Awards and recognition


The University congratulates Professor Jeffrey Braithwaite (main picture), who was awarded the 2021 Sidney Sax medal by the Australian Healthcare and Hospitals Association (AHHA) for outstanding contributions to the development and improvement of Australia’s healthcare system.


Congratulations to Distinguished Professor Michelle Leishman from the Department of Biological Sciences, and Director of the Smart Green Cities research centre, for being named the 2021 Journal of Ecology Eminent Ecologist by the British Ecological Society. With over 25 years’ research experience, Professor Leishman’s outstanding contributions to the field of ecology focus on invasive plants, vegetation response and adaptation to climate change, restoration ecology, plant conservation and urban greening.

In celebration of this achievement, Professor Leishman was invited to curate a virtual issue of the journal, featuring some of her key contributions to the journal over the years.

Professor Judith Dawes, Director of MQ Photonics Research Centre, from the Department of Physics and Astronomy, has been appointed to the Board of Directors of Optica as their newest director-at-large for a 2022-2024 term. Optica is the world’s leading organisation for scientists, engineers, business professionals, students and others interested in the science of light.

Associate Professor Farah Magrabi of the Australian Institute of Health Innovation has been named one of Telstra’s 2021 Brilliant Women in Digital Health. With a background in Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Farah’s research focuses on the design and evaluation of digital health and artificial intelligence (AI) technologies for clinicians and consumers.

Professor Rahat Munir and the Learning and Teaching team in Macquarie Business School have been shortlisted for the Wharton-QS Reimagine Education Awards, in the Nurturing Employability Award category.

Professor Munir’s project is Re-imagining employability: employability best practice in higher education institutions. The Learning and Teaching team was nominated for their innovative partnership with Forage, an experiential learning company that has allowed Macquarie University students to complete virtual job simulations in-curriculum during the last 12 months. Congratulations Shazia K Jan and Paul Somers for co-leading this project.

This year’s awards have seen more than 1100 applications from all over the world submitted across 16 categories showcasing top innovations in higher education. Winners will be announced in early December.

Macquarie University’s Ainsworth Building has received a Sustainability Award for Education and Research from Architecture & Design (Australia).

The purpose-built home of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences embodies the forward-thinking sustainability and environmental stewardship goals outlined in the University’s Campus Master Plan. The building is estimated to save the carbon emission equivalent of five to six years of energy consumption via the carbon sequestered within the timber frame.

The Macquarie-based Mindspot Clinic has been honoured with a Platinum level award for ‘Best COVID-19 Pandemic Related Communications’ at the eHealthcare Leadership Awards. The Awards recognise the best websites, digital communications, and initiatives from a broad spectrum of healthcare organisations.
The Clinic was also a winner in the Outstanding Achievement category in The Australian Charity Awards 2021.

MCCALL documentary film Ablaze co-written and directed by Dr Alec Morgan has been awarded the prestigious Victorian Premier’s History Award, with the judges describing the documentary as a “superbly researched and charmingly narrated film that makes an important contribution to Victorian history.” Ablaze was the major project of Alec Morgan’s Macquarie University Research Fellowship, and his supervisor was Tom Murray.

Congratulations to Macquarie’s Dr Nathan Caruana, Research Fellow in the Department of Cognitive Science, who was one of four winners of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia 2021 Paul Bourke Award for Early Career Research. Learn more about Nathan’s work below:





Back to homepage


Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

We encourage active and constructive debate through our comments section, but please remain respectful. Your first and last name will be published alongside your comment.

Comments will not be pre-moderated but any comments deemed to be offensive, obscene, intimidating, discriminatory or defamatory will be removed and further action may be taken where such conduct breaches University policy or standards. Please keep in mind that This Week is a public site and comments should not contain information that is confidential or commercial in confidence.

Got a story to share?

Visit our contribute page >>