HDR academic advice

HDR academic advice

Please note: the below is for HDR academic advisors only

For undergraduate and postgraduate academic advice, visit our Academic and program advisers page.

General

Research Communications (MRES700) Dr Florence Chiew florence.chiew@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9834

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchDr Noah Bassil
+61-2-9850-8811
MRes DirectorDr Victoria Flanaganvictoria.flanagan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6804
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Maryanne Hozijanmaryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4238
General Enquiries - PhDFaculty HDR Officearts.hdr@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries - MRes Faculty HDR Officearts.mres@mq.edu.au
Ancient History
Head of DepartmentDr Ian Plant
+61-2-9850-8880
HDR DirectorDr Linda Evans+61-2-9850-8802
HDR DirectorAssociate Professor Boyo Ockinga+61-2-9850-8852
MRes Director

Associate Professor Malcolm Choat

malcolm.choat@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7561

MRes Director

Dr Peter Edwell

+61-2-9850-8845
Anthropology
Head of DepartmentAssociate Professor Lisa Wynn+61-2-9850-8095
HDR DirectorAssociate Professor Kalpana Ram
+61-2-9850-8016
MRes Director
Associate Professor Chris Houston
+61-2-9850-8471
MRes Director
Dr Jaap Timmer
jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8121
English
Head of Department
Professor Antonina Harbus
HDR Director
Associate Professor Marcelle Freiman
marcelle.freiman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6892
MRes DirectorDr Stephanie Russostephanie.russo@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8731
MRes Director
Associate Professor Paul Sheehan
paul.sheehan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8757
Geography and Planning
Head of DepartmentDr Fiona Miller
+61-2-9850-8425
HDR DirectorDr Fiona Miller+61-2-9850-8425
MRes DirectorDr Emily O'Gormanemily.ogorman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9670
Indigenous Studies
Head of DepartmentProfessor Bronwyn Carlson+61-2-9850-8891
HDR DirectorDr Peter Keeganpeter.keegan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8819
MRes DirectorDr Peter Keeganpeter.keegan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8819
International Studies
Head of DepartmentAssociate Professor Ulrike Garde+61-2-9850-7051
HDR DirectorDr Kevin Carrico+61-2-9850-7692
MRes DirectorDr Lan Zhanglan.zhang@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7020
Macquarie Law School
School DeanAssociate Professor Vijaya Nagarajan+61-2-9850-7911
HDR DirectorAssociate Professor Archana Parashar+61-2-9850-7062
MRes Director
Associate Professor Malcolm Voyce
+61-2-9850-7089
Media, Music & Cultural Studies (MMCS)
Head of Department
Professor Nicole Anderson
+61-2-9850-2258
HDR Director
Dr Anthony Lambert
+61-2-9850-2148
MRes DirectorProfessor John Pottsjohn.potts@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2163
Modern History, Politics and International Relations 
Head of DepartmentProfessor Chris Dixon+61-2-9850-6808
HDR DirectorDr Mark Hearn+61-2-9850-8824
MRes Director (Modern History)Dr Tanya Evanstanya.evans@mq.edu.au 
+61-2-9850-8875
MRes Director (Politics & IR)Dr Lloyd Coxlloyd.cox@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4096
Philosophy
Head of Department

Professor Jeanette Kennett

+61-2-9850-1047
HDR DirectorDr Albert Atkin+61-2-9850-6880
MRes Director

Professor Nicholas Smith

nicholas.smith@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8881

Security Studies and Criminology 
Head of DepartmentProfessor Ben Schreer+61-2-9850-1423
HDR Director Dr Dalbir Ahlawat
+61-2-9850-1433
MRes DirectorDr Dalbir Ahlawat
+61-2-9850-1433
Sociology
Head of Department
Professor Gabrielle Meagher
+61-2-9850-8747
HDR DirectorDr Kumiko Kawashima+61-2-9850-7943
HDR Director
Associate Professor Shaun Wilson
+61-2-9850-8074
MRes DirectorDr Justine Lloydjustine.lloyd@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9940
MRes DirectorDr Raj Velayuthamselvaraj.velayutham@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4426

