HDR academic advice

HDR academic advice

Please note: the below is for HDR academic advisors only

For undergraduate and postgraduate academic advice, visit our Academic and program advisers page.

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Dr Noah Bassil
Faculty MRes Director Dr Linda Evans linda.evans@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Maryanne Hozijan maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4238
General Enquiries - PhD & MPhil Faculty HDR Office arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries - MRes & BPhil         Faculty HDR Office arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Ancient History
Head of Department

Prof Ray Laurence

ray.laurence@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-1430
HDR Director

Associate Professor Ronika Power

+61-2-9850-8882
HDR Director Associate Professor Boyo Ockinga +61-2-9850-8852
MRes Director Dr Gunner Mikkelsen

gunner.mikkelsen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8868

MRes Director [Year 1 - BPhil] Dr Peter Edwell [Year 1 - BPhil only]
+61-2-9850-8845
MRes DirectorA/Prof Malcolm Choatmalcolm.choat@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7561
Anthropology
Head of Department Associate Professor Chris Houston +61-2-9850-8471
HDR Director Associate Professor Kalpana Ram
+61-2-9850-8016
MRes Director Associate Professor Chris Houston
+61-2-9850-8471
MRes Director Dr Jaap Timmer
jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8077
English
Head of Department
Associate Professor Hsu-Ming Teo
+61-2-9850-7018
HDR Director
Associate Professor Marcelle Freiman
+61-2-9850-6892
MRes Director
Dr Stephanie Russo
stephanie.russo@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8731
Geography and Planning
Head of Department (Acting)Associate Professor Andrew McGregor
+61-2-9850-7993
HDR Director Dr Fiona Miller +61-2-9850-8425
MRes Director Dr Emily O'Gormanemily.ogorman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9670
Indigenous Studies
Head of Department Professor Bronwyn Carlson +61-2-9850-8891
HDR Director Dr Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6751
MRes Director Dr Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6751 
International Studies
Head of Department Dr Jane Hanley +61-2-9850-6885
HDR Director Dr Marika Kalyuga +61-2-9850-7016
MRes Director Dr Thomas Baudinette tom.baudinette@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8813
Macquarie Law School
School Dean Professor Marc De Vos +61-2-9850-9931
HDR Director Professor Rafiqul Islamrafiqul.islam@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7082
MRes Director
Dr Amy Barrow
+61-2-9850-7810
Media, Music, Communication & Cultural Studies (MMCCS)
Head of Department
Professor Nicole Anderson
+61-2-9850-2258
HDR Director
Dr Anthony Lambert
+61-2-9850-2148
MRes Director Professor John Potts john.potts@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2163
Modern History, Politics and International Relations 
Head of Department Professor Chris Dixon +61-2-9850-6808
HDR Director (Modern History)Dr Alison Holland +61-2-9850-8829
HDR Director (Politics & International Relations)Dr Lavina Lee

+61-2-9850-8872

MRes Director (Modern History) Associate Professor Kate Fullagarkate.fullagar@mq.edu.au 
+61-2-9850-9932
MRes Director (Politics & International Relations) Dr Adele Garnier adele.garnier@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7075
Philosophy
Head of Department

Professor Richard Menary

+61-2-9850-6896
HDR Director Dr Albert Atkin       +61-2-9850-6880
MRes Director

A/Prof Paul Formosa

paul.formosa@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8817

Security Studies and Criminology 
Head of Department Professor Ben Schreer +61-2-9850-1423
HDR Director Dr Allon Uhlmann
+61-2-9850-1449
MRes Director Dr Allon Uhlmann
+61-2-9850-1449
Sociology
Head of Department
Associate Professor Ben Spies-Butcher
+61-2-9850-4074
HDR Director Dr Hang Young Lee +61-2-9850-4114
HDR Director
Dr Kumiko Kawashima
+61-2-9850-7943
MRes Director [Year 2 - MRes] Dr Raj Velayutham selvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4426
MRes Director [Year 1 - BPhil]Dr Harry Blattererharry.blatterer@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8069

Faculty of Human Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Jennifer Cornishjennifer.cornish@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-1185
MRes DirectorDr Anne McMaughanne.mcmaugh@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8663
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Robyn Bishop+61-2-9850-8749
General EnquiriesFaculty HDR Officefohs.hdr@mq.edu.au 
+61-2 9850 8063
Cognitive Science
Head of Department

Professor Genevieve McArthur

+61-2-9850-9162
Department Administrator

Ms Lesley McKnight

+61-2-9850-9599
HDR Director

Associate Professor Paul Sowman

+61-2-9850-6732
BPhil/MRes Advisor

Associate Professor Paul Sowman

paul.sowman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6732
Educational Studies
Head of Department

Professor Mary Ryan

+61-2-9850-8059
HDR Director

Dr Shirley Wyver

+61-2-9850-9859
BPhil/MRes AdvisorDr Hye-Eun Chuhye-eun.chu@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8002
Linguistics
Head of Department

Associate Professor Jan-Louis Kruger

+61-2-9850-1467
HDR Director

Associate Professor Annabelle Lukin

annabelle.lukin@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8607
MRes Year 2 Advisor

Dr Cassi Liardet

cassi.liardet@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8756
BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor Dr Cassi Liardetcassi.liardet@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6704
Psychology
Head of Department

