HDR academic advice

HDR academic advice

Please note: the below is for HDR academic advisors only

For undergraduate and postgraduate academic advice, visit our Academic and program advisers page.

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Dr Noah Bassil
Faculty MRes Director Dr Linda Evans linda.evans@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Maryanne Hozijan maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries - PhD & MPhil Faculty HDR Office arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries - MRes & BPhil         Faculty HDR Office arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Ancient History
Head of Department

Professor Ray Laurence

HDR Director

Dr Alexandra Woods

HDR Director (Acting)

Dr Danijel Dzino

MRes Director [Year 2 - MRes] Dr Gunner Mikkelsen


MRes Director [Year 1 - BPhil] Dr Ian Plant
Head of Department Associate Professor Chris Houston +61-2-9850-8471
HDR Director Associate Professor Kalpana Ram
MRes Director Dr Jaap Timmer
School of Education
School DeanProfessor Mary Ryan
HDR DirectorDr Shirley Wyver
MRes DirectorDr Hye-Eun Chuhye-eun.chu@mq.edu.au
Head of Department
Associate Professor Hsu-Ming Teo
HDR Director
Dr Geoff Payne
MRes Director
Dr Stephanie Russo
Geography and Planning
Head of DepartmentAssociate Professor Kristian Ruming
HDR Director Dr Fiona Miller +61-2-9850-8425
MRes Director Dr Emily O'Gormanemily.ogorman@mq.edu.au
Indigenous Studies
Head of Department Professor Bronwyn Carlson +61-2-9850-8891
HDR Director Dr Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
MRes Director Dr Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
International Studies
Head of Department Dr Jane Hanley +61-2-9850-6885
HDR Director Dr Marika Kalyuga +61-2-9850-7016
MRes Director Dr Thomas Baudinette tom.baudinette@mq.edu.au
Macquarie Law School
School DeanProfessor Marc De Vos +61-2-9850-9931
HDR Director (Acting)
Dr Amy Barrow
MRes Director
Dr Amy Barrow
Media, Music, Communication & Cultural Studies (MMCCS)
Head of Department
Professor Nicole Anderson
HDR Director
Dr Anthony Lambert
MRes Director Professor John Potts john.potts@mq.edu.au
Modern History, Politics and International Relations 
Head of Department Professor Chris Dixon +61-2-9850-6808
HDR DirectorDr Lavina Lee
MRes Director (Modern History) Associate Professor Kate Fullagarkate.fullagar@mq.edu.au 
MRes Director (Politics & International Relations) Dr Adele Garnier adele.garnier@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Richard Menary

HDR Director Dr Albert Atkin       +61-2-9850-6880
MRes Director

Associate Professor Paul Formosa


Security Studies and Criminology 
Head of Department Professor Ben Schreer +61-2-9850-1423
HDR Director Dr Allon Uhlmann
MRes Director Dr Allon Uhlmann
Head of Department
Associate Professor Ben Spies-Butcher
HDR Director Dr Hang Young Lee +61-2-9850-4114
HDR Director
Dr Kumiko Kawashima
MRes Director [Year 2 - MRes] Dr Raj Velayutham selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au
MRes Director [Year 1 - BPhil]Dr Harry Blattererharry.blatterer@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Human Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Jennifer Cornishjennifer.cornish@mq.edu.au
MRes DirectorDr Anne McMaughanne.mcmaugh@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Robyn Bishop+61-2-9850-8749
General EnquiriesFaculty HDR Officefohs.hdr@mq.edu.au 
+61-2 9850 8063
Cognitive Science
Head of Department

Professor Genevieve McArthur

Department Administrator

Ms Lesley McKnight

HDR Director

Associate Professor Paul Sowman

BPhil/MRes Advisor

Associate Professor Paul Sowman

Educational Studies
Head of Department

Professor Mary Ryan

HDR Director

Dr Shirley Wyver

BPhil/MRes AdvisorDr Hye-Eun Chuhye-eun.chu@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Associate Professor Jan-Louis Kruger

HDR Director

Associate Professor Annabelle Lukin

MRes Year 2 Advisor

Dr Cassi Liardet

BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor Dr Cassi Liardetcassi.liardet@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Erik Reichle

