HDR academic advice

HDR academic advice

Please note: the below is for HDR academic advisors only

For undergraduate and postgraduate academic advice, visit our Academic and program advisers page.

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Dr Noah Bassil
+61-2-9850-8811
Faculty MRes Director Dr Linda Evans linda.evans@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8802
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Maryanne Hozijan maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4238
General Enquiries - PhD & MPhil Faculty HDR Office arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries - MRes & BPhil         Faculty HDR Office arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Ancient History
Head of Department

Dr Ian Plant

+61-2-9850-8880

HDR Director Dr Caillan Davenport +61-2-9850-8754
HDR Director Associate Professor Boyo Ockinga +61-2-9850-8852
MRes Director Dr Gunner Mikkelsen

gunner.mikkelsen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8868

MRes Director Dr Peter Edwell
+61-2-9850-8845
Anthropology
Head of Department Associate Professor Lisa Wynn +61-2-9850-8095
HDR Director Associate Professor Kalpana Ram
+61-2-9850-8016
MRes Director Associate Professor Chris Houston
+61-2-9850-8471
MRes Director Dr Jaap Timmer
jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8077
English
Head of Department
Professor Antonina Harbus
HDR Director
Associate Professor Marcelle Freiman
marcelle.freiman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6892
MRes Director
Associate Professor Paul Sheehan
paul.sheehan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8757
MRes Director
Dr Stephanie Russo (returns 4 Jan 2019)
stephanie.russo@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8731
Geography and Planning
Head of Department Professor Claudio Minca
+61-2-9850-9780
HDR Director Associate Professor Sandra Suchet-Pearson +61-2-9850-8393
MRes Director Dr Emily O'Gormanemily.ogorman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9670
Indigenous Studies
Head of Department Professor Bronwyn Carlson +61-2-9850-8891
HDR Director Dr Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6751
MRes Director Dr Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6751 
International Studies
Head of Department Associate Professor Ulrike Garde +61-2-9850-7051
HDR Director Dr Kevin Carrico +61-2-9850-7692
MRes Director (Acting) Dr Thomas Baudinette tom.baudinette@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8813
Macquarie Law School
School Dean Professor Marc De Vos +61-2-9850-9931
HDR Director Professor Rafiqul Islam  rafiqul.islam@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7062
MRes Director
Dr Amy Barrow
+61-2-9850-7810
Media, Music, Communication & Cultural Studies (MMCCS)
Head of Department
Professor Nicole Anderson
+61-2-9850-2258
HDR Director
Dr Anthony Lambert
+61-2-9850-2148
MRes Director Professor John Potts john.potts@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2163
Modern History, Politics and International Relations 
Head of Department Professor Chris Dixon +61-2-9850-6808
HDR Director Dr Alison Holland +61-2-9850-8829
MRes Director (Modern History) Associate Professor Tanya Evans tanya.evans@mq.edu.au 
+61-2-9850-8875
MRes Director (Politics & IR) Dr Lloyd Cox lloyd.cox@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4096
Philosophy
Head of Department

Associate Professor Richard Menary

+61-2-9850-6896
HDR Director Dr Albert Atkin       +61-2-9850-6880
MRes Director

Dr Adam Hochman

adam.hochman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8859

Security Studies and Criminology 
Head of Department Professor Ben Schreer +61-2-9850-1423
HDR Director Dr Allon Uhlmann
+61-2-9850-1449
MRes Director Dr Allon Uhlmann
+61-2-9850-1449
Sociology
Head of Department
Professor Gabrielle Meagher
+61-2-9850-8747
HDR Director Associate Professor Amanda Wise +61-2-9850-8835
HDR Director
Dr Kumiko Kawashima
+61-2-9850-7943
MRes Director Dr Justine Lloyd justine.lloyd@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9940
MRes Director Dr Raj Velayutham selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4426

Faculty of Business and Economics

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Vito Mollica+61-2-9850-9097
MRes DirectorAssociate Professor Vito Mollica
+61-2-9850-9097
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Lin Bai lin.bai@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4818
General EnquiriesFaculty HDR Office+61-2-9850-1811
Accounting and Corporate Governance
Head of Department
Associate Professor Rahat Munir
+61-2-9850-4765
HDR Director
Professor Kevin Baird
+61-2-9850-8532
MRES AdvisorDr Michael Quiltermichael.quilter@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8456
Actuarial Studies and Business Analytics
Head of Department
Professor David Pitt
+61-2-9850-8455
HDR Director

Dr Jiwook Jang

+61-2-9850-8575
MRES Advisor Ms Shauna Ferris shauna.ferris@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7294
Applied Finance
Head of DepartmentProfessor Tom Smithtom.smith@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4761
HDR DirectorDr Jianlei Hanjianlei.han@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8538
MRES Advisor Dr Jianlei Hanjianlei.han@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8538
Economics
Head of Department

Professor Lisa Magnani

+61-2-9850-4829
HDR Director

Associate Professor Pundarik Mukhopadhaya

+61-2-9850-6476
MRES AdvisorAssociate Professor Tony Bryant tony.bryant@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8465
Management
Head of Department

Professor  Grant Michelson

+61-2-9850-4824
HDR Director

Associate Professor Denise Jespen

+61-2-9850-4805
MRES AdvisorAssociate Professor Yue Wangyue.wang@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8513
Marketing
Head of Department

Professor Aron O'Cass

aron.ocass@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8558
HDR DirectorAssociate Professor Ralf Wilden
+61-2-9850-1413
MRes AdvisorDr Abas Mirzaeiabas.mirzaei@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8560

