University Library, Archives and Collections

University Library, Archives and Collections

The roles of libraries, galleries, museums and archives have increasingly converged through the digital age, and Macquarie University recognises this through the University Library, Archives and Collections group.

The group comprises the University Library, the University Art Gallery, and Archives & Records Management.

Our Vision 

We aspire to provide dynamic and visionary information services to support the international research and teaching reputation of the University.

University Library

The University Library includes facilities and services both physical and online. The library is the most striking building on campus and accommodates as many as 15,000 physical visits a day, plus many more online.

Additionally, the library covers scholarly publications - subscriptions, databases, books (electronic and print) - as well as license agreements, open access, support for Macquarie authors, and discovery tools such as MultiSearch.

The University's Learning Skills unit is part of the library, offering support to students for various literacies (academic, digital, information). The library also employs the University's Copyright Officer.

University Art Gallery

Macquarie University Art Gallery is located in E11A with Rhonda Davis, Senior Curator and Leonard Janiszewski, Curator.

The Art Gallery offers regular exhibitions that contribute to our broader understanding of Australian art in relation to our contemporary society and our sociopolitical and cultural histories on an international scale. The Art Gallery also maintains the Macquarie University Art Collection which has been developed over 50 years and is an important part of Australia’s national cultural heritage.

Archives and Records Management

Archives and Records Management (formerly Macquarie Memory) has two arms, the Digital Information team including managing and developing Truth and other applications is led by Alex Zionzee, Digital Information Manager.

The other arm is led by Lachlan Morgan, Records & Archives Manager, and his team is responsible for TRIM (records management system), student records, vital records, corporate records and historical archives containing documents and other materials.

Senior staff

Fiona Burton, Associate University Librarian, Collections, Discovery & Technology Services
e: fiona.burton@mq.edu.au  t: 029850 7556

Susan Vickery, Associate University Librarian, Information Access & Advisory Services
e: susan.vickery@mq.edu.au  t: 02 9859 4387

Jennifer Bremner, Manager, Library Planning & Administrative Services 
e: jennifer.bremner@mq.edu.au  t: 02 9850 7549

Alison Briggs, Manager, Library Business Services
e: alison.briggs@mq.edu.au  t: 02 9850 7552

Sylvie Saab, Executive Information Policy Officer
e: sylvie.saab@mq.edu.au  t: 02 9850 6592

Rhonda Davis, Senior Curator, Macquarie University Art Gallery
e: rhonda.davis@mq.edu.au  t: 02 9850 7437

Lachlan Morgan, Manager, Records & Archives
e: lachlan.morgan@mq.edu.au  t: 9850 7362

Alex Zionzee, Digital Information Manager
e: alex.zionzee@mq.edu.au  t: 9850 7367

Back to the top of this page