The Coinage of Ephesus

The Coinage of Ephesus

The Ephesus Coinage website was designed to make the diverse collections of Ephesian coins held at Macquarie University available to the students of the Ancient History Department, and to the wider public both within Australia and overseas. At the core of this exhibition are the Ephesus coins which have been jointed acquired by the university’s Ancient History Documentary Centre (AHDC) and the Australian Centre for Ancient Numismatic Studies (ACANS). These coins are not presented as a collection of rarities or specimens in fine condition. Rather, they are a teaching collection designed to help students of the Roman East become familiar with the artifacts from one of the great mints of Asia Minor.

The site is curated by the director of ACANS, Kenneth Sheedy. The texts were written by Professor Barbara Burrell (Cincinnati University) while Senior Research Fellow at ACANS in 2002. These texts have been edited by K. A. Sheedy, who has also introduced additional material. The illustrations  (coins and site) were made by K. A. Sheedy with the exception of certain  illustrations taken from J. T. Wood, Discoveries at Ephesus (London 1877). For their assistance we wish to thank Mr Walter Holt (aquisition of the coins)  Dr. P. Kinns and Dr A. Burnett.

The site was originally designed and developed by Michelle O'Reilly at the Centre for Flexible Learning at Macquarie University.

The coins in this website may be viewed at the Museum of Ancient Cultures, Macquarie University.

Commodus (180-192 AD)

Geta (Caesar 198-209 AD)

Herennia Etruscilla (248-250 AD)

Hadrian (117-138 AD). Cistophorus

Geta (209-212 AD)

Maximinus Thrax (235-238 AD)

Macrinus (217-218 AD)

Hadrian (117-138 AD). Cistophorus

Gordianus III (238-244 AD)

Domitian (81-96 AD)

Ephesus. c.405-325 BCE. Tetradrachm

Ephesus. 2nd Cty BCE. Silver drachm

Marcus Aurelius (Caesar 147-161 AD)

Caracalla (198-217 AD)

Hadrian (117-138 AD)

Ephesus. 5th Cty BCE

Ephesus. 5th Cty BCE Silver fraction (1/64th Milesian stater?)

Ephesus. C.340-330 BCE. Hemidrachm

Ephesus. c.405-325 BCE. Tetradrachm

Ephesus/Arsinoeia. c.290-281 BCE

Ephesus c. 89/8 BCE. Silver cistophorus

Second Triumvirate. 43 BCE

Mark Antony c. Silver cistophorus

Augustus and Livia. 27BC-14 AD

Claudius and Agripinna. 41-54 AD

Domitian (81-96AD). Issued by P. Calvisius Ruso (procos. 92/3 or 93/4 AD)

Trajan (98-117 AD)

Antoninus Pius (138-161 AD)

Marcus Aurelius (161-180 AD)

Marcus Aurelius (161-180 AD)

Septimius Severus (193-211 AD)

Geta (Caesar 198-209AD)

Caracalla (198-217 AD)

Valerian I (253-260 AD)

Gallienus (253-268 AD)

Domitia (81-96 AD). Issued by Caesennius Paetus procos. 91-95 AD)

Gordian III (238-244 AD)

Hadrian (117-138 AD). Silver Cistophorus

Hadrian (117-138 AD). Silver Cistophorus

Trajan (98-117 AD). Bronze

Hadrian (117-138 AD). Silver Cistophorus

Lysimachos (323-281 BC). Ephesus?

Elagabalus (218-222 AD)

Salonina (253-268 AD)
Back to the top of this page