Our people

Our people

Centre Director

Professor David Coutts

David Coutts (B.Sc. hons. Massey University 1987, Ph.D Macquarie University 1992) is Director of the MQ Photonics Research Centre and Deputy Associate Dean Research in the Faculty of Science and Engineering.




Centre Members (A-K)

 Name Contact details

Alexander Arriola
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Associate Mid IR
Australian Hearing Hub- 16 University Avenue 4.514
E: alex.arriola@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-5043
Darren Bagnall
Department of Engineering
Dean, Professor
E6B-7 Wally's Walk
E: darren.bagnall@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9071  

Robert Carman
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Research Fellow

E6B 2.701
P: +61-2-9850-7058
E: robert.carman@mq.edu.au

David Coutts
Associate Dean, Research,Director MQ Photonics Research Centre

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.714
E: david.coutts@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8970

Judith Dawes
Professor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.708
E: judith.dawes@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8903

James Downes
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.710
E: james.downes@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8900

Alex Fuerbach
Department of Physics and Astronomy Associate Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.608
E: alex.fuerbach@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6145

Simon Gross
Department of Physics and Astronomy
DECRA Fellow
Australian Hearing Hub -16 University Avenue 4.514                 E: simon.gross@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-5021

David Inglis
School of Engineering
Lecturer

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 127
E: david.inglis@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9144

 

Stuart Jackson
School of Engineering
Associate Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 1.123
E: stuart.jackson@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9137

Deb Kane
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.701

E: deb.kane@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8907

Centre Members (L-Z)

Andrew Lee
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Fellow
E: andrew.lee@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-98506203

Douglas Little
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Lecturer
6 Science Road, Room 315
E: douglas.little@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8115

Rich Mildren
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor, ARC Future Fellow

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.606

E: rich.mildren@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8965

Brian Orr
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Emeritus Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.208
E: brian.orr@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8289

Helen Pask
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ARC Future Fellow (formerly MQ VC Innovation Fellow)

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.607

E: helen.pask@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8932 or +61-2-9850-8311

Jim Piper
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Emeritus Professor

E6B 2.208
E: jim.piper@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6369 or +61-2-9850-8311

David Spence
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Professor

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 2.709
E: david.spence@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8973 

Christian Schwab
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Lecturer
DECRA Fellow
E6B - 7 Wally's Walk 2.207
E: christian.schwab@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-6288

Michael Steel
Professor, Head of Physics & Astronomy

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.713
E: michael.steel@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8916

Graham Town
Department of Engineering
Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 1.33

E: graham.town@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-9145

Thomas Volz
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor

E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.609
E: thomas.volz@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8261

Robert Williams
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Lecturer
E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 165
E: robert.williams@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8975

Michael Withford
Distinguished Professor (CORE)

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4 512
E: michael.withford@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-7056
 

Andrei Zvyagin
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Associate Professor (CORE)

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 165

E: andrei.zvyagin@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-7760

AAO Members

 NameContact details

Simon Ellis
Australian Astronomical Optics
Instrument Science Manager                                                                               
E: simon.ellis@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9372-4845

Michael Goodwin
Australian Astronomical Optics
Instrument Scientist
E: michael.goodwin@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9372-4851

Anthony Horton
Australian Astronomical Optics   
Instrument Scientist
E: anthony.horton@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9372-4847

Jon Lawrence    
Australian Astronomical Optics
Head of Technology
E: jon.lawrence@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9372-4853

Professional staff

 Name Contact details

Martin Ams
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Business Development Manager

Australian Hearing Hub 4.514
E: martin.ams@mq.edu.au
P: +61 (2) 9850 5044

Anne-Laurence Bibost
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Research Centre Administrator   
E6B-7 Wally's Walk 2.406 
E: a.bibost@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-7117
Peter Dekker
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Scientific Officer
Australian Hearing Hub 4.514
E: peter.dekker@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8927

Peter Ha
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ANFF Facility Manager

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 156
E: peter.ha@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-4167

Benjamin Johnston
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Laser Applications Engineer
Australian Hearing Hub 4.511
E: benjamin.Johnston@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8960

Adam Joyce
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Senior Scientific Officer

E7B-14 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Avenue 214

E: adam.joyce@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-1061

Anita Verinder
Administrator (ANFF Node)

Australian Hearing Hub-16 University Avenue 4.514
E: anita.verinder@mq.edu.au
P: +61-2-9850-8931

