Health analytics

Health analytics

The unprecedented availability of digital biomedical data and enabling technology to collect, store and analyse this data, has just started to transform health care from traditional models to learning health care systems, where research and practice are integrated in a sustained manner. These new learning health care systems require new methods where analytics are performed in real time at the point-of-care. At the Health Analytics Lab at AIHI, we are designing, developing and testing such models so that they can be implemented in future Electronic Health Record systems.

Our core strength lies in the combination of deep analytic and computing theory and methods with understanding of clinical decision support systems. This enables us to advance the scientific knowledge of health analytics while translating our research. We welcome researchers, clinicians and students who wish to pursue excellence in analytics and technology and share a common interest in health informatics.

For more information or to join our team

Contact Dr Blanca Gallego-Luxan, blanca.gallegoluxan@mq.edu.au+61 2 9850 2435

Stream Team Members

Blanca Gallego Luxan

Associate Professor

blanca.gallegoluxan@mq.edu.au

Thierry Wendling

Research Fellow

thierry.wendling@mq.edu.au

William Tong

Post-Doctoral Research Fellow

william.tong@mq.edu.au

Georgina Kennedy

PhD Candidate and Research Assistant

georgina.kennedy@hdr.mq.edu.au

Mohamed Khalifa

PhD Candidate and Research Assistant

mohamed.khalifa@hdr.mq.edu.au

Elliott (Jie) Zhu

PhD Candidate

elliott.zhu@mq.edu.au

Maisie Lee

Intern

maisie.lee@mq.edu.au

Selected Stream Projects

Real-time prediction of remaining days of hospitalisation, readmission and death
Enabling personalised cohort studies at the point-of-care
Temporal Patterns of Patient Safety and Quality of Care

Content owner: Australian Institute of Health Innovation Last updated: 10 Sep 2018 12:01pm

Back to the top of this page