Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Professor Juan Carlos Afonso

Professor Juan Carlos Afonso is a theoretical geophysicist and geodynamicist. His research focuses on the thermochemical structure and evolution of the lithospheric mantle, the mechanical and geochemical interactions between tectonic plates and the sublithospheric upper mantle, and their effects on small- and large-scale tectonic processes. His most recent research combines multiscale probabilistic inversion and numerical modelling techniques to address some of the most fundamental questions about the nature and evolution of the lithosphere and upper mantle using a formal combination of multiple satellite- (e.g. gravity, magnetic field) and land-based (e.g. geochemistry, seismic) data sets. He also works on the development of numerical algorithms to model the complex couplings between geochemical and geodynamic processes inside planets at multiple scales.

Deputy Head of Department

Professor Simon Martin Clark

Professor Simon Martin Clark’s research interests span the Earth and Materials Sciences.  He uses neutron and synchrotron x-ray scattering and imaging to study material properties under non-ambient conditions and/or as a function of time.  Current projects include development of proton conduction models for minerals and rocks, determining the atomic structures of liquids and melts and understanding concrete cancer.

Deputy Head of Department

Professor Simon George

Professor Simon George is an organic geochemist and marine geoscientist. He works especially on research areas to do with the geochemical record of the early evolution of life, petroleum geochemistry, marine geoscience, and bioremediation in cold climates. He teaches across all years, including the popular astrobiology unit “Life, The Universe and Everything”. He is also the director of the Macquarie University Marine Research Centre.





Academic Staff

Name and Contact Details

Prof. Juan Carlos Afonso
Title: Head of Department and Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 124
E: juan.afonso@mq.edu.au

Prof. Simon Clark
Title: Deputy Head of Department and Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 131
E: simon.clark@mq.edu.au

Prof. Simon George
Title: Deputy Head of Department and Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 329
E: simon.george@mq.edu.au

Dr April Abbott
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 324
E: april.abbott@mq.edu.au

Dr Olivier Alard
Title: ARC Future Fellow
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 233
E: olivier.alard@mq.edu.au

Dr. Elena Belousova
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk  Lvl 2 Rm 224
E: elena.belousova@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Nathan Daczko
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk  Lvl 2 Rm 220
E: nathan.daczko@mq.edu.au

Dr. Christopher Firth
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 241
E: christopher.firth@mq.edu.au

Dr. Richard Flood
Title: Senior Lecturer - on leave
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 208
E: richard.flood@mq.edu.au

Prof. Stephen Foley
Title: Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 128
E: stephen.foley@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Heather Handley
Title: ARC Future Fellow
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 232
E: heather.handley@mq.edu.au

Dr. Steven Hansen
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 107
E: steven.hansen@mq.edu.au 

Prof. Dorrit Jacob
Title: Professor and Director MQGA
Location: BD Building Lvl 3
E: dorrit.jacob@mq.edu.au

Prof. Martin Kennedy
Title: Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 330
E: martin.j.kennedy@mq.edu.au

Dr. Mark Lackie
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 108
E: mark.lackie@mq.edu.au

Dr. Stefan Loehr
Title: Lecturer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 334
E: stefan.loehr@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Craig O’Neill
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 107
E: craig.oneill@mq.edu.au

Prof. Sue O’Reilly
Title: Distinguished Professor and Director of CCFS
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 232
E: sue.oreilly@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Tracy Rushmer
Title: Associate Professor and Associate Dean, HDR
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 229
E: tracy.rushmer@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Bruce Schaefer
Title: Associate Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 233
E: bruce.schaefer@mq.edu.au

Dr. Kate Selway
Title: ARC Future Fellow
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 120
E: kate.selway@mq.edu.au

Prof. Simon Turner
Title: Distinguished Professor
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 228
E: simon.turner@mq.edu.au

A/Prof. Yingjie Yang
Title: Associate Professor/ ARC Future Fellow
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 121
E: yingjie.yang@mq.edu.au

Professional Staff

Name and Contact Details

Ms. Jennifer Rowland
Position: Department Manager
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 317
E: jennifer.rowland@mq.edu.au

Ms. Penny McCracken
Position: Senior Scientific Officer
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 325 
E: penny.mccracken@mq.edu.au

Mr. Phil Dartnell
Position: Academic Administrator
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: philip.dartnell@mq.edu.au

Ms. Jenny Fang
Position: Administration and Outreach Coordinator
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: jenny.fang@mq.edu.au

Ms. Aida Pujol
Position: Administrator
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: aida.pujol@mq.edu.au

Mr. Amit Shrestha
Position: Administrator, Finance and Staff
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: amit.shrestha@mq.edu.au

