Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Professor Michelle Leishman

Professor Leishman is a plant ecologist whose current research focuses on invasive plants and pathogens, climate change impact and adaptation, threatened species and facilitating green urban space. She leads the MQ Centre for Green Cities.

Academic staff

NameContact details

Michelle Leishman
Title: Distinguished Professor and Head of Department

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 206
Phone: (02) 9850 9180
Email: michelle.leishman@mq.edu.au

  
Drew Allen
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 217
Phone: (02) 9850 9251
Email: andrew.allen@mq.edu.au
John Alroy
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 376
Phone: (02) 9850 8185
Email: john.alroy@mq.edu.au

Brian Atwell
Title: Professor
Location: Building E7B (14SCO), Room 244
Phone: (02) 9850 8224
Email: brian.atwell@mq.edu.au
Linda Beaumont
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 319
Phone: (02) 9850 8157
Email: linda.beaumont@mq.edu.au

Andrew Barron
Title: Associate Professor and ARC Future Fellow  

Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 245
Phone: (02) 9850 1310
Email: andrew.barron@mq.edu.au

Andrew Beattie
Title: Emeritus Professor  

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 272
Phone: (02) 9850 8154
Email: andrew.beattie@mq.edu.au

Kerstin Bilgmann
Title: Associate Lecturer

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 322
Phone: (02) 9850 8151
Email: kerstin.bilgmann@mq.edu.au

Melanie Bishop
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 107
Phone: (02) 9850 4075
Email: melanie.bishop@mq.edu.au

Glenn Brock
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 322
Phone: (02) 9850 8335
Email: glenn.brock@mq.edu.au

Culum Brown
Title: Associate Professor  

Location: Building W21B (209B), Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 6292
culum.brown@mq.edu.au

Matthew Bulbert
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 246
Phone: (02) 9850 8897
Email: matthew.bulbert@mq.edu.au
Anthony Chariton
Title: Lecturer

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 105
Phone: (02) 9850 6950
Email: anthony.chariton@mq.edu.au

Kenneth Cheng
Title: Professor
Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 111
Phone: (02) 9850 8613
Email: kenneth.cheng@mq.edu.au
Jennifer Donald
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 211
Phone: (02) 9850 8161
Email: jennifer.donald@mq.edu.au:

Rachael Dudaniec
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 244
Phone: (02) 9850 8193
Email: rachael.dudaniec@mq.edu.au
Jemma Geoghegan
Title: Lecturer  
Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 249
Phone: (02) 9850 8204
Email: jemma.geoghegan@mq.edu.au
Michael Gillings
Title: Distinguished Professor

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 271
Phone: (02) 9850 8199
Email: michael.gillings@mq.edu.au

Simon Griffith
Title: Professor and ARC Future Fellow

Location: Building W19F (205A), Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 1301
Email: simon.griffith@mq.edu.au

Marie Herberstein
Title: Professor and Chair, Academic Senate

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 170
Phone: (02) 9850 6276
Email: marie.herberstein@mq.edu.au

Lesley Hughes
Title: Distinguished Professor

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 276
Phone: (02) 9850 8195
Email: lesley.hughes@mq.edu.au

Robert Harcourt
Title: Professor

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 272
Phone: (02) 9850 7970
Email: robert.harcourt@mq.edu.au

Nathan Hart
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 219
Phone: (02) 9850 6952
Email: nathan.hart@mq.edu.au

Grant Hose
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 109
Phone: (02) 9850 6296
Email: grant.hose@mq.edu.au

Darrell Kemp
Title: Associate Professor  

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 275
Phone: (02) 9850 8355
Email: darrell.kemp@mq.edu.au

Kathryn Korbel
Title: Associate Lecturer
Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 142
Phone: (02) 9850 8210
Email: kathryn.korbel@mq.edu.au
Matthew Kosnik
Title: Senior Lecturer  

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), room 330
Phone: (02) 9850 7248
Email: matthew.kosnik@mq.edu.au

