HDR academic advice

HDR academic advice

Please note: the below is for HDR academic advisors only

For undergraduate and postgraduate academic advice, visit our academic and program advisors page.

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, Research Training and PerformanceAssociate Professor Noah Bassil
Faculty BPhil/MRes Convenor & LecturerDr Kirstin Mills kirstin.mills@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries  Graduate Research AcademyContact us
History and Archeology
Head of Department

Professor Malcolm Choat

+61 2 9850 7561
Discipline Chair (Ancient History)

Professor Ray Laurence

+61 2 9850 1430
Discipline Chair (Modern History)

Associate Professor Clare Monagle

Director of Research Training

Associate Professor Alison Holland

+61 2 9850 8829
Macquarie School of Education
Dean of School (Acting)Professor Sheila Degotardi
+61 2 9850 9895
Director of Research TrainingDr Shirley Wyver
+61 2 9850 9859
Macquarie School of Social Sciences
Dean of SchoolProfessor Chris Dixon
+61 2 9850 6808
Discipline Chair (Geography and Planning)Dr Donna Houston
+61 2 9850 8322
Discipline Chair (Sociology)Professor Amanda Wise
+61 2 9850 8835
Discipline Chair (Politics and International Relations)Dr Jonathan Symons
+61 2 9850 8864
Discipline Chair (Anthropology)Associate Professor Chris Houston
+61 2 9850 8471
Director of Research TrainingAssociate Professor Fiona Miller
+61 2 9850 8425
Indigenous Studies
Head of Department Professor Bronwyn Carlson +61 2 9850 8891
Director of Research Training Associate Professor Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 6751
Media, Communications, Creative Arts, Language, and Literature
Head of Department
Associate Professor Hsu-Ming Teo
+61 2 9850 7018
Discipline Chair (Languages and Cultures) Dr Jane Hanley +61 2 9850 6885
Discipline Chair (Literature)Associate Professor Stephanie Russo
+61 2 9850 8731
Discipline Chair (Creative Arts)Associate Professor Diane Hughes
+61 2 9850 2175
Discipline Chair (Media and Communications)Professor Julian Knowles
+61 2 9850 2196
Director of Research Training
Dr Stefan Solomon
+61 2 9850 6812
Macquarie Law School
Acting Dean of SchoolAssociate Professor Lise Barry +61 2 9850 9931
Director of  Research Training
Dr Amy Barrow
+61 2 9850 7810
Philosophy
Head of Department

Professor Richard Menary

+61 4 3562 1148
Director of Research TrainingProfessor Jean-Philippe Deranty       +61 2 9850 6773
Security Studies and Criminology
Head of Department Professor Bates Gill +61 2 9850 2204
Director of Research Training Dr Alex Simpson
+61 2 9850 1422

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, Research Training & Performance Associate Professor Tracy Rushmer +61 2 9850 8366
Deputy Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research 

Dr Mohsen Asadnia

+61 2 9850 9528
MRes Director

Dr Mohsen Asadnia

+61 2 9850 9528
General Enquiries Graduate Research AcademyContact us
Applied Biosciences
Head of DepartmentProfessor Phil Taylor
+61 2 9850 1311
HDR DirectorDr Maciej Maselko
+61 2 9850 1316
MRes AdvisorDr Maciej Maselko
+61 2 9850 1316
Biological Sciences
Head of Department

Associate Professor Nathan Hart

+61 2 9850 6952
HDR Director

Professor Culum Brown

Professor Simon Griffith

+61 2 9850 6292

simon.griffith@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 1301
MRes  Advisor

Dr Matthew Kosnik  (Yr1)

Dr Ajay Narendra (Yr2)

matthew.kosnik@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 7248
ajay.narendra@mq.edu.au
+61  2  9850 8187
Molecular Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Alison Rodger

+61 2 9850 8264
HDR Director

Professor Paul Haynes

+61 2 9850 6258
MRes AdvisorA/Prof Koushik Venkatesan (Yr1)

Dr Morten Andersen (Yr2)
koushik.venkatesan@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850  8296
morten.andersen@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850  7487
Computing
Head of Department

Professor Michael Sheng

+61 2 9850 9514
HDR Director

Associate Professor Mark Dras

+61 2 9850 9580
MRes  AdvisorDr  Guanfeng Liu  (Yr1)

Dr Young  Lee (Yr2)
guanfeng.liu@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 9542
young.lee@mq.edu.au
+61  2 9850 9516
Earth and Environmental Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Simon George

+61 2 9850 4424
HDR Director

A/Prof Paul Beggs

+61 2 9850 8399
MRes Advisor

Dr Matthew Kosnik  (Yr1)

Dr Ajay Narendra (Yr2)

matthew.kosnik@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 7248
ajay.narendra@mq.edu.au
+61  2  9850 8187
School of Engineering
Dean of School

