Our people

Our people

Mary Ryan.png

Head of Department

Mary Ryan

Mary Ryan joined Macquarie University in October 2016 as Professor and inaugural Head of the Department of Educational Studies. She was previously Assistant Dean (Research) in the Faculty of Education at QUT, responsible for the development and implementation of research strategy. She has an extensive record of program development experience having co-ordinated both B(Ed) Primary and Doctor of Education programs, and coordinated a substantial Higher Degree Research Program. She is acknowledged internationally for her contribution to research in higher education, is a Principal Fellow of the UK Higher Education Academy and is the recipient of an AAUT citation for outstanding contribution to student learning. Her research investigates discourses of literacy, learning, youth culture and teachers’ work. She applies theories of reflexivity, socio-spatiality and criticality to the ‘texts’ produced in classrooms, schools, higher education institutions and workplace learning. Current projects include investigating a reflexive approach to teaching writing in schools; developing pre-service teachers’ epistemic reflexivity to teach to diversity; and tracking the enabling and constraining conditions for teacher education students to manage the demands of the profession.

Academic staff (A-H)

Name Area of expertise

Dr Rebecca Andrews
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: rebecca.andrews@mq.edu.au

  • Educator-child Interactions
  • Children's memory
  • Teacher education student mentoring
  • Professional experience

Ms Michelle Bishop
Associate Lecturer in Education
E: michelle.bishop@mq.edu.au

  • Education policy and Indigenous/Aboriginal students
  • Indigenous and critical perspectives in education
  • Indigenous Knowledges
  • Indigenous research methodologies
  • Curriculum and pedagogy

Associate Professor Matt Bower
Associate Professor in Education
E: matt.bower@mq.edu.au

  • Technology-enhanced learning
  • Learning design
  • Blended learning
  • Educational technology innovation
  • Teacher education
  • Computing education

Ms Clare Britt
Lecturer in Education
E: clare.britt@mq.edu.au

  • Visual Arts/Creative Arts
  • Early Childhood Creative Arts pedagogy
  • Young children & contemporary art in GLAM contexts

Professor Rebecca Bull
Professor of Numeracy in Education
E: r.bull@mq.edu.au

  • Early numeracy development and intervention
  • Cognitive development
  • Impact of hearing loss on learning and development
  • Educator-child interactions and classroom quality
  • Early childhood education and care

Dr Emma Burns
Lecturer in Educational Psychology

  

Susan Busatto
Associate Lecturer in Education
E: susan.busatto@mq.edu.au

  • Pre-service teacher education
  • Curriculum and pedagogy
  • Mathematics education
 

Associate Professor Mark Carter
Associate Professor in Special Education
E: mark.carter@mq.edu.au

  • Education of students with high support needs.
  • Educational issues in autism spectrum disorders.
  • Communication of individuals with intellectual disability.
  • Social interaction and friendships in individuals with intellectual disability.
  • Evidence-based practice in special education.

Associate Professor Michael Cavanagh
Course Director – Secondary Teacher Education
E: michael.cavanagh@mq.edu.au

  • Teacher education
  • Reflective practice
  • Professional experience
  • Mathematics education

Dr Alice Chik
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: alice.chik@mq.edu.au

  • Multilingualism in education
  • Learner autonomy
  • Digital literacy
  • Foreign language learning
  • Reading acquisition
  • Literacy teaching

Dr Hye-Eun Chu
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: hye-eun.chu@mq.edu.au

  • Cross-cultural science education research
  • Interactions in science classrooms
  • Innovative science teaching and learning(e.g. arts integrated STEM)
  • Students’ conceptual development in science learning through explanatory modelling and multimodal thinking
  • Scientific literacy/Environmental literacy

Dr Yeshe Colliver
Lecturer in Education
E: yeshe.colliver@mq.edu.au

  • Learning through play
  • Young children’s perspectives
  • Cultural aspects of learning
  • Early literacy and numeracy

Dr Poulomee Datta
Senior Lecturer in Inclusive Education

 

