Our people

Our people

The Biomolecular Discovery and Design Research Centre sits across seven departments, with the Management Committee based in the Department of Molecular Sciences. Membership of the centre is focused on collaboration across departments and faculties through individuals who can contribute to achieving the aims of the Centre.

The Science Advisory Board meets bi-annually. Members include:

  • Mr Andrew Gilbert, BioPlatforms Australia (Chair)
  • Dr Brad Walsh, CEO Minomic
  • Professor Marc Wilkins, Director of Ramaciotti Centre for Genomics, UNSW
  • Professor Mark Molloy, Sydney Medical School, RNSH

Management committee

Nicki Packer

Director, Biomolecular Discovery and Design

Distinguished Professor Nicki Packer

Formerly Executive Vice President of the biotechnology company Proteome Systems, Nicki was part of the team that set up the Australian Proteome Analysis Facility at Macquarie. She is a senior editor of Proteomics and holds several patents in glycobiology.

Ian Paulsen

Deputy Director, Biomolecular Discovery and Design

Distinguished Professor Ian Paulsen

An expert in genomics, Ian worked for several years as an investigator for the Institute for Genomic Research in the US, where he led the sequencing of many microbial genomes. He is an ISI Highly Cited Researcher and holds a NSW Life Science Research Award at Macquarie.

Paul Haynes

Director, ITTC

Professor Paul Haynes

Before joining Macquarie, Paul pursued a research career in the US, including working at the Rockefeller University in New York, and as Associate Professor at the University of Arizona. In 2006 he took up a New South Wales Government Biofirst Fellowship.

Morten Thaysen-Andersen

Senior Research Fellow

Dr Morten Thaysen-Andersen

Morten obtained his PhD in analytical glycobiology in 2009 from University of Southern Denmark. He has since been awarded several postdoctoral fellowships at Macquarie University with funding from the Danish and Australian Research Council and Cancer Institute NSW. He now leads the Analytical Glycoimmunology Group.

Sasha Tetu

Senior Lecturer, DECRA Fellow

Dr Sasha Tetu

Sasha is a molecular microbiologist and DECRA Fellow at Macquarie University. Her research utilises a variety of 'omics' techniques to better understand the biology of microorganisms involved in disease, industrial and agricultural processes.



Member Organisational unit
Professor Brian Atwell Dept of Biological Sciences (Biology)
Associate Professor Andrew Barron Biology
Associate Professor Paul Beggs Dept of Environmental Sciences
Emeritus Professor Peter Bergquist MolSci
Associate Professor Louise Brown MolSci
Associate Professor Jennifer CornishDepartment of Psychology
Professor Roger ChungFaculty of Medicine and Health Sciences (FMHS)
Professor Yves De DeeneSchool of Engineering
Dr Alfonso Garcia-BennettMolSci
Professor Michael GillingsBiology
Associate Professor Ann GoodchildFMHS - ASAM
Professor Gilles GuilleminFMHS - ASAM
Dr Jennifer HallinanBiology
Professor Grant HoseBiology
Dr Paul JaschkeMolSci
Associate Professor Bridget MabbuttMolSci
Professor David RaftosBiology
Professor Shoba RanganathanMolSci
Professor Alison RodgerMolSci
Dr Georgy SofronovDepartment of Statistics
Associate Professor Anwar SunnaMolSci
Dr Sasha TetuMolSci
Associate Professor Koushik VenkatesanMolSci
Dr Yuling WangMolSci
Dr Morten Thaysen-AndersenMolSci
Professor Robert WillowsMolSci
Back to the top of this page