Jaco Le Roux
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 356
Phone: (02) 9850 5260
Email:jaco.leroux@mq.edu.au

Katherine McClellan
Title: Associate Lecturer

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 224
Phone: (02) 9850 8164
Email: katherine.mcclellan@mq.edu.au

Fleur Ponton
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 1313
Email: fleur.ponton@mq.edu.au
Michelle Power
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 206
Phone: (02) 9850 6974
Email: michelle.power@mq.edu.au

David Raftos
Title: Professor
Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 205
Phone: (02) 9850 8402
Email: david.raftos@mq.edu.au
Julia Raftos
Title: Senior Lecturer

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 207
Phone: (02) 9850 8402
Email: julia.raftos@mq.edu.au

Adam Stow
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 270
Phone: (02) 9850 8153
Email: adam.stow@mq.edu.au

Phillip Taylor
Title: Professor
Location: Building W19F (205A), Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 1311
Email: phil.taylor@mq.edu.au
Mark Westoby
Title: Emeritus Professor  
Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 161
Phone: (02) 9850 8196
Email: mark.westoby@mq.edu.au
Martin Whiting
Title: Associate Professor
Location: Building W19A (209E), Room 2
Phone: (02) 9850 4492
Email: martin.whiting@mq.edu.au
Jane Williamson
Title: Associate Professor

Location: Building W21B (209B), Room 103
Phone: (02) 9850 8167
Email: jane.williamson@mq.edu.au

Ian Wright
Title: Associate Professor
and Deputy Associate Dean Research

Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 210
Phone: (02) 9850 4228
Email:  ian.wright@mq.edu.au

Research staff

Name

Contact details

John Baumgartner
Title: Research Fellow

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 321
Phone: (02) 9850 4487
Email: john.baumgartner@mq.edu.au

Vivian Cumbo
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow  

Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 159
Phone: (02) 9850 9686
Email: vivian.cumbo@mq.edu.au

Ning Dong
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: E8C (6WW) Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 TBA
Email: ning.dong@mq.edu.au

Rachael Gallagher
Title: ARC Discovery Early Career Research Fellow (DECRA)

Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 153
Phone: (02) 9850 8404
Email: rachael.gallagher@mq.edu.au

Ian Jonsen
Title: Senior Research Fellow

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 375
Phone: (02) 9850 7998
Email: ian.josen@mq.edu.au

Jessica (Franne) Kamhi
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: Building W19F (205A), Room 139
Phone: (02) 9850 1306
Email: franne.kamhi@mq.edu.au

Yuri Kato
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: Building W19F (205A), Room 139
Phone: (02) 9850 1306
Email: yuriogawa.kato@mq.edu.au

James Lawson
Title: Research Fellow

Location: Building TBA, Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 TBA
Email: james.lawson@mq.edu.au

Ronald Lee
Title: Research Fellow

Location: CSIRO Black Mountain ACT
Building: 101, Room S1.03
Phone: (02) 6218 3461
Email: ronald.lee@mq.edu.au

Stephan Leu
Title: ARC Discovery Early Career Research Award ( DECRA)
Location: Building W19F (205A), Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 1303
Email: stephan.leu@mq.edu.au
Kathleen (Kate) Lynch
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow  

Location: Building W6A (12FW), Room 733
Phone: (02) 9850 8859
Email: kathleen.lynch@mq.edu.au

Anthony Manea
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 6316
Email: anthony.manea@mq.edu.au

Ajay Narendra
Title: ARC Future Fellow

Location: Building W19F (205A), Room 149
Phone: (02) 9850 8187
Email:  ajay.narendra@mq.edu.au

Vivian Mendez Alvarez
Title: Research Fellow

Location: Building TBA, Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 TBA
Email: vivian.mendez@mq.edu.au

Jeanneth Elsa Perez
Title: Research Fellow

Location: Building W19F (205A), Room 145
Phone: (02) 9850 1330
Email: jeanneth.perez@mq.edu.au

