Our people

Our people

Director of Centre

Professor Shawkat Alam

Dr Shawkat Alam is a Professor and Director of the Centre for Environmental Law at Macquarie Law School, Macquarie University. He has previously been an academic in the Law School at Dhaka University, and also taught at Rajshahi University, Bangladesh. Dr Alam holds an LLB (Honours) from Rajshahi University, an LLM from Dhaka University and a PhD from Macquarie University. Dr Alam's teaching and research expertise are in the areas of international law, international environmental law, international trade and sustainable development.

Advisory board

Name Position
 Professor Ben Boer Emeritus Professor at the University of Sydney
 Dr Nick BruntonAdvisory Board of Australian Centre for Climate Change and Environment Law at the University of Sydney
 Professor Peter NelsonProfessor of Environmental Studies at Macquarie University
 The Hon. Justice Brian Preston SCChief Judge of the Land and Environment Court in New South Wales
 Professor Benjamin J. RichardsonProfessor in the University of Tasmania’s Faculty of Law and the Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies
 Professor Qin TianbaoProfessor and Vice Dean, School of Law, Wuhan University, China

Centre members

  Name Research interests
 Hope Ashiabor
Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance
Associate Professor
E4A 311
T: (02) 9850 8457 
E: hope.ashiabor@mq.edu.au
  • Environmentally related taxes
  • The regulatory aspects of carbon finance
  • Energy law
  • International tax law and policy
 Carlos Bernal
Macquarie Law School
Associate Professor
W3A 625
T: (02) 9850 4090
E: carlos.bernal-pulido@mq.edu.au
  • Jurisprudence
  • Legal Theory
  • Comparative Constitutional Law
  • Human Rights
  • Torts

Andrew Burke
Macquarie Law School
Associate Lecturer
W3A 514
T: (02) 9850 7090
E: andrew.burke@mq.edu.au

  • Environmental crime
  • Land and Environment Court of NSW
  • Regulatory strategies for pollution control
 Dr Shireen Daft
Macquarie Law School
Associate Lecturer
W3A 541
T: (02) 9850 7022
E: shireen.daft@mq.edu.au
  • Non-state actors and international law
  • Domestic, international and transnational criminal justice
  • Human security and international law
  • Peace, international security and international law
  • Fragmentation of international law
  • International human rights and humanitarian law
Dr Kirsten Davies
Macquarie Law School
Lecturer and researcher
T: (02) 9850 8334
E: Kirsty.davies@mq.edu.au
  • Kastom (or traditional) Law in Vanuatu and its potential application to broader climate change legislative frameworks
 Dr. Peter Davies
Department of Environmental Sciences
Senior Lecturer
Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue L2
T: (02) 9850 7220
E: peter.davies@mq.edu.au
  • Sustainable land use and water planning: green cities, renewable energy generation, urban water management
  • Contamination and pollution
  • Urban development
  • Mining
 Mr Paul Govind
Macquarie Law School
Associate Lecturer
W3A 423
T: (02) 9850 7863
E: paul.govind@mq.edu.au
  • Climate change law
  • Human rights and the environment
  • Environmental finance and disaster risk management through environmental law and policy with a particular focus on the relationship between environmental sustainability, development and the reduction of poverty
 Muhammad Rafiqul Islam
Macquarie Law School
Professor of Law
W3A 444
T: (02) 9850 7082
E: rafiqul.islam@mq.edu.au
  • International Trade Law
  • Law of the World Trade Organization (WTO)
  • International Economic Law
  • International Law of Foreign Investment
  • Law of International Economic Institutions
  • International Commercial Law
  • International Commercial Arbitration
  • Public International Law
  • International Human Rights Law
  • Law of International Organizations
  • International Dispute Resolution
  • International Regulation of Terrorism and Counter-Terrorism
  • International Security Law
  • Constitutional Law of Bangladesh

Aline Jaeckel
Macquarie Law School
Research Fellow
W3A 515
T: (02) 9850 7867
E: aline.jaeckel@mq.edu.au

  • Natural resources
  • Emerging industries
  • Deep seabed mining
  • International organisations
  • International environmental law
  • Law of the sea
  • Cross-disciplinary approaches to environmental challenges
 Natalie Klein
Macquarie Law School
Professor & Dean
W3A 526
T: (02) 9850 9931
E: natalie.klein@mq.edu.au
  • Public international law
  • Particularly international dispute resolution
  • Law of the sea
  • International humanitarian law
  • International commercial arbitration
  • Investment disputes
 Zada Lipman
Macquarie Law School
Emeritus Professor
E: zada.lipman@mq.edu.au
  • Environmental Law
  • Especially pollution law
  • Planning law
  • Climate change and coastal adaptation law
  • Biodiversity law
 Dr. Vijaya Nagarajan
Macquarie Law School
Associate Professor
W3A 611
T: (02) 9850 7911
E: vijaya.nagarajan@mq.edu.au
  • Economic regulation in practice
  • Role of institutions in corporate governance
  • Spatiality of law
 Judith Preston
Macquarie Law School
Honorary Fellow
T: (02) 9850 7077
E: judith.preston@mq.edu.au
  • Public participation in environmental governance
  • Clinical legal education
  • Bio-cultural diversity protection
 Robert Stokes
Macquarie Law School
Honorary Fellow
W3A 429
T: (02) 9850 7052
E: robert.stokes@mq.edu.au
 Mark Taylor
Department of Environmental Sciences
E7A-12 Wally's Walk 631
T: (02) 9850 4221
E: mark.taylor@mq.edu.au
  • Environmental pollution
  • Risks to human health from aerosols, dusts, sediments, soil and water
 George Tomossy
Macquarie Law School
Senior Lecturer
W3A 510
T: (02) 9850 7865
E: george.tomossy@mq.edu.au
  • Research ethics and regulation
  • Health governance
  • Health/environment nexus
 Dr Alexander Zahar
Macquarie Law School
Senior Lecturer
W3A 441
T: (02) 9850 7077
E: alexander.zahar@mq.edu.au
  • International climate change law
  • International climate change finance

Associate members

  Name Research interests

Zara Bending
Macquarie Law School
Associate Lecturer
W3A 607
T: (02) 9850 6546
E: zara.bending@mq.edu.au

  • Environmental Law
  • Sustainable Development
  • Governance Theory
  • Criminology
  • Youth Justice
  • Domestic and Family Violence
  • Sociology
  • Health Law
  • Bioethics
 Guy Dwyer
E: guy.dwyer@mq.edu.au
  • The operation of administrative law in environmental decision-making
  • Environmental dispute resolution
  • Pollution law
  • Water law
  • Climate law
  Dr Mostafa M Naser
  • Refugee and migration law
  • Environmental law
  • Human rights
 Dr Pradip Royhan
W3A 439
T: (02) 9850 7099
E: pradip.royhan@mq.edu.au
  • International trade law
  • International environmental law
  • Environmental sustainability
  • Integrated public policy reform and development
Back to the top of this page