Our people

Our people

The Macquarie University Research Centre for Astronomy, Astrophysics & Astrophotonics has about 40 members including faculty, postdoctoral research fellows, postgraduate students, research associates and honorary associates. Some staff and students have joint appointments with other departments or institutes, such as the Australian Astronomical Observatory (AAO) or CSIRO Astronomy & Space Science (CASS).

Astronomers

Name Position Email Location
Joanne Dawson Lecturer (joint with CASS), DECRA Fellow joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au E6B 2.404
Orsola De Marco Professor orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au E6B 2.706
David Coutts Associate Professor david.coutts@mq.edu.au E6B 2.714
Devika Kamath Senior Lecturer (joint with AAO ITSO) devika.kamath@mq.edu.au E6B 2.404
Richard McDermid Senior Lecturer, ARC Future Fellow (joint with AAO)richard.mcdermid@mq.edu.au E6B 2.603
Matt Owers Lecturer (joint with AAO),  ARC Future Fellow matt.owers@mq.edu.au E6B 2.703
Cormac PurcellLecturer in Radio Astronomycormac.purcell@mq.edu.auE6B 2.206
Christian Schwab Senior Lecturer, DECRA Fellow (joint with AAO)christian.schwab@mq.edu.au E6B 2.207
Lee Spitler Senior Lecturer (joint with AAO) lee.spitler@mq.edu.au E6B 2.605
Mark Wardle Professor, Research Centre Director mark.wardle@mq.edu.au E6B 2.702
Daniel Zucker Associate Professor (joint with AAO) daniel.zucker@mq.edu.au E6B 2.705

Postdoctoral Fellows

Name Position Email Location
Chengyuan Li Research Fellowchengyuan.li@mq.edu.au E6B 2.206
Birendra Pandey Research Fellow birendra.pandey@mq.edu.au E6B 2.206
Roberto Iaconi Research Associate roberto.iaconi@mq.edu.au E6B 2.205

Postgraduate Students

Name Position Email Location
Christina Baldwin PhD Student christina.baldwin@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Tui Britton PhD Student (Joint with CASS) tui.britton@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Michael Cowley PhD Student (Joint with AAO) michael.cowley@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Tiffany Day PhD Student tiffany.day@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Danica Draskovic PhD Student danica.draskovic@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Greg Goldstein PhD Student gregory.goldstein@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Erik Kool PhD Student erik.kool@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Andrew Lehmann PhD Student andrew.lehmann@mq.edu.au E6A 2.201
Daniel MacDonald PhD Student, in cotutelle with the University of Nice, France daniel.macdonald1@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Alessandro Maini PhD Student, with the University of Bologna, Italy alessandro.maini@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Stephen McAndrew PhD Student stephen.mcandrew@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Colin Navin PhD Student colin.navin@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Adriano Poci PhD Student adriano.poci@students.mq.edu.au  E6B 2.201
Glen Rees PhD Student glen.rees@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Thomas Reichardt PhD Student thomas.reichardt@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
James Tocknell PhD Student james.tocknell@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Shane Vickers PhD Student shane.vickers@mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Wilfred Gee MRes Stduent wilfred.gee@students.mq.edu.au E6B 2.201
Hiep Van Nguyen PhD Student van-hiep.nguyen@students.mq.edu.au

Honorary Associates

Name Position Email Location
Roy Allen Retired roy.allen@mq.edu.au E7A 322
Jeremy Bailey University of New South Wales j.bailey@unsw.edu.au UNSW
Joao Bento ANU joao.bento@mq.edu.au 
Howard Eric eric.howard@mq.edu.au 
Mike Ireland Future Fellow - ANU michael.ireland@mq.edu.au ANU
Borja Anguiano Jimenez borja.anguiano@mq.edu.au 
Alan Vaughan Retired alan.vaughan@mq.edu.au E7A 322

Alumni

Name Position
Roberto Iaconi PhD Student - 2016
Andreas Herzog PhD Stduent - 2016
Charles Cosgrove MRes Student - 2016
Carlos Bacigalupo PhD Student - 2016
Eric Howard PhD Student - 2015
Travis Stenborg PhD Student – 2015
Thomas Reichardt MRes Student - 2015
Adriano Poci
MRes Student - 2015
Sarah (Traine) Keith PhD Student – 2015
Niyas Madappattu Alikutty PhD Student - 2014
Nick Cvetojevic PhD Student – 2014
Ashkbiz Danehkar PhD Student – 2014
Dimitri Douchin PhD Student – 2014
Michael Fitzgerald PhD Student – 2014
David Gardner MRes Student – 2014
Elaina Hyde PhD Student -2014
Rajika (Reggie) Kuruwita MRes Student – 2014
Izabela Spaleniak PhD Student – 2014
Aaron Rizzuto PhD Student – 2014
Arik Mitschang PhD Student – 2014
Stacey Bright PhD Student – 2013
Anthony Conn PhD Student – 2013
Geraldine Marien MPhil Student – 2012
Richard Baxter MPhil Student – 2012
Nemanja Jovanovic PhD Student, PostDoc – 2012
Catherine Braiding PhD Student – 2011
Sarah Chamberlain PhD Student – 2011
Kyle DePew PhD Student  – 2011
Korinne McDonnell PhD Student – 2011
Duane Hamacher PhD Student – 2011
Andreas Ritter PhD Student – 2011
Anna Kovacevic PhD Student – 2011
Madusha Gunawardhana BSc(Hons) Student  – 2010
Andrew Smith MPhil Student – 2010
Brent Miszalski PhD Student – 2010
Ivan Bojiic PhD - 2009; Postdoc 2010-2014 (ARC SSF); IT specialist 2014-2015
David Frew PhD - 2008; Postdoc (MURF) 2010-2014
Daniel Cotton PhD Student (Adjunct) – 2008
John Ching BSc(Hons) Student – 2008
Milorad Stupar PhD - 2007; Postdoc 2007-2013 (Space to Grow and AAO)
Warren Reid PhD - 2007; Postdoc (MURF) 2007-2015
Rachel Moody PostDoc Student – 2006
Raquel Salmeron BSc(Hons) Student – 2006
Alan Peyaud PhD Student – 2005, PostDoc – 2009
Mark Pierce PhD Student – 2005
Shane Hengst BSc(Hons) Student – 2005
Daniel Hobbs BSc(Hons) Student  – 2004
Angela Mabee BSc(Hons) Student – 2004
Lesa Moore BSc(Hons) Student – 2003, MPhil – 2008

Association for Astronomy Staff

Name Position Email Location
Orsola De Marco Director orsola.demarco@mq.edu.au E6B 2.706
Adam Joyce Observatory Technical Officer adam.joyce@mq.edu.au E7B 214
Tash McFadden Administrator & Manager starinfo@mq.edu.au E6B 2.601

Administrative Staff

Name Position Email Location
Anne-Laurence Bibost Research Centre Administrator a.bibost@mq.edu.au E6B 2.602

Equity and diversity at MQAAAstro

MQAAAstro is committed to providing a safe and equitable workplace where all our members can flourish, regardless  of gender, ethnicity, disability and sexual preference. This commitment has been recognised with the awarding of a Bronze Pleiades Award. The Pleiades Awards recognise organisations in Australian astronomy encouraging full participation of women at all levels of professional life through the implementation of gender-friendly practices.

Back to the top of this page