Contact us

Contact us

Course and program enquiries

Enquiry Contact
General enquiries Ms Susan Pe
Mrs Victoria Park
Undergraduate enquiries A/Prof. Ayse Bilgin (Statistics major)
Dr David Bulger (Decision Science major)
Postgraduate enquiries General enquiries can be emailed to statistics@mq.edu.au or
Ms Lesley Mooney
Postgraduate coursework enquiries

Master of Applied Statistics – Dr Georgy Sofronov

Master of Biostatistics – Prof. Gillian Heller

Master of Research degree enquiries A/Prof. Jun Ma
Dr Thomas Fung
Postgraduate Research degree enquiries A/Prof. Jun Ma

Staff

Head of Department 

Name Position Email Location
Professor Gillian Heller Head of Department gillian.heller@mq.edu.au Room 2.373
Level 2, AHH

Academic staff

Name Position Email Location
Professor Gillian Heller  Professor and Head of Department gillian.heller@mq.edu.au Room 2.373, Level 2, AHH
Professor Ian MarschnerProfessorian.marschner@mq.edu.auRoom 2.374, Level 2, AHH
Professor Barry Quinn  Professor barry.quinn@mq.edu.au Room 2.377, Level 2, AHH
A/Professor Ayse Bilgin Associate Professor ayse.bilgin@mq.edu.au Room 2.367, Level 2, AHH
A/Professor Jun MaAssociate Professorjun.ma@mq.edu.au Room 2.378, Level 2, AHH
Dr David Bulger Senior Lecturer david.bulger@mq.edu.au Room 2.361, Level 2, AHH
Dr Petra Graham Senior Lecturer petra.graham@mq.edu.au Room 2.375, Level 2, AHH
Dr Kehui Luo Senior Lecturer kehui.luo@mq.edu.au Room 2.366, Level 2, AHH
Dr Tania Prvan Senior Lecturer tania.prvan@mq.edu.au Room 2.371, Level 2, AHH
Dr Georgy Sofronov Senior Lecturer georgy.sofronov@mq.edu.au Room 2.362, Level 2, AHH
Dr Ken Beath Lecturer ken.beath@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Ms KJ Byun Lecturer kj.byun@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Dr Thomas Fung Lecturer thomas.fung@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Dr Nino Kordzakhia Senior Lecturer nino.kordzakhia@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Dr Maurizio Manuguerra Lecturer maurizio.manuguerra@mq.edu.au Room 2.379, Level 2, AHH
Dr Justin Wishart Lecturer justin.wishart@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Ms Suzanne Curtis Associate Lecturer suzanne.curtis@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Ms Anne Karpin Associate Lecturer anne.karpin@mq.edu.au Room 2.376, Level 2, AHH
Dr Mark DonoghoePostdoctoral Research Fellowmark.donoghoe@mq.edu.auLevel 2, AHH
Professor Malcolm Hudson Emeritus Professor malcolm.hudson@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Professor Don McNeil Emeritus Professor don.mcneil@mq.edu.au  
Professor Graham Wood Adjunct Professor graham.wood@mq.edu.au  
A/Professor Andrzej Kozek Honorary Fellow andrzej.kozek@mq.edu.au  
A/Professor. Peter Petocz Honorary Fellow peter.petocz@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Ms Sue Crowe Honorary Associate susan.crowe@mq.edu.au  
Dr Hilary Green Honorary Associate hilary.green@mq.edu.au  
Dr Sibba Gudlaugsdottir Honorary Associate sigurbjorg.gudlaugsdottir@mq.edu.au  
Ms Jenny Middledorp Honorary Associate jenny.middledorp@mq.edu.au

Administration staff

Name Position Email Location
Ms Susan Pe Executive Officer susan.pe@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Ms Victoria Park Administration Officer victoria.park@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH
Ms Lesley Mooney Departmental Administrator lesley.mooney@mq.edu.au Level 2, AHH

Staff research interests

Staff member Research interests
Ken Beath
  • Mixture and latent variable models, particularly application to longitudinal data
  • Computational methods for latent variable models
  • Infant growth modelling
  • Order determination for mixture models
Ayse Bilgin
  • Data Mining
  • Decision Support Systems
  • Customer Relationship Management
  • Total Quality Management
  • Quality Improvement in Hospitals (NSW)
David Bulger
  • Stochastic global optimisation
  • Quantum computation
  • Bioinformatics
KJ Byun
  • Modelling of Housing Market
  • Prediction and Comparison of Sporting Performances
  • Analysis of Financial Surveys
Thomas Fung
  • Multivariate Variance Gamma (VG) and related models and their applications to financial modelling
  • Tail dependence
  • Copulas
  • Mixture distributions
Petra Graham
  • Meta-analysis
  • Generalized linear modelling
  • The application of Bayesian methods in medicine and health
  • Biostatistics
  • Nonparametric statistics
  • Statistical computing
Gillian Heller
  • Generalized linear modelling
  • Biostatistics
  • Survival analysis
  • Mixed outcomes
Kehui Luo
  • Statistical applications in epidemiological, biological, health and medical science areas
Jun Ma
  • Smoothing parameter selection in medical image reconstructions.
  • Mixture models
  • Multiplicative iterative methods for positive constrained maximum penalized likelihood image reconstruction in emission tomography
  • Iterative Bayes algorithms for positive linear inverse problems
Maurizio Manuguerra
  • Ordinal Regression Models
  • Bayesian Methodology
  • Spatio-temporal models
  • Biostatistics
  • Modeling of binary time-series from neuroscience
Ian Marschner
  • Design and analysis of randomised clinical trials
  • Risk factor modelling in clinical epidemiology
  • Biostatistical methods for surrogate outcomes, missing data and measurement error
  • EM type algorithms in statistical computing
Tania Prvan
  • Programming of generalised smoothing splines
Barry Quinn
  • Time series analysis, especially in its relationship with Signal Processing.
  • The estimation of frequency and related problems.
Georgy Sofronov
  • Markov Chain Monte Carlo methods, Cross-Entropy method
  • Small Area Estimation, Biological models
  • Theory and applications of random processes, optimal stopping rules
  • Sequential analysis, asymptotic theory, change-point problems
Back to the top of this page