Faculty Advisory Council

Faculty Advisory Council

In order to meet our ambitious goals, a Faculty Advisory Council has been established. The Advisory Council will help us grow our links with stakeholders, and through that, enhance our research, our teaching and engagement. Our aim is to further understand the needs of our external stakeholders and how this Faculty can contribute in addressing these.The Advisory Council will meet twice a year, with occasional consultation with Council members as appropriate at other times.

Dr Cathy Foley — Chair

Dr. Cathy Foley is the CSIRO Chief Scientist, appointed August 2018. Previous roles at CSIRO include Science Director and Deputy Director Manufacturing, and Chief of the Division of Materials Science and Engineering. Her research is in superconducting devices and their application. Cathy has been involved in developing superconducting systems for mineral exploration, detection of metal for quality assurance in manufacturing, terahertz imaging, UXO detection and low noise wide bandwidth receivers. The most successful application has been LANDTEM™ which has assisted in unearthing over $6B in mineral worldwide.

Career highlights

Cathy has a world-class reputation in her field as recognised by:

  • Fellow of the Institute of Physics in the UK;
  • Past-President of the Australian Institute of Physics;
  • Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE);
  • Past President of Science and Technology Australia (formally Federation of Australian Science and Technology Societies, FASTS); and
  • Past Member of the Prime Minister’s Science Engineering and Innovation Council (PMSEIC)

Cathy was awarded a Public Service Medal on Australia Day in 2003. In the same year, Cathy won the Eureka Prize for the promotion of science. In 2009 Cathy was the NSW and National winner of the Telstra Women’s Business Award for Innovation. Cathy was also the recipient of the AUSIMM MIOTA award for LANDTEM™ as a mineral exploration tool. In 2013 she was awarded the NSW Premier's Award for Woman of the Year and in 2014 she was awarded the IEEE Council on Superconductivity Award for Continuing and Significant Contributions to the Field of Applied Superconductivity. Cathy and her team were awarded the prestigious Clunies Ross award for innovation and commercialisation for their invention, LANDTEM, in May of this year. Cathy has  been an advocate for women in science, for the communication of science and science education over the last 30 years.


BSc (Hons) Dip Ed, Macquarie University 1981

PhD, Macquarie University, 1985

Mark Anderson

Mark Anderson is the Principal of Normanhurst Boys High School, a fully academically selective Department of Education school.

Mark completed his undergraduate and post graduate studies at the University of New England and was appointed as a Geography and English teacher in 1989.

He has worked in public education across greater western Sydney area in a diverse range of schools including Cabramatta High School, Cherrybrook Technology High School, Strathfield South High School, Model Farms High School and Normanhurst Boys High School.

Niall Byrne

Niall Byrne is Creative Director of Science in Public Pty Ltd

Sue Doherty

Senior Manager, Technology Optimisation and STEM Advocacy
Group Technology, Westpac

Sue Doherty is responsible for leading the Westpac Technology Workforce Optimisation and STEM Advocacy team to deliver a future ready workforce strategy and deliver against our Westpac STEM Commitment. In this leadership role, Sue oversees the initiatives that define and implement workforce planning strategies, career pathway tools and workforce sustainability and diversity with a focus on emerging talent initiatives, women in technology and leadership, STEM participation, and indigenous programs.

Sue’s team oversees the Westpac Technology Graduate Program, internships, administration of the Bicentennial Foundation Young Technologist scholarships, and a suite of school outreach programs and partnerships designed to help build a STEM–capable nation. She is passionate about gender diversity and improving and innovating education in Australia, and for advocating for the growing need for the broad skills that STEM fosters.

Prior to being appointed to this role, Sue spent almost ten years in Westpac’s risk and compliance divisions specialising in corporate governance and business leadership.

Before joining Westpac, Sue had a strong background in public relations and media relations in both the public and the private sector. Sue holds a Master of Communication Management from the University of Technology in Sydney and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Martin Duursma

Martin is a Technology Business leader with over 30 years’ industry experience, currently a Partner at Main Sequence Ventures - CSIRO Innovation Fund.

In his career he has been a founder of a successful Australian technology company, Datapac Australasia. After Datapac was acquired, Martin served a lengthy tenure at Citrix as a corporate executive where he has been responsible for global innovation and applied research. While at Citrix, Martin also established the Citrix Startup Accelerator which broke new ground as an innovative corporate accelerator helping startup teams to validate business and technology ideas.

Martin is also an angel investor and a strong supporter of the Australian startup scene and advisor to the Sydney University Incubate program. He also serves on the board of trustees of the Computer History Museum in Mountain View CA.

Mark Goodsell

Mark Goodsell is Head - NSW and national lead for Manufacturing for the Australian Industry Group (Ai Group).

Mark has been with Ai Group since 1985. His current role centres on public advocacy representing the industry base of Ai Group membership, particularly manufacturing.

His policy focus includes state and regional development, innovation, government procurement, skills formation, WHS and business regulation.

Mark is the Executive Director of the Australian Advanced Manufacturing Council (AAMC). He is also the Chair of the NSW Industry Capability Network (ICN), a member of Safe Work Australia and the NSW Skills Board.

David Skellern

Adjunct Professor
Macquarie University

David is Chairman of Capital Markets CRC (2013-current), and Visiting Professor, Imperial College London. David has also served as Director of Capital Markets CRC (2004-2012), and CEO of NICTA (National Information and Communications Technology Australia) Limited (2005-2011).

Rebecca Spindler

Rebecca’s PhD on marsupial reproduction at the Zoology Department, University of Melbourne led her to the Smithsonian’s Conservation Biology Institute in 1997. There, Rebecca managed a laboratory and integrated her own area of expertise with other disciplines of science to conserve species and ecosystems.

She spent five giant panda breeding seasons in the Wolong Nature Reserve, liaising with in country experts to facilitate the Smithsonian’s Giant Panda Program. During this same period she established the Neotropical Carnivore Initiative and with colleagues throughout the Americas, embarked on a multidisciplinary program aimed at improving the health, reproduction and conservation of jaguars.

For ten years from April 2007 she was Manager of Research and Conservation at Taronga Zoo, coordinating and facilitating science at Taronga Zoo across the disciplines of Wildlife Health, Ecology, Population Dynamics, Nutrition and Behaviour. These disciplines collaborate internally and with local universities to answer key questions, guiding wildlife and ecosystem management decisions.

In April 2017 moved to Bush Heritage Australia as Executive Manager, Science and Conservation.

Back to the top of this page