Faculty of Human Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Jennifer Cornishjennifer.cornish@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-1185
MRes DirectorAssociate Professor Annabelle Lukinannabelle.lukin@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8607
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Robyn Bishop+61-2-9850-8749
General EnquiriesFaculty HDR Officefohs.hdr@mq.edu.au 
+61-2 9850 8063
Cognitive Science
Head of Department

Professor Genevieve McArthur

+61-2-9850-9162
Department Administrator

Ms Lesley McKnight

+61-2-9850-9599
HDR Director

Associate Professor Paul Sowman

+61-2-9850-6732
BPhil/MRes Advisor

Associate Professor Paul Sowman

paul.sowman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6732
Educational Studies
Head of Department

Professor Mary Ryan

+61-2-9850-8059
HDR Director

Dr Neil Harrison

+61-2-9850-8716
BPhil/MRes AdvisorDr Anne McMaughanne.mcmaugh@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8663
Linguistics
Head of Department

Associate Professor Jan-Louis Kruger

+61-2-9850-1467
HDR Director

Associate Professor Mridula Sharma

mridula.sharma@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4863
MRes Year 2 Advisor

Associate Professor Mridula Sharma

mridula.sharma@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4863
BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor Dr Cassi Liardetcassi.liardet@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6704
BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor (Acting 2018)

Dr Jill Murray

+61-2-9850-9605
Psychology
Head of Department

Professor Erik Reichle

+61-2-9850-8015
HDR Director (Co Director)

Associate Professor Cathy McMahon

+61-2-9850-6213
HDR Director (Co Director)

Associate Professor Kevin Brooks

+61-2-9850-7796
PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology

Associate Professor Maria Kangas

+61-2-9850-8599
PhD/Master of Clinical   Neuropsychology

Dr Jennifer Batchelor

jennifer.batchelor@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8012
PhD/Master Organisational Psychology

Associate Professor Barbara Griffin

barbara.griffin@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9012
BPhil/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Simon Boag simon.boag@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8024

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research  Associate Professor Tracy Rushmer +61-2-9850-8366
Deputy Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research 

Associate Professor Subramanyam Vemulpad

+61-2-9850-9385
MRes Director Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt bridget.mabbutt@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8282
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Jane Yang jane.yang@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4427
General Enquiries Faculty HDR Office sci.hdradm@mq.edu.au 
Biological Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Michelle Leishman

+61-2-9850-9180
HDR Director

Associate Professor Culum Brown

+61-2-9850-6292
MRes Advisor

Associate Professor Grant Hose

grant.hose@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6296
Department of Molecular Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Alison Rodger

+61-2-9850-8264
HDR Director

Professor Paul Haynes

+61-2-9850-6258
MRes Advisor Dr Louise Brown louise.brown@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8294
Chiropractic
Head of Department

DC Rosemary Giuriato

+61-2-9850-6992
HDR Director

Prof Simon French

+61-2-9850-6383
MRes Advisor Mrs Stephanie Marhoff-Beard (Y1)
Prof Simon French (Y2)
stephanie.marhoff-beard@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6937
Computing
Head of Department

Professor Michael Sheng

+61-2-9850-9514
HDR Director

Associate Professor Yan Wang

+61-2-9850-9539
MRes Advisors Associate Professor Mark Dras mark.dras@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9580
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Head of Department

Dr Juan Carlos Afonso (Acting)

+61-2-9850-8298
HDR Director

A/Prof Elena Belousova

+61-2-9850-6126
MRes Advisor Dr Steven Hansen (Y1)
Associate Professor Nathan Daczko (Y2)
steven.hansen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8166
nathan.daczko@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8371
School of Engineering
Dean of School

Professor Darren Bagnall

+61-2-9850-9071
HDR Director

Associate Professor Stuart Jackson

+61-2-9850-9137
MRes Advisor

Dr Sammy Diasinos

sammy.diasinos@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9146
MRes Advisor Associate Professor Sam Reisenfeld
+61-2-9850-6002
Environmental Sciences
Head of Department

Associate Professor Peter Davies (Acting)

+61-2-9850-7220
HDR Director

Associate Professor Paul Beggs

+61-2-9850-8399
MRes Advisors Dr Kevin Cheung (Y1)
Dr Katherine Dafforn (Y2)
kevin.cheung@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6979
katherine.dafforn@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7979
Mathematics and Statistics
Head of Department

Professor Jim Denier

+61-2-9850-8956
HDR Director Professor Xuan Duong (Math)
Associate Professor Jun Ma (Statistics)
MRes Advisor Dr Adam Sikora (Math)
Dr Tania Prvan (Statistics)        
adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8919
tania.prvan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8561
Physics and Astronomy
Head of Department

Professor Michael Steel

+61-2-9850-8916
HDR Director

Associate Professor Alex Fuerbach

+61-2-9850-6145
MRes Advisor (Year 1) Dr Cormac Purcell 
A/Prof Gavin Brennen
cormac.purcell@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8904
Gavin.Brennen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4445
MRes Advisor (Year 2) Dr Joanne Dawson joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8901

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Professor Mark Connormark.connor@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2719
MRes DirectorDr Jennifer Rowlandjen.rowland@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2738
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Tania Kinanetania.kinane@mq.edu.au
General EnquiriesMs Viviana Bong, HDR Officerfmhs.hdr@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4531
Australian Institute of Health Innovation
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Andrew Georgiouandrew.georgiou@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2424
Biomedical Sciences
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorDr Dane Turner+61-2-9850-2754
Clinical Medicine
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Professor Stuart Grahamstuart.graham@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4000
Health Professions
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Mark Hancock mark.hancock@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6622
Health Systems and Populations
HDR DirectorDr Josephine Chau+61-2-9850-2302
  
Back to the top of this page