60 seconds with…

Dana Ash | Executive Assistant to the DVC Corporate Engagement and Advancement

How long have you been at Macquarie?
17 months.

Where is your favourite place to spend a spare five minutes at Macquarie?
Down by the lake.

What is your favourite thing about working at Macquarie?
The open space. All my previous roles have been working in the CBD and normally seven floors up.

How do you get to campus?
I drive, though sometimes I think it might be faster to walk.

What was your earliest childhood career aspiration?
I had a horse growing up and I wanted to join the Mounted Police Force.

What are the biggest misconceptions about your profession?
That we are miracle workers. Sometimes we can make things happen, but not all the time.

In your job, what question are you most often asked?
Can David (Wilkinson) make this meeting?

Favourite film, book or TV show?
I’m a Home and Away tragic.

What is the one piece of technology you can’t live without?
My TV remote, and since I have a two year old it constantly goes missing!

What would you want to learn if given the chance to learn it instantly?
I would love to be able to speak French.

Something not many people may know about me is…
I lived in London for 15 years, and in my backpacking days travelled to 67 countries without doing a single Contiki Tour.

If money were no object, what would you like to achieve?
For the St George Illawarra Dragons to have a team that could actually be half decent.

What were you doing before you started these questions?
Planning an overseas itinerary for David next month.