Lighthouse Lecture Series: China's New Business Cycle

Lighthouse Lecture Series: China's New Business Cycle

After seven years of continuous slow down in economic growth, the Chinese economy had experienced a new business cycle that was very different from before.

Professor Yang Yao, Dean of of the National School of Development, Peking University will characterise the stylised facts of this new business cycle, and discuss how government policies can be implemented to boost the economy in response to mounting international uncertainties. Particular attention will be paid to the role of monetary policy in stimulating the economy.

This Lighthouse Lecture is being held with the support of the Economic Society of Australia - New South Wales Branch

Event Details

Tuesday 17 July 2018
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Macquarie University City Campus
Level 24, 123 Pitt Street
Sydney 2000
Register by: Thursday 12 July 2018

Macquarie University City Campus

Find out more

Contact Kevin Newport for more details about this event:
T: (02) 9850 4833

The Speaker

Professor Yang Yao is a Cheung-Kong Scholar Chair Professor at the National School of Development (NSD), Peking University, Beijing, China. He is currently the Dean of NSD and the Director of the China Center for Economic Research (CCER), a leading think tank housed in the NSD. He currently holds the Asia Scholar Fellowship at the University of Melbourne.

Professor Yao has published widely in leading economic journals such as Journal of Development Economics, Journal of Public Economics, Journal of Labour Economics, Journal of Economic Growth, Oxford Bulletin of Economics and Statistics and Journal of International Money and Finance.

He is a member of the China Finance 40 Forum. His research interests include economic transition and development in China. He has authored many books on various aspects of the Chinese economy and he is also a prolific writer for magazines and newspapers, including the Financial Times and the Project Syndicate.

Professor Yao was awarded the 2008 and 2014 Sun Yefang Award in Economic Science—the highest award in economic science in China, the 2008 and 2010 Pu Shan Award in International Economics and the 2008 Zhang Peigang Award in Development Economics.


Thank you for your interest in the Lighthouse Lecture Series, registrations have now closed for this event.

Be on the lookout for future Lighthouse Lectures!

Back to the top of this page