Research

Research

Research

Cyber security is a difficult problem to solve. Not only because it is a widely technical with complex and inter-dependant networked systems, but also due to the multi-disciplinary nature of the issue.

Cyber security incorporates aspects of finance and economics, psychology and human behaviour, laws and policies, philosophy and requires a synergy and collaboration between a wide variety of technical expertise.

For decades organisations, governments and tech industries have been handling systems security and data breaches in a reactive way. Times are changing and we believe that threat intelligence and collaboration in cyber security is not only key to success but would durably shift the balance of power from attackers to defenders with preventive and proactive cyber-defence mechanisms.

Our main research goals are:

  • Build data and information sharing platforms enabling privacy-preserving data sharing and trustworthy cyber defence collaboration.
  • Design and construct resilient and reliable software systems to enable defence mechanisms in distributed and potentially hostile environments.
  • Design and build usable and human-centric security technologies to change humans from the weakest link of the chain into a first line of active defence.
  • Quantify and understand threats and cyber risks including socio-economics and financial risks.
  • Design policies, governance and decision-making platforms to investigate regulation-compliance and facilitate cyber security mechanisms embedding within organisations.

Cyber research diagram

Research team

Scientific Director

Prof. Dali Kaafar

Dali is spearheading Data61’s R&D activities in privacy-preserving technologies with a focus on private date sharing, Information security and Web and mobile security. Before that, at INRIA, he co-invented the technology behind geolocalisation of malicious botnet motherhood servers and pioneered research in the security of internet coordinate systems. Professor Kaafar has published over 200 peer-reviewed papers repeatedly in top journals and conferences, receiving many prestigious awards.

Expertise in IT

 

Details

Research interest

Frank Cassez  A/Prof. Franck Cassez
Department of Computing
Email: franck.cassez@mq.edu.au
Website
Automated software verification, timing analysis of binary programs, control and verification of timed systems
Len Hamey  Dr. Len Hamey
Department of Computing
Email: len.hamey@mq.edu.au
Website
Machine learning  
Computer vision
Computer architecture
Christophe Doche  A/Prof. Christophe Doche
Executive Director, Cyber Security Hub
Email: christophe.doche@mq.edu.au
Website
Elliptic curve cryptography
Algorithmic Number theory
Michael Hitchens  A/Prof. Michael Hitchens
Department of Computing
Email: michael.hitchens@mq.edu.au
Website
Computer security, distributed systems and network security, authorisation (or access control), trust and network security protocols and video gaming
Annabelle Mciver  Prof. Annabelle McIver
Department of Computing
Email: annabelle.mciver@mq.edu.au
Website
Information and systems modelling, formal methods, privacy, eVoting
Michael Johnson  Prof. Michael Johnson
Department of Computing
Email: michael.johnson@mq.edu.au
Website
Category theory (mathematics), including applications to computer science, data modelling, information systems and systems interoperations using formal methods
Prof. Dali Kaafar
Scientific Director, Cyber Security Hub
Email: dali.kaafar@mq.edu.au
Privacy Preserving Technologies,Web Security and malware detection, Human identification, Next Generation Authentication systems, Networks Measurement and modelling
Anthony Sloane  A/Prof. Anthony Sloane
Email: anthony.sloane@mq.edu.au
Website
Programming languages and formal methods
Michael Sheng  Prof. Michael Sheng
Head of Department of Computing
Email: michael.sheng@mq.edu.au
Website
Web of Things, Internet of Things, Big Data Analytics, Web Science, Service-oriented Computing, Pervasive Computing, Sensor Networks
 Prof. Mark Johnson
Department of Computing and VoiceBox
Email: mark.johnson@mq.edu.au
Website
Computational linguistics, parsing and its applications to text and speech processing
Mehmet Orgun  Prof. Mehmet Orgun
Department of Computing
Email: mehmet.orgun@mq.edu.au
Website
Computational intelligence, multi-agent systems, trust and security, temporal reasoning, formal methods
Mark Dras  A/Prof. Mark Dras
Department of Computing
Email: mark.dras@mq.edu.au
Website
Natural Language Processing, Computational Linguistics, Machine Learning
Bernard Mans  Prof. Bernard Mans
Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Science & Engineering
Email: bernard.mans@mq.edu.au
Website
Algorithms and Complexity,Graphs,Mobile & Wireless Computing
Rajan Shankaran  Dr. Rajan Shankaran
Department of Computing
Email: rajan.shankaran@mq.edu.au
Website
Cyber Security, Mobile and Wireless Networks Security, Trust in Mobile Networks
Deborah Richards  Prof. Deborah Richards
Department of Computing
Email: deborah.richards@mq.edu.au
Website
Virtual Humans, Agent-based Simulations, Virtual Reality and Simulations, Knowledge Acquisition, Serious Games (education, training and health)
James Xi Zheng  Dr James Xi Zheng
Department of Computing
Website
Software Engineering, IoT Security 
Jia Wu  Dr Jia Wu
Department of Computing
Email: jia.wu@mq.edu.au
Website
Data Mining, Machine Learning, Big Data Analytics
Amin Beheshti  Dr Amin Beheshti
Department of Computing
Email: amin.beheshti@mq.edu.au 
Data Science, Data Mining
 A/Prof Yan Wang 
Department of Computing
Email: yan.wang@mq.edu.au
Trust Management, Services Computing, Social Networks, Security
 Dr Matt Roberts
Department of Computing
Email: matthew.roberts@mq.edu.au
Website
Programming Languages, Type Systems
Young Lee  Dr. Young Choon Lee
Department of Computing
Email: young.lee@mq.edu.au
Website
Resource management in distributed computing systems,
Cloud data centre efficiency,
Data-intensive computing,
Scheduling for distributed systems,
Data centre efficiency and sustainability