Dr Belinda Davis
Course Director for Early Childhood
E: belinda.davis@mq.edu.au

  • Professional experience
  • Reflective practice
  • Infant toddler experiences in early childhood settings
  • Curriculum

Dr Kathy Cologon
Lecturer in Inclusive Education
E: kathy.cologon@mq.edu.au

  • Inclusive education and social inclusion
  • Disability Studies
  • Child and family perspectives
  • Professional reflexivity and teacher change
  • Literacies
  • Early Childhood

Professor Sheila Degotardi
Deputy Head: Research
E: sheila.degotardi@mq.edu.au

  • Infant-toddler learning and teaching
  • Relationship-based pedagogies
  • Young children’s interactions
  • Young children's thinking

Dr John De Nobile
Course Director - Primary Teacher Education
E: john.denobile@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Organisational behaviour
  • Classroom management
  • Primary science methodology

Dr Emilia Djonov
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: emilia.djonov@mq.edu.au

  • Multi-literacies
  • Early language and literacy
  • Multimodality
  • (Critical) Discourse Analysis
  • Social Semiotics
  • Systemic Functional Linguistics

Dr Chuanmei Dong
Lecturer in Early Childhood Education
E: chuanmei.dong@mq.edu.au

  • Young children’s use of technologies
  • Teachers’ perspectives and pedagogy
  • Professional Development
  • Sociocultural approach

Dr Dean Dudley
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: dean.dudley@mq.edu.au

  • Health and Physical Education
  • Physical Literacy
  • Assessment
  • Sport & Coaching

Dr Janet Dutton
Lecturer in Secondary English
E: janet.dutton@mq.edu.au

  • Secondary English curriculum and HSC English
  • Creative literacy pedagogy
  • Teacher motivation and retention
  • Teacher identity, voice and reflective practice

Dr John Ehrich
Senior Lecturer in Educational data, Measurement and Assessment
E: john.ehrich@mq.edu.au

  • Rasch modelling
  • Experimental psychology
  • Assessment
  • Reading processes
  • Dark Leadership

Professor Garry Falloon
Professor of Digital learning and Vincent Fairfax Foundation Chair of Teacher Education
E: garry.falloon@mq.edu.au

  • Digital Learning (classroom focused)
  • Online, blended and distance learning
  • Curriculum design and assessment
  • Research methodologies
  • Primary and middle school education
  • Science education
  • Technology education

Dr Loraine Fordham
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: loraine.fordham@mq.edu.au

  • Relational pedagogy in early years settings
  • Family-centred practices
  • Early speech and language development
  • Inclusive early childhood education

Dr Anne Forbes
Senior Lecturer in STEM Education 
E: anne.forbes@mq.edu.au

  • STEM Education - primary and early years
  • Communities of Science Practice

Dr Ruth French
Lecturer in Education
E: ruth.french@mq.edu.au

  • Literacies education
  • Teacher education
  • Systemic functional linguistics
  • Curriculum and pedagogy
  • Children’s literature

Associate Professor Fay Hadley
Course Director Initial Teacher Education
Director of Initial Teacher Education
E: fay.hadley@mq.edu.au

  • Partnerships with families
  • Family diversity
  • Educational leadership
  • Professional learning and development
  • Professional experience

Professor Linda Harrison
Professorial Research Fellow
E: linda.j.harrison@mq.edu.au

  • Infant and toddler learning, development and well being
  • Child-adult attachment relationships at home and in early childhood education and school settings
  • Innovative approaches to measurement and assessment in early childhood education and care
  • Quantitative research design and methodology, longitudinal analysis techniques

Associate Professor Neil Harrison
Associate Professor in Education
E: neil.harrison@mq.edu.au

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education
  • Affective learning
  • Trauma informed education
  • Learning from Country
  • Educational philosophy
  • Primary education

Dr Iain Hay
Director of Professional Learning and Engagement
E: iain.hay@mq.edu.au

  • Initial Teacher Education
  • Professional learning
  • School engagement
  • Gender/GLBTI/Young parents
  • Educational policy & leadership
  • Comparative education
  • Tertiary Education Management

