys Walk Lvl 1 Rm 115
E: farshad.salajegheh@mq.edu.au

Dr. Brandon Mahan
Location:
E: brandon.mahan@mq.edu.au

Beñat Oliveira-Bravo
Location: 12 Wallys Walk, Level 1, Office 122
E: benat.oliveira-bravo@mq.edu.au

Laura Otter
Location:
E: laura.otter@mq.edu.au

Dr. Romain Tilhac
Location: CCFS, BD Building L3, 4 Research Park Drive
E: romain.tilhac@mq.edu.au

Dr. Fei Wu
Location:
E: fei.wu@mq.edu.au

Dr. John Creech
Location:
E: john.creech@mq.edu.au

Dr Shima Taheri
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 207
E: shima.taheri@mq.edu.au

Dr. Siqi Zhang
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 130
E: siqi.zhang@mq.edu.au

Rosa Didonna
Location:
E: rosa.didonna@mq.edu.au

Ilya Fomin
Location: 12 Wallys Walk Lvl 1 Rm 122
E: ilya.fomin@mq.edu.au

Michael Förster
Location:
E: michael.forster@mq.edu.au

Emeriti and Honorary Staff

Emeriti Staff

NameEmail

Emeritus Prof Trevor Green

trevor.green@els.mq.edu.au

Emeritus Prof John Veveers

john.veevers@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Prof Ronald Vernon

ronald.vernon@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Prof John Talent

jatalent32@gmail.com

Emeritus Prof P Blair Hostetler

 

Emeritus Prof Peter Howard

 

Honorary Associates

NameEmail

Dr John Adam

john.adam@mq.edu.au

Dr Aharon Arakel

 
Dr James Austinjames.austin@csiro.au

Mr Stephen Cross

 

Dr Michael Cunningham

 

Dr Bruce Dickson

 

Dr David Durney

david.durney@mq.edu.au

Ms Katherine Farrow

 

Dr Andrew Green

 

Prof. William Griffin

bill.griffin@mq.edu.au

Professor Kaj Hoernle

 

Dr Vlad Malkovets

 

Associate Professor Ruth Mawson

ruth.mawson@mq.edu.au

Dr Peter McCabe

 

Mr Paul Meszaros

paul.meszaros@mq.edu.au

Miss Melissa Murphy

melissa.murphy@mq.edu.au

Dr Ian Percival

 

Mr Abhish Prakash

 

Dr Phillip Schmidt

 

Dr Catherine Stafford

 

Professor Roger Summons

Postgraduate Students

MRes Students

Name and Contact Details

Michael Alderson
E: michael.alderson@hdr.mq.edu.au

Benjamin Alsop
E: benjamin.alsop@hdr.mq.edu.au

Lou-Andrea Gennatas
E: lou-andrea.gennatas@hdr.mq.edu.au

Lauren Gorojovsky
E: lauren.gorojovsky@hdr.mq.edu.au

Stephanie Hawkins
E: stephanie.hawkins1@hdr.mq.edu.au

Angela Mabee
E: angela.mabee@hdr.mq.edu.au

Joshua Shea
E: joshua.shea1@hdr.mq.edu.au

Peter Targett
E: peter.targett@hdr.mq.edu.au

Alice Van Tilburg
E: alice.van-tilburg@hdr.mq.edu.au

PhD Students

Name and Contact Details

Jiayi Ai
E: jiayi.ai@hdr.mq.edu.au

Arash Amirian
E: arash.amirian@hdr.mq.edu.au

Halimulati Ananuer
E: halimulati.ananuer@mq.edu.au

David Barbosa da Silva
E: david.barbosa-da-silva@students.mq.edu.au

Bronwyn Campbell
E: bronwyn.campbell1@hdr.mq.edu.au

Hongkun Dai
E: hongkun.dai@hdr.mq.edu.au

Benedikt Demmert
E: benedikt.demmert@hdr.mq.edu.au

Rosa Didonna
E: rosa.didonna@mq.edu.au

Wenjing Ding
E: wenjing.ding@hdr.mq.edu.au

Michael Eze
E: michael.eze@hdr.mq.edu.au

Katherine Farrow
E: kate.farrow@mq.edu.au

April Foote
E: april.foote@hdr.mq.edu.au

Michael Forster
E: michael.forster@students.mq.edu.au

Hindol Ghatak
E: hindol.ghatak@hdr.mq.edu.au

Stephanie Greene
E: stephanie.greene@hdr.mq.edu.au

Kui Han
E: kui.han@hdr.mq.edu.au

Margaret Harvey
E: Margaret.harvey@students.mq.edu.au

Raham Jalil
E: raham.jalil@hdr.mq.edu.au

Lian Jiang
E: lian.jiang@hdr.mq.edu.au

Anthony Lanati
E: anthony.lanati@mq.edu.au

Pablo Lara
E: pablo.lara@mq.edu.au

Guoliang Li
E: guoliang.li@hdr.mq.edu.au

Li Li
E: li.li40@hdr.mq.edu.au

Zhongxuan Li
E: zhongxuan.li@hdr.mq.edu.au

Zairong  Liu
E: zairong.liu@hdr.mq.edu.au

Angela Mabee
E: angela.mabee@hdr.mq.edu.au

Maria Manassero
E: maria.manassero@hdr.mq.edu.au

Samuel Matthews
E: samuel.matthews@students.mq.edu.au

Shiladitya Mazumdar
E: shiladitya.mazumdar@hdr.mq.edu.au

Keith McKenzie
E: keith.mckenzie@students.mq.edu.au

Uvana Meek
E: uvana.meek@students.mq.edu.au

Francesca Mirolo
E: francesca.mirolo@hdr.mq.edu.au

Jonathan Munnikhuis
E: jonathan.munnikhuis@hdr.mq.edu.au

Thusitha Nimalsiri
E: thusitha.nimalsiri@hdr.mq.edu.au

Laura Otter
E: laura.otter@students.mq.edu.au

Sinan Özaydin
E: sinan.ozaydin@hdr.mq.edu.au

Zsanett Pinter
E: zsanett.pintr@students.mq.edu.au

Mehrnoush Rafiei
E: mehrnoush.rafiei@hdr.mq.edu.au

Carla Raymond
E: carla.raymond@hdr.mq.edu.au

Farshad Salajegheh
E: farshad.salajegheh@hdr.mq.edu.au

Sarath Kumara Samaya Manthri Patabendi Gedara
E: sarath-kumara.samaya-manthr@hdr.mq.edu.au

Milena Viktoria Schoenhofen
E: milena-viktoria.schoenhofen@hdr.mq.edu.au

Marina Veter
E: marina.veter@hdr.mq.edu.au

Chengyuan Wang
E: chengyuan.wang@hdr.mq.edu.au

Jonathon Michael Wasiliev
E: jonathon-michael.wasiliev@students.mq.edu.au

Alexander Wellhauser
E: alexander.wellhauser@hdr.mq.edu.au

Shucheng Wu
E: shucheng.wu@students.mq.edu.au

Bo Xu
E: bo.xu2@students.mq.edu.au

Anqi Zhang
E: anqi.zhang2@hdr.mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page