Spring graduation series commences: honorary doctorates for Thorpe, Blanchett, Ridout and more

23 September 2014

Macquarie University’s September graduation series kicks off today, with more than 8000 guests to attend ceremonies taking place on campus, celebrating the achievements of 2606 students receiving awards in the University’s Jubilee year.

During this special time for graduates and their families, the University will award over 3,000 degrees, diplomas and certificates.

Of the degrees conferred, 125 will go to Doctoral candidates while 46 exceptional students will receive a Vice-Chancellor’s commendation for meritorious work. To achieve this award, students must have maintained a Distinction or High Distinction result for each and every unit of study undertaken in their degree program, or in the case of research students, have submitted theses for examination of an exceptionally high standard.

A group of high-profile Australians will also be presented with honorary doctorates during these ceremonies; representing significant leadership across human rights, business, Indigenous education, gender equality, law, sport and the arts:

Tues 23 September: Mr (Uncle) Ronald Heron (Doctor of Letters), recognising a highly respected senior elder of the Yaegl Aboriginal people of Northern NSW, and archaeologist, anthropologist and former university lecturer

Thurs 25 September: Ms Cate Blanchett (Doctor of Letters), recognising her extraordinary contribution to the arts, philanthropy and the community

Fri 26 September: Emeritus Professor Gillian Triggs (Doctor of Laws), in recognition of her lifelong contribution to the protection of human rights and the development of international law

Mon 29 September: Ms Heather Ridout AO (Doctor of Business), for her considerable contributions to business, industry and indigenous education promotion

Wed 1 October: Ian Thorpe AO (Doctor of Letters), recognising his outstanding contributions to sport and philanthropy and special connection to the University.

Honorary degrees are awarded in recognition of exceptional achievement or contribution in relation to a particular field or discipline, and/or to the University and society. Honorary awards are identified by the inclusion of ‘Hon’ in the post-nominals. The recipients of honorary awards represent a balanced group that demonstrates the breadth of the University’s areas of interest and expertise.

Graduates will also hear from a range of leading personalities in occasional addresses, including:

Wed 24 September: Mr Gavin Fox-Smith, CEO, Johnson & Johnson Medical Pty Ltd
Thur 25 September: Professor John Paul Seale AM, Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Sydney
Fri 26 September: Mr Peter Overton, Chief News Reader, Nine News Sydney, Contributor, 60 Minutes
Tues 30 September: Dr Caroline Hong FAICD, CEO, CH Asia Australia Pty Ltd
Tues 30 September: Angela Lovegrove, Telstra Business Regional General Manger NSW


Filed under: Campus news Events