Dr Toni Hopper
Lecturer In Education
E: toni.hopper@mq.edu.au

  • Special Education
  • Literacy
  • Numeracy

Dr Sally Howell
Principal, MUSEC School
E: sally.howell@mq.edu.au

  • Special Education
  • Early numeracy acquisition
  • Early literacy acquisition
  • Number sense as a predictor of numeracy difficulties

Academic staff (I-Z)

Name Area of expertise

Dr Kelly Johnston
Lecturer in Education
E: kelly.bittner@mq.edu.au

  • Mathematical thinking and learning
  • Technology and STEM integration
  • Play-based pedagogy
  • Practitioner inquiry

Associate Professor Tiffany Jones
Associate Professor,Sociology of Education and Education Policy
E:tiffany.jones@mq.edu.au 

  • Gender, Sexuality and Education
  • Education Policy, Health Policy, Social Policy
  • Sociology of Education
  • LGBTIQA+ Issues
  • Comparative and International Education
  • Quantitative, Qualitative and Mixed Methods

Mrs Jane Lancaster
Associate Lecturer in Early Childhood

 

Associate Professor Rod Lane
Deputy Head - Learning and Teaching
E: rod.lane@mq.edu.au

  • Conceptual change/development
  • Learning processes in science and geographical education
  • Teachers’ knowledge and professional development
  • Educational Assessment
  • Qualitative research methods

Professor Philip Li
Course Director for Master of Education/Master of Early Childhood
E: philip.li@mq.edu.au

  • Developmental psycholinguistics
  • Early Chinese literacy
  • Early childhood curriculum and pedagogy
  • Educational policy

Dr Helen Little
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: helen.little@mq.edu.au

  • Outdoor learning environments
  • Risky play
  • Child development

Mr Rhett Loban
Associate Lecturer in Education
E: rhett.loban@mq.edu.au

  • Digital Media
  • Game-Based Learning
  • Virtual Reality
  • Indigenous Studies

Dr Norman McCulla
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: norman.mcculla@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Teacher professional development
  • Curriculum
  • Quality teaching

Dr Anne McMaugh
Senior Lecturer, Educational Psychology
Program Director- BPhil/MRes
E: anne.mcmaugh@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology
  • Social and emotional development
  • Cognitive and non-cognitive factors in learning (e.g. growth mindset)
  • Learning and development in vulnerable community, family and school contexts.
  • Research methods and design

Professor Joanne Mulligan
Professor in Education
E: joanne.mulligan@mq.edu.au

  • Psychology of mathematics and science education
  • Spatial reasoning
  • Early algebra and pattern and structure
  • STEM curriculum and assessment
  • Teacher education/professional learning

Dr Sue Ollerhead
Lecturer in Education
E: susan.ollerhead@mq.edu.au

  • Language teacher education
  • Multilingual education
  • Classroom pedagogy
  • Language policy
  • Literacy across the curriculum
  • Oracy development in schools

Dr Kerry-Ann O'Sullivan
Senior Lecturer in Education
E: kerryann.osullivan@mq.edu.au

  • English and multiliteracies education
  • Texts, discourses, & decision making
  • Professional identity construction
  • Pedagogical change & professional learning

Professor Rauno Parrila
Professor in Education
E: rauno.parrila@mq.edu.au

  • Learning difficulties across life-span
  • Cognitive and socio-cognitive compensation mechanisms
  • Reading acquisition across writing systems
  • Reading instruction and interventions
  • Developmental systems theory
  • Special and inclusive education

Professor Liz Pellicano
Professor in Education
E: liz.pellicano@mq.edu.au

  • Autism education
  • Cognitive development (with a focus on executive control)
  • Autistic perception and cognition
  • Inclusive education
  • Using technology with autistic people

Dr Sarah Powell
Lecturer Education
E: sarah.powell@mq.edu.au

  • Music education
  • Music pedagogy
  • Creative arts
  • Early childhood literacy

Dr Greg Robertson
Lecturer in Education
E: greg.robertson@mq.edu.au

  • Space & learning
  • Professional Development frameworks
  • Professional learning

