Our people

Our people

Centre Director

Associate Professor Gavin Brennen

Gavin Brennen joined the faculty in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Macquarie University in 2007 and is a CI in the ARC Centre for Excellence in Engineered Quantum Systems (EQuS). He leads a theory research group working on many body quantum information, topological phases and anyons, quantum simulation, and implementations of quantum technologies with AMO and superconducting systems. Gavin hails from Fairbanks, Alaska and did his PhD studies at the University of New Mexico, followed by work as a post-doc at NIST Gaithersburg, and Senior Scientist at IQOQI, Innsbruck.

Academic staff


NameContact Details

Juan Carlos Afonso
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Associate Professor in Geophysics
E7A-12 Wally's Walk 523
E: juan.afonso@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8298

Dominic Berry
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.408
E: dominic.berry@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 6370

Gavin Brennen
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.611
E: gavin.brennen@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4445

Louise Brown
Macquarie University Centre for Analytical Biotechnology
Senior Lecturer 

E8C-6 Wally's Walk 305
E: louise.brown@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8294

Yves De Deene
Department of Engineering
Professor
E6B Wally's Walk 1.125
E: yves.dedeene@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 9152

Alexei Gilchrist
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC CoE EQuS

E6A-9 Wally's Walk 2.610
E: alexei.gilchrist@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4443

Rich Mildren
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC Future Fellow, Winner of the 2017 Eureka prizes
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.606
E: rich.mildren@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8965

Michael Steel
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor, Head of Physics & Astronomy 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.713

E: michael.steel@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8916

Daniel Terno
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor 

C5C-17 Wally's Walk 349

E: daniel.terno@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 4162

Jason Twamley
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor; Chair, Quantum Information Science, CoE EQUS, MQRC QSCITECH 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.612

E: jason.twamley@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8908


Thomas Volz
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Lecturer 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609
E: thomas.volz@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8261

Lynne Cousins
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Centre Administrator, ARC CoE EQuS 

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2 613

E: lynne.cousins@mq.edu.au
T: +61 (2) 9850 8939

 Advisor Board

Prof. Jon Dowling (Louisiana State University)
Prof. Fedor Jelezko (Univ. of Ulm, Germany)
Dr. Luke Uribarri (Lockheed Martin Inc.)
Dave Wecker (Microsoft Inc.)
Ray O. Johnson (QxBranch)

Members

A/Prof Gavin Brennen, P & A
Dr. Juan Carlos Afonso, EPS
Dr. Dominic Berry (Future Fellow), P & A
Dr. Louise Brown, CBMS
Dr. James Cresser, P & A
Prof. Yves De Denne, Engineering
A/Prof Alexei Gilchrist, P & A
A/Prof Rich Mildren (Future Fellow), P & A 
A/Prof Craig O'Neill (Future Fellow), EPS
A/Prof Mike Steel, P & A
A/Prof Daniel Terno, P & A
Prof. Jason Twamley, P & A
Dr. Thomas Volz, P & A