Ms. Sarah Collison (on leave)
Position: Senior Scientific Officer/ Fieldwork Manager
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 325 
E: sarah.collison@mq.edu.au

Ms. Fiona Yang (on leave)
Position: Administrator, Academic
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 318
E: fiona.yang@mq.edu.au

Scientific Staff

Name and Contact Details

Mrs Manal Bebbington
Position: Lapidary Officer
Location: E5A030
E: manal.bebbington@mq.edu.au

Dr Steve Craven
Position: Research Officer
Location: E5A058
E: steve.craven@mq.edu.au

Dr Yi-Jen Lai
Position: Geochemist
Location: E5A 204
E: yi-jen.lai@mq.edu.au

Dr. Timothy Murphy
Position: Geochemist
Location: E5A 204
E: timothy.d.murphy@mq.edu.au

Mr Peter Wieland
Position: Geochemist
Location: E5B206
E: peter.wieland@mq.edu.au

Mr Nigel Wilson
Position: Technical Officer
Location: E5A215
E: nigel.wilson@mq.edu.au

Research Staff

Name and Contact Details

Dr. Soumaya Abbassi
Position: Research Associate
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 230
E: soumaya.abbassi@mq.edu.au

Dr. John Adam
Position: Research Assistant
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 140
E: john.adam@mq.edu.au

Dr. Rachel Bezard
Position: Postdoctoral Research Fellow
E: rachel.bezard@mq.edu.au

Dr. Oliver Gaul
Position: Research Officer
Location: BD Building Lvl 3
E: oliver.gaul@mq.edu.au

Dr. Yoann Greau
Position: Research Officer
Location: BD Building Lvl3
E: yoann.greau@mq.edu.au

Dr. Jin-Xiang Huang
Position: Research Assistant
E: jinxiang.huang@mq.edu.au

Anthony Lanati
Position: Technical Assistant
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 130
E: anthony.lanati@hdr.mq.edu.au

Dr. Lucy McGee
Position: Research Associate
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 241
E: lucy.mcgee@mq.edu.au

Dr Sean Murray
Position: Research Associate
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 230
E: sean.murray@mq.edu.au

Dr. Lev Natapov
Position: Research Fellow
E: lev.natapov@mq.edu.au

Dr Karita Neghandhi
Position: Research Associate
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 231
E: karita.neghandhi@mq.edu.au

Farshad Salajegheh
Position: Research Assistant
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 115
E: farshad.salajegheh@mq.edu.au

Dr. Bin Shan
Position: Research Associate
E: bin.shan@mq.edu.au

Dr Liene Spruzeniece
Position: Research Associate
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 129
E: liene.spruzeniece@mq.edu.au

Dr Shima Taheri
Position: Research Associate
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 129
E: shima.taheri@mq.edu.au

Dr. Siqi Zhang
Position: Research Associate
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 130
E: siqi.zhang@mq.edu.au

Emeriti and Honorary Staff

Emeriti Staff

NameEmail

Emeritus Prof Trevor Green

trevor.green@els.mq.edu.au

Emeritus Prof John Veveers

john.veevers@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Prof Ronald Vernon

ronald.vernon@mq.edu.au

Emeritus Prof John Talent

jatalent32@gmail.com

Emeritus Prof P Blair Hostetler

 

Emeritus Prof Peter Howard

 

Honorary Associates

NameEmail

Dr John Adam

john.adam@mq.edu.au

Dr Aharon Arakel

 
Dr James Austinjames.austin@csiro.au

Mr Stephen Cross

 

Dr Michael Cunningham

 

Dr Bruce Dickson

 

Dr David Durney

david.durney@mq.edu.au

Ms Katherine Farrow

 

Dr Andrew Green

 

Prof. William Griffin

bill.griffin@mq.edu.au

Professor Kaj Hoernle

 

Dr Vlad Malkovets

 

Associate Professor Ruth Mawson

ruth.mawson@mq.edu.au

Dr Peter McCabe

 

Mr Paul Meszaros

paul.meszaros@mq.edu.au

Miss Melissa Murphy

melissa.murphy@mq.edu.au

Dr Ian Percival

 

Mr Abhish Prakash

 

Dr Phillip Schmidt

 

Dr Catherine Stafford

 

Professor Roger Summons

Postgraduate Students

MRes Students

Name and Contact Details

Cameron Brown
E: cameron.brown5@students.mq.edu.au

Christopher Corcoran
E: christopher.corcoran@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 212

Omar Elkhaligi
E: omar.elkhaligi@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 114

Michael Farmer
E: michael.farmer@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 214

Anthony Finn
E: anthony.finn@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 137

