Building access

Building access

Building access 

As a Macquarie University staff member or student, you will most likely require access to a number of the areas/buildings across the Campus, some of which are "access controlled".

The University's access control system is integrated within its Campus Card environment, so you are able to use your Card for many varied functions, including swipe card access.

Find out more about the University's Campus Card.

  1. Your Campus card will be issued to you when you commence at the University as either a student or staff member.  The University's Campus Card is integrated with our Campus Access Control system which enables individuals to access certain controlled areas when activated.
  2. Application for access to relevant student/teaching/work areas needs to be approved prior to its activation.  This is done through your Faculty/Department nominated Access Control Administrator - see below for the listing.  If you are unsure which Faculty/Department you need, contact the Security Control Centre on 9850 7112 or email buildingaccess@mq.edu.au
  3. Activation of access privileges is done by the nominated Administrator and once programmed is available immediately for use.
  4. Door readers operate by placing your campus card approx 1cm from the front face of the reader.  Hold the card in position for 1-2 seconds, until you hear a beep and the red light turns to green, the door will unlock allowing you to open the door.  Try again if the door does not open, if it is still not opening contact your Administrator or Security Services (ext 7112 or 9850 7112).
  5. Keypad reader Keypad readers are a door reader that incorporates a pin pad.  To gain access during normal office hours simply swipe your card over the Number "5" key.  Staff may need to access doors where these readers do require a Pin code, your Access Control Administrator will be able to provide you with a Pin code if it is confirmed that you require access. To access using a Pin code, swipe your card over the Number "5", wait till the light goes green, then enter your Pin code.
  6. Take care of your card, do not punch holes, bend, scratch the magnetic strip or expose to extreme heat, as the cards contain technical data to enable them to be operational.  Replacement cards will incur a fee.
Access RequirementLocationAuthorised ContactContact Email
Faculty of Arts    
Arts Various areas (exceptions listed below) Anoush Bohosian anoush.bohosian@mq.edu.au
HDR Candidates 10 Hadenfeld Ave Tanja Andric
Maryanne Hozijan
hdrarts@mq.edu.au
maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
Law 6 First Walk Debbie Loo debbie.loo@mq.edu.au
MMCCS 10 Hadenfeld Ave David Mitchell
Peter Ring 
david.mitchell@mq.edu.au
peter.ring@mq.edu.au 
SSC 10 Hadenfeld Ave Andy McNeill
Annabel Voysey 
andrew.mcneill@mq.edu.au
annabel.voysey@mq.edu.au
Faculty of Business and Economics    
FBE 4 Eastern Rd Loretta Sayyad fbe.facilities@mq.edu.au
Faculty of Human Sciences    
Cognitive Science 16 University Ave Teri Roberts
Lesley McKnight 
teri.roberts@mq.edu.au
lesley.mcknight@mq.edu.au 
Education Various areas Alison Pollard alison.pollard@mq.edu.au
Institute of Early Childhood (IEC) 29 Wally's Walk Julie McCorquodale julie.mccorquodale@mq.edu.au
Linguistics 12 Second Way Margaret Wood margaret.wood@mq.edu.au
Psychology 4 First Walk Neville McElroy neville.mcelroy@mq.edu.au
Psychology - Emotional Health 16 University Ave Shari Hendriks shari.hendriks@mq.edu.au
Psychology - MUPC 16 University Ave Sabina Morrow sabina.morrow@mq.edu.au
Psychology - MUCHE 4 Eastern Rd Meredith Lill meredith.lill@mq.edu.au
Psychology - Mindspot 16 University Ave Carol Purtell carol.purtell@mq.edu.au
Special Education Centre 14 First Walk Natalie Watson
Anne Murdoch 
natalie.watson@mq.edu.au
anne.murdoch@mq.edu.au 
SIM Hub 10 Hadenfeld Ave Mark Wiggins mark.wiggins@mq.edu.au
Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences    
Australian Institute of Health Innovation (AIHI) 75 Talavera Rd Sheree Crick sheree.crick@mq.edu.au
Biomedical Sciences 75 Talavera Rd Laura Newey laura.newey@mq.edu.au
Clinical Medicine 75 Talavera Rd Collette Tosen collette.tosen@mq.edu.au
Faculty 75 Talavera Rd Kate Macfarlanekate.macfarlane@mq.edu.au
Health Professions - Physiotherapy 75 Talavera Rd Kaisha Byrne-smithkaisha.byrne-smith@mq.edu.au
Faculty of Science and Engineering    
APAF 6 Wally's Walk Alamgir Khan alamgir.khan@mq.edu.au
Science All Science Areas Ron Claassens ron.claassens@mq.edu.au
DVC - Research    
Animal Research Facility 15 Research Park Dr Christine Sutter christine.sutter@mq.edu.au
Brain Behaviour & Evolution - Fauna Park 209a Culloden Rd Robby Miller robert.miller@mq.edu.au
HDRO 17 Wally's Walk Lynn Davis lynn.davis@mq.edu.au
Research Office 17 Wally's Walk Eleanor Johnson eleanor.johnson@mq.edu.au
DVC - Students and Registrar    
Campus Life 8 Link Rd
1 Central Courtyard
10 Gymnasium Rd 
Tanya Hunter tanya.hunter@mq.edu.au
MUSE 18 Wally's Walk  buildingaccess@mq.edu.au
DVC - Academic
LTC 25 Wally's Walk
2 First Walk 
Shirley Li
Alison Cameron 
shirley.li@mq.edu.au
alison.cameron@mq.edu.au
Library 16 Macquarie Walk Wendy Palmer
Library Study Spaces
Alison Briggs 
wendy.palmer@mq.edu.au
lib.studyspaces@mq.edu.au

alison.briggs@mq.edu.au
MUIC 10 Macquarie Walk Paula Jimenezplaza paula.jimenezplaza@mq.edu.au
Macquarie International 10 Macquarie Walk Natalia Villena natalia.villena@mq.edu.au
PACE 3 Innovation Rd Georgette Roumanos georgette.roumanos@mq.edu.au
Offices    
Business Services, OFS 3 Innovation Rd Andrew Hallman andrew.hallman@mq.edu.au
Human Resources 17 Wally's Walk Laura Salter laura.salter@mq.edu.au
Information Technology Various areas Raj Koul rajnesh.koul@mq.edu.au
Property 2 Link Rd Sharon Crosby sharon.crosby@mq.edu.au
Affiliated    
MGSM 1 Executive Rd Loretta Sayyadfbe.facilities@mq.edu.au
English Language Centre 8 Sir Christopher Ondaatje Ave Pamela Humphreys pamela.humphreys@mq.edu.au
Back to the top of this page