Our people

Our people

Centre Director

Professor David Coutts

David Coutts (B.Sc. hons. Massey University 1987, Ph.D Macquarie University 1992) is Director of the MQ Photonics Research Centre and Deputy Associate Dean Research in the Faculty of Science and Engineering.




Academic staff (A-K)

 Name Contact details

Robert Carman
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Research Fellow

E6B 2.701
P: +61-2-9850-7058
E: robert.carman@mq.edu.au

Russell Connally
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Associate

E7B 235
P: +61-2-9850-8111
E: russell.connally@mq.edu.au 

David Coutts
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Associate Dean, Research,Director MQ Photonics Research Centre

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.714
E: david.coutts@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8970

Judith Dawes
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.708
E: judith.dawes@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8903

James Downes
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.710
E: james.downes@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8900

Alex Fuerbach
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Associate Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.608
E: alex.fuerbach@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6145

David Inglis
Department of Engineering
Lecturer

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 127
E: david.inglis@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9144

 

Stuart Jackson
Department of Engineering
Associate Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 1.123
E: stuart.jackson@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9137

Deb Kane
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.701

E: deb.kane@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8907

Academic staff (L-Z)

Jon Lawrence
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Fellow

E7A-12 Wally's Walk 203
E: jon.lawrence@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8901

Rich Mildren
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor, ARC Future Fellow

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.606

E: rich.mildren@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8965

Brian Orr
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Emeritus Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.208
E: brian.orr@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8289

Helen Pask
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow (formerly MQ VC Innovation Fellow)

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.607

E: helen.pask@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8932

Jim Piper
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Emeritus Professor

E6B 2.208
E: jim.piper@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6369

David Spence
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 2.709
E: david.spence@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8973 

Michael Steel
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor, Head of Physics & Astronomy

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.713
E: michael.steel@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8916

Graham Town
Department of Engineering
Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 1.33

E: graham.town@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9145

Thomas Volz
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Lecturer

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609
E: thomas.volz@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8261

Michael Withford
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Professor; Node Director CUDOS

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4 512
E: michael.withford@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-7056
 

Andrei Zvyagin
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 165

E: andrei.zvyagin@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-7760

Professional staff

 Name Contact details

Martin Ams
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Business Development Manager

Australian Hearing Hub 4.514
E: martin.ams@mq.edu.au
P: +61 (2) 9850 5044

Adam Joyce
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Scientific Officer

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 214

E: adam.joyce@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-1061

Anita Verinder
Centre for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS)
Administrator

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: anita.verinder@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8931

Postdoctoral staff

 Name Contact details

Alexander Arriola
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Associate in Astrophotonics

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: alex.arriola@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-5043

Peter Dekker
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: peter.dekker@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8927

Wei Deng
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC DECRA Research Fellow

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue
E: wei.deng@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-4479

Simon Gross
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: simon.gross@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-5021

Peter Ha
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 156
E: peter.ha@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-4167

Yabai He
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Honorary Fellow

F7B 011
E: yabai.he@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8311

Benjamin Johnston
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Laser Applications Engineer

W1A 04.511
E: benjamin.johnston@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8960

Andrew Lee
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 157
E: andrew.lee@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6203

Douglas Little
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Associate

C5A 417
E: douglas.little@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8115

Robert Williams
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Macquarie University Research Fellow

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 165
E: robert.williams@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8975

