News and events

News and events

Seminars and events

Throughout the year, the department holds a number of specialised seminars for staff, students, alumni and other interested members of the community. These seminars attract some of the top researchers in actuarial studies and applied finance from within Australia and internationally.

2017 Seminars
Date/TimeSpeakerTopicVenue
Fri 10 November
11am-12pm
Prof Petko Kalev
La Trobe University
Algorithmic Trading in RivalsE4A 623
Fri 3 November
11am-12pm
Ali Akyol
The University of Melbourne
Disempowering ShareholdersE4A 623
Fri 27 October
11am-12pm
Prof Piet de Jong
Macquarie University
Blockchain contracts for social impactsE4A 623
Fri 13 October
11am-12pm
A/Prof Jianxin Wang
University of Technology Sydney
Conditional Volatility PersistenceE4A 623
Fri 6 October
11am-12pm
Andres Villegas Ramirez
University of New South Wales
Modelling mortality by cause of death and socio-economic stratification: an analysis of mortality differentials in EnglandE4A 623
Fri 15 September
11am-12pm
Oleg Chuprinin
University of New South Wales
Information Cascades and Investment Efficiency in Peer-to-Peer MarketsE4A 623
Fri 8 September
11am-12pm
Min Kim
University of New South Wales
Fire Sale Risk and Expected Stock ReturnsE4A 623
Fri 1 September
11am-12pm
Prof Bala Balachandran
La Trobe University
The 2003 Dividend Tax Cut, Dividend Initiations and Information ContentE4A 623
Fri 25 August
11am-12pm
Prof Hazel Bateman
University of New South Wales
Income-indemnity long-term care insurance: Selection, informal care, and precautionary savingsE4A 623
Fri 18 August
11am-12pm
A/Prof Li Yang
University of New South Wales
A Portfolio Based Measure of Economic UncertaintyE4A 623
Fri 4 August
11am-12pm
A/Prof Harald Scheule
University of Technology Sydney
The Impact of Positive Payment Shocks on Mortgage Credit Risk – A Natural Experiment from Home Equity Lines of Credit at End of DrawE4A 623
Fri 2 June
11am-12pm
Dr Han Lin Shang
Australian National University
Grouped multivariate and functional time series forecasting:an application to annuity pricingE4A 623
Fri 19 May 11am-12pmA/Prof Adam Butt Australian National UniversityNon-parametric integral estimation using data clustering in stochastic dynamic programming: an introduction using lifetime financial modellingE4A 623
Fri 12 May 11am-12pmProf Lionel Page
Queensland University of Technology
The winner effect in an experimental asset marketE4A 623
Thu 4 May 11am-12pmA/Prof Johan Sulaeman
National University of Singapore
Local Investors’ Preferences and Capital StructureE4A
523
Tue 4 April
12-1pm
Prof Marcel Prokopczuk Leibniz University HannoverWhat Makes the Market Jump?E4A 623
Fri 31 March
11am-12pm
Russell Mason and
Ben Facer

Deloitte
Australian Superannuation SystemE4A 623
Fri 24 March
11am-12pm
Prof Ferdinand Gul
Deakin University
Timing of Female Director Appointments, Bad-News-Hoarding and Stock Price CrashesE4A
623
Fri 10 March
11am-12pm
Prof Kewei Hou
The Ohio State University
Systemic Default and Return Predictability in the Stock and Bond MarketsE4A
623
Fri 3 March 11am-12pmProf Peter Swan
University of New South Wales
Other People's MoneyE4A 623
Back to the top of this page