Sustainable Energy Systems Engineering Group

Sustainable Energy Systems Engineering Group

Our wind tunnel

The Sustainable Energy Systems Engineering group (SESE) is located in the School of Engineering, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia.  The aim of SESE is to bring together expertise and skills from an interdisciplinary group of research focused academics in order to tackle global issues pertaining to next generation energy conversion technology, energy efficiency and management as well as promoting a sustainable approach to the design and implementation of energy systems.  These outstanding issues are tackled through undertaking fundamental and applied research and development in fields ranging from electronics, to chemical processing, solar energy, thermofluids, and materials synthesis.

Hot topics

  • Energy efficiency
  • Chemical Processing
  • Electric Vehicles and Smart Grid
  • Wireless Power Transfer
  • Solar-Thermal
  • Solar Hydrolysis
  • Multi-phase Flows
  • Materials Synthesis
  • Nanocatalysts

Recent Achievements

  • Prof Graham Town delivered the opening plenary address at the 11th IEEE Intl Conf on Power Electronics and Drive Systems

Group Members

PhotoMembers Research Areas
 Darren Bagnall
Dean of Engineering
darren.bagnall@mq.edu.au
  • Semiconductor devices
  • Photonics
  • Nanotechnologies

Lecturer Sammy Diasinos

Sammy Diasinos
Lecturer
sammy.diasinos@mq.edu.au
Full Profile
  • Enhancing aerodynamic experimental techniques
  • Vortex interactions and decay
  • Aerodynamics and acoustics of wheels
 Jahangir Hossain

Jahangir Hossain
Associate Professor
Jahangir.hossain@mq.edu.au
Full Profile

  • Hybrid Microgrids, Smart grids, Renewable Energy Integrations
  • Electric Vehicles, Battery Energy storage systems
  • Transactive Energy Management, Voltage and Transient Stability, Robust Control of Power Systems
  • Cyber Secured Power Systems and Applications of Power Electronics in Power Systems.

Lecturer Nazmul Huda

Nazmul Huda
Lecturer
nazmul.huda@mq.edu.au
Full Profile

  • Solar thermal research
  • Alternative fuels and renewable energy
  • Energy Optimization
  • Industrial Process modelling
  • Waste Recycling and Life Cycle Assessment (LCA)
 Sourabh Khandelwal
Senior Lecturer
sourabh.khandelwal@mq.edu.au
Full Profile
  • Advanced semiconductor devices including physics-base modeling, device design and analysis, TCAD, DC and RF characterization and bench-mark circuit simulations
 Sustainable research - Nikos

Nikos Kopidakis
Senior Lecturer
Nikos.kopidakis@mq.edu.au
Full Profile

  • Solar energy
  • Organic semiconductors
  • RF methods for materials characterization

Lecturer Ann Lee

Ann Lee
Lecturer
ann.lee@mq.edu.au
Full Profile

  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Numerical Heat Transfer
  • Magnetocaloric Effect in Refrigeration
  • Magnetic Drug Delivery
SubhasSubhas Mukhopadhyay
Professor
subhas.mukhopadhyay@mq.edu.au
Full Profile
  • Smart Sensors and Sensing Technology, Wireless Sensor Networks, Internet of Things
  • Instrumentation and Measurements, Smart Home, Smart City, Smart Grid
  • Electromagnetics, Control, Electrical Machines and Numerical field calculation etc.
  • Biomedical, Health, Environmental Monitoring and Assisted Living

Yijiao Jiang, Senior Lecturer

Yijiao Jiang
Senior Lecturer
yijiao.jiang@mq.edu.au
Full Profile

  • Solar fuels production
  • Green chemical processes
  • Carbon dioxide capture and utilisation
  • Pollution control

Professor Candace Lang

Candace Lang
Professor
candace.lang@mq.edu.au
Full Profile

  • Metallic materials
  • Fuel cell catalysts
  • Medical electrodes
 Fatemeh Salehi
Lecturer
fatemeh.salehi@mq.edu.au
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics(CFD)
  • Turbulent particle-laden and droplet-laden flows
  • Advanced clean energy technologies
  • Combustion modelling

Professor Graham Town

Graham Town
Professor
graham.town@mq.edu.au
Full Profile
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Power electronics
  • Compact and efficient GaN-based power converters, motor drives
  • Wireless Power Transfer
  • Power/Energy systems
  • Smart grids and the internet of energy
  • Electric vehicles and managing their impact on the electricity network
Back to the top of this page