Students

StudentsThesis titleSupervisors
Shilun FENGDesign and Microfabrication of a Droplet-Based Microfluidic Probe for Sampling and DeliveryDavid William Inglis
James Mitchell WHITEOptofluidic Sorting of Ultra-Bright NanodiamondsDavid William Inglis
Fuyuan ZHANGPortable devices for food safety monitoringDavid William Inglis
Mst Fowzia AKHTERYb, Pr-co-doped ZBLAN and InF3 fibre laser for 3.6 µm to 4.2-µm emission in the mid-infraredStuart Dale Jackson
Md Ziaul AMINMode-locked and high power mid-infrared fibre lasersStuart Dale Jackson
Saurabh AwasthiLaser Supported Techniques for Conservation in Art and Cultural HeritageDeb Kane
Zhenxu BaiInvestigation and optimization of a Brillouin laser in diamondRich Mildren
Christopher BaldwinInvestigation of two-photon UV etching of diamond.Alex Fuerbach
Gayathri BharathanFemtosecond Laser-Written Intergrated Components for Future All-Fibre Mid-Infrared Laser SystemsMichael Withford
Daniel BlayTheory of Frequency State Translation and Multi-Colour Interference in the Quantum Mulitmode RegimeMichael Steel
Andrea De Lima RibeiroRaman spectroscopy as a remote sensing technique to determine sea water optical propertiesHelen Pask
Glen DouglassFemtosecond Laser written intefgrated astronomical spectrographsMichael Withford
Blake EntwisleLaser inhibition and activation studies of single neuron cellsMichael Withford
Jacob EvansRare-earth nitrides: Ferromagnetic Semiconductors with Spintronic Applications.James Downes
Saheed Oladipupo FasholaIntegrated mid-infrared femtosecond waveguide lasersAlex Fuerbach
Jemy GeordyDiamond nitrogen vacancy spins as engineered quantum sensorsThomas Volz
Bhuwan GhimireMicrofluidics as a tool for circulating tumor cells sorting and detectionJim Piper
Thomas GretzingerUltrafast laser inscribed mid-infrared astrophotonicsMichael Withford
Meng HeMND diagnostics and treatment with advanced imaging and targeted gene deliveryRoger Chung
Kashif IslamThe development of deep UV light sources for microscopy imaging and fluorescence spectroscopy of biological tissuesAlex Fuerbach
Zahra KhabirTransdermal penetration of photoluminescent nanoparticles in human skinAndrei Zvyagin
Muye LiSingle mode Raman lasers for wavelength conversionDavid Spence
Hangrui LiuHigh Throughput Single Cell Profiling Using Droplet MicrofluidicsJim Piper
Tushar Malika Nonlinear Dynamics of Long Cavity Semiconductor Lasers: A Study of Dynamical Regimes and Temporal EventsDeb Kane
Mojtaba MoshkaniNovel Plasmonic and Electronic Phenomena on DiamondRich Mildren
Nabomita Roy MuktySuperabsorption of light with colour centres in nanodiamondThomas Volz
Sarath Raman NairLight-matter fiber-cavity interfaces with color centers in diamond: From single spin-single photon quantum interfaces to collective effectsThomas Volz
Sobia Rehman3-D integrated photonioc devices for mode-locked all-fiber lasersAlex Fuerbach
Vlada RozovaMathematical modelling of tumour growth in tissue engineering constructsAndrei Zvyagin
Alexey RzhevskiyTargeted drug delivery in urologyAndrei Zvyagin
Adam SharpThe Characterisation of Deep-Ultraviolet Ultrafast Pulses by Active Synchronisation via Balanced Cross-CorrelationDavid Coutts
Fatima tuz ZahraDevelopment of Advanced Methods for Diamond Encapsulation and Heat Spreading;;Techniques for Biological ApplicationsJames Downes
Matthew van BreugelExploring coherence properties and collective effects in nanodiamonds containing color centerThomas Volz
Yan WangHigh throughput pathogen dectection using luminescence lifetime multiplexingJim Piper
Piotr WargockiSPAD arrays for fluorescence lifetime measurementDavid Spence
Michelle WhitfordInvestigation of Surface Corrosion in Egyptian Artefacts to Improve Conservation MethodsMichael Withford
Andrew WoodExploring the Physics of Mechanically Tunable Microcavity PolaritonsThomas Volz
Xuezong YangDiamond-Raman-Based 589 nm Laser for Sodium Guide StarRich Mildren
Kaixin ZhangNanosensor for biological applicationsAlex Fuerbach
Yameng ZhengDevelopment of the Laser sourcesHelen Pask
Back to the top of this page