Expertise in Business

 

Details

Research interest

Yvette Blont  Dr. Yvette Blount
Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance
Email: yvette.blount@mq.edu.au
Website
Business analytics and intelligence, business information systems, telehealth and Anywhere working (telework, telecommuting, flexible work)
Philomena Leung  Prof. Philomena Leung
Associate Dean – International and Corporate Engagement
Email: philomena.leung@mq.edu.au
Website
Corporate governance
cyber risk and auditing
Verity Greenwood  Dr. Verity Greenwood
Accounting and Corporate Governance
Email: verity.greenwood@mq.edu.au
Website
Financial crime
and governance
Shevchenko Pavel  Pavel Shevchenko
Professor - Department of Applied Finance and Actuarial Studies
Email: pavel.shevchenko@mq.edu.au
Website
Risk management, financial mathematics
insurance mathematics, operational risk, credit risk, portfolio asset allocation, pricing financial derivatives, mortality modelling and retirement income products, claims reserving, modelling commodities and FX markets, modelling extreme events, dependence modelling, state-space models, Monte Carlo methods, optimal stochastic control
Stefan Trueck  Stefan Trueck
Professor of Finance - Centre for Financial Risk
Email: stefan.trueck@mq.edu.au
Website
Risk Management (Credit and Operational Risk), Asset Pricing, Energy Markets, Financial Economics, Carbon Trading and Economics of Climate Change, Real Estate Economics, Econometrics of Financial Markets.
Mauricio Marrone  Dr. Mauricio Marrone
Faculty of Business and Economics
Email: mauricio.marrone@mq.edu.au
Website
Innovation Diffusion, Literature Review Methodology, Text analytics and text mining, Digital Transformation, Gamification in Business
Elizabeth Sheedy  A/Prof Elizabeth Sheedy
Department of Applied Finance and Actuarial Studies
Email: elizabeth.sheedy@mq.edu.au
Website
Risk culture, ethical culture/leadership, remuneration and experimental investigation of risk management behaviour.

Expertise in Criminology and Intelligence

 

Details

Research interest

Angela Irwin Dr. Angela Irwin
Department of Security Studies and Criminology
Email: angela.irwin@mq.edu.au
Website
Anti-money laundering / counter-terrorism financing, digital currencies, cybercrime, cybersecurity and criminology
Ben Schreer  Prof. Ben Schreer
Head of Department, Department of Security Studies and Criminology
Email: ben.schreer@mq.edu.au
Website
Cyber war, cyber conflict and international security
Rebecca Vogel  Rebecca Vogel
Department of Security Studies and Criminology
Email: rebecca.vogel@mq.edu.au
Website
Intelligence, insider threats, national security and
cyber espionage
Brett Peppler  Brett Peppler
Honorary Fellow
Email: brett.peppler@mq.edu.au
Website
Decision-making under uncertainty, with an emphasis on blending foresight methods; Intelligence practices, with an emphasis on innovation through cross-disciplinary approaches; Gaming and simulation, with an emphasis on enriching the design of intelligence education.

Expertise in Law and Psychology

 

Details

Research interest

John Selby  Dr. John Selby
Department of Accounting and Corporate Governance
Email: john.selby@mq.edu.au
Website
Intellectual property, online trade and data protection
Mark Wiggins  Prof. Mark Wiggins
Department of Psychology
Email: mark.wiggins@mq.edu.au
Website
Acquisition, maintenance and loss of performance
Niloufer Selvadural  A/Prof. Niloufer Selvadurai
Email: niloufer.selvadurai@mq.edu.au
Website
Intellectual property, E-Commerce Law

Current research projects

MRes/PhD topics

View the list and details of current MRes/PhD topics.

Back to the top of this page