Benjamin Pitcher
Title: Macquarie University Research Fellow (MQRF)

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 1031
Email: ben.pitcher@mq.edu.au

Alexandra (Carthey) Ralph
Title: Macquarie University Research Fellow (MQRF)

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 8173
Email: alexandra.carthey@mq.edu.au

Christopher Reid
Title: Macquarie University Research Fellow (MQRF)

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 373
Phone: (02) 9850 6270
Email: chris.reid@mq.edu.au

Polychronis Rempoulakis
Title: Senior Research Fellow

Location: Building W21A (209A), Room 103
Phone: (02) 9850 1314
Email:  polychronis.rempoulakis@mq.edu.au

Laura Ann Ryan
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 142
Phone: (02) 9850 TBA
Email: laura.ryan@mq.edu.au

Mohammad Siddiqui
Title: Research Fellow

Location: Building TBA, Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 TBA
Email: mohammed.siddiqui@mq.edu.au

Steven Van Sluyter
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 302
Phone: (02) 9850 8313
Email:  steven.vansluyter@mq.edu.au

Andrea Westerband
Title: Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Location: E8C (6WW) Room TBA
Phone: (02) 9850 TBA
Email: andrea.westerband@mq.edu.au

Jonas Wolff
Title: Macquarie University Research Fellow (MQRF)

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 209
Phone: (02) 9850 6316
Email: jonas.wolff@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

Name

Contact Details

Sanscha Aberg
Title: Scientific Officer

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 105
Phone: (02) 9850 9392
Email: sanscha.aberg@mq.edu.au

Joshua Aldridge
Title: Senior Scientific Officer (Bio-Research Park)

Location: Building W21A (209A), Room 104
Phone: (02) 9850 9241
Email: joshua.aldrige@mq.edu.au

Kate Barry
Title: Admin/Scientific Academic

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 207
Phone: (02) 9850 8267
Email: kate.barry@mq.edu.au

Ayden De Courcey
Title: Administrative Assistant
Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 207
Phone: (02) 9850 4230
Email: ayden.decourcey@mq.edu.au
Ray Duell
Title: Senior Scientific Officer

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 106
Phone: (02) 9850 8184
Email: ray.duell@mq.edu.au

Elizabeth Eyre
Scientific Officer 

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 121
Phone: (02) 9850 8168
Email: elizabeth.eyre@mq.edu.au

Negin Farzadian
Title: Scientific Officer

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 174
Phone: (02) 9850 8189
Email: negin.farzadian@mq.edu.au

Jenny Ghabache
Title: Administrator and Outreach Coordinator
Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 204
Phone: (02) 9850 6957
Email: jenny.ghabache@mq.edu.au

Victoria Graham
Title: Executive Officer (Biodiversity Node of the NSW Adaptation Research Hub)

Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 153
Phone: (02) 9850 6298
Email: victoria.graham@mq.edu.au
Nick Harris
Title: Senior Scientific Officer (Marine Fieldwork)
Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 106
Phone: (02) 9850 4078
Email: nick.harris@mq.edu.au
Marita Holley
Title: Technical Manager (Research)  

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 274
Phone: (02) 9850 6978
Email: marita.holley@mq.edu.au

Monika King
Title: Technical Team Manager

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 174
Phone: (02) 9850 8208
Email: monika.king@mq.edu.au

Caitlin Kordis
Title: Administrator, Academic
Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 207
Phone: (02) 9850 8182
Email: caitlin.kordis@mq.edu.au
Winnie Man
Title: Scientific Officer 

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 105
Phone: (02) 9850 105
Email: winnie.man@mq.edu.au

Julian May
Title: Administrative Assistant
Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 207
Phone: (02) 9850 4288
Email: julian.may@mq.edu.au
Muhammad Masood
Title: Technical Manager (Plant Growth Facility)

Location: Building F5A (TBA), Room 427
Phone: (02) 9850 8217
Email: muhammed.masood@mq.edu.au

