Our people

Our people

Head of Department

Professor Rahat Munir

DR Rahat Munir is a Professor, Head of Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance, possess extensive experience in all forms of academic endeavours - research, teaching and engagement. With a solid background as a highly qualified executive having 3 decades experience in tertiary education, executive education and banking sectors, I offer an unbeatable track-record of excellence in curriculum development, research leadership, change management, building teams, effective human resource and financial management, and a long and consistent track record of leading and building very efficient departments. I am a target driven professional with the mission to deliver excellence in research and teaching, maximising staff satisfaction and motivation to improve their productivity. I lead by example, and as a strategic thinker, I successfully analyse market trends, create plans, develop policies and processes, manage finances, and deliver results. My research interests range from management accounting systems, performance measurement systems, CSR, corporate governance, management control systems, banking systems in emerging markets. I have published in leading international academic and professional journals.

Academic staff

PositionStaff MemberEmailPhoneLocation
A/ProfessorA/Prof Hope Ashiaborhope.ashiabor@mq.edu.au84574ER 311
Senior LecturerDr Vicki Baardvicki.baard@mq.edu.au 91924ER 237
Senior LecturerDr Ranjith Bala Appuhamilageranjith.bala-appuhamilage@mq.edu.au 72954ER 315
ProfessorProf Kevin Bairdkevin.baird@mq.edu.au 85324ER 209
Senior LecturerDr Trish Blazeytrish.blazey@mq.edu.au 76834ER 240
Senior LecturerDr Yvette Blountyvette.blount@mq.edu.au 85144ER 341
LecturerDr Kym Butcher kym.butcher@mq.edu.au 85194ER 243
Senior LecturerDr Kay-Wah Chankay.chan@mq.edu.au 70884ER 241
A/ProfessorA/Prof Parmod Chandparmod.chand@mq.edu.au61374ER 236
LecturerDr Charlene Chen charlene.chen@mq.edu.au 92854ER 238
A/ProfessorA/Prof Jengfang Chen jengfang.chen@mq.edu.au 48544ER 330
LecturerDr Jin Hua Chenjinhua.chen@mq.edu.au 48394ER 207
A/Dean - HD ResearchProf Lorne Cummingslorne.cummings@mq.edu.au 85314ER 327
A/ProfessorA/Prof Johannes Dumayjohn.dumay@mq.edu.au19274ER 329
LecturerDr Medhat Endrawes medhat.endrawes@mq.edu.au 84514ER 231
LecturerDr Verity Greenwoodverity.greenwood@mq.edu.au 72834ER 310
Distinguished ProfessorProf James Guthriejames.guthrie@mq.edu.au 48314ER 333
Senior LecturerDr Stephen Haswell stephen.haswell@mq.edu.au 85424ER 210
A/ProfessorA/Prof James Hazeltonjames.hazelton@mq.edu.au 84864ER 239
LecturerDr Colly He liyu.he@mq.edu.au 85204ER215A
Senior LecturerDr Andreas Hellmannandreas.hellmann@mq.edu.au 40554ER 233
LecturerLu Jiaolu.jiao@mq.edu.au68734ER 353
LecturerDr James Lau james.lau@mq.edu.au 92844ER 349
Research FellowDr Shane Leong shane.leong@mq.edu.au91894ER 319
Prof and A/Dean (ICE)Professor Philomena Leungphilomena.leung@mq.edu.au 4413707A
A/Prof and A/DeanA/Prof Catriona Lavermicoccacatriona.lavermicocca@mq.edu.au 85284ER 308
Senior LecturerDr Meiting Lu meiting.lu@mq.edu.au 19284ER 212
Senior LecturerDr Rajni Malarajni.mala@mq.edu.au 85304ER 314
Senior LecturerDr Mauricio Marronemauricio.marrone@mq.edu.au 11514ER 339
LecturerBrian Millanta brian.millanta@mq.edu.au 85474ER 328
LecturerDr Milica Misic milica.misic@mq.edu.au 91934ER 319
ProfessorProfessor Rahat Munirrahat.munir@mq.edu.au 47654ER 312
ProfessorProfessor Nonna Martinov-Bennienonna.martinov-bennie@mq.edu.au19264ER 337
LecturerDr Nuraddeen Nuhunuraddeen.nuhu@mq.edu.au85344ER 352
LecturerDr Pei Pei Pan peipei.pan@mq.edu.au 99434ER 231
ProfessorProf Chris Patelchris.patel@mq.edu.au 78254ER 334
LecturerDr Thanh Phanthanh.phan@mq.edu.au48064ER 317
Senior LecturerDr Michael Quilter michael.quilter@mq.edu.au 84564ER 309
ProfessorProfessor Grant Richardsongrant.richardson@mq.edu.au79944ER 345
LecturerDr John Selby john.selby@mq.edu.au 70814ER 325
Senior LecturerDr Carl Shencarl.shen@mq.edu.au68724ER 319
Senior LecturerDr Samantha Sin samantha.sin@mq.edu.au 85294ER 344
LecturerDr Philip Sinnadurai philip.sinnadurai@mq.edu.au 71014ER 213
LecturerDr Dominic Soh dominic.soh@mq.edu.au 85724ER 324
A/ProfessorA/Prof Sophia Susophia.su@mq.edu.au 84544ER 338
LecturerDr Amy Tung amy.tung@mq.edu.au 92824ER 232
Senior LecturerDr Dale Tweediedale.tweedie@mq.edu.au 84624ER 355
A/ProfessorA/Prof Jeffrey Wongjeffrey.wong@mq.edu.au48554ER 327
LecturerDr Khorsed Zaman khorsed.zaman@mq.edu.au 41204ER 316
Emeritus ProfessorProf Graeme Harrisongraeme.harrison@mq.edu.au85154ER 211

Professional staff

Position Staff MemberEmailPhoneLocation

Personal Assistant to HoD

Lilly Gabriel


48024ER 321

Senior Department Administrator

Irene Fernandes


8535 4ER 343

Department Administrative Officer

Charmaine D'Souza



4ER 350A

Teaching Assistant

Claudia Chau



4ER 350B

Teaching Assistant

Kym Luying.lu@mq.edu.au 4821 4ER 350C

Teaching Assistant

Aditya Sawant



4ER 350D

Teaching Assistant

Cissy Zhancissy.zhan@mq.edu.au 4832 4ER 320C

Departmental Administrative Assistant

Ervina Ang


4ER 320D

Back to the top of this page