Featured news

Featured news


Credit :Sharon Sinclair/Flickr

New global study: Marriage may protect against heart disease and stroke and associated risk of death

20 June 2018

Researchers suggest that marital status should be included as a risk factor for heart disease/stroke and likely survival in its ...

Credit: Shane Black

Why so blue? New research sheds light on why our iconic blue-tongue lizards have such colourful tongues

8 June 2018

A new study by researchers at Macquarie University has shed light on why blue tongue lizards have such an outrageously ...


Macquarie selected to participate in international entrepreneurship program

18 May 2018

Macquarie University has been chosen to participate in the prestigious Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s Regional Entrepreneurship Acceleration Program (REAP) program, ...


Appointment of Inaugural Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy) at Macquarie University

3 May 2018

This week Dr Leanne Holt was appointed to the inaugural Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Strategy) at Macquarie University. The appointment coincided ...

Credit: Rachael Dudaniec

Are damselflies in distress?

30 April 2018

Damselflies are evolving rapidly as they expand their range in response to a warming climate, according to new research led ...


Beetle families survive through sisterly sacrifice

24 April 2018

Research reveals new details about the world’s only known social beetle with a life-time devoted queen and worker caste Findings ...

Credit: Brett Boardman, Courtesy of Architectus

Macquarie University Incubator given international design award

24 April 2018

The Macquarie University Incubator has been awarded the internationally-renowned GREEN GOOD DESIGN award in the research and technology category for ...


Macquarie University launches The Lighthouse

19 April 2018

A new website shining a light on world-changing research stories The Lighthouse, a new multi-media news platform showcasing world-changing research ...

Credit: NA Sharp

340,000 stars’ DNA interrogated in search for Sun’s lost siblings

18 April 2018

An Australian-led group of astronomers – including Associate Professor Daniel Zucker from the Department of Physics and Astronomy – working ...

Exterior of the Macquarie University Library

Macquarie partners in $200 million Digital Health R&D initiative

13 April 2018

The new Digital Health CRC (Cooperative Research Centre) involving Macquarie University will invest over $200 million to develop and test ...

View all news

Back to the top of this page