Faculty of Business and Economics

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchProfessor Lorne Cummings+61-2-9850-8531
MRes DirectorProfessor Lorne Cummings
+61-2-9850-8531
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Lin Bai lin.bai@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4818
General EnquiriesFaculty HDR Office+61-2-9850-4818
Accounting and Corporate Governance
Head of Department
Associate Professor Rahat Munir
+61-2-9850-4765
HDR Director
Associate Professor Elaine Evans
+61-2-9850-6477
MRES AdvisorDr Michael Quiltermichael.quilter@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8456
Applied Finance and Actuarial Studies
Head of Department
Professor David Pitt
+61-2-9850 8455
HDR Director

Dr Jiwook Jang

+61-2-9850-8575
MRES Advisor (Actuarial Studies & MRES Yr 2) Ms Shauna Ferris shauna.ferris@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7294
MRES Advisor (Applied Finance) Dr James Cummings james.cummings@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-1169
Economics
Head of Department

Professor Lisa Magnani

+61-2-9850-4829
HDR Director

Associate Professor Pundarik Mukhopadhaya

+61-2-9850-6476
MRES AdvisorAssociate Professor Tony Bryant tony.bryant@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8465
Marketing and Management
Head of Department

Professor Grant Michelson

+61-2-9850-4824
HDR Director

Associate Professor Edward Wray-Bliss

+61-2-9850-6479
MRES AdvisorDr Jana Bowden-Eversonjana.bowden-everson@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-1813
Macquarie Graduate School of Management (MGSM)
Dean

Professor Peter Wolnizer

peter.wolnizer@mgsm.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6012
HDR DirectorDr Vito Mollica
+61-2-9850-9097
MRes AdvisorProfessor Andrew Leponeandrew.lepone@mgsm.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9975

Faculty of Human Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Jennifer Cornishjennifer.cornish@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-1185
MRes DirectorAssociate Professor Annabelle Lukin annabelle.lukin@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8607
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Robyn Bishop+61-2-9850-8749
General EnquiriesFaculty HDR Officefohs.hdr@mq.edu.au 
+61-2 9850 8063
Cognitive Science
Head of Department

Professor Genevieve McArthur

+61-2-9850-9162
Department Administrator

Ms Lesley McKnight

+61-2-9850-9599
HDR Director

Associate Professor Mark Williams

+61-2-9850-4438
BPhil/MRes AdvisorProfessor Amanda Barnieramanda.barnier@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4861
Education
Head of Department

Professor Mary Ryan

+61-2-9850-8059
HDR Director

Dr Neil Harrison

+61-2-9850-8716
BPhil/MRes AdvisorDr Anne McMaughanne.mcmaugh@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8663
Linguistics
Head of Department

Associate Professor Jan-Louis Kruger

+61-2-9850-1467
HDR Director

Associate Professor Mridula Sharma

mridula.sharma@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4863
MRes Year 2 Advisor

Associate Professor Mridula Sharma

mridula.sharma@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4863
BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor (EP1, 2017)Dr Scott Barnesscott.barnes@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7960
BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor (EP2, 2017)

Dr Cassi Liardet

+61-2-9850-6704
Psychology
Head of Department

Professor Julie Fitness

+61-2-9850-8015
HDR Director (Co Director)

Associate Professor Cathy McMahon

+61-2-9850-6213
HDR Director (Co Director)

Associate Professor Kevin Brooks

+61-2-9850-7796
PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology

Associate Professor Maria Kangas

+61-2-9850-8599
PhD/Master of Clinical   Neuropsychology

Dr Jennifer Batchelor

jennifer.batchelor@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8012
PhD/Master Organisational Psychology

Associate Professor Barbara Griffin

barbara.griffin@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9012
BPhil/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Simon Boag simon.boag@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8024

