Pre Award and faculty contacts

Pre Award and faculty contacts

Pre Award Contacts

Objectives of the Pre Award Team

The main objectives of the Pre Award Team are to:

  • Help researchers to identify appropriate funding opportunities and collaborative partners
  • Assist in the development of high-quality, competitive research proposals
  • Manage submission processes on behalf of Macquarie University

Manager, Pre Award

 

Dr Erin Semon

erin.semon@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 8609

Research Development Managers

Objective: Develop high-quality, competitive external grant applications

  • Build, track and articulate research performance
  • Provide resources, programs and initiatives aimed at increasing researcher effectiveness in external research funding endeavours
  • Organise and deliver researcher development workshops
  • ARC and NHMRC focus

Dr Ross Hill

Dr Ross Hill

Research manager with experience as a researcher and in grant assessment

Assessor for ARC DP, Future Fellowship and DECRA schemes

Recipient of postdoctoral research fellowships, ARC and other grants

Available to assist researchers across all disciplines

ross.hill@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 4737

Ms Courtney Bendall

Administrator with experience in grant assessment, submission and management

Successful funding experience through NHMRC, NIH, WHO and pharma

Primarily assisting researchers in the medical, health and human sciences

courtney.bendall@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 4745

Research Partnerships Managers

Objective: Identify, develop and manage relationships with private sector, government and other external organisations to boost research funding

  • Identify and facilitate research funding opportunities to provide solutions to challenges faced by partners
  • Assist the University to achieve its strategic objectives in relation to Category 2 and 3 research income
  • Assist researchers to develop new partnerships, including through Enterprise Partnership Funding Scheme
  • Provide guidance, pitch development and relationship building advice
Mark Berlage 

Mark Berlage

Research Framework Themes:
Secure Planet
Innovative Technologies

Faculty of Science and Engineering

mark.berlage@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 4058

Lisa Elliott 

Jenny-Lee (J-L) Heylen

Research Framework Themes:
Resilient Societies
Prosperous Economies

Faculty of Arts
Macquarie Business School 

jl.heylen@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 4057

Daniel Johnston 

Daniel Johnston

Research Framework Theme:
Healthy People

Faculty of Human Sciences

daniel.johnston@mq.edu.au
T: 02 9850 7577

For Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences please contact fmhs.researchsupport@mq.edu.au

Research Proposals Team

Objective: Provide compliance advice and submit proposals on behalf of MQ researchers

  • Provide advice and support to researchers applying for funding
  • Ensure compliance with funding rules
  • Responsible for submitting proposals on behalf of the University to funding bodies
  • Administer and run Macquarie University internal research funding schemes

Proposals Team Leader

  Anita Quinn

T: 02 9850 4462
research.preaward@mq.edu.au

Research Proposals Officers

 Bec Syler

T: 02 9850 4193
research.preaward@mq.edu.au
 

Carolyn Munnoch

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday
T: 02 9850 4193
research.preaward@mq.edu.au

 Donna Burgess

T: 02 9850 4877
research.preaward@mq.edu.au

Faculty Contacts

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Robert Reynolds
Email: robert.reynolds@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 7861
Faculty Research ManagerJan Zwar
Email: jan.zwar@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 4496
General Faculty Research Office EmailArtsRO@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerNeil Durrant
Email: neil.durrant@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 7687

Faculty of Human Sciences

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Amanda Barnier
Email: amanda.barnier@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 4861
Faculty Research ManagerJo Tuck
Email: jo.tuck@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 9607
General Faculty Research Office Emailhumansciencesresearch@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerLinda Schofield
Email: linda.schofield@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8068

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Roger Chung
Email: roger.chung@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 2724
Faculty Research ManagerDr Kyle Ratinac
Email: kyle.ratinac@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 2788
General Faculty Research Office Emailfmhs.researchsupport@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerDr Welly Firmanto
Email: welly.firmanto@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 3507

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, ResearchProf David Coutts
Email: david.coutts@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8970
Faculty Research ManagerIrina Zakoshanski
Email: irina.zakoshanski@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8912
General Faculty Research Office Emailsci.research@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerAmanda Croft
Email: amanda.croft@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 4282

Macquarie Business School

Associate Dean, ResearchProf Lorne Cummings
Email: lorne.cummings@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8531
Faculty Research ManagerAgnieszka Baginska
Email: agnieszka.baginska@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 8485
General Faculty Research Office Emailmqbs-ro@mq.edu.au
Faculty General ManagerAnn Goldwater
Email: ann.goldwater@mq.edu.au
Phone: 02 9850 7292

Content owner: Research Pre-award Last updated: 08 Oct 2019 12:04pm

Back to the top of this page