Post-docs

Name Area of expertise
Mattias Johnsson
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406
E:mattias.johnsson@mq.edu.au
  • Bose Einstein condensates, particularly with regard to the creation of squeezed and entangled atomic states
  • Nitrogen and silicon vacancy systems, and their use in tests of decoherence and many body quantum mechanics
  • Development of quantum sensors, using BECs, NV centres in diamond, and opto- and magneto-mechanical systems, with a particular interest in gravimetry
  • Developing XMDS2, a fast and scalable open source software framework for the solution of coupled multidimensional partial differential equations, including stochastic variants
Valentina Baccetti
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.407
E:valentina.baccetti@mq.edu.au
  • Quantum mechanics and general relativity
  • Theoretical study of black hole physics and  information loss paradox
  • Thermodynamical aspects of general relativity
  • Interested in complexity science and its application to black hole physics
Shakib Daryanoosh
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.405
E:shakib.daryanoosh@mq.edu.au
  • Quantum thermodynamics
  • Quantum optics and information
  • Quantum metrology
Simon Devitt
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E:simon.devitt@mq.edu.au
  • Quantum computing and communications architectures.
  • Quantum software engineering
  • Quantum error correction and topological quantum computation
Miguel Ferreira
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406
E:miguel.ferreira@mq.edu.au
  • Topological quantum error connection
  • Topological field theories
  • Topological quantum codes
  •  Anyonic systems
  •  Holographic codes
Sarah Kaiser
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.404
E:sarah.kaiser@mq.edu.au
  • Quantum cryptography
  • Color centres in diamond
  • Scientific programming/Experimental control
Guillermo Munoz Matutano
Honorary Associate 
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.405
E: guillermo.munozmatutano@mq.edu.au
  • Single semiconductor nanostructre spectroscopy for first, second and third telecommunication windows. 
  • Science communication & popularization.
  • Quantum polaritonics with 1D semiconductors heterostructures.
  • Single photon experimental characterization for new fundamental quantum optics technologies.
Lachlan Rogers
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.404
E:lachlan.rogers@mq.edu.au
  • Diamond colour centres (nitrogen-vacancy, silicon-vacancy, germanium-vacancy, etc)
  • Single-emitter quantum optics, spin-photon interaction, quantum networks
  • Cryogenic solid-state spectroscopy, including single-atom confocal flourescence imaging
Yuval Sanders
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406
E:yuval.sanders@mq.edu.au
  • Analysis and Design of Quantum Computer Algorithms
  • Characterisation, Verification and Validation of Quantum Systems
Artur Scherer
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406
E:artur.scherer@mq.edu.au
  • Quantum Computing
  • Quantum Communications 
  • Quantum Optics
Mikolaj Schmidt
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.407
E:mikolaj.schmidt@mq.edu.au
  • Quantum optics in nanoscale systems
  • Plasmonic and dielectric micro cavities
  • Non-linear optics in waveguides
Xavier Vidal
Honorary Associate
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.407
E:xavier.vidal@mq.edu.au
  • Spectroscopy and microscopy on nanoscale

Students

Name                            Current research project  
Steward Connor
Master Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.437
E: steward.connor@mq.edu.au
Optical Measurements of Drug Release From Single Mesoporous Particles
Oliver Conquest
Master Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.437
E: oliver.conquest@mq.edu.au
Nano-scale Raman Thermometry of Diamond.
Daniel Blay
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.437
E: daniel.blay@mq.edu.au
Theory of frequency state translation and multi-colour interference in the quantum multimode regime.
Matthew Van Breugel
PhD Student 
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
 E: matthew.vanbreugel@mq.edu.au
Exploring coherence properties and collective effects in nanodiamonds containing color centers.
Stephen Dunn
Master Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: stephen.dunn@students.mq.edu.au
Magneto-Dynamic Control of Trapped Microsystems in Vacuum

Thomas Guff
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: thomas.guff@students.mq.edu.au

Quantum thermodynamics and quantum measurements.

Bryte Hagan
Master Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: bryte.hagan@students.mq.edu.au
Discretising Quantum Field Theory with Wavelets
Maria Kieferova
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: maria.kieferova@mq.edu.au
Quantum Optimization
Ian Nagle
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: ian.nagle@mq.edu.au  
Quantum Information and Gravity
Sarath Raman Nayer
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: sarath.raman.nair@mq.edu.au

Light-matter fiber-cavity interfaces with color centers in diamond: From single spin-single photon quantum interfaces with color centers in diamond: From single spin-single photon quantum interfaces to collective effects.