Higher degree research students

StudentsThesis title
Shilun Feng
PhD Student
Department of Engineering
E: shilun.feng@students.mq.edu.au
Design and Microfabrication of a Droplet-Based Microfluidic Probe for Sampling and Delivery
James White
PhD Student
Department of Engineering 
E: james.white1@students.mq.edu.au
Optofluidic Sorting of Ultra-Bright Nanodiamonds
Fuyuan Zhang
PhD Student
Department of Engineering
E: fuyuan.zhang1@students.mq.edu.au
Portable devices for food safety monitoring
Mst Fowzia Akhter
PhD student
Department of Engineering
Emst-fowzia.akhter@students.mq.edu.au
Yb, Pr-co-doped ZBLAN and InF3 fibre laser for 3.6 µm to 4.2-µm emission in the mid-infrared
Md Ziaul Amin
PhD Student
Department of Engineering
E: md-ziaul.amin1@students.mq.edu.au   
Mode-locked and high power mid-infrared fibre lasers
Saurabh Awasthi
PhD student
Department of Physics & Astronomy
E: saurabh.awasthi@students.mq.edu.au
Laser Supported Techniques for Conservation in Art and Cultural Heritage
Zhenxu Bai
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: zhenxu.bai@students.mq.edu.au
Investigation and optimization of a Brillouin laser in diamond
Christopher Baldwin
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: christopher.baldwin@students.mq.edu.au
Investigation of two-photon UV etching of diamond
Gayathri Bharathan
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: gayathri.bharathan@students.mq.edu.au
Femtosecond Laser-Written Intergrated Components for Future All-Fibre Mid-Infrared Laser Systems
Saurabh Bhardwaj
PhD student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: saurabh.bhardwaj@students.mq.edu.au
Smart design and Optimisation of 3D optical waveguide for Astronomy and Quantum Science
Daniel Blay
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: daniel.blay@mq.edu.au
Theory of Frequency State Translation and Multi-Colour Interference in the Quantum Mulitmode Regime
Andrea De Lima Ribeiro
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: andrea.ribeiro@students.mq.edu.au
Raman spectroscopy as a remote sensing technique to determine sea water optical properties
Glen Douglas
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: glen.douglass@students.mq.edu.au
Femtosecond Laser written intefgrated astronomical spectrographs
Blake Entwisle
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: blake.entwisle@students.mq.edu.au
Laser inhibition and activation studies of single neuron cells
Jacob Evans
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: jacob.evans@mq.edu.au
Rare-earth nitrides: Ferromagnetic Semiconductors with Spintronic Applications.
Saheed Oladipupo Fashola
PhD student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: saheed-oladipupo.fashola@students.mq.edu.au
Integrated mid-infrared femtosecond waveguide lasers
Jemy Geordy
MRES Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: jemy.geordy@students.mq.edu.au
Diamond nitrogen vacancy spins as engineered quantum sensors
Bhuwan Ghimire
MRES Student
Physics & AStronomy Department
E: bhuwan.ghimire@students.mq.edu.au
Microfluidics as a tool for circulating tumor cells sorting and detection
Thomas Gretzinger
PhD student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: thomas.gretzinger@students.mq.edu.au
Ultrafast laser inscribed mid-infrared astrophotonics
Meng He
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: meng.he@students.mq.edu.au
MND diagnostics and treatment with advanced imaging and targeted gene delivery
Kashif Islam
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: kashif.islam@students.mq.edu.au
The development of deep UV light sources for microscopy imaging and fluorescence spectroscopy of biological tissues
Zahra Khabir
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: zahra.khabir@students.mq.edu.au
Transdermal penetration of photoluminescent nanoparticles in human skin
Muye Li
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: muye.li@students.mq.edu.au
Single mode Raman lasers for wavelength conversion
Hangrui Liu
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: hangrui.liu@students.mq.edu.au
High Throughput Single Cell Profiling Using Droplet Microfluidics
Tushar Malica
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: tushar.malica@students.mq.edu.au
Nonlinear Dynamics of Long Cavity Semiconductor Lasers: A Study of Dynamical Regimes and Temporal Events
Mojtaba Moshkani
PhD Student
Physics and Astronomy Department
E: mojtaba.moshkani@mq.edu.au
Novel Plasmonic and Electronic Phenomena on Diamond
Nabomita Roy Mukty
MRES Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: nabomita-roy.mukty@students.mq.edu.au
Superabsorption of light with colour centres in nanodiamond
Sarath Raman Nair
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy  Department
E: sarath.raman-nair@students.mq.edu.au
Light-matter fiber-cavity interfaces with color centers in diamond: From single spin-single photon quantum interfaces to collective effects
Sobia Rehman
MRES Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: sobia.rehman@students.mq.edu.au
3-D integrated photonioc devices for mode-locked all-fiber lasers
Vlada Rozova
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: vlada.rozova@students.mq.edu.au  
Mathematical modelling of tumour growth in tissue engineering constructs
Alexey Rzhevskiy
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: alexey.rzhevskiy@students.mq.edu.au
Targeted drug delivery in urology
Adam Sharp
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: adam.sharp@students.mq.edu.au
The Characterisation of Deep-Ultraviolet Ultrafast Pulses by Active Synchronisation via Balanced Cross-Correlation
Fatima tuz Zahra
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: fatima-tuz-zahra.fatima-tuz@students.mq.edu.au
Development of Advanced Methods for Diamond Encapsulation and Heat Spreading;;Techniques for Biological Applications
Matthew van Breugel
PhD Student
Phyiscs & Astronomy Department
E: matthew.vanbreugel@mq.edu.au
Exploring coherence properties and collective effects in nanodiamonds containing color center
Yan Wang
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: yan.wang24@students.mq.edu.au
High throughput pathogen dectection using luminescence lifetime multiplexing
Piotr Wargocki
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: piotr.wargocki@mq.edu.au
SPAD arrays for fluorescence lifetime measurement
Michelle Whitford
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: michelle.whitford@mq.edu.au
Investigation of Surface Corrosion in Egyptian Artefacts to Improve Conservation Methods
Andrew Wood
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: andrew.wood@students.mq.edu.au
Exploring the Physics of Mechanically Tunable Microcavity Polaritons
Xuezong Yang
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department 
E: xuezong.yang@students.mq.edu.au  
Diamond-Raman-Based 589 nm Laser for Sodium Guide Star
Kaixin Zhang
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: kaixin.zhang@students.mq.edu.au
Nanosensor for biological applications
Yameng Zheng
PhD Student
Physics & Astronomy Department
E: yameng.zheng@students.mq.edu.au 
Development of the Laser sources
Back to the top of this page