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research  Associate Professor Tracy Rushmer +61-2-9850-8366
Deputy Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research 

Associate Professor  Subramanyam  Vemulpad

+61-2-9850-9385
MRes Director Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt bridget.mabbutt@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8282
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Jane Yang jane.yang@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4427
General Enquiries Faculty HDR Office sci.hdradm@mq.edu.au 
Biological Sciences
Head of Department

Professor  Michelle  Leishman

+61-2-9850-9180
HDR Director

Associate Professor  Culum  Brown

+61-2-9850-6292
MRes Advisor

Associate Professor Grant Hose

grant.hose@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6296
Chemistry & Biomolecular Sciences
Head of Department

Professor  Alison  Rodger

+61-2-9850-8264
HDR Director

Professor  Paul  Haynes

+61-2-9850-6258
MRes Advisor Dr Louise Brown louise.brown@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8294
Chiropractic
Head of Department

DC  Rosemary  Giuriato

+61-2-9850-6992
HDR Director

Associate Professor Subramanyam Vemulpad

+61-2-9850-9385
MRes Advisor Dr Ben Brown benjamin.brown@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6383
Computing
Head of Department

Professor  Michael  Sheng

+61-2-9850-9514
HDR Director

Associate Professor  Yan  Wang

+61-2-9850-9539
MRes Advisor Associate Professor Mark Dras mark.dras@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9580
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Head of Department

Professor  Martin  Kennedy

+61-2-9850-8394
HDR Director

Professor  Dorrit  Jacob

+61-2-9850-9137
MRes Advisor Associate Professor Simon Clark simon.clark@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8166
Engineering
Head of Department

Professor  Iain  Collings

+61-2-9850-9068
HDR Director

Associate Professor  Stuart  Jackson

+61-2-9850-9137
MRes Advisor

Dr Sammy Diasinos

sammy.diasinos@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9146
MRes Advisor Associate Professor Sam Reisenfeld
+61-2-9850-6002
Environmental Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Neil  Saintilan

+61-2-9850-8422
HDR Director

Professor  Vladimir  Strezov

+61-2-9850-6959
MRes Advisor (Year 1) Dr Tim Ralph tim.ralph@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6378
MRes Advisor (Year 2) Dr Maina Mbui joseph.mbui@mq.edu.au
Mathematics
Head of Department

Professor  Jim  Denier

+61-2-9850-8956
HDR Director

Professor  Xuan  Duong

+61-2-9850-8948
MRes Advisor Dr Adam Sikora adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8919
Physics and Astronomy
Head of Department

Professor  Michael  Steel

+61-2-9850-8916
HDR Director

Professor  Jason  Twamley

+61-2-9850-8908
MRes Advisor (Year 1) Professor Gavin Brennen gavin.brennen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4445
MRes Advisor (Year 2) Dr Joanne Dawson joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8901
Statistics
Head of Department

Professor  Gillian  Heller

+61-2-9850-8541
HDR Director Associate Professor Jun Ma +61-2-9850-8548
MRes Advisor Dr Thomas Fung thomas.fung@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4769

Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Professor Mark Connormark.connor@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2719
MRes DirectorDr Jennifer Rowlandjen.rowland@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2738
Faculty HDR ManagerMs Tania Kinanetania.kinane@mq.edu.au
General EnquiriesMs Viviana Bong, HDR Officerfmhs.hdr@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4531
Australian Institute of Health Innovation
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Andrew Georgiouandrew.georgiou@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2424
Biomedical Sciences
HDR DirectorDr Dane Turner+61-2-9850-2754
MRes Advisor/Faculty 1st year MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Ann Goodchildann.goodchild@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2711
Clinical Medicine
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Professor Stuart Grahamstuart.graham@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4000
Health Professions
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Mark Hancock mark.hancock@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6622
Health Systems and Populations
Head of Department (interim)Professor Janaki Amin+61-2-9850-2404
Back to the top of this page