Museum of Ancient Cultures

Museum of Ancient Cultures

The object illustrating this page is a Mycenaean bull figurine (MU 1566), dated Late Helladic IIIA-B, c. 1400 - 1200 BC; Macquarie University, purchased 2006, ex- Joyner Collection.

Holiday Opening Hours:

The Museum is open as usual until Friday 6th July (Mon-Fri 10:00am-4:00pm).

Monday 9th July: 10:00am-4:00pm

Monday 16th July: 10:00-2:00pm (note early close)

Tuesday 10th July: 10:00am-4:00pm

Tuesday 17th July: Museum closed

Wednesday 11th July: Museum closed

Wednesday 18th July: Museum closed

Thursday 12th July: 10:00am-4:00pm

Thursday 19th July: 10:00am-4:00pm

Friday 13th July: Museum closed

Friday 20th July: 10:00am-4:00pm

Regular opening hours resume Monday 23rd July, (Mon-Fri 10:00am-4:00pm).

The Museum of Ancient Cultures is a leading museum of Macquarie University which supports a range of museums, collections, art galleries, a sculpture park and herbarium. It is an archaeological museum that introduces modern minds to a number of cultures from the ancient world through its research and publications, learning, teaching and outreach programs, its displays and exhibitions and its involvement in the activities of the University. Read more about us.

Opening Hours:

The museum is open to the public Monday - Friday between the hours of 10.00am and 4.00pm.

Acknowledgement of Darug Land

The Museum of Ancient Cultures publicly acknowledges the Darug people on whose land this museum is situated and further, recognises the cultural and heritage traditions and contributions of the indigenous people of Australia.

What can I study at Macquarie University?

Find information on undergraduate and postgraduate study opportunities for Ancient History and Archaeology, including fieldwork opportunities.

Back to the top of this page