HDR Director (Co Director)

Dr Lorna Peters

HDR Director (Co Director)

Associate Professor Kevin Brooks

PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology

Dr Carolyn Schniering

PhD/Master of Clinical   Neuropsychology

A/Prof Jennifer Batchelor

PhD/Master Organisational Psychology

Dr Ben Searle

BPhil/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Simon Boagsimon.boag@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research  Associate Professor Tracy Rushmer +61-2-9850-8366
Deputy Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research 

Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt

MRes Director Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt bridget.mabbutt@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Jane Yang jane.yang@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries Faculty HDR Office sci.hdradm@mq.edu.au 
Biological Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Michelle Leishman

HDR Director

Associate Professor Culum Brown

MRes Advisor

Dr Matthew Kosnik (Y1)

Dr Ajay Narendra (Y2)

Department of Molecular Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Alison Rodger

HDR Director

Professor Paul Haynes

MRes Advisor A/Prof Louise Brown (Y1)
Dr Morten Andersen (Y2)
Head of Department

DC Rosemary Giuriato

HDR Director

Dr Roger Engel

MRes Advisor Prof Simon Frenchsimon.french@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Michael Sheng

HDR Director

Associate Professor Mark Dras

MRes Advisors Dr Young Lee
Dr Matthew Roberts
Earth and Environmental Sciences
Head of Department

Associate Professor Peter Davies (Acting)

HDR Director

A/Prof Paul Beggs

MRes Advisor Dr Steven Hansen (Y1)
Dr Stefan Loehr (Y2)
School of Engineering
Dean of School

Professor Darren Bagnall

HDR Director

Dr Ruth Oliver

MRes Advisor

Dr Ann Lee

MRes Advisor Associate Professor Shujuan Huang
Mathematics and Statistics
Head of Department


TTHDR Director Dr David Bulger
MRes Advisor Dr Adam Sikora              adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
Physics and Astronomy
Head of Department

Professor Michael Steel

HDR Director

Associate Professor Alex Fuerbach

MRes Advisor (Year 1) Dr Matthew Owers (Y1)
MRes Advisor (Year 2) Dr Joanne Dawson joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Professor Mark Connormark.connor@mq.edu.au
MRes DirectorDr Jennifer Rowlandjen.rowland@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Tania Kinanetania.kinane@mq.edu.au
General EnquiriesMs Viviana Bong, HDR Officerfmhs.hdr@mq.edu.au
Australian Institute of Health Innovation
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Rebecca Mitchellr.mitchell@mq.edu.au
Biomedical Sciences
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorDr Dane Turner+61-2-9850-2754
Clinical Medicine
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Professor Stuart Grahamstuart.graham@mq.edu.au
Health Professions
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorProfessor Mark Hancock mark.hancock@mq.edu.au
Health Systems and Populations
HDR DirectorDr Josephine Chau+61-2-9850-2302

Macquarie Business School

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Vito Mollica+61-2-9850-9097
MRes DirectorAssociate Professor Vito Mollica
School HDR ManagerMs Lin Bai lin.bai@mq.edu.au
General EnquiriesMQBS HDR Office+61-2-9850-1811
Accounting and Corporate Governance
Head of Department
Associate Professor Rahat Munir
HDR Director/MRes Advisor
Associate Professor Sophia Su
Actuarial Studies and Business Analytics
Head of Department
Professor David Pitt
HDR Director/MRes Advisor

Dr Xian Zhou

Applied Finance
Head of DepartmentProfessor Tom Smithtom.smith@mq.edu.au
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorDr Jianlei Hanjianlei.han@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Lisa Magnani

HDR Director/MRes Advisor

Dr Kompal Sinha

Head of Department

Professor  Steven Grover

HDR Director

Associate Professor Denise Jespen

MRES AdvisorAssociate Professor Yue Wangyue.wang@mq.edu.au
Head of Department

Professor Aron O'Cass

HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Ralf Wilden

Content owner: HDR Research Training and Partnerships Last updated: 18 Feb 2020 1:01pm

Back to the top of this page