Professor Erik Reichle

+61-2-9850-8015
HDR Director (Co Director)

Dr Lorna Peters

+61-2-9850-6727
HDR Director (Co Director)

Associate Professor Kevin Brooks

+61-2-9850-7796
PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology

Dr Carolyn Schniering

+61-2-9850-6741
PhD/Master of Clinical   Neuropsychology

A/Prof Jennifer Batchelor

jennifer.batchelor@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8012
PhD/Master Organisational Psychology

Dr Ben Searle

ben.searle@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8066
BPhil/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Simon Boagsimon.boag@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8024

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research  Associate Professor Tracy Rushmer +61-2-9850-8366
Deputy Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research 

Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt

+61-2-9850-8282
MRes Director Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt bridget.mabbutt@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8282
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Jane Yang jane.yang@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4427
General Enquiries Faculty HDR Office sci.hdradm@mq.edu.au 
Biological Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Michelle Leishman

+61-2-9850-9180
HDR Director

Associate Professor Culum Brown

+61-2-9850-6292
MRes Advisor

Dr Matthew Kosnik (Y1)

Dr Ajay Narendra (Y2)

matthew.kosnik@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7248
ajay.narendra@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8187
Department of Molecular Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Alison Rodger

+61-2-9850-8264
HDR Director

Professor Paul Haynes

+61-2-9850-6258
MRes Advisor A/Prof Louise Brown (Y1)
Dr Morten Andersen (Y2)
louise.brown@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8294
morten.andersen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7487        
Chiropractic
Head of Department

DC Rosemary Giuriato

+61-2-9850-6992
HDR Director

Dr Roger Engel

+61-2-9850-6387
MRes Advisor Prof Simon Frenchsimon.french@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6383
Computing
Head of Department

Professor Michael Sheng

+61-2-9850-9514
HDR Director

Associate Professor Mark Dras

+61-2-9850-9580
MRes Advisors Dr Young Lee
Dr Matthew Roberts
young.lee@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9516
matthew.roberts@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9564
Earth and Environmental Sciences
Head of Department

Associate Professor Peter Davies (Acting)

+61-2-9850-7220
HDR Director

A/Prof Paul Beggs

+61-2-9850-8399
MRes Advisor Dr Steven Hansen (Y1)
Dr Stefan Loehr (Y2)
steven.hansen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8166
stefan.loehr@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8378
School of Engineering
Dean of School

Professor Darren Bagnall

+61-2-9850-9071
HDR Director

Dr Ruth Oliver

+61-2-9850-9250
MRes Advisor

Dr Ann Lee

ann.lee@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9069
MRes Advisor Associate Professor Shujuan Huang
+61-2-9850-2279
Mathematics and Statistics
Head of Department

TBC

 
TTHDR Director Dr David Bulger
MRes Advisor Dr Adam Sikora              adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8919
Physics and Astronomy
Head of Department

Professor Michael Steel

+61-2-9850-8916
HDR Director

Associate Professor Alex Fuerbach

+61-2-9850-6145
MRes Advisor (Year 1) Dr Matthew Owers (Y1)
matt.owers@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4445
MRes Advisor (Year 2) Dr Joanne Dawson joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8901

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Professor Mark Connormark.connor@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2719
MRes DirectorDr Jennifer Rowlandjen.rowland@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2738
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Tania Kinanetania.kinane@mq.edu.au
General EnquiriesMs Viviana Bong, HDR Officerfmhs.hdr@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4531
Australian Institute of Health Innovation
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Rebecca Mitchellr.mitchell@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2321
Biomedical Sciences
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorDr Dane Turner+61-2-9850-2754
Clinical Medicine
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Professor Stuart Grahamstuart.graham@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4000
Health Professions
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorProfessor Mark Hancock mark.hancock@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6622
Health Systems and Populations
HDR DirectorDr Josephine Chau+61-2-9850-2302
  

Macquarie Business School

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Vito Mollica+61-2-9850-9097
MRes DirectorAssociate Professor Vito Mollica
+61-2-9850-9097
School HDR ManagerMs Lin Bai lin.bai@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4818
General EnquiriesMQBS HDR Office+61-2-9850-1811
Accounting and Corporate Governance
Head of Department
Associate Professor Rahat Munir
+61-2-9850-4765
HDR Director/MRes Advisor
Associate Professor Sophia Su
+61-2-9850-8454
Actuarial Studies and Business Analytics
Head of Department
Professor David Pitt
+61-2-9850-8455
HDR Director/MRes Advisor

Dr Xian Zhou

+61-2-9850-8566
Applied Finance
Head of DepartmentProfessor Tom Smithtom.smith@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4761
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorDr Jianlei Hanjianlei.han@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8538
Economics
Head of Department

Professor Lisa Magnani

+61-2-9850-4829
HDR Director/MRes Advisor

Dr Kompal Sinha

+61-2-9850-6069
Management
Head of Department

Professor  Steven Grover

HDR Director

Associate Professor Denise Jespen

+61-2-9850-4805
MRES AdvisorAssociate Professor Yue Wangyue.wang@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8513
Marketing
Head of Department

Professor Aron O'Cass

aron.ocass@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8558
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Ralf Wilden
+61-2-9850-1413

Content owner: HDR Research Training and Partnerships Last updated: 13 Dec 2019 3:13pm

Back to the top of this page