Lucas Gamertsfelder
E: lucas.gamertsfelder@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 116

Byron Gear
E: byron.gear@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 116

Hindol Ghatak
E: hindol.ghatak@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 218

Tasman Gillfeather-Clark
E: tasman.gillfeather-clark@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 118

Harrison Jones
E: harrison.jones@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 136

Melanie Kime
E: melanie.kime@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 328

Stephanie Kovach
E: stephanie.kovach@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 239

Colleen McMahon
E: colleen.mcmahon@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 117

Carla Raymond
E: carla.raymond@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 133

Luke Smith
E: luke.smith@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 118

Morgan Stewart
E: morgan.stewart@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 134

Bonnie Teece
E: bronwyn.teece@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 328

Alexander Tunnadine
E: alexander.tunnadine@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 238

Harry West
E: harry.west@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 135

Haoming Wu
E: haoming.wu@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 112

PhD Students

Name and Contact Details

Toosin Agbaje
E: oluwatoosin.agbaje@students.mq.edu.au
Location:BD Building Lvl3

Sophia Aharonovich
E: sophia.aharonovich@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 326

David Barbosa da Silva
E: david.barbosa-da-silva@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 215

Raul Brens Jr
E: raul.brens@mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 239

Cameron Brown
E: cameron.brown@students.mq.edu.au

Mathieu Chasse
E: mathieu.chasse@students.mq.edu.au

Bruno Colas
E: bruno.colas@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 133

Rosa Didonna
E: rosa.didonna@mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 218

Eileen Dunkley
E: eileen.dunkley@mq.edu.au
Location:E6D

Katherine Farrow
E: kate.farrow@mq.edu.au
Location:E6D

Michael Forster
E: michael.forster@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 136

Robyn Gardner
E: robyn.gardner@mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 217

Louise Goode
E: louise-rebecca.goode@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 219

Kui Han
E: kui.han@hdr.mq.edu.au

Christine Harper
E: christine.harper@hdr.mq.edu.au

Margaret Harvey
E: Margaret.harvey@students.mq.edu.au
Location:E6D

Paul Harvey
E: paul.harvey@mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 219

Hadrien Henry
E: hadrien.henry@students.mq.edu.au
Location:BD Building Lvl3

Dilmi Herath
E: dilmi.herath@students.mq.edu.au
Location:BD Building Lvl3

Kim Jessop
E: kim.jessop@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 217

Lian Jiang
E: lian.jiang@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 326

Jelte Keeman
E: jelte.keeman@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 237

Pablo Lara
E: pablo.lara@mq.edu.au
Location: E6D

Nora Liptai
E: nora.liptai@students.mq.edu.au
Location: BD Building Lvl3

Jianggu Lu
E: jianggu.lu@students.mq.edu.au
Location: BD Building Lvl3

Maria Manassero
E: maria.manassero@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 117

Samuel Matthews
E: samuel.matthews@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 119

Keith McKenzie
E: keith.mckenzie@students.mq.edu.au

Uvana Meek
E: uvana.meek@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 216

Jonathan Munnikhuis
E: jonathan.munnikhuis@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2

Thusitha Nimalsiri
E: thusitha.nimalsiri@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 136

Benat Oliveira-Bravo
E: benat.oliveira-bravo@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 115

Laura Otter
E: laura.otter@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 137

Zsanett Pinter
E: zsanett.pintr@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 136

Terence Quinlan
E: terence.quinlan@students.mq.edu.au

Md Habibur Rahman
E: md-habibur.rahman@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 234

Farshad Salajegheh
E: farshad.salajegheh@mq.edu.au
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 115

Sarath Patabendi Gedara
E: Sarath-kumara.samaya-manthr@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 134

Catherine Stuart
E: cait.stuart@mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2 Rm 216

Mehdi Tork Qashqai
E: mehdi.tork-qashqai@students.mq.edu.au

Irina Tretiakova
E: irina.tretiakova@students.mq.edu.au

Marina Veter
E: marina.veter@hdr.mq.edu.au
Location: 12 Wally's Walk Lvl 2

Kai Wang
E: kai.wang5@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 113

Jonathon Michael Wasiliev
E: jonathon-michael.wasiliev@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 119

Alexander Wellhauser
E: alexander.wellhauser@hdr.mq.edu.au

Shucheng Wu
E: shucheng.wu@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 1 Rm 119

Bo Xu
E: bo.xu2@students.mq.edu.au
Location:BD Building Lvl3

Huiyuan Xu
E: huiyuan.xu@students.mq.edu.au
Location:12 Wally's Walk Lvl 3 Rm 327

Back to the top of this page