Reece Roberts
PhD Student 
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: reece.roberts@mq.edu.au
Enhancing Inertial Sensors using Laser Powered Levitated Quantum Diamonds.
Alexander Smith
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: alexander.smith@mq.edu.au 
Relativistic quantum reference frames
Andrew Wood
PhD Student
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.401
E: andrew.wood@students.mq.edu.au
Exploring the Physics of Mechanically Tunable Microcavity Polaritons

Visitors

DateNameLocation
10 September - 6 October 2017Dr Marco Ornigotti University of Rostock, Germany
06 August - 19 August 2017Prof Jon DowlingLouisiana State University, USA
2010-2017Distinguished visitor Prof. Gabriel Molina-TerrizaMaterial Physics Center CFM (UPV/EHU), Spain
04 March 2017 - 4 March 2018Dr James CresserUniversity of Glasgow, Scotland
15 February - December 2017Dr Jan Jeske RMIT University 
23 November – 18 December 2015Dr Alexia AuffevesFrench National Centre for Scientific Research, France
15 November -5 December 2015 A/Prof Sile Nic ChomaicOjinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
 15 November -5 December 2015 A/Prof Thomas BuschOjinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
 8 November – 18 December 2015 Dr Maxime RichardFrench National Centre for Scientific Research, France
18 October – 25 October 2015Prof Fedor JelezkoUniversity of Ulm, Germany
18 October – 25 October 2015Prof Jon DowlingLouisiana State University, USA
12 July – 25 July 2015Prof Jon DowlingLouisiana State University, USA
15 April 2016 - 15 Dec 2017Mr Nathan McMahonUniversity of Queensland, AUS
4-10 April & 1-12 July 2015Prof Rob MannUniversity of Waterloo Canada

Alumni

NameThesis titleYear of completion
Babatunde AyeniStudies of braided non-abelian anyons using anyonic tensor networksPhD 2017
Blay Daniel An integrated Raman-free photon sourceMRes 2015
Bradach CarloThe properties of nitrogen-vacancy centres in nanodiamondPhD 2012
Brodutch AharonLocality and the flow of quantum information PhD 2012
Buese Alexander Quantum control and measurments of plasmonic nanostructuresPhD 2016
Chaboyer Zachary Reconfigurable laser-written photonic circuits for non-classical opticsPhD 2017
Cirio Mauro Engineered quantum systems: magnetomechanics, quantum algorithms for statistical systems, and emergent many body phenomenaPhD 2014
Delanty Michael Collective effects in engineered quantum systemsPhD 2012
Demarie TomassoGeometrical and Topological Aspects of Quantum Information systemsPhD 2014
Facer ChrisQuantum master equations: classical noise, coarse graining , and heat exchangePhD 2014
Fernandez-Corbaton IvanHelicity and duality symmetry in light matter interactions: Theory and applications PhD 2012
Fraser Brandon Quantum Cellular AutomataBSc. Honours 2007
Freckleton J.A Multiparty Quantum Parrondo Game With Applications to Secure Computation BSc. Honours 2007
Gleeson RhiannonLight propagation in "slow light" moving media: a playground for exploring relativistic analogies in the laboratoryBSc. Honours 2008
Helt LukeTheoretical Integrated Quantum Optics Postdoc 2017
Inam FarazFundamental characterisation of nanodiamond NV centre spontaneous emissionPhD 2014
Javaherian Clara Quantum transport and switching in long-ranged coupled quantum systemsPhD 2016
Lehman Lauri Statistical effects in anyonic quantum walksPhD 2013
Linjordet TrondAdiabatic transition from cluster state to surface codeMS 2013
Lombardo DanielHybrid Quantum Systems in Cavity QED and Optomechanics MRES 2015
Meany ThomasLaser written integrated photonics for quantum information sciencePhD 2014
Motes Keith Routes Towards Optical Quantum Technology - New Architectures and ApplicationsPhD 2016
Paz-Silva GerardoOn quantum computing with reduced requirementsPhD 2011
Said RessaQuantum Information Processing Tasks and Applications in DiamondPhD 2011
Schoenfeldt JohannControl and Engineering of Optical Nonlinearilities in Multi-Level Quantum SystemsPhD 2011
Tabacchini AndreaExperimental implementations of multidimensional multi-photon statesPhD 2017
Tischler NoraTowards quantum metrology for nanoscatterersPhD 2016
Wood ChrisNon-completely positive maps: properties and applicationsBSc. Honours 2008
Dinani HosseinQuantum phase estimation in noisy systems PhD 2016
Back to the top of this page