Annual awards

Annual awards

2016 Retrospective Blues

Macquarie University Blues Awards

The 'Macquarie University Blues' awards is the University's most prestigious sport-based awards ceremony. The 2016 Blues Awards were held on Thursday 3 November 2016.

2016's Finest

Over the past four decades, Blues Awards have been awarded for outstanding achievement in university sport. The award exemplifies the extraordinary level of sporting brilliance at Macquarie University and receiving an award is an honour that becomes the highlight of many sporting careers.

On Thursday 3rd November 2016, Macquarie University hosted the annual Blues Awards. The highly prestigious Full Blue Award was awarded to 6 athletes and 6 athletes received a Half Blue Award. Four athletes and two sport administrators received recognition with other major awards, including the Female and Male Sport Athlete of the Year, Ted O’Keeffe Scholarship, John Lincoln Services Award, the Leigh Barnier ‘Spirit of the Games' Award and the Chancellor’s Award.

Macquarie University General Manager Sport and Recreation Cindy Hoad was delighted by the showcase of student achievement in both the athletic and academic arenas. 

“The Blues Awards was a wonderful occasion to recognise and celebrate the outstanding sporting and academic achievements of our students before their academics, peers and family,” she said.

“We were delighted to welcome back eight of our Alumni Blues recipients to receive their Blues Blazer on the night. It was an opportunity for them to see how far Macquarie University has come and hear about the exceptional achievements of, and make connections with, our current student cohort.”

Congratulations to the following winners

Rookie of the Year - Tom Schramko
Female athlete of the year
- Melissa Wu
Male athlete of the year - Tom Trbojevic
John Lincoln Service Award - Claire Leyten and Stephen Ryan
Club of the Year - Cheerleading Club
Ted O'Keeffe Scholarship - Kiana Elliott
Leigh Barnier 'Spirit of the Games' Award - Chloe Wilson 
Chancellor's Award - Tyler Martin

Full Blue Recipients
James Chapman (Rowing)
Kiana Elliott (Weightlifting)
James Tod-Hill (Ultimate Frisbee)
Jennifer Tam (Badminton)
Jonathan Venter (Motorsport)
Rosie Lee (Sailing)

Half Blue Recipients
Ashleigh Blake (Wakeboarding)
Clare Costanzo (Sailing)
Thomas Trbojevic (Rugby League)
Georgios Fountotos (Volleyball)
Jackson Mills (Touch Football)
Samuel Crean (Gymnastics)


Photos of the night will be posted here.

Thank you to our sponsors of the night

SK Corp
Vince Barclay Tennis Academy

For further information contact

Content owner: Campus Sport Last updated: 10 Sep 2019 10:04am

Back to the top of this page