John Clive Ward

John Clive Ward

John Clive Ward Medal set

John Ward (1 August 1924 – 6 May 2000, aged 75) was a Fellow of the Royal Society of London and the recipient of several prestigious medals and prizes across his career. His originality and ability to ‘find his way through complicated systems with many degrees of freedom’, as his obituarists described it, ‘resulted in fundamental contributions in quantum electrodynamics, elementary particle physics, quantum solid-state physics, and quantum statistics.'

To the observer, Ward was a high eccentric, ‘a bundle of neuroses’, as one colleague put it; a very shy man with a strong sense of self-regard, often distant and austere, yet cultivated, interested in wine and wine-making, and intensely musical. He was also, to his cost, a man of startling honesty with a naivety in human and administrative affairs that had clearly complicated his relations with managers and colleagues in a string of universities. At Macquarie University, this brilliant individualist found his natural habitat.

Notable awards for JC Ward

Guthrie Medal (1981) - now the Faraday Medal and Prize

The Faraday Medal and Prize is a prize awarded annually by the Institute of Physics. The prize is awarded for outstanding contributions to experimental physics, to a physicist of international reputation in any sector.From 1914 to 1966 it took the form of the Guthrie Lecture after when it was replaced by the Guthrie Medal and Prize, in memory of Frederick Guthrie, founder of the Physical Society (which merged with the Institute of Physics in 1960). In 2008 the award was renamed the Faraday Medal and Prize, which is awarded annually for outstanding contributions to experimental physics to a physicist of international reputation in any sector. The medal is silver gilt and accompanied by a prize of £1000 and a certificate.

Dirac Medal (1981)

The first-established prize is the Dirac Medal for the Advancement of Theoretical Physics, awarded by the University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia, jointly with the Australian Institute of Physics on the occasion of the public Dirac Lecture. The Lecture and the Medal commemorate the visit to the university in 1975 of Professor Dirac, who gave five lectures there. The lectures were subsequently published as a book Directions of Physics (Wiley, 1978 – H. Hora and J. Shepanski, eds.). Professor Dirac donated the royalties from this book to the University for the establishment of the Dirac Lecture series. The prize includes a silver medal and honorarium. It was first awarded in 1979.

Heineman Prize (1982)

Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics is an award given each year since 1959 jointly by the American Physical Society and American Institute of Physics. It is established by the Heineman Foundation in honour of Dannie Heineman.

Hughes Medal (1983)

The Hughes Medal is awarded by the Royal Society of London "in recognition of an original discovery in the physical sciences, particularly electricity and magnetism or their applications".[1] Named after David E. Hughes, the medal is awarded with a gift of £1000. The medal was first awarded in 1902 to J. J. Thomson "for his numerous contributions to electric science, especially in reference to the phenomena of electric discharge in gases", and has since been awarded 105 times. The only year in which no medal was awarded was 1924; the Royal Society have not provided a reason for the lack of an award. Unlike other Royal Society medals, the Hughes Medal has never been awarded to the same individual more than once.

JC Ward received the Hughes Medal in 1983 for his highly influential and original contributions to quantum field theory, particularly the Ward identity and the Salam-Ward theory of weak interactions.

Collection of medals and certificates donated to Macquarie University

Back to the top of this page