Professor Mary Ryan
Professor and Head of Department
E: mary.ryan@mq.edu.au

  • Teacher preparation and reflexive practice
  • Writing development and pedagogy
  • Literacies
  • Reflective learning across programs/curriculum
  • Texts and discourses of learning and teaching
  • Socio-spatial contexts of learning

Dr Kathleen Tait MBPsS
Course Director - Special Education
E: kathleen.tait@mq.edu.au

  • Developmental disabilities
  • Communication disorders
  • Program outcomes evaluation
  • Applied Behaviour Analysis
  • Quality of life & family impact
  • Intercultural studies in disability

Dr Luke Touhill
Director Mia Mia and Family Study Centre
E: luke.touhill@mq.edu.au

  • Design of early childhood learning environments
  • History of early childhood education
  • Contemporary early childhood curriculum and pedagogy
  • Play and project based learning approaches

Mrs Amy Thunig
Associate Lecturer in Education
E: amy.thunig@mq.edu.au

  • Indigenous Research
  • Indigenous perspectives and knowledges in Education
  • Cultural Competency
  • Primary Teaching

Associate Professor Penny Van Bergen
Associate Professor in Education
E:penny.vanbergen@mq.edu.au

  • Educational psychology
  • Children’s memory and learning
  • Parent-child reminiscing
  • Socio emotional development
  • Socio emotional development
  • Emotion understanding and perspective-taking
  • Student-teacher relationships

Dr Hua-Chen Wang
Lecturer in Education
E: huachen.wang@mq.edu.au

  • Cognitive processes in reading
  • Learning to read in children and adults
  • Reading difficulties and their treatments
  • Learning to read in different writing systems and in bilingualism

Professor Manjula Waniganayake
Professor in Education
Postgraduate Studies Coordinator
E: manjula.waniganayake@mq.edu.au

  • Educational leadership
  • Early childhood policies
  • Early childhood workforce
  • Families - diversity and engagement
  • Professional learning and development

Dr Kim Wilson
Lecturer in Secondary History Education
E: kim.wilson@mq.edu.au

  • Ideological constructions of knowledge
  • Effects of construction of knowledge on student learning
  • History, Memory and National Identity
  • Teaching complex critical thinking skills to develop astute thinkers
  • Mentoring new and recent graduate teachers

Associate Professor Sandie Wong
Associate Professor in Education
E: sandie.wong@mq.edu.au

  • Early childhood practice
  • Early childhood workforce
  • Early childhood educator well-being
  • History of early childhood

Dr Shirley Wyver
Director- Higher Degree Research
E: shirley.wyver@mq.edu.au

  • Outdoor play and learning
  • Cognitive development
  • Vision impairment

Postdoctoral Researchers

Name Contact Details

Alireza Ahadi
Postdoctoral  Research Fellow

T: (02) 9850 8675
E: alireza.ahadi@mq.edu.au

Jac Den Houting
Research Associate

T: (02) 9850 9868
E: jac.denhouting@mq.edu.au

Dr Rozanna Lilley
Postdoctoral Research Fellow


E: rozanna.lilley@mq.edu.au

Professional staff

Name Contact details

Helen Feng
School Manager

T: (02) 9850 8656
E: helen.feng@mq.edu.au

Owain Matthews
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8679
E: owain.matthews@mq.edu.au

Aneta Kanoun 
Administrative Assistant

T: (02) 9850 8704
E: aneta.kanoun@mq.edu.au

Darcy Le Raye
Administrative Officer

T: (02) 9850 8665
E: darcy.leraye@mq.edu.au

Yana Jiang
Administration Officer and Personal Assistant

T: (02) 9850 9896
E: yana.jiang@mq.edu.au

Mridul Sood
Research Administration Officer

T: (02) 9850 9466
E: mridul.sood@mq.edu.au

Petronella D’Souza
Team Leader, Professional Experience

T: (02) 9850 9435
E: petronella.dsouza@mq.edu.au

Content owner: Department of Educational Studies Last updated: 29 Jan 2020 3:18pm

Back to the top of this page