Samantha Newton
Title: Sustainability Officer and Arboretum Coordinator
Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 224
Phone: (02) 9850 8170
Email: samantha.newton@mq.edu.au
Sharyon O'Donnell
Title: Department Manager  

Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 203
Phone: (02) 9850 8179
Email: sharyon.odonnell@mq.edu.au

Harriet O'Sullivan
Title: Administrative Assistant
Location: Building E8B (6SR), Room 204
Phone: (02) 9850 4188
Email: harriet.osullivan@mq.edu.au
Marley Palin
Title: Coordinator for Centre for Smart Green Cities
Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 153
Phone: (02) 9850 4258
Email: marley.palin@mq.edu.au
Tarun Rajan
Title: Technical Team Manager

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 106
Phone: (02) 9850 8149
Email: tarun.rajun@mq.edu.au

Leigh Staas
Title: Project Manager and Research Development Advisor for Centre for Smart Green Cities

Location: Building E8C (6WW), Room 153
Phone: (02) 9850 6297
Email: leigh.staas@mq.edu.au

Amanda Sordes
Title: Senior Scientific Office (Dive Officer)

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 104
Phone: (02) 9850 8218
Email: amanda.sordes@mq.edu.au

Prasanth Subramani
Title: Scientific Officer

Location: Building E8A (14EAR), Room 103
Phone: (02) 9850 8136
Email: prasanth.subramani@mq.edu.au