Professor Darren Bagnall

+61 2 9850 9071
HDR Director

Dr Sammy Diasinos

+61 2 9850 9146
MRes Advisor

Dr Ann Lee

ann.lee@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 9069
MRes Advisor Associate Professor Shujuan Huang
+61 2 9850 2279
Mathematics and Statistics
Head of Department

Professor Samuel Muller

HDR DirectorDr Richard Garner

richard.garner@mq.edu.au

+61 2 9850 8923

MRes AdvisorA/Prof  Adam Sikora (Y1)

Dr Catherine Penington (Y2)
adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8919
catherine.penington@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850  8942
Physics and Astronomy
Head of Department

Professor Michael Steel

+61 2 9850 8916

HDR Director

Associate Professor Alex Fuerbach

alex.fuerbach@mq.edu.au

+61 2 9850 6145

MRes Advisor (Year 1)Dr Matthew Owersmatt.owers@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 4445
MRes Advisor (Year 2)Dr Joanne Dawsonjoanne.dawson@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8901

Faculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences

Associate Dean, Research Training & Performance Professor Mark Connor mark.connor@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 2719
MRes Director Dr Jen Rowland jen.rowland@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 2738
General Enquiries

Graduate Research Academy

Contact us

Australian Institute of Health Innovation
Head of DepartmentProfessor Jeffrey Braithwaitejeffrey.braithwaite@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 2401
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Associate Professor Shlomo Berkovsky shlomo.berkovsky@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 2469
Macquarie Medical School
Co-Head of School (Interim)Professor Vincent Lamvincent.lam@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9812 3961
Co-Head of School (Interim)Associate Professor Simon McMullansimon.mcmullan@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 2710
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Professor Thomas Fath
+61 2 9850 2640
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Dr Jen Rowland
+61 2 9850 2738
Health Sciences
Head of DepartmentAssociate Professor Verity Paceyverity.pacey@mq.edu.au
+612 9850 2795
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Associate Professor Seema Mihrshahi +61 2 9850 2468
Linguistics
Head of Department

Professor Cath McMahon

+61 2 9850 8775
HDR Director

Associate Professor Annabelle Lukin

annabelle.lukin@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8607
MRes Advisor

Dr Cassi Liardet

cassi.liardet@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8756
School of Psychological Sciences (interim arrangement)
Head of Department

Professor Erik Reichle

+61 2 9850 8015
HDR DirectorProf Kerry Shermankerry.sherman@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 6874
HDR Director

Dr Lorna Peters

+61 2 9850 6727
HDR Director

Associate Professor Kevin Brooks

+61 2 9850 7796
HDR DirectorProfessor Genevieve McArthur

genevieve.mcarthur@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 9162

MRes Advisor Associate Professor Simon Boag simon.boag@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8024
MRes AdvisorProfessor Emily Crossemily.cross@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 7662
PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology

Dr Carolyn Schniering

+61 2 9850 6741
PhD/Master of Clinical Neuropsychology

Associate Professor Jennifer Batchelor

jennifer.batchelor@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8012
PhD/Master Organisational Psychology

Dr Ben Searle

ben.searle@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8066
Chiropractic
Head of DepartmentRosemary Giuriatorosemary.giuriato@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 6992
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorDr Michael Swainmichael.swain@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 0532

Macquarie Business School

Associate Dean, Research Training & PerformanceProfessor Vito Mollica+61 2 9850 9097
MRes DirectorProfessor Vito Mollica
+61 2 9850 9097
General EnquiriesGraduate Research AcademyContact us
Accounting and Corporate Governance
Head of Department
Professor Rahat Munir
+61 2 9850 4765
HDR Director/MRes Advisor
Associate Professor Haiyan Jiang
+61 2 9850 8529
Actuarial Studies and Business Analytics
Head of Department (Interim)
Associate Professor Babak Abedin
+61 2 9850 8455
HDR Director/MRes Advisor

Dr Yanlin Shi

+61 2 9850 4750
Applied Finance
Head of DepartmentProfessor Tom Smithtom.smith@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 4761
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorDr Jianlei Hanjianlei.han@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8538
Economics
Head of Department

Professor David Orsmond

+61 2 9850 7416
HDR Director/MRes Advisor

Dr Natalia Ponomareva

+61 2 9850 6194
Management
Head of Department

Professor  Steven Grover

HDR Director

Associate Professor Zhiming Cheng

+61 2 9850 6021
MRes AdvisorDr Nidthida Linnidthida.lin@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 1148
Marketing
Head of Department

Professor Aron O'Cass

aron.ocass@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8558
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorProfessor Ralf Wilden
+61 2 9850 1413

Content owner: Graduate Research Academy Last updated: 21 Jan 2022 12:49pm

Back to the top of this page