Blues awards

Blues awards

Full Blues

2018 Blues Awards

The 2018 Blues Awards will be held on Thursday 8th November at Curzon Hall, Mansfield

Nominations are now closed for Half and Full Blues Awards

Nominations are closed for the Club of the Year and John Lincoln Services Award

The story behind the Blues

In 1970, a sub-committee was created to determine the form of sporting awards at Macquarie University.

The University decided to adopt the concept of the ‘Sporting Blue’, which is based on the origins of the annual rowing race between the Oxford University Boat Club and the Cambridge University Boat Club.

The race originated in 1829 as a challenge between two former Harrow School pupils. The colour blue was inspired by one of the Cambridge oarsmen in the second race in 1836. The oarsmen tied a light blue ribbon to the bows of the Cambridge boat to reflect the colour of his school, Eton College. The dark blue colour was then ascribed to Oxford because it is the colour of Christ Church College. As a result, the tradition of the University Sporting Blue began.

Over 135 years later, Blues regulations were adopted at Macquarie University. At the first meeting of the Sports Committee in 1971, a Blues Committee was elected. Members of the committee included; Professor G A Barclay, Mr G N Pollard, Mr E D O’Keefe, Mr R Oldfield, Mr R J Lawton, Miss S Newman and Mr N Snodgrass.

Macquarie University held its first Blues Awards Dinner in September 1972, celebrating winners from 1970 and 1971. This year marks the 44th Blues Awards ceremony at Macquarie University.

Over the past four decades, Blues have continued to be awarded for outstanding achievement in university sport. The award exemplifies the extraordinary level of sporting brilliance at Macquarie University and is an honour that becomes the highlight of many sporting careers.

For more information, contact

2017 Blues Awards

In a ceremonial showcase of performance, the Macquarie University 2017 Blues Awards were held on Wednesday 25 October.

Macquarie University Acting General Manager, Sport and Recreation Rob Tweddle highlighted how the Blues Awards were a fantastic opportunity to celebrate numerous outstanding sport and academic achievements across the past year.

''Since the inception of the event our Blues evening has continued to grow, providing greater opportunity for our twelve Blues, and six award recipients to be acknowledged by their academics, peers, alumni, family and friends” he said.

Four athletes were awarded the highly prestigious Full Blue Award and eight received a Half Blue Award. Five athletes, one club and one sport administrator received recognition with other major awards, including the Female and Male Sport Athlete of the Year and the prestigious Chancellor’s Award.

Thank you to our Blues Awards Sponsors for their support:

  • Links
  • Matrix
  • S-Trend
  • SK Corp

2017 Blues Awards winners

Congratulations to the following winners

Rookie of the Year - Deanna Kyriazopoulos
Female athlete of the year - Dominique Du Toit
Male athlete of the year - Nicholas Brooks
John Lincoln Service Award - Yagiz Alp Aksoy
Club of the Year - Squash Club
Ted O'Keeffe Scholarship - Thomas Green
Chancellor's Award - Dominique Du Toit

Full Blue Recipients

Nathalie Moen Balhald (Powerlifting)
Tayla King (Archery)
Emily Laundry (Karate)
Jackson Mills (Touch Football)

Half Blue Recipients

Lachlan Anderson (Rugby Union)
Nicholas Andrews (Athletics)
Chantelle Kerry (Figure Skating)
Peter Livingstone (Cycling)
Kyle McIndoe (Judo)
Belinda Maxworthy (Archery)                                                                                                                                                                                                         Anh Nguyen (Figure Skating)
Thomas Schramko (Rowing)

Back to the top of this page