PhD students

PhD student

E-mail

Saleh Mohammad Adnan

saleh-mohammad.adnan@students.mq.edu.au

Humayra Akter

humayra.akter@students.mq.edu.au

Mohammad Ameri

mohammad.ameri@students.mq.edu.au

Samuel Andrew

samuel.andrew@students.mq.edu.au

Nicolette Armansin

nicolette.armansin@students.mq.edu.au

Arnaud Badiane

arnaud.badiane@students.mq.edu.au

Nathan Bass

nathan.bass@students.mq.edu.au

James Baxter-Gilbert

james.baxter-gilbert@students.mq.edu.au

Maurizio Benelli

maurizio.benelli@students.mq.edu.au

Hanja Brandl

hanja.brandl@students.mq.edu.au

Amelie Cabirol

amelie.cabirol@students.mq.edu.au

Penelope Carbia

penelope.carbia@students.mq.edu.au

Gemma Carroll

gemma.carroll@students.mq.edu.au

Catarina Castro Pauperio Vila Pouca

catarina.castro-pauperio-vi@students.mq.edu.au

Sherrie Chambers

sherrie.chambers@students.mq.edu.au

Louise Chow

louise.chow@students.mq.edu.au

Nicole Christiansen

nicole.christiansen@students.mq.edu.au

Jennalee Clark

jennalee.clark@students.mq.edu.au

Peterson Coates

peterson.coates@students.mq.edu.au

Theotime Colin

theotime.colin@students.mq.edu.au

Lincoln Critchley

lincoln.critchley@students.mq.edu.au

Isabel Damas

maria.damas-moreira@students.mq.edu.au

Maria Di Cairano

maria.di-cairano@students.mq.edu.au

Thi Thanh Hue Dinh

thi-thanh-hue.dinh@students.mq.edu.au

Juan Gabriel Dominguez Sarmiento

gabriel.dominguez@students.mq.edu.au

Marlis Dumke

marlis.dumke@students.mq.edu.au

Daisy Englert Duursma

daisy.englert-duursma@students.mq.edu.au

Ingrid Errington

ingrid.errington@students.mq.edu.au

Laura Fernandez

laura.fernandez@students.mq.edu.au

Cody Freas

cody.freas@students.mq.edu.au

Caterina Funghi

caterina.funghi@students.mq.edu.au

Ramila Furtado

ramila.furtado@students.mq.edu.au

Ina Geedicke

ina.geedicke@students.mq.edu.au

Connor Robert Gervais

connor-robert.gervais@students.mq.edu.au

Emma Gray

emma.gray2@students.mq.edu.au

Guyo Duba Gufu

guyo-duba.gufu@students.mq.edu.au

Md. Mohasinul Haque

md-mohasinul.haque@students.mq.edu.au

Lorraine Hardwick

lorraine.hardwick@students.mq.edu.au

Lisa-Marie Katarina Harrison

lisa-marie-katarina.harriso@students.mq.edu.au

Rene Heim

rene.heim@students.mq.edu.au

Susan Hewlett

susie.hewlett@students.mq.edu.au

Laura Hurley

laura.hurley@students.mq.edu.au

Anika Immer

anika.immer@students.mq.edu.au

Jess Inskeep

jess.inskeep@students.mq.edu.au

Jayaweera Jayaweera

anuradhi.jayaweera@students.mq.edu.au

Md Kawsar Khan

md-kawsar.khan@students.mq.edu.au

Simon Klein

simon.klein@students.mq.edu.au

Monique Ladds

monique.ladds@students.mq.edu.au

Md Mahmudunnabi

md.mahmudunnabi@students.mq.edu.au

Peter Mahoney

peter.mahoney@students.mq.edu.au

Rajib Majumder

rajib.majumder@students.mq.edu.au

Francisco Martinez Baena

francisco.martinez-baena@students.mq.edu.au

Dominic Mcafee

dominic.mcafee@students.mq.edu.au

Fiona McDougall

fiona.mcdougall@students.mq.edu.au

Lianne Meah

lianne.meah@students.mq.edu.au

Tahereh Moadeli

tahereh.moadeli@students.mq.edu.au

Danae Moore

danae.moore@students.mq.edu.au

Eder Alejandro Morales-Suarez

eder-alejandro.morales-suar@students.mq.edu.au

Ryan Nevatte

ryan.nevatte@students.mq.edu.au

Stephen O'Shea

stephen.oshea2@students.mq.edu.au

Ravindra Palavalli Nettimi

ravindra.palavalli-nettimi@students.mq.edu.au

Timothy Pearson

timothy.pearson@students.mq.edu.au

Vanessa Pirotta

vanessa.pirotta@students.mq.edu.au

Jenny Plath

jenny.plath@students.mq.edu.au

Angel Popa Baez

angel-david.popa-baez@students.mq.edu.au

Farzana Raihan

farzana.raihan@students.mq.edu.au

Rathnayake Mudiyanselage Darshana Rathnayake

darshana.rathnayake@students.mq.edu.au

Anindita Roy

anindita.roy@students.mq.edu.au

Rachel Self

rachel.self@students.mq.edu.au

Elizabeth Louise Sheldon

elizabeth-louise.sheldon@students.mq.edu.au

Sabira Sultana

sabira.sultana@students.mq.edu.au

Birgit Szabo

birgit.szabo@students.mq.edu.au

Samiya Tabassum

samiya.tabassum@students.mq.edu.au

Jessica Thompson

jessica.thompson2@students.mq.edu.au

Damaris Torres-Pulliza

damaris.torres-pulliza@students.mq.edu.au

Louise Tosetto

louise.tosetto@students.mq.edu.au

Aniko Toth

aniko.toth@students.mq.edu.au

Larissa Trompf

larissa.trompf@students.mq.edu.au

Maria Vozzo

maria.vozzo@students.mq.edu.au

Kaja Wierucka

kaja.wierucka@students.mq.edu.au

Glen Wilkins

glen.wilkins@students.mq.edu.au

Jessica Wilks

jessica.wilks@students.mq.edu.au

Rachael Woods

rachael.woods@students.mq.edu.au

Sonu Yadav

sonu.yadav@students.mq.edu.au

Kyle Zawada

kyle.zawada@students.mq.edu.au

Contact us

Level 2
Building E8B
Macquarie University
NSW 2109
T: +61 (2) 9850 4230
F: +61 (2) 9850 8245
E: fse.bio-adm@mq.edu.au

Back to the top of this page