Staff

Staff

Head of Department 

  Name and contact details Research interests
  Dr. Trudy Ambler
Title: Acting Head of Department
Location: Building W6A, Room 237
Phone: (02) 9850 7938
Email: trudy.ambler@mq.edu.au

Academic staff

 Name and contact detailsResearch Interests
 Dr Alice Te Punga Somerville
Title: Senior Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 409
Phone: (02) 9850 9916
Email: alice.tepungasomerville@mq.edu.au
Locating, contextualizing, and analysing texts written by Māori, Pacific and Indigenous people.
 Ms Corrinne Franklin
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 407
Phone: (02) 9850 6751
Email:  corrinne.franklin@mq.edu.au
Experiences and effects of body and Identity in relation to Indigenous Australian people.
 Ms Holly Doel-Mackaway
Title: Lecturer
Location: Building W3A, Room 409
Phone: (02) 9850 7932
Email:  holly.doel-mackaway@mq.edu.au

Indigenous children and young people’s participation in the development of laws and policies affecting them.

 Mr David Coombs
Title: Tutor
Email: david.coombs@mq.edu.au
 
 Ms Michelle Finneran
Title: Tutor
Email: michelle.finneran@mq.edu.au
 
 Ms Grace O'Brien
Title: Tutor 
Email: grace.obrien@mq.edu.au
 Ms Jessa Rogers
Title: Lecturer - Master of Indigenous Education
Email: jessa.rogers@mq.edu.au
 
 Ms Minna Tsu
Title: Tutor
Email: minna.tsu@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

  Name Contact
 Ms Nancy Guevara
Title: Department Administrator 
For administrative enquiries and department level support:
Location: Building W3A 408
Phone: (02) 9850 8036
Email: nancy.guevara@mq.edu.au

Please contact Student Connect  for admissions and applications enquiries:
Email: Online enquiry form
Phone: +61 2 9850 6410
Fax: +61 2 9850 7249

On Campus
Level 2, MUSE (C7A)
Macquarie University
North Ryde NSW 2109
 

Walanga Muru, Office of Indigenous Strategy offers the following services and support at Macquarie University:

  • Indigenous cultural guidance and advice  
  • embedding Indigenous knowledge and perspectives into curriculum  
  • fostering Indigenous student excellence  
  • linkages with academic support services within each faculty  
  • Indigenous cadetship placement opportunities  
  • Indigenous cultural events  
  • Indigenous voice for policy development and implementation  
  • input into Indigenous research  
  • supporting staff to better understand the learning needs and support of Indigenous students  
  • supporting Indigenous professional development

Walanga Muru – Office of Indigenous Strategy

Emily Sutton
Team Leader of Indigenous Support Services
T: (02) 9850 4209
E: emily.sutton@mq.edu.au 
Building W3A, Room 309

Jesse Ingrey
Indigenous Student Support Officer
T: (02) 9850 4498
E: jesse.ingrey@mq.edu.au
Building W